Access to information and privacy

The  Access to Information Act gives Canadian citizens, permanent residents, individuals present in Canada and corporations located in Canada the right to access information in federal government records that are not of a personal nature.

The  Privacy Act provides Canadian citizens, permanent residents or individuals present in Canada with the right to access their personal information that is held by the Government of Canada. It also protects against unauthorized disclosure of that personal information. In addition, it strictly controls how the federal government will collect, use, store, disclose and dispose of any personal information.

Completed access to information requests

The summaries of the completed access to information requests for Public Services and Procurement Canada are available on the Open Government portal. While the summaries are available in both official languages, the responsive records are only available in the language in which they were originally created and in the form that they were released under the Access to Information Act.

Please note that the following requests are not included:

  • requests made under the Privacy Act;
  • informal requests;
  • requests that were transferred to another government institution;
  • requests that were abandoned by the requester; and,
  • requests made under the Access to Information Act that are uniquely of interest to the requester and contain primarily personal information of the requester.

If you wish to informally obtain a copy of the records released in response to these requests, contact access to information and privacy or consult the section on how to make an informal request for records.

Annual reports on the  Access to Information Act and on the Privacy Act

The annual reports provide a summary of the management and administration of the  Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act within Public Services and Procurement Canada.

2015 to 2016

2014 to 2015

Info Source: Sources of federal government and employee information

Info Source: Sources of federal government and employee information 2014 provides information about the functions, programs, activities and related information holdings of government institutions subject to the  Access to Information Act and the  Privacy Act.

Privacy impact assessment reports

Government institutions routinely perform broad risk management activities and develop risk profiles related to their programs and activities. The privacy impact assessment (PIA) is the component of risk management that focuses on ensuring compliance with the Privacy Act requirements and assessing the privacy implications of new or substantially modified programs and activities involving personal information. In accordance with the Directive on PIA, summary reports of the approved PIAs have to be made available to the public.

Accès à l'information et la protection des renseignements personnels

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information donne aux citoyens canadiens, aux résidents permanents, aux personnes et aux sociétés installées au Canada le droit d'accès à l'information des dossiers du gouvernement fédéral, qui ne contiennent pas d'information de nature personnelle.

La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels donne aux citoyens canadiens, aux résidents permanents et aux personnes installées au Canada le droit d'accéder à leurs renseignements personnels détenus par le gouvernement. La Loi garantit la protection contre la divulgation non autorisée de ces renseignements personnels. En outre, elle impose des contrôles stricts quant à la façon dont le gouvernement fédéral recueille, utilise, entrepose, communique et élimine les renseignements personnels.

Demandes d'accès à l'information complétées

Les sommaires des demandes d'accès à l'information complétées par Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada sont disponibles sur le portail du Gouvernement ouvert. Même si les sommaires sont disponibles dans les deux langues officielles, les documents correspondant aux demandes sont disponibles uniquement dans la langue dans laquelle ils ont été rédigés, ainsi que dans la forme dans laquelle ils ont été communiqués aux termes de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.

Veuillez noter que les demandes suivantes ne sont pas incluses :

  • demandes présentées en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels;
  • demandes informelles;
  • demandes transmises à une autre institution;
  • demandes qui ont été abandonnées par les demandeurs;
  • demandes présentées en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information qui sont d'intérêt uniquement pour le demandeur et qui contiennent principalement des renseignements personnels du demandeur.

Si vous désirez obtenir informellement une copie des documents communiqués en réponse à ces demandes, veuillez contactez l'accès à l'information et la protection des renseignements personnels ou consulter la section comment effectuer une demande informelle de documents.

Rapports annuels sur la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et sur la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Les rapports annuels résument la façon dont a été gérée et administrée la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels au sein de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada.

2015 à 2016

2014 à 2015

2013 à 2014

2012 à 2013

Info Source : Sources de renseignements du gouvernement fédéral et sur les fonctionnaires fédéraux

Info Source : Sources de renseignements du gouvernement fédéral et sur les fonctionnaires fédéraux 2014 fournit de l'information au sujet des fonctions, des programmes, des activités et des fonds de renseignements connexes des institutions fédérales visées par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Résumés publics des évaluations des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée

Les institutions fédérales effectuent régulièrement des activités étendues liées à la gestion du risque et développent des profils de risques propres à leurs programmes et activités. Une évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (EFVP) est la composante de la gestion du risque qui vise à assurer la conformité avec les obligations de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et d'évaluer les incidences que peuvent avoir des programmes ou activités, nouveaux ou ayant subi des modifications importantes comportant des renseignements personnels, sur la vie privée. Conformément à la Directive sur l'évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée, les résumés des EFVP approuvées doivent être accessibles au public.