Next Generation Fighter Capability - 2014 Annual Update

The Government's Seven-Point Plan called on National Defence, through the National Fighter Procurement Secretariat, to provide annual updates on the cost estimates of the F-35. The third Annual Update presents the estimated life-cycle cost (LCC) for a notional F-35A fleet, based on updated cost data received from Canadian sources and the F-35 Joint Program Office. The report compares current life-cycle cost estimates with those reported in the 2013 Annual Update. The full life-cycle cost estimate includes development, acquisition, sustainment, operating and disposal of 65 F-35A aircraft based on notional aircraft deliveries between 2020 and 2025 and 30 years of operations for each aircraft. A summary of the results is presented in the table below.

Table Summary

This table compares the cost element, what was its cost estimate in 2013, in 2014 and the variance between the 2 years.

Comparative Estimates
($ CAD Million in Budget Years)
Cost Element 2013 Life-Cycle Cost Estimate 2014 Life-Cycle Cost Estimate Variance
Development 606 633 27
Acquisition 8,990 8,990 0Footnote **
Sustainment 15,055 14,258 -797
Operating 19,857 20,736 879
Disposal 168 179 11
Total LCC 44,676 44,796 120
AttritionFootnote * 1,015 1,036 21
Total 45,691 45,832 141

While cost estimates continue to be refined based on the evolution of the Joint Strike Fighter Program, the comparative analysis indicates marginal changes in various sub-elements of the life-cycle cost estimate and an overall increase of 0.3 per cent between 2013 and 2014.

The change in cost can be summarized as follows:

  • The increase in the development cost estimate is primarily due to the additional years added to the development phase as a result of shifting the notional buy profile.
  • The decrease in the overall sustainment cost estimate is the result of a decrease in the amount of contingency to reflect the increasing certainty of the estimates as they have benefited from an additional year of data and have been independently confirmed by the United States Cost Assessment and Program Evaluation Office, in the 2013 Selected Acquisition Report.
  • The increase in the operating cost estimate results from the shift in Canada's notional buy profile and the resulting impact of inflation.
  • The increase in the disposal cost estimate results from the shift in the disposal schedule and the impact of inflation.

The Annual Update can be found on the National Fighter Procurement Secretariat website.

Footnotes

Footnote *

It is estimated that seven to eleven aircraft could be lost over the useful life of the fleet and that the cost to replace these lost aircraft could be in the order of $1 billion. However, this cost is not part of the life-cycle cost estimates.

Return to footnote referrer *

Footnote **

Although the overall acquisition cost estimate remains unchanged at $9 billion since the 2012 and 2013 Annual Updates, the estimated unit recurring flyaway cost for 65 F-35A has increased by $125 million since the 2013 Annual Update. Due to the frozen acquisition envelope of $9 billion, the full amount of acquisition contingency suggested by the Life Cycle Cost Framework is not included in the estimate (approximately $1,080 million).

Return to footnote referrer **

Chasseurs de la nouvelle génération - Mise à jour annuelle de 2014

Le Plan à sept volets du gouvernement exige que le ministère de la Défense nationale fournisse, par l'entremise du Secrétariat national d'approvisionnement en chasseurs, des mises à jour annuelles sur les estimations de coûts des appareils F-35. La troisième mise à jour annuelle présente le coût estimatif du cycle de vie (CCV) pour une flotte théorique de F-35A, d'après les données à jour sur les coûts reçues de sources canadiennes et du bureau du programme conjoint des F-35. Le rapport établit une comparaison entre les estimations actuelles du coût du cycle de vie et celles figurant dans la Mise à jour annuelle de 2013. L'estimation du coût du cycle de vie complet comprend la conception, l'acquisition, le maintien en puissance, l'exploitation et l'élimination de 65 appareils F-35A, d'après le calendrier de livraison théorique entre 2020 et 2025 et 30 années d'exploitation pour chaque appareil. Un résumé des résultats est présenté dans le tableau ci-dessous.

Sommaire du tableau

Ce tableau fait la comparaison entre les éléments de coût, l'estimation du coût du cycle de vie pour 2013, 2014 et l'écart entre les deux années.

Estimations comparatives
(millions $CAN – années budgétaires)
Élément de coût Estimation du coût du cycle de vie - 2013 Estimation du coût du cycle de vie - 2014 Écart
Conception 606 633 27
Acquisition 8 990 8 990 0Note de bas de page **
Maintien en puissance 15 055 14 258 -797
Exploitation 19 857 20 736 879
Élimination 168 179 11
Total CCV 44 676 44 796 120
AttritionNote de bas de page * 1 015 1 036 21
Total 45 691 45 832 141

Bien que les estimations de coûts continuent d'être rajustées en fonction de l'évolution du Programme d'avions de combat interarmées, l'analyse comparative indique des changements mineurs dans les divers sous-éléments de l'estimation du coût du cycle de vie et une augmentation globale de 0,3 pour cent entre 2013 et 2014.

Le changement dans les coûts peut être résumé comme suit :

  • L'augmentation dans l'estimation du coût de conception est principalement attribuable à l'ajout d'années à la phase de développement en raison des changements dans le profil d'achat théorique.
  • La diminution dans l'estimation globale du coût de maintien en puissance résulte d'une diminution du montant de prévoyance pour refléter la certitude accrue des prévisions, qui ont bénéficié d'une année additionnelle de données et qui ont été confirmées de manière indépendante par le Cost Assessment and Program Evaluation Office des États-Unis, comme l'indique le Selected Acquisition Report (Rapport sur les demandes d'acquisition spécifiques) de 2013.
  • L'augmentation de l'estimation du coût d'exploitation résulte des changements dans le profil d'achat théorique et de l'incidence de l'inflation qui en découle.
  • L'augmentation de l'estimation du coût d'élimination résulte des changements dans le calendrier d'élimination et de l'incidence de l'inflation.

On trouve la Mise à jour annuelle dans le site Web du Secrétariat national d'approvisionnement en chasseurs.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page *

Il est estimé que de sept à onze aéronefs pourraient être perdus pendant la durée utile de la flotte et que le coût pour les remplacer pourrait atteindre 1 milliard de dollars. Toutefois, ce coût ne fait pas partie des estimations du coût du cycle de vie.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page *

Note de bas de page **

Même si l'estimation du coût global d'acquisition demeure inchangée à neuf milliards de dollars depuis les Mises à jour annuelles de 2012 et de 2013, l'estimation du coût unitaire récurrent de sortie d'usine pour 65 F-35A a augmenté de 125 millions de dollars depuis la Mise à jour annuelle de 2013. En raison du gel de l'enveloppe d'acquisition de neuf milliards de dollars, le montant total de la réserve de prévoyance pour l'acquisition qui est suggéré dans le cadre du coût du cycle de vie n'est pas inclus dans l'estimation (environ 1 080 millions de dollars).

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page **