Public Works and Government Services Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Context and purpose of the Code

Table of Contents

The Government of Canada spends billions of dollars a year on the procurement of goods and services. The government has a responsibility to maintain the confidence of the vendor community and the Canadian public in the procurement system, by conducting procurement in an accountable, ethical and transparent manner.

The Code of Conduct for Procurement provides all those involved in the procurement process – public servants and vendors alike – with a clear statement of mutual expectations to ensure a common basic understanding among all participants in procurement.

The Code reflects the policy of the Government of Canada and is framed by the principles set out in the Financial Administration Act and the Federal Accountability Act. It consolidates the federal government's measures on conflict of interest and anti-corruption as well as other legislative and policy requirements relating specifically to procurement. This Code is intended to summarize existing law and does not change the law or its interpretation.

By providing a single point of reference to key responsibilities and obligations, the government is making the measures easier to find and understand in light of an overall commitment to the highest standards of ethical conduct. The Code will be reviewed as necessary to ensure it continues to meet this objective.

The government expects that all those involved in the procurement process will abide by the provisions of this Code.

The Procurement Process: Openness, Fairness and Transparency

In Canada, fairness, openness and transparency are assured through compliance with the Financial Administration Act, the Government Contracts Regulations and Canada's international and national trade agreements, the World Trade Organization-Agreement on Government Procurement (www), the North American Free Trade Agreement (www), the Canada-Chile Free Trade Agreement, the Canada-Peru Free Trade Agreement, the Canada-Colombia Free Trade Agreement and the Federal-Provincial Agreement on Internal Trade. In addition, the government's procurement activities are also governed by land claims agreements with Canada's Aboriginal peoples.

In addition to the legal provisions, the tenets of fairness, openness and transparency are further assured by Treasury Board policies, Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC) procurement policies and the internal procedures adopted by individual government departments and agencies.

A list of key relevant legislation and policies is included at the end of this Code.

Application

The Code of Conduct for Procurement applies to all transactions covered by the Treasury Board Contracting Policy.

Responsibilities

Public servants and vendors each have responsibilities in the contracting process.

Responsibilities of Public Servants

Public servants serve the Canadian public by acquiring goods and services, including construction services, required to achieve the objectives approved by the government. In performing these activities, including defining requirements and evaluating bids/offers/arrangements, they adhere to the laws, regulations and policies established by the government. As public servants, they commit to uphold the democratic, professional, ethical and people values of the Values and Ethics Code for the Public Service. At the time of signing and accepting their offer of employment, public servants acknowledge that compliance with the Values and Ethics Code for the Public Service is a condition of employment.

Public servants connected with the collection, management or disbursement of public money are required, under the Financial Administration Act, to report in writing to a superior officer any knowledge or information related to 1) the contravention of, or 2) fraud committed by any person against Her Majesty, under the Financial Administration Act or regulations or any revenue law.

Public servants must perform their duties and arrange their private affairs so that public confidence and trust in the integrity, objectivity and impartiality of government are conserved and enhanced. Public servants must comply with the requirements of the Values and Ethics Code for the Public Service and with any additional departmental guidelines. The following elements of the Values and Ethics Code for the Public Service are of particular relevance in procurement.

Conflict of Interest Measures

(see Chapter 2 of the Values and Ethics Code for the Public Service)

Public servants must arrange their private affairs in a manner that will prevent conflicts of interest between their private interests and their public duties.

Public servants:

  • Must not solicit gifts, hospitality, other benefits or transfers of economic value from a person, group or organization in the private sector who has dealings with the government. Fundraising for charitable organizations must be authorized in accordance with the Values and Ethics Code for the Public Service;
  • Must not accept gifts, hospitality or other benefits that may have a real or apparent influence on their objectivity in carrying out their official duties or that may place them under obligation to the donor. This includes free or discounted admission to sporting and cultural events arising out of an actual or potential business relationship directly related to the public servants' official duties;
  • Must not step outside their official roles to assist private entities or persons in their dealings with the government where this would result in preferential treatment to the entities or persons;
  • Must avoid or withdraw from activities or situations, including procurement actions, that would place the public servant in real, potential or apparent conflict of interest with his or her official duties due to ownership of assets, liabilities, family relationships or other such circumstance;
  • Must avoid outside employment or other activities which might subject public servants to demands incompatible with their official duties or cast doubt on their ability to perform their duties objectively.

Post-employment Measures

(see Chapter 3 of the Values and Ethics Code for the Public Service)

After leaving the public service, former public servants undertake to minimize the possibility of real, apparent or potential conflicts of interest between their new employment and their most recent responsibilities. Former public servants in executive positions or equivalent and two levels below, and others where specified, for a period of one year after leaving office, shall not:

  • accept appointment to a board of directors of, or employment with, entities with which they had significant official dealings during the period of one year immediately prior to the termination of their service;
  • make representations on behalf of persons to any department or organization with which they had significant official dealings during the period of one year immediately prior to the termination of their service; or
  • give advice to their clients using information that is not available to the public concerning the programs or policies of the departments or organizations with which they were employed or with which they had a direct and substantial relationship.

Responsibilities of Vendors 1

Vendors must respond to the government's solicitations in an honest, fair and comprehensive manner, accurately reflect their capacity to satisfy the requirements stipulated in the bid/offer/arrangement or contract documents, and submit bids/offers/arrangements and enter into contracts only if they will fulfill all obligations of the contract.

Vendors are obliged to alert the contracting authority to any factual errors that they discover in bid solicitations.

Solicitation and Contract Provisions

All contracts subject to the requirements of this Code, and all solicitation and other documents relating to the formation of those contracts will incorporate clauses:

  • Prohibiting payment of a contingency fee by any party to the contract to a person to whom the Lobbying Act applies;
  • Prohibiting corruption, collusion, bid-rigging or any other anti-competitive activity in the procurement process;
  • Requiring that a bidder on a contract for the performance of work, the supply of goods or the rendering of services make a declaration that the bidder has not committed an offence other than an offence for which a criminal pardon has been granted under section 121 ("Frauds on the government" and "Contractor subscribing to election fund"), section 124 (Selling or Purchasing Office), section 380 (Fraud committed against Her Majesty) or section 418 (Selling defective stores to Her Majesty) of the Criminal Code of Canada, or under paragraph 80(1)(d) (False entry, certificate or return) subsection 80(2) (Fraud against Her Majesty) or section 154.01 (Fraud against Her Majesty) of the Financial Administration Act.
  • Requiring the Contractor’s consent to publicly disclose basic information about a procurement contract, and;
  • Requiring a contractor to return any advance payments and provide the Contractor’s consent that the government may cancel the Contract in the event of non-compliance with a deemed term.

A vendor bidding on a competitive solicitation or awarded a non-competitive contract must certify that it meets the requirements of the above provisions. After contract award, these solicitation conditions are carried forward as a contractual obligation.

Respect for Responsibilities of Public Servants

To help ensure that the entire procurement process conforms to the highest standards of ethical conduct, vendors should avoid any action that would jeopardize current or former public servants' ability to respect their obligations under the Values and Ethics Code for the Public Service

Vendors will not offer or give public servants gifts, hospitality or other benefits that may have a real or apparent influence on their objectivity in carrying out their official duties or that may place them under obligation to the donor. This includes free or discounted admission to sporting and cultural events arising out of an actual or potential business relationship directly related to the public servants' official duties.

Vendors will not employ public servants in activities that might subject public servants to demands incompatible with their official duties or cast doubt on their ability to perform their duties objectively.

Vendors will not hire directly, or through a third party, former public servants during their one-year cooling-off period where this would constitute a violation of post-employment measures under the Values and Ethics Code for the Public Service.

It will be a condition of all contracts that the vendor has read and agrees to be bound by the terms of this Code of Conduct for Procurement.

Safeguards and Consequences

Vendor Complaints and Procedural Safeguards

The Canadian International Trade Tribunal (CITT) has jurisdiction to conduct inquiries into complaints by potential vendors concerning procurement by the federal government that is covered by the Trade Agreements. Vendors may challenge federal government procurement decisions that they believe have not been made in accordance with the requirements of the Trade Agreements. Any potential vendors who believe they may have been unfairly treated during the solicitation or evaluation of bids/offers/arrangements, or in the awarding of contracts subject to the Trade Agreements, may lodge a formal complaint with the CITT. The CITT, which has the powers of a Court of Record, may review all aspects of a procurement action up to and including contract award.

The Office of the Procurement Ombudsman (OPO) is an independent organization included in the portfolio of the Minister of Public Works and Government Services Canada, but operates at an arms length from the department. The Office's overall objective is to strengthen the fairness, openness and transparency of federal procurement. It reviews complaints from suppliers with the objective of solving them quickly and efficiently and possibly resulting in immediate relief to the supplier. More specifically, the Procurement Ombudsman's mandate is to:

  • Review the practices of departments for acquiring materiel and services to assess their fairness, openness and transparency and make any appropriate recommendations to the relevant department for the improvement of those practices.
  • Review any complaint respecting the award of a contract for the acquisition of goods below the value of $25,000 and services below the value of $100,000, where the Agreement on Internal Trade would normally apply if the value was higher than these thresholds.
  • Review any complaint respecting the administration of a contract for the acquisition of materiel or services by a department, regardless of dollar value.
  • Ensure that an alternative dispute resolution process is provided, if both parties agree to participate.

At present, Public Works and Government Services Canada provides for resolution of contract disputes through various Alternate Dispute Resolution means, such as Conflict Coaching, Facilitated Discussion and Mediation. For many complex procurements, the government engages independent fairness monitors to provide assurance that the process is conducted in a fair, open transparent and compliant manner.

Under the Public Servants Disclosure Protection Act, any public servant who witnesses or has knowledge of wrongdoing in the public sector workplace may refer the matter for review, investigation and for recommendation of corrective action to the Public Sector Integrity Commissioner. Public servants may also report the matter in confidence and without fear of reprisal to the Senior Officer in their organization designated for this purpose. A member of the public may also bring a public sector wrongdoing to the attention of the Public Sector Integrity Commissioner who would then decide whether to investigate. Public servants are prohibited from retaliating against contractors because they reported government wrongdoing to the Commissioner.

Consequences

Failure to comply with any of the legislation or policies referred to in this Code is subject to the penalties provided for in the applicable legislation or policy.

Key Legislation and Policies

Key Contacts

Arti Bhal
Acquisition Policy and Process Directorate
819-956-0464
arti.bhal@pwgsc-tpsgc.gc.ca

1 "vendor"
means any person or other legal entity who has submitted a bid/offer/arrangement or may submit a bid/offer/arrangement or who has been awarded a contract:

  1. by a "department" as defined in section 2 of the Financial Administration Act, or
  2. under which Public Works and Government Services Canada or an individual representing Public Works and Government Services Canada is specified to be the Contracting Authority.

This includes subcontractors, owners, directors, officers, employees, agents, or any affiliated body corporate (as defined in the Canada Business Corporations Act,to the extent that any of these is responsible for the performance under a contract.

"may submit an offer" means taking any steps to submit an offer in response to a bid solicitation, including making inquiries in respect of it to a public servant or other government official who has official dealings with that bid solicitation. (Back)

Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Contexte et but du Code

Table des matières

Le gouvernement du Canada dépense chaque année des milliards de dollars pour l'approvisionnement en biens et services. Le gouvernement a la responsabilité de maintenir la confiance de la communauté des fournisseurs et du public canadien dans le système d'approvisionnement; en ce sens, il doit réaliser ses activités d'approvisionnement de façon responsable, éthique et transparente.

Le Code de conduite pour l'approvisionnement fournit à toutes les personnes qui participent au processus d'approvisionnement – fonctionnaires ou fournisseurs – un énoncé clair des attentes mutuelles de façon à ce que tous les participants aient une connaissance de base commune.

Le Code reflète la politique du gouvernement du Canada et est encadré par les principes établis dans la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité. Il regroupe les mesures relatives aux conflits d'intérêt et à la lutte contre la corruption du gouvernement fédéral ainsi que d'autres exigences de lois et de politiques concernant spécifiquement l'approvisionnement. Ce Code résume la loi existante; il ne modifie ni la loi ni son interprétation.

En offrant un point de référence unique pour les responsabilités et les obligations clés, le gouvernement facilite la recherche et la compréhension des mesures dans le cadre d'un engagement général à appliquer les plus hautes normes en matière de conduite éthique. Le Code sera révisé au besoin de façon à ce qu'il continue à atteindre cet objectif.

Le gouvernement s'attend à ce que toutes les personnes qui participent au processus d'approvisionnement respectent les dispositions de ce Code.

Le processus d'approvisionnement : ouverture, équité et transparence

Au Canada, l'équité, l'ouverture et la transparence sont garantis par le respect de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, le Règlement sur les marchés de l'État ainsi que les accords de commerce international et national du Canada, c'est-à-dire l'Organisation mondiale du commerce – Accord sur les marchés publics (www), l'Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (www), l'Accord de libre-échange Canada-Chili, l'Accord de libre-échange Canada-Pérou, l'Accord de libre-échange Canada-Colombie et l'Accord sur le commerce intérieur. En outre, les activités d'approvisionnement du gouvernement sont également soumises aux dispositions des ententes sur les revendications territoriales conclues avec les peuples autochtones du pays.

En plus des dispositions légales, les principes d'équité, d'ouverture et de transparence sont également garantis par les politiques du Conseil du Trésor, les politiques d'approvisionnement de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC) et les procédures internes adoptées par les ministères et les organismes du gouvernement fédéral.

Une liste des politiques et lois pertinentes figure à la fin du présent Code.

Application

Le Code de conduite pour l'approvisionnement s'applique à toutes les opérations effectuées par TPSGC pour ses propres approvisionnements ou pour le compte d'un ministère client.

Responsabilités

Les fonctionnaires et les fournisseurs ont chacun leurs responsabilités dans le processus d'approvisionnement.

Responsabilités des fonctionnaires

Les fonctionnaires servent la population canadienne par l'achat de biens et services, y compris des services de construction, qui permettent d'atteindre les objectifs approuvés par le gouvernement. Dans le cadre de ces activités, notamment la définition des besoins et l'évaluation des soumissions, offres ou arrangements, ils se conforment aux lois, règlements et politiques établis par le gouvernement. En tant que fonctionnaires, ils s'engagent à respecter les valeurs démocratiques, professionnelles, éthiques et humaines du Code de valeurs et d'éthique du secteur public. Lorsqu'ils signent et acceptent leur offre d'emploi, les fonctionnaires reconnaissent la conformité au Code de valeurs et d'éthique du secteur public comme une condition d'emploi.

Les fonctionnaires s'occupant de l'encaissement, de la gestion ou du versement de fonds publics doivent, en vertu de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, signaler par écrit à un superviseur tout renseignement ou toute connaissance concernant 1) la violation de ladite Loi ou de ses règlements ou d'une loi fiscale quelconque, ou 2) une fraude commise au détriment de Sa Majesté dans le cadre de Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques ou de ses règlements ou d'une loi fiscale fédérale.

Les fonctionnaires doivent remplir leurs fonctions et organiser leurs affaires personnelles de façon à maintenir et accroître la confiance du public dans l'intégrité, l'objectivité et l'impartialité du gouvernement. Ils doivent respecter les exigences du Code de valeurs et d'éthique du secteur public, de la Politique sur les conflits d'intérêts et l'après-mandat et de toute autre ligne directrice ministérielle. Les éléments du Code de valeurs et d'éthique du secteur public et de la Politique sur les conflits d'intérêts et l'après-mandat ci-après sont directement liés à l'approvisionnement.

Mesures relatives aux conflits d'intérêts

(Voir l'Annexe B de la Politique sur les conflits d'intérêts et l'après-mandat et le Code de valeurs et d'éthique du secteur public.)

Un fonctionnaire maintient la confiance du public dans l'objectivité de la fonction publique en empêchant et en évitant les situations pouvant donner l'apparence d'un conflit d'intérêts ou pouvant donner lieu à un conflit d'intérêts potentiel ou réel.

Les fonctionnaires :

  • doivent évaluer leurs actifs et passifs, tout en tenant compte de la nature de leurs fonctions officielles et des caractéristiques de leurs actifs. En présence d'un conflit d'intérêts réel, apparent ou potentiel liant leurs fonctions officielles et leurs actifs et passifs, ils doivent signaler la situation à l'administrateur général en temps opportun ;
  • peuvent occuper un emploi et participer à des activités à l'extérieur de la fonction publique, à la condition que cet emploi ou ces activités ne risquent pas d'entraîner un conflit d'intérêts réel, apparent ou potentiel ou de compromettre l'impartialité de la fonction publique ou l'objectivité du fonctionnaire ;
  • envisageant de participer à une activité politique devraient demander conseil auprès de leur gestionnaire, d'un fonctionnaire désigné au sein de leur ministère, de la Commission de la fonction publique (CFP) ou d'un conseiller en ressources humaines avant de procéder;
  • ne peuvent accepter de cadeaux, de marques d'hospitalité ou d'autres avantages qui risquent d'avoir une influence réelle , apparente ou potentielle sur leur objectivité dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions officielles ou de les placer dans une situation d'obligé envers le donateur. Cela inclut l'admission gratuite ou à prix réduit à des événements sportifs et culturels , à des déplacements ou à des conférences;
  • ne doivent pas solliciter de cadeaux, de marques d'hospitalité, d'autres avantages ou des transferts de valeur économique auprès d'une personne, d'un groupe ou d'un organisme du secteur privé qui entretient des rapports avec le gouvernement (sauf s'il s'agit de levées de fonds au profit d'organismes de charité comme la Campagne de charité en milieu de travail du gouvernement du Canada [CCMTGC]). Dans le cadre de levées de fonds au profit d'organismes de charité, les fonctionnaires doivent au préalable obtenir l'autorisation écrite de leur administrateur général, afin de solliciter des dons, des prix ou des contributions en nature auprès d'organismes ou de personnes de l'extérieur;
  • doivent faire preuve d'objectivité et d'impartialité lorsqu'ils exercent leurs fonctions et qu'ils prennent des décisions, que celles-ci soient liées au processus de dotation, à l'octroi de fonds ou à l'imposition de sanctions pécuniaires à des parties de l'extérieur, à des paiements de transfert, au fonctionnement des programmes ou à tout autre exercice de leurs responsabilités.

Mesures d'observation concernant l'après-mandat

(Voir l'Annexe B de la Politique sur les conflits d'intérêts et l'après-mandat et le Code de valeurs et d'éthique du secteur public.)

Tous les fonctionnaires ont la responsabilité de réduire au minimum la possibilité de se trouver dans des situations de conflit d'intérêts réel, apparent ou potentiel entre leurs dernières responsabilités dans la fonction publique fédérale et leur emploi subséquent à l'extérieur de la fonction publique. Les anciens fonctionnaires qui occupaient un poste classé au niveau de cadre supérieur ou un poste risquant de donner lieu à un conflit d'intérêts après-mandat, ne peuvent, dans l'année qui suit la cessation de leurs fonctions :

  • accepter une nomination au conseil d'administration d'une entité privée avec laquelle ils ont eu des rapports officiels importants au cours de l'année ayant précédé la fin de leur mandat, ou d'accepter un emploi au sein d'une telle entité . Les rapports officiels en question peuvent être personnels ou par l'entremise de leurs subalternes;
  • intervenir pour le compte ou au nom d'une autre personne ou entité de l'extérieur de la fonction publique auprès d'un ministère ou organisme du gouvernement avec lequel ils ont eu des rapports officiels importants au cours de l'année ayant précédé la cessation d'emploi. Les rapports officiels en question peuvent être personnels ou par l'entremise de leurs subalternes;
  • donner à leurs clients ou à leur employeur, au moyen de renseignements qui ne sont pas accessibles au public, des conseils touchant les programmes ou les politiques des ministères ou des organismes pour lesquels ils travaillaient ou avec lesquels ils

Responsabilités des fournisseurs1

Les fournisseurs doivent répondre aux demandes de soumissions du gouvernement de façon honnête, juste et exhaustive, rendre compte avec précision de leur capacité de satisfaire aux exigences énoncées dans les soumissions, offres ou arrangements ou les documents contractuels et ne présenter des soumissions, offres ou arrangements et ne conclure des marchés que s'ils sont en mesure de satisfaire à toutes les obligations du marché.

Les fournisseurs doivent signaler à l'autorité contractante les erreurs factuelles décelées dans les demandes de soumissions.

Dispositions des soumissions et des contrats

Tous les contrats assujettis aux exigences du Code, et tous les documents d'invitation à soumissionner et autres documents se rapportant à la formation de ces contrats, comprendront des clauses :

  • interdisant le paiement d'honoraires conditionnels par toute partie au marché à une personne à qui la Loi sur le lobbying s'applique;
  • interdisant la corruption, la collusion, le truquage des soumissions ou toute autre activité anticoncurrentielle au cours du processus d'approvisionnement;
  • exigeant de tout soumissionnaire pour un marché de fournitures de biens, de services ou de travaux qu'il déclare qu'il n'a jamais commis une infraction, autre qu'une infraction pour laquelle il a obtenu un pardon , visée à l'article 121 (« Fraudes envers le gouvernement » et « Entrepreneur qui souscrit à une caisse électorale »), à l'article 124 (« Achat ou vente d'une charge »), à l'article 380 (« Fraude commise au détriment de Sa Majesté ») ou à l'article 418 (« Vente d'approvisionnements défectueux à Sa Majesté ») du Code criminel du Canada ou de l'une des infractions visées à l'alinéa 80(1)d) (Fausse inscription, faux certificat ou faux rapport), au paragraphe 80(2) (Fraude commise au détriment de Sa Majesté) ou à l'article 154.01 (Fraude commise au détriment de Sa Majesté) de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques.
  • exigeant le consentement de l'entrepreneur pour divulguer publiquement l'information de base à propos d'un marché d'acquisition;
  • exigeant qu'un entrepreneur retourne tout paiement anticipé et consente à l'annulation possible du marché par le gouvernement en cas de non-conformité à une condition réputée.

Un fournisseur présentant une soumission dans le cadre d'une demande de soumissions concurrentielle, ou qui se voit accorder un contrat non concurrentiel, doit attester qu'il satisfait aux exigences des dispositions susmentionnées. Suite à l'attribution du contrat, les conditions de la demande de soumissions deviennent des obligations contractuelles.

Respect des responsabilités des fonctionnaires

Pour aider à s'assurer que le processus d'approvisionnement complet se conforme aux plus hautes normes en matière de conduite éthique, les fournisseurs devraient éviter toute action qui mettrait en péril la capacité des anciens fonctionnaires ou des fonctionnaires actuels de respecter leurs obligations en vertu du Code de valeurs et d'éthique du secteur public et de la Politique sur les conflits d'intérêts et l'après-mandat.

Les fournisseurs ne doivent pas offrir aux fonctionnaires de cadeau, de marque d'hospitalité ou tout autre avantage qui risque d'avoir une influence réelle ou apparente sur leur objectivité dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions officielles ou de les placer dans une situation d'obligés envers le donateur. Cela inclut l'admission gratuite ou à prix réduit à des événements sportifs et culturels dans le cadre d'une relation d'affaires réelle ou potentielle directement liée à leurs fonctions officielles.

Les fournisseurs ne doivent pas employer des fonctionnaires pour des activités qui pourraient soumettre ces derniers à des demandes inconciliables avec leurs fonctions officielles ou mettre en cause leur aptitude à remplir leurs fonctions de façon objective.

Les fournisseurs ne peuvent pas engager d'anciens employés de la fonction publique, directement ou par l'intermédiaire d'un tiers, au cours de leur période de restriction d'un an lorsque cela constituerait une infraction aux mesures d'observation concernant l'après-mandat de la Politique sur les conflits d'intérêts et l'après-mandat et du Code de valeurs et d'éthique du secteur public.

Tous les marchés auront pour condition que le fournisseur lise le Code de conduite pour l'approvisionnement et qu'il accepte d'être lié par celui-ci.

Mesures de protection et conséquences

Plaintes des fournisseurs et garanties procédurales

Le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (TCCE) est habilité à enquêter sur les plaintes déposées par des fournisseurs potentiels concernant des approvisionnements du gouvernement fédéral visés par des accords commerciaux. Les fournisseurs peuvent contester les décisions du gouvernement fédéral en matière d'approvisionnement s'ils estiment qu'elles ne respectent pas les dispositions des accords commerciaux. Tout fournisseur potentiel qui estime avoir été traité injustement au cours du processus de demande de soumissions, d'offres ou d'arrangements ou d'évaluation des soumissions, des offres ou des arrangements, ou encore lors de l'attribution de contrats régis par les accords commerciaux, peut déposer une plainte officielle devant le Tribunal. Ce dernier, qui détient les pouvoirs d'un tribunal d'archives, peut revoir tous les aspects d'un processus d'approvisionnement, et ce, jusqu'à l'adjudication du contrat.

Le Bureau de l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement (BOA) est une organisation indépendante comprise dans le portefeuille du ministre de TPSGC, mais qui est exploité indépendamment du Ministère. L'objectif global du Bureau est de renforcer l'équité, l'ouverture et la transparence des approvisionnements fédéraux. Le Bureau examine les plaintes des fournisseurs en vue de les régler rapidement et avec efficience, permettant ainsi aux fournisseurs d'obtenir immédiatement réparation. Plus précisément, le mandat de l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement est :

  • d'examiner les pratiques d'acquisition de matériel et de services des ministères pour en évaluer l'équité, l'ouverture et la transparence, et de présenter, le cas échéant, au ministère concerné des recommandations pour les améliorer;
  • d'examiner toute plainte relative à l'attribution d'un marché d'acquisition de biens dont la valeur est inférieure à 25 000 $ et de services dont la valeur est inférieure à 100 000 $ auquel s'appliquerait l'Accord sur le commerce intérieur si la valeur du marché était supérieure à ces montants;
  • d'examiner toute plainte relative à la gestion de tout marché de l'État en vue de l'acquisition de matériel ou de services par un ministère, peu importe la valeur du marché;
  • de veiller à donner l'accès à un mécanisme de règlement extrajudiciaire des différends lorsque les deux parties concernées conviennent de participer.

Actuellement, Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada assure le Programme de gestion des conflits d'ordre commercial de TPSGC, comme des services d'encadrement en matière de conflits, la discussion facilitée et la médiation. Pour bon nombre d'achats complexes, le gouvernement fait appel à des surveillants de l'équité indépendants qui doivent s'assurer que les processus sont effectués de façon équitable, ouverte, transparente et conforme.

En vertu de la Loi sur la protection des fonctionnaires divulgateurs d'actes répréhensibles, tout fonctionnaire qui est témoin d'un acte répréhensible dans son milieu de travail ou qui est au courant d'un tel acte, peut le soumettre au Commissaire à l'intégrité du secteur public à des fins d'examen, d'enquête et de recommandation de mesures correctives. Les fonctionnaires peuvent également signaler le cas, en toute confiance et sans crainte de représailles, à l'agent supérieur nommé à cette fin dans son organisation. Un particulier peut également rapporter au Commissaire un acte répréhensible dans le secteur public, qui décidera ensuite s'il y a lieu d'ouvrir une enquête. Il est interdit aux fonctionnaires d'exercer des représailles contre un fournisseur qui a signalé des actes répréhensibles au Commissaire.

Conséquences

Tout manquement aux dispositions des lois ou des politiques mentionnées dans le présent Code est passible des sanctions prévues par la loi ou la politique en question.

Principales lois et politiques

Principale personne-ressource

Denise Jalbert
Direction des politiques du Programme des approvisionnements
819-956-1083
denise.jalbert@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca

1 Le terme « fournisseur » désigne toute personne physique ou morale qui a présenté une soumission, une offre ou un arrangement ou qui pourrait présenter une soumission, une offre ou un arrangement ou qui s'est vue attribuer un contrat :

  1. par un « ministère », comme le définit l'article 2 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques ou
  2. en vertu duquel le ministère des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux du Canada (TPSGC), ou un représentant de TPSGC, est désigné comme l'autorité contractante.

Cela comprend les sous-traitants, les propriétaires, les directeurs, les cadres, les employés, les agents ou tout organe administratif affilié (comme le stipule la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions), dans la mesure où l'un de ces intervenants est responsable du rendement du fournisseur.

L'expression « peut présenter une soumission, une offre ou un arrangement » signifie prendre les mesures appropriées pour présenter une offre, une soumission ou un arrangement en réponse à une invitation à soumissionner, ce qui comprend également s'informer auprès d'un fonctionnaire ou d'un autre représentant du gouvernement dont les responsabilités sont officiellement liées à cette invitation à soumissionner.