Public Works and Government Services Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Correspondence September 2015

Please carefully read the following information concerning the language training standing offers.

National Capital Region (NCR) (for all regions including the NCR, see part B)

1. Upcoming sessions

The following are the start dates of the next group training sessions:

  • Work stream 1 – Full-time group training in French on the Offeror’s facilities
    • Short program:
      • October 19, 2015 (deadline: October 1, 2015)
    • Long program:
      • November 23, 2015 (deadline: November 6, 2015)
    • Pre-SLE:
      • December 14, 2015 (deadline: November 27, 2015)
  • Work stream 2 – Full-time group training in English on the Offeror’s facilities
    • October 5, 2015 (deadline: September 18, 2015)

Total number of hours of training: You must deduct 7 hours from the total number of training hours for each statutory holiday during the training period.

  • Work streams 3A,  3B, 3C,  3D and 5 – Part-time group training in French and English on the Offeror’s premises:
    • January 4, 2016 (deadline: December 10, 2015)

Total number of hours of training: You must deduct 3 hours from the total number of training hours for each statutory holiday during the training period.

Please be advised that it is the federal institution’s responsibility to consult training schedules in order to find out about the dates of the next sessions and send your call-ups at least 10 business days before the start of training (see additional information at article 12).

2. Work stream 4 (part-time group training in a federal institution)

At all times, federal institutions must contact Public Works and Government Services Canada to obtain the name of the supplier to be used, regardless of the learner’s language level, the call-up value or whether it is for an amendment to an existing call-up.

3. Duration of standing offers

The first option year for standing offers for streams 3C, 3D and 5 will be exercised by September 30 for an additional 12-month period (from October 1, 2015 to September 30, 2016). Please pay special attention to the new rates when amendments to the standing offers come into effect.

4. New information sessions

Information sessions on the use of EN578-093429 standing offers series will be provided, at no cost, on October 14, 2015, at Asticou Centre, 241 Cité-des-Jeunes Blvd., Gatineau, room 1107. We will accept a maximum of 25 participants per session. Seats will be assigned on a first-come, first-served basis. If you are interested in attending one of the sessions, please register at AchatsFormationLinguistique.LanguageTrainingProcurement@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca before October 9, 2015.

French session: 9:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.
English session: 1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.

All regions including the NCR

5. New Official languages training services website

We are very pleased to advise that PWGSC’s Official languages training services website has been completely revised and simplified. All regions are now represented. Find out how to register your employees for language training. If you use a link in your Favorites, be sure to press “control + F5” to access the most recent version of the website.

6. List of Offerors and hourly rates per learner

Please find attached the latest (August 21, 2015) updated List of Offerors and hourly rates per learner. This list must not be shared with Offerors.

7. New national strategy on language training requirements

We are pleased to announce that the request for information (RFI) setting out the proposed national strategy for language training services is now published on https://buyandsell.gc.ca/. Two questionnaires are attached to the document providing details on the national strategy. One is intended for suppliers and the other is designed for federal institutions. Your participation as standing offer users is essential, as it will help to determine the direction that the Government will take to meet the needs of federal institutions and the industry. Consultations will also be held between September and the closing date of the national strategy.

8. Course preparation time for teaching resources and self-directed learning periods

As you know, according to clause 8.2.2 of Annex A – Statement of Work for full-time group and individual training, the teaching resource must devote one (1) hour to course preparation for every six (6) hours of teaching time, that is, one (1) hour of preparation time per 7-hour day. During that hour, learners must dedicate themselves to self-directed learning activities. These self-directed learning periods are part of the PFL2 and CEWP training programs.

This course preparation time also applies to federal institutions that use block time for part-time individual training (streams 9A, B, C, D and 10), when a teaching resource is requested on a full-time basis at a federal institution. However, in this case, learners do not do self-directed learning activities during their training time; training hours are simply limited to 6 hours/day.

9. Learner progress report

The supplier must provide learners with a progress report (clause 9.2 of Annex A – Statement of Work), for all training streams (part-time and full-time), as indicated in the training for instructors provided by the Canada School of Public Service. If your learner has not obtained a progress report, you may contact the service supplier to obtain a copy.

10. Number of learners per group

We would remind you that it is very important that the minimum and maximum number of learners per group are respected so as not to affect training quality and so that each learner has time to speak during the sessions.

NCR

  • Streams 1 and 2:
    • Short program:
      • French course (4 to 6 learners)
      • English course (3 to 6 learners)
    • Long program:
      • French course (4 to 5 learners)
      • English course (3 to 5 learners)
    • Pre-SLE:
      • French course (4 to 6 learners)
      • English course (3 to 6 learners)
  • Streams 3, 4, 5 and 6:
    • French and English course (6 to 8 learners)

Other regions

  • Streams 1, 2 and Pre-SLE:
    • French and English course (2 to 5 learners)
  • Streams 3, 4, 5 and 6:
    • French and English course (4 to 8 learners)

11. Negative feedback against a supplier in the classroom

We would like to inform designated users that learners are not permitted to provide negative feedback in the classroom (during training) concerning services provided by the supplier itself or by a supplier holding another standing offer. We have received a few such complaints from learners and suppliers.

Please follow these procedures when a complaint needs to be addressed (in the order below):

  1. The learner must discuss the complaint with the teaching resource;
  2. If not resolved, the learner must discuss the complaint with the pedagogical advisor responsible for the training and for the teaching resource;
  3. If not resolved, the learner must notify the person responsible for the training within his or her federal institution, who will attempt to resolve the situation with the supplier;
  4. If, despite taking steps 1, 2 and 3 above, the situation is still not resolved, the person responsible for the learner’s training must contact the Technical Authority at the Canada School of Public Service, identified in the standing offer. The Technical Authority will take the appropriate corrective actions with or without PWGSC’s Standing Offer Authority (depending on the severity of the case).

12. Deadline for submitting call-ups

We have noticed that, for the fall sessions, a number of federal institutions failed to comply with the deadline for submitting their call-ups to the offeror. This practice has a major impact on other users (federal institutions) and offerors, who have to redouble their efforts in order to meet the demand. A minimum of 10 business days prior to the start of the training is required for all streams. If this practice, which has become increasingly common and causes considerable frustration on both sides, continues in the winter session, we will have to ask offerors to simply reject any call-ups that are not submitted in accordance with established deadlines.

Federal institutions need to realize that they have to give the offeror enough time to conduct course loading for groups or individuals, find a qualified teacher who meets the requirements of the statement of work (including security requirements, if applicable), find a classroom (for streams where the training takes place in the Offeror’s premises) and to provide the department with the group composition or the training schedule for each learner at least five days prior to the start of classes.

We have also noticed that the call-ups regularly contain errors (improperly completed). Please note that the Offeror has been instructed to send all call-ups that do not meet the requirements of the standing offer back to the federal institution in question. Having your incomplete call-up sent back to you could mean that you lose your spot since call-ups are processed on a “first come, first served” basis; it could also mean that the offeror may no longer be able to provide the services on the training start date originally indicated on the call-up.

Examples have been posted on our website to help you properly complete your call-ups. In addition, a registration form (also available on our website) has been created to help ensure that all the necessary information is provided when issuing the call-up.

Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Communiqué de septembre 2015

S.V.P. veuillez lire attentivement l’information suivante concernant les offres à commandes de la formation linguistique.

Région de la Capitale Nationale (RCN) (pour toutes les régions incluant la RCN, voir partie B).

1. Prochaines sessions

Voici les dates de début des prochaines sessions de formation de groupe.

  • Champ de travail 1 – Formation de groupe à temps plein, en français, chez l’offrant
    • Programme court :
      • 19 octobre 2015 (date limite : 1er octobre 2015)
    • Programme long :
      • 23 novembre 2015 (date limite : 6 novembre 2015)
    • Pré-ELS :
      • 14 décembre 2015 (date limite : 27 novembre 2015)
  • Champ de travail 2 – Formation de groupe à temps plein, en anglais, chez l’offrant :
    • 5 octobre 2015 (date limite : 18 septembre 2015)

Nombre d’heures de formation total : Veuillez noter que vous devez déduire 7 heures au nombre total d’heures de formation pour chaque jour férié prévu pendant la période de formation.

  • Champ de travail 3A, 3B, 3C, 3D et 5 – Formation de groupe à temps partiel, en français et en anglais, chez l’offrant :
    • 4 janvier 2016 (date limite : 10 décembre 2015)

Nombre d’heures de formation total : Veuillez noter que vous devez déduire 3 heures au nombre total d’heures de formation pour chaque jour férié prévu pendant la période de formation.

Sachez qu’il est de la responsabilité de l’institution fédérale de consulter les calendriers des sessions de formation pour connaître les dates des prochaines sessions ainsi que d’envoyer vos commandes subséquentes au moins 10 jours ouvrables avant le début de la formation (voir information additionnelle au point 12).

2. Champ de travail 4 (formation de groupe à temps partiel en institution fédérale)

En tout temps, les institutions fédérales doivent communiquer avec Travaux publics et services gouvernementaux Canada pour obtenir le nom du fournisseur à utiliser, peu importe le niveau linguistique de l’apprenant, la valeur de la commande subséquente ou s’il s’agit d’un amendement à une commande subséquente existante.

3. Durée des offres à commandes

La première année d’option pour les offres à commandes des champs 3C, 3D et 5 sera exercée d’ici le 30 septembre pour une année additionnelle de 12 mois (du 1er octobre 2015 au 30 septembre 2016). Veuillez porter une attention particulière à la nouvelle tarification lorsque les modifications aux offres à commandes seront effectives.

4. Nouvelles sessions d’information

Des sessions d’information sur l’utilisation des offres à commandes de la série EN578-093429 seront offertes, sans frais, le 14 octobre 2015, au Centre Asticou, 241, boul. Cité-des-Jeunes à Gatineau, salle 1107. Nous accepterons un nombre maximal de 25 personnes par session.  Les places seront attribuées sur une base de « premier arrivé, premier servi ». Si vous êtes intéressé(e)s à suivre l’une des sessions, veuillez vous inscrire à l’adresse suivante : AchatsFormationLinguistique.LanguageTrainingProcurement@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca avant le 9 octobre 2015.

Session en français : De 9 h à 11 h 00
Session en anglais : De 13 h à 15 h 00

B. Toutes les régions incluant la RCN

5. Nouveau site Web des services de formation des langues officielles du Canada

Nous avons le grand plaisir de vous informer que le site Web des services de formation des langues officielles du Canada de TPSGC a été complètement revu et simplifié. Toutes les régions y sont maintenant représentées. Afin de connaître les procédures à suivre pour inscrire vos employés en formation linguistique. Si vous utilisez un lien dans vos favoris, assurez-vous de cliquer sur « control +F5 » pour avoir accès à la plus récente version du site Web.

6. Liste des offrants et taux horaire par apprenant

Veuillez trouver ci-joint, la dernière mise à jour (21 août 2015) de la Liste des offrants et taux horaires par apprenant. Ce document ne doit pas être partagé avec les offrants.

7. Nouvelle stratégie nationale sur les besoins en formation linguistique

Nous sommes heureux de vous annoncer que la demande de renseignement (DDR) qui détaille la stratégie nationale des services linguistiques proposée est maintenant publiée sur https://achatsetventes.gc.ca. Deux questionnaires sont joints au document détaillant la stratégie nationale.  L’un adressé aux fournisseurs et l’autre aux institutions fédérales.  Votre participation en tant qu’utilisateurs des offres à commandes est grandement sollicitée et importante puisqu’elle aidera à déterminer la direction que le gouvernement prendra pour répondre aux besoins des institutions fédérales et de l’industrie.  Des consultations auront également lieu entre les mois de septembre et la date de clôture de la stratégie nationale.

8. Temps de préparation de cours pour les ressources enseignantes et période d'auto-apprentissage :

Nous vous rappelons que selon la clause 8.2.2 de l'annexe A – Énoncé des travaux, pour la formation de groupe et individuelle à temps plein, la ressource enseignante doit consacrer 1 heure de préparation de cours par tranche de 6 heures d'enseignement, donc, 1 heure de préparation par journée de 7 heures de formation. Pendant cette heure, les apprenants feront des activités d'auto-apprentissage. Ces périodes d'auto-apprentissage font parties des activités de formation des programmes PFL2 et CEWP.

Ce temps de préparation s’applique également aux institutions fédérales qui utilisent le temps partagé (block time) pour la formation individuelle à temps partiel (champs 9A, B, C, D et 10), lorsqu’une ressource enseignante est demandée à temps plein en institution fédérale. Toutefois, dans ce cas, la formation se limite à 6 heures par jour et il n’y a pas de temps d’auto-apprentissage d’une heure par jour.

9. Rapport des progrès de l’apprenant

Un rapport des progrès (clause 9.2 de l’annexe A – Énoncé des travaux) doit être fourni à l’apprenant, par le fournisseur, dans toutes les modalités de formation (à temps partiel et à temps plein), tel que mentionné dans la formation des maîtres fournies par l’École de la fonction publique du Canada.  Si votre apprenant n’a pas obtenu de rapport des progrès, vous pouvez communiquer avec le fournisseur de services afin d’en obtenir une copie.

10. Nombre d’apprenants par groupe

Nous vous rappelons qu’il est très important que le nombre minimum et maximum d’apprenants par groupe soit respecté afin de ne pas affecter la qualité de la formation et que chacun puisse avoir un temps de parole lors des séances. 

RCN

  • Champs 1 et 2 :
    • Programme court :
      • Cours en français (de 4 à 6 apprenants)
      • Cours en anglais (de 3 à 6 apprenants)
    • Programme long :
      • Cours en français (de 4 à 5 apprenants)
      • Cours en anglais (de 3 à 5 apprenants)
    • Cours Pré-ELS :
      • Cours en français (de 4 à 6 apprenants)
      • Cours en anglais (de 3 à 6 apprenants)
  • Champs 3, 4, 5 et 6 :
    • Cours en français et en anglais (de 6 à 8 apprenants)

Autres régions

  • Champs 1, 2 et Pré-ELS :
    • Cours en français et en anglais (de 2 à 5 apprenants)
  • Champs 3, 4, 5 et 6 :
    • Cours en français et en anglais (de 4 à 8 apprenants)

11. Commentaires négatifs contre un fournisseur en salle de classe

Nous aimerions sensibiliser les utilisateurs désignés qu’il n’est pas permis aux apprenants de formuler des commentaires négatifs vis-à-vis les services offerts par le fournisseur lui-même ou par un fournisseur détenteur d’une autre offre à commandes, en salle de classe (pendant la formation).  Nous avons reçu quelques plaintes à cet effet de la part d’apprenants et de fournisseurs.

Veuillez plutôt suivre les procédures suivantes lorsqu’une plainte doit être adressée (selon l’ordre présenté ci-dessous) :

  1. L’apprenant doit en discuter avec la ressource enseignante;
  2. Si pas du succès, l’apprenant doit en discuter avec le conseiller pédagogique responsable de sa formation et de la ressource enseignante;
  3. Si pas de succès, l’apprenant doit aviser le responsable de sa formation de son institution fédérale qui tentera de régler la situation avec le fournisseur;
  4. Si malgré les tentatives des étapes 1, 2 et 3 ci-dessus, la situation ne se règle toujours pas, le responsable de la formation de l’apprenant doit communiquer avec le responsable technique de l’École de la fonction publique du Canada, identifié dans l’offre à commandes. Le responsable technique prendra les mesures correctives appropriées avec ou sans le responsable de l’offre à commandes de TPSGC (selon la gravité du cas).

12. Délai pour soumettre une commande subséquente

Pour les sessions d’automne, nous constatons que plusieurs institutions fédérales n’ont pas respecté le délai exigé pour soumettre leur commande subséquente à l’offrant et cette pratique nuit grandement aux autres utilisateurs (institutions fédérales) et aux offrants qui doivent doubler leurs efforts pour répondre à la demande.  Un délai minimum de 10 jours ouvrables avant le début de la formation est exigé pour tous les champs de travail.  Afin de remédier à cette pratique qui est devenue de plus en plus fréquente et qui cause beaucoup de frustration de part et d’autres, si celle-ci perdure pour les sessions d’hiver, nous serons dans l’obligation d’exiger que les offrants refusent toute commande subséquente qui n’est pas soumise dans les délais exigés.

Les institutions fédérales doivent être conscientisées qu’il faut donner suffisamment de temps à l’offrant pour faire la mise en cours des groupes ou des individus, de trouver une ressource enseignante qualifiée qui répond à toutes les exigences de l’énoncé des travaux (qui incluent les exigences relatives à la sécurité lorsqu’applicable), de trouver une salle de classe (pour les champs de travail où la formation a lieu dans les locaux de l’offrant) et de fournir la composition des groupes ou l’horaire de formation de chaque apprenant au ministère au moins 5 jours avant le début des classes.

De plus, nous constatons que les commandes subséquentes comportent régulièrement des erreurs (mal complétées).  Soyez avisés que l’offrant a reçu comme directive de retourner à l’institution fédérale toute commande subséquente qui ne répond pas aux exigences de l’offre à commandes.  En retournant la commande subséquente incomplète, vous risquez de perdre votre place puisque les commandes subséquentes sont traitées sur la base du premier arrivé, premier servi, ou, que l’offrant ne soit plus en mesure de fournir les services à la date de début de formation indiquée originalement dans la commande subséquente. 

Afin de vous aider à bien compléter vos commandes subséquentes, des exemples ont été mis sur notre site web.  De plus, un formulaire d’inscription (également disponible sur notre site web) a été créé afin de vous aider à ce que vous n’omettiez pas d’inscrire toute l’information exigée dans les procédures d’émission des commandes subséquentes.