Information for Canadians

Being a good neighbour

We are committed to delivering on our good neighbour policy by promoting a federal presence in communities that supports municipal planning objectives. Through our Payments in Lieu of Taxes program, we distribute more than $460 million to some 1,300 municipalities and other real property taxing authorities each year. These statutory payments recognize the services the Government of Canada receives and contributes to covering the cost of local government.

Building and maintaining green buildings

As the main buyer and property manager for the Government of Canada, Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) is committed to integrating sustainable development into the heart of its business. By advancing the principles of greening procurement and our real estate operations, PSPC is working hard to integrate environmental considerations into the day-to-day operations of government while ensuring value for money in the expenditure of taxpayers' dollars. Our activities include energy reduction initiatives in existing properties, the use of energy-efficient technologies in the construction of new projects and the remediation of contaminated sites in Canada.

Part of the PSPC mandate is to accelerate the greening of government operations. The Greener federal buildings has been created to work closely with other federal departments to accomplish this goal.

Preserving our heritage

PSPC ensures the preservation of heritage buildings and monuments through the management of major restoration projects both within Canada and abroad. As the steward of Canada's most treasured site, Parliament Hill, we manage the real property and heritage conservation needs of the House of Commons, the Senate and the Library of Parliament.

Selling surplus real estate

As the agent for the federal government, PSPC disposes of assets deemed surplus to the Crown. Properties are first offered to federal custodial departments, Crown corporations, as well as provincial and municipal governments on a priority basis. If there is no interest from these levels of government, the properties are sold to Canadian citizens through PSPC's Federal properties for sale Web site.

Date modified:

Renseignements pour les Canadiens

Être un bon voisin

Nous nous engageons à mettre en œuvre notre politique de bon voisinage en favorisant, au sein des collectivités, la présence du gouvernement fédéral pour contribuer à l'atteinte des objectifs de planification municipale. Dans le cadre de notre programme des paiements en remplacement d'impôts, nous versons chaque année plus de 460 millions de dollars à quelque 1 300 municipalités et autres autorités taxatrices de l'immobilier. Le gouvernement du Canada, qui verse ces paiements législatifs en contrepartie des services que lui fournissent les administrations municipales, assume ainsi une partie des coûts de ces dernières.

Construire et entretenir des immeubles écologiques

En tant que principal acheteur et principal gestionnaire immobilier du gouvernement du Canada, Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) s'est engagé à intégrer le développement durable au cœur même de ses activités. En faisant la promotion des principes de l'approvisionnement écologique et en écologisant ses opérations immobilières, SPAC s'efforce d'intégrer les facteurs environnementaux dans les opérations courantes du gouvernement et, parallèlement, de dépenser judicieusement l'argent des contribuables. Parmi ses activités, citons les initiatives de réduction de la consommation d'énergie dans les immeubles, l'utilisation de technologies éconergétiques dans les nouveaux projets de construction et l'assainissement de sites contaminés au Canada.

L'accélération de l'écologisation des opérations du gouvernement fait partie du mandat de SPAC. L'Écologisation des bâtiments fédéraux a été mis sur pied pour collaborer étroitement avec les autres ministères fédéraux à l'atteinte de cet objectif.

Préserver notre patrimoine

SPAC assure la préservation des édifices et des monuments du patrimoine par la gestion d'importants projets de restauration, tant au Canada qu'à l'étranger. À titre de gardien du site le plus précieux du Canada, la Colline du Parlement, le Ministère gère les besoins de la Chambre des communes, du Sénat et de la Bibliothèque du Parlement en ce qui concerne la gestion immobilière et la conservation du patrimoine.

Vendre les biens immobiliers excédentaires

À titre de mandataire du gouvernement fédéral, SPAC assure l'aliénation des biens jugés excédentaires pour l'État. Les biens sont d'abord offerts aux ministères fédéraux gardiens, aux sociétés d'État et aux administrations provinciales et municipales. Si aucune organisation ne manifeste son intérêt, les biens sont offerts pour vente aux citoyens canadiens par l'entremise du site Web de SPAC, Biens immobiliers fédéraux à vendre.

Date de modification :