National Master Specification (NMS)

The National Research Council of Canada (NRC) has assumed ownership of the National Master Specification (NMS) from Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC).  Please visit the NRC Web site for more information on this comprehensive, easy-to-use framework for writing construction project specifications.

NMS is intended for use by the federal government, other public organizations and the private sector in the preparation of construction and renovation contract documents.

The National Master Specification (NMS) is the most comprehensive master specification in Canada serving as an easy-to-use framework for writing construction project specifications. The NMS is a reference document containing approximately 750 master specifications in both English and French. Each section is designed to be edited from the original master to produce a project specific document. It is intended for use by the federal government, other public organizations and the private sector in the preparation of construction and renovation contract documents.

A complete set of specifications in both official languages can be purchased in print or electronic format from one of our publishers.

Individual speciality packages are also available for specifications related to: Architecture, Air Transportation, Building Services, Electrical, Heavy Civil Engineering, Interior Design, Landscape Architecture, Mechanical, Restoration-Conservation, and Structural Engineering.

An Authoritative Tool

The NMS Sections are regularly reviewed by both government and industry specialists to ensure their content reflects current practices and the latest construction technology. Over 400 consensus standards from various writing organizations are used throughout the NMS.

A Versatile Resource

The NMS maximizes protection against duplication and errors, while minimizing chances of risk, misunderstanding and liability. It can be edited and adapted for any size and type of construction project, for use in government or by the private sector.

Devis directeur national (DDN)

Le Conseil national de recherches du Canada (CNRC) a pris en charge le Devis directeur national (DDN) de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC).  Veuillez visiter le site Web du CNRC pour de plus amples renseignements sur ce document de référence complet et facile à utiliser pour la rédaction des spécifications de projets de construction.

Le DDN vise à aider le gouvernement fédéral, d'autres organisations publiques et le secteur privé à élaborer les documents contractuels concernant des travaux de construction et de rénovation.

Le Devis directeur national (DDN) est le devis type le plus complet au Canada. Il se veut un cadre facile à utiliser pour la rédaction des spécifications de projets de construction. Ce document de référence compte environ 750 devis types en anglais et en français. Chacune de ses sections permet de modifier le devis original afin de produire un document adapté à un projet particulier. Il vise à aider le gouvernement fédéral, d'autres organisations publiques et le secteur privé à élaborer les documents contractuels concernant des travaux de construction et de rénovation.

Vous pouvez vous procurer le document complet en français ou en anglais, sous forme papier ou électronique, auprès de nos éditeurs.

Des ensembles spécialisés de spécifications sont aussi offerts séparément. Ils ont trait aux domaines suivants : l'architecture, le transport aérien, les services du bâtiment, l'électricité, le génie civil lourd, l'aménagement intérieur, l'architecture paysagère, la mécanique, la restauration et la conservation ainsi que le génie des structures.

Un outil qui fait autorité

Les spécialistes du gouvernement et du secteur privé révisent régulièrement les sections du DDN pour s'assurer que leur contenu reflète les pratiques actuelles et les plus récentes techniques de construction. Le DDN repose sur plus de 400 normes concertées qui proviennent de différents organismes rédacteurs.

Une ressource polyvalente

Le DDN permet d'éviter le plus possible les chevauchements et les erreurs, tout en réduisant au minimum les risques, les malentendus et les responsabilités. On peut le modifier et l'adapter pour des projets de construction de tout type et de toute taille, en fonction des besoins du gouvernement ou du secteur privé.