Design for reconstruction of the Voltigeurs de Québec Armoury

Overview of the architectural design

The reconstructed Armoury will be a multi-purpose building which will include areas commemorating its military history, federal government offices and multi-purpose spaces for community, cultural and social activities. The Armoury will be rebuilt according to current standards, will be able to accommodate events involving up to 1,300 people in the public spaces available for rent, and will house areas commemorating the military history of the Armoury and the Voltigeurs.

About half of the building will be used by the public, mainly for activities held in a large multi-purpose hall, while the other half will consist of administrative space for federal organizations and technical space.

The Armoury will have the same outward appearance as before the fire, particularly the facade (seen from Place George V and Grande Allée). From the rear (seen from the Plains side), the pre-fire Armoury will be recognizable by its roof. The stone walls, turrets and the east wing, including fenestration, will be among the elements restored to resemble the building as it was before. Consideration will also be given to the richness of the exterior elevations, marked by a strongly detailed stone base, the asymmetrical arrangement of turrets and buttresses, elaborate gable pediments and steeply pitched roofs decorated with ventilators and ridge cresting. The building will be expanded by adding volume on the west side and on the south side (behind the building, near the Plains) in order to optimize the facilities and make them more useful to both the community and the government.


Selected concept - Front view from Wilfrid-Laurier Avenue
Sketch not definitive - Source:
Arcop/DFS/Saint-Gelais Montminy architectes en consortium


Selected concept - Rear view from the Plains of Abraham
Sketch not definitive - Source:
Arcop/DFS/Saint-Gelais Montminy architectes en consortium


Selected concept – West side view from the Plains of Abraham
Sketch not definitive - Source:
Arcop/DFS/Saint-Gelais Montminy architectes en consortium

Further to these specialized analyses and evaluations, Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC) recommended the adoption of the design that provided the best approach to protecting heritage and historical designations and respecting architectural integrity, while providing facilities that had the least impact on the building's heritage character.

Halls, multi-purpose rooms and other interior features

All the space in the central building, which was the drill hall before the fire, will become a large multi-purpose space which could be used for community, cultural and social activities. The dimensions and the height of this room will be as before the fire. About 1,900m² in area, it will be able to accommodate about 1,300 people, be divided into two sections according to needs, and will include a moveable stage. The design of this room will involve state-of-the-art technology and special attention will be given to the quality of the acoustics, since it will be used to stage events.


Selected concept - Overview of possible interior of multi-purpose room
Sketch not definitive - Source:
Arcop/DFS/Saint-Gelais Montminy architectes en consortium

In addition, the Armoury will include a foyer adjoining the main room, two other, smaller, multi-purpose rooms, a reception room, a commemorative room, cloakrooms, a kitchen, public washrooms and technical service rooms.


Selected concept - Overview of possible interior of entry hall
Sketch not definitive - Source:
Arcop/DFS/Saint-Gelais Montminy architectes en consortium

To encourage the maintenance of heritage designations, optimize the facilities and make them more useful for both the community and the government, the Armoury will be expanded through the construction of a new volume adjoining the existing building.

Links to the Plains of Abraham and parking

The proximity of the Plains of Abraham is one of the Armoury's assets. The land will be partially redeveloped to create green space and make it easier to move between Place George V and the Plains of Abraham.

A parking lot will be built behind the Armoury on the Plains of Abraham side, and will be surrounded by a plaza, with a garden commemorating the Voltigeurs de Québec.

A reconstruction that respects heritage, architectural integrity and the environment

The architectural design encourages the protection of heritage and respect for architectural integrity to the greatest possible extent and is based on the drawings made in 1885 by Eugène-Étienne Taché, the architect of the original building. The remaining original components of the Armoury will be preserved and integrated into the building. However, the overall authenticity of 1887 and 1913 was lost in the 2008 fire, and, even if the choice had been made to opt for a complete restoration, identical to the original building, this authenticity could not have been regained. In addition, an identical reconstruction would not have complied with current legislation and codes.

All of the work and architectural elements will be designed to comply with internationally recognized methods for the preservation of built heritage, including standards and guidelines for the conservation of heritage sites in Canada. In accordance with these standards, the new elements, that is, those which did not exist before the fire, such as the addition to the Armoury where the federal offices will be located, will not be based on the existing architecture and will be identifiable as contemporary elements.

Heritage and architecture experts from PWGSC, Parks Canada and the Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office (FHBRO) were consulted during the design phase and will continue to be consulted throughout the project. The design is in line with the preferences expressed by the public during the public consultations in the spring of 2009, as well as with the recommendations of a specialized real property firm, which were public access to the site, respect for the historic and commemorative role of the site and the military presence and the protection of architectural heritage.

The Armoury project will comply with the government's commitment to reduce its ecological footprint and meet the applicable environmental standards. The entire project will be designed to minimize overall cost and maximize energy performance, and will comply with high standards in terms of the sustainability of components and the longevity of construction.

Le concept de reconstruction du Manège militaire Voltigeurs de Québec

Le concept architectural en bref

Le Manège militaire reconstruit sera un édifice multifonctionnel qui comportera des locaux commémorant son histoire militaire, des bureaux destinés au gouvernement fédéral, de même que des espaces multifonctionnels pour la tenue d'activités communautaires, culturelles et sociales. Le Manège sera reconstruit selon les normes en vigueur et pourra accueillir des événements regroupant jusqu'à 1 300 personnes dans les espaces publics offerts en location et abritera des locaux commémorant l'histoire militaire du Manège et des Voltigeurs.

Environ la moitié de la superficie du bâtiment servira au public, notamment pour la tenue d'activités dans une grande salle multifonctionnelle, alors que l'autre moitié sera composée d'espaces administratifs pour des organisations fédérales ainsi que d'espaces techniques.

Le Manège aura la même apparence extérieure qu'avant l'incendie, surtout du côté de la façade (vue de la place George-V et de la Grande Allée). De l'arrière (vue du côté des Plaines), le Manège d'avant l'incendie sera reconnaissable grâce à sa toiture. Les murs de pierre, les tourelles, l'aile située à l'est, y compris la fenestration, seront du nombre des éléments restaurés de manière similaire à ce qui existait auparavant. On tiendra aussi compte de la richesse des façades extérieures marquées par une base en pierre taillée avec reliefs prononcés, avec une disposition asymétrique des tourelles, des contreforts et des frontons ouvragés des pignons, et par le toit très pentu, avec des aérateurs et une crête décorés. L'édifice sera agrandi en ajoutant un volume du côté ouest et du côté sud (arrière du bâtiment près des Plaines) afin d'optimiser les installations et de les rendre plus utiles à la communauté ainsi qu'au gouvernement.


Concept retenu - Façade de l'édifice - Vue de l'avenue Wilfrid-Laurier
Esquisse non définitive - Source : Arcop, D.F.S. Inc., architecture & design, Saint-Gelais Montminy et associés, architectes en consortium


Concept retenu - Arrière de l'édifice - Vue des plaines d'Abraham
Esquisse non définitive - Source : Arcop/DFS/Saint-Gelais Montminy architectes en consortium


Concept retenu – Côté ouest de l’édifice – Vue des plaines d’Abraham
Esquisse non définitive - Arcop/DFS/Saint-Gelais Montminy architectes en consortium

À la suite d'analyses et d'évaluations spécialisées, Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC) a recommandé l'adoption du concept favorisant de façon optimale la protection des désignations patrimoniales et historiques et le respect de l'intégrité architecturale et offrant des installations ayant le moins d'impact sur le caractère patrimonial de l'édifice.

Halls et salles polyvalentes et autres aménagements intérieurs

Tout l'espace du bâtiment central, qui était la salle d'exercice avant l'incendie, deviendra une grande salle multifonctionnelle qui pourra servir à la tenue d'activités communautaires, culturelles et sociales. Les dimensions et la hauteur libre de cette salle seront comme celles d'avant l'incendie. D'une superficie d'environ 1 900 m², elle pourra accueillir simultanément environ 1 300 personnes, pourra être divisée en deux sections, selon les besoins, et comportera une scène amovible. La conception de cette salle fera appel à la fine pointe de la technologie et une importance sera accordée à la qualité de l'acoustique puisqu'elle servira entre autres à la tenue d'événements.


Concept retenu - Aperçu de l'intérieur potentiel de la salle multifonctionnelle
Esquisse non définitive - Source : Arcop/DFS/Saint-Gelais Montminy architectes en consortium

De plus, le Manège comportera un foyer contigu à la salle principale, deux autres salles polyvalentes plus petites, un hall d'accueil, un hall commémoratif, des vestiaires, une cuisine, des toilettes publiques, ainsi que des locaux de services techniques.


Concept retenu - Aperçu de l'intérieur potentiel du hall d'entrée
Esquisse non définitive - Source : Arcop/DFS/Saint-Gelais Montminy architectes en consortium

Afin de favoriser le maintien des désignations patrimoniales, d'optimiser les installations et de les rendre plus utiles à la communauté ainsi qu'au gouvernement, le Manège sera agrandi en construisant un nouveau volume adjacent au bâtiment existant.

Liens avec les plaines d'Abraham et stationnement

La proximité des plaines d'Abraham constitue l'un des atouts du Manège. Le terrain sera partiellement réaménagé de manière à développer des espaces verts ainsi qu'une plus grande perméabilité entre la place George-V et les plaines d'Abraham.

Un stationnement sera construit à l'arrière du Manège, du côté des plaines d'Abraham. Autour du stationnement, on aménagera une place avec jardin qui commémorera les Voltigeurs de Québec.

Une reconstruction dans le respect du patrimoine, de l'intégrité architecturale et de l'environnement

Le concept architectural favorise de façon optimale la protection du patrimoine ainsi que le respect de l'intégrité architecturale et s'inspire d'esquisses élaborées en 1885 par l'architecte du bâtiment d'origine, Eugène-Étienne Taché. Les composantes d'origine du Manège toujours existantes seront conservées et intégrées à l'édifice. Toutefois, l'authenticité globale de 1887 et 1913 ayant été perdue lors de l'incendie de 2008, même si on avait opté pour une restauration complète à l'identique de l'édifice original, cette authenticité n'aurait pas pu être retrouvée. De plus, une reconstruction à l'identique n'aurait pas respecté les lois et codes en vigueur actuellement.

L'ensemble des travaux et des éléments d'architectures sera conçu dans le respect des façons de faire mondialement reconnues en préservation du patrimoine bâti, dont les normes et lignes directrices pour la conservation des lieux patrimoniaux au Canada. Conformément à ces normes, les nouveaux éléments, c'est-à-dire qui n'étaient pas présents avant l'incendie, tels que le volume adjacent au Manège où seront notamment logés les bureaux fédéraux, ne chercheront pas à se fondre dans l'architecture existante et seront identifiables comme étant des éléments contemporains de leur époque.

Des experts en patrimoine et en architecture de TPSGC, de Parcs Canada et du Bureau d'examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine (BEÉFP) ont été consultés lors de la réalisation du concept et continueront d'être consultés tout au long du projet. Le concept respecte les préférences du public exprimées lors de la consultation publique tenue au printemps 2009, ainsi que les recommandations d'une firme spécialisée en biens immobiliers, soit : l'accès du public au site, la vocation historique et commémorative du site, la présence militaire et la protection du patrimoine architectural.

Le projet du Manège respectera l'engagement du gouvernement quant à la réduction de son empreinte écologique et répondra aux normes environnementales applicables. L'ensemble du projet sera conçu de façon à minimiser son coût global et à maximiser le rendement énergétique et respectera de hauts standards en ce qui concerne la durabilité des composantes et la longévité de la construction.