Reconstruction of the Voltigeurs de Québec Armoury in Québec

Live from the reconstruction site!

From fire to reconstruction

The Voltigeurs de Québec Armoury in Québec, home to the oldest French-Canadian regiment still in existence, was damaged by fire in April 2008. One of the Government of Canada's first actions was to clean up the site and undertake the initial work to preserve the remaining structure. In the meantime, the Voltigeurs regiment has been moved to a new site for a 10-year period.

In 2009 and 2010, Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC) carried out a series of activities to come up with a plan for the future of the Armoury: public consultations, a feasibility and profitability analysis, a variety of historical, archaeological and environmental analyses, and studies and post-disaster structural evaluations.

PWGSC then carried out a program for the allocation of functional and technical space, additional consultations with Québec organizations and major rehabilitation work to clean up the interior of the building in order to preserve and maintain it. This involved an assessment of the masonry, in-depth cleaning, the structural reinforcement of the building and the installation of semi-permanent heating and ventilation systems.

Federal government environmental and architectural heritage experts have conducted surveys and drawn up plans and specifications for the work associated with components to be preserved or restored. Some of the components have been sorted and stored on site, outside the buildings.

In June 2011, following an open and transparent tendering process, PWGSC awarded a contract to Arcop (now Architecture 49 Inc.), D.F.S. Inc. Architecture and Design, St Gelais Montminy and Associates, joint venture architects, to prepare the architectural designs and sketches for reconstruction of the Armoury, as well as plans and specifications.

In November 2012, the Government of Canada unveiled the Design for reconstruction of the Voltigeurs de Québec Armoury.

In 2015, Arcop, D.F.S. Inc. Architecture and Design, St Gelais Montminy and Associates, joint venture architects, provided PWGSC with plans and specifications.

On May 19, 2015, following an open and transparent tendering process launched in January 2015, PWGSC awarded a contract evaluated at $72.7 million (taxes included) to Pomerleau Inc. for the reconstruction and expansion of the Armoury. Reconstruction is underway and should be completed by summer 2017.

The reconstruction of the Voltigeurs de Québec Armoury represents an investment of approximately $104M under Canada's Economic Action Plan, notably $93M expected for the reconstruction and $11.3M invested towards consultations, the development of a plan for the future of the Armoury, a feasibility and cost-effectiveness analysis, the development of the concepts, as well as work towards the rehabilitation and preparation of the site.

About the Armoury

Built in 1887 and expanded in 1913, the Armoury has always been a prominent feature of the Québec landscape. It was designed by Québec architect Eugène-Étienne Taché who is known for his designs for the Quebec National Assembly building and the former Québec courthouse.

Its influence on a number of subsequent major Canadian buildings' style led to the Armoury being designated a "national historic site of Canada" on the recommendation of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, which also includes the parade ground (Place Georges-V) located between the building and Grande Allée to the north. The building was also "Classified" on the recommendation of the Federal Heritage Building Review Office, meaning that it obtained the highest heritage designation that can be granted to a federal building by the Minister of the Environment.

Despite the damage it sustained, the building retains some of its architectural integrity and most of the features that make it an exceptional example of the Château style.

It is a landmark in the memory of Canadians, valued for its associations with the Voltigeurs de Québec—the oldest French-Canadian regiment still in existence—and the Royal Rifles of Canada.

Reconstruction du Manège militaire Voltigeurs de Québec

En direct du chantier de reconstruction!

De l’incendie à la reconstruction

En avril 2008, un incendie a endommagé le Manège militaire Voltigeurs de Québec, qui abritait le plus vieux régiment canadien-français toujours existant. L'un des premiers gestes posés par le gouvernement du Canada fut de procéder au nettoyage du site et aux premiers travaux de préservation de la structure restante. Entre-temps, le régiment des Voltigeurs a été relocalisé dans de nouveaux locaux pour une période de 10 ans.

En 2009 et 2010, Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC) a mené une série d'activités pour établir le plan d'avenir du Manège militaire : des consultations publiques, une analyse de faisabilité et de rentabilité, diverses analyses et études historiques, archéologiques et environnementales, ainsi que des expertises structurales après sinistre.

Par la suite, TPSGC a réalisé un programme d'allocation de l'espace fonctionnel et technique, d'autres consultations avec des organisations de Québec et d'importants travaux de réhabilitation visant à assainir l'intérieur du bâtiment pour sa préservation et son maintien. Les travaux comprenaient notamment l'évaluation de la maçonnerie, le nettoyage en profondeur ainsi que la solidification structurelle du bâtiment et l'installation de systèmes semi-permanents de chauffage et de ventilation.

Les experts fédéraux en environnement et en patrimoine architectural ont procédé aux relevés et aux plans et devis des travaux concernant les éléments à préserver ou à réhabiliter. Certains des éléments ont été triés et entreposés à l'extérieur des bâtiments sur le site.

En juin 2011, à la suite d'un appel d'offres ouvert et transparent, TPSGC a attribué un contrat à Arcop (maintenant Architecture 49 Inc.), D.F.S. Inc., architecture & design, Saint-Gelais Montminy et associés, architectes en consortium pour établir des concepts architecturaux et des croquis de reconstruction du Manège, ainsi que les plans et devis.

En novembre 2012, le gouvernement du Canada a présenté le concept de reconstruction du Manège militaire Voltigeurs de Québec.

En 2015, Arcop, D.F.S. Inc., architecture & design, Saint-Gelais Montminy et associés, architectes en consortium a fourni les plans et devis à TPSGC.

Le 19 mai 2015, à la suite d'un appel d'offres ouvert et transparent lancé en janvier 2015, TPSGC a attribué un contrat d'une valeur de 72,7 millions de dollars (taxes incluses) à l'entreprise Pomerleau Inc. pour la reconstruction et l'agrandissement du Manège militaire. La reconstruction est en cours et devrait se terminer à l'été 2017.

La reconstruction du Manège militaire Voltigeurs de Québec représente un investissement d'environ 104 M $ qui s'inscrit dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada. On prévoit consacrer 93 M $ aux travaux de reconstruction, et 11,3 M $ ont été investis dans les consultations, l'élaboration d'un plan relatif à l'avenir du Manège militaire, les analyses de faisabilité et de rentabilité, la mise au point des concepts et les travaux de remise en état et de préparation du site.

À propos du Manège militaire

Construit en 1887 et agrandi en 1913, selon les plans de M. Eugène-Étienne Taché, architecte de Québec ayant notamment conçu l'Hôtel du Parlement du Québec et l'ancien palais de justice de Québec, le Manège militaire occupe depuis toujours une place importante dans le paysage de la ville.

Son style précurseur de plusieurs autres bâtiments d'importance au Canada a d'ailleurs mené à sa désignation de « lieu historique national du Canada » sur la recommandation de la Commission des lieux et des monuments historiques du Canada, ce qui inclut le champ de parade (ou place Georges-V), situé entre le bâtiment et la Grande Allée côté Nord. L'édifice a aussi été « classé » sur la recommandation du Bureau d'examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine, c'est-à-dire qu'il a obtenu la plus haute désignation patrimoniale qui puisse être accordée à un édifice fédéral par le ministre de l'Environnement.

Malgré les dommages qu'il a subis, le bâtiment a conservé une partie de son intégrité architecturale ainsi que la plupart des éléments caractéristiques qui en font un exemple exceptionnel du style château.

Le Manège constitue un lieu de mémoire auquel sont associées des valeurs rattachées entre autres à la présence des Voltigeurs de Québec, le plus vieux régiment canadien-français toujours existant, et des Royal Rifles of Canada.