Structural rehabilitation of the Macdonald-Cartier bridge

Lane closures

For advance notice of lane closures on the Macdonald-Cartier Bridge, please refer to the Canada News Centre's Media Advisory page.

Information on upcoming lane closures will also be provided to local media via public notices.

Background

Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC) is responsible for 17 engineering assets across the country, including the Macdonald-Cartier Bridge, and is carrying out a five-year major capital work plan to ensure they remain safe. As part of this plan, PWGSC is proceeding with the seismic retrofit of the bridge and the rehabilitation of deteriorated components.

The Macdonald-Cartier Bridge is a major urban transportation link between the cities of Ottawa, Ontario and Gatineau, Quebec. The bridge was built between 1964 and 1966 and spans the Ottawa River connecting King Edward Avenue in Ottawa to Highway 5 in Gatineau. The structure is the principal inter-provincial bridge in the National Capital Region (NCR) for commuters and commercial vehicles with an average annual daily traffic of 70,000 vehicles.

Scope of the activities

The general scope of work for the Macdonald-Cartier Bridge Project is as follows:

  • Modify the existing structure to accommodate widened roadways and sidewalks to meet current Transportation Association of Canada code requirements;
  • Replace the exterior railings and sidewalk with new railings, wider multi-use sidewalk for use by pedestrians and cyclists, and roadway lighting;
  • Install new traffic barriers;
  • Install new median;
  • Seismically retrofit the bridge to meet current standards; and
  • Repair piers/abutments/substructure.

Project activities

In the fall of 2011, PWGSC proceeded with a Request for Proposal for an engineering design consultant for the rehabilitation project of the bridge. This process was conducted in a fair, open and transparent manner through the Government Electronic Tendering System.

On January 27, 2012, the Honourable Rona Ambrose, Minister of Public Works and Government Services and Minister for Status of Women, along with John Baird, local Member of Parliament for Ottawa West–Nepean, announced the award of a $1.8-million engineering design contract for the structural rehabilitation of the Macdonald-Cartier Bridge to the joint venture firm MMM Group Limited/CIMA+ SENC of Ottawa, Ontario. The contract was competitively awarded to MMM Group Limited/CIMA+ SENC, who provided engineering design services as well as preparation of construction drawings and specifications for the structural rehabilitation of the bridge.

The construction drawings and specifications were completed in December 2013 and an Invitation to Tender (ITT) was posted on the Government Electronic Tendering System buyandsell.gc.ca in January 2014.

On February 21, 2014, PWGSC announced the awarding of a $32.1-million contract to Pomerleau Inc. of Montreal for the rehabilitation of the Macdonald-Cartier Bridge.

Construction started in April 2014 and will be substantially complete in December 2015. Some minor finishing work will be completed in spring 2016. Project closure is scheduled for summer 2016.

For further information on the recent announcement on public infrastructure investments, please see ARCHIVED - Harper Government invests in Canada's economy and jobs.

Feedback and contacts

If you would like to obtain more information, please contact PWGSC's Real Property Branch.

Réhabilitation de la structure du pont Macdonald-Cartier

Fermetures des voies

Pour obtenir un préavis sur les fermetures de voies du pont Macdonald-Cartier, veuillez consulter la page d'avis aux médias du Centre des nouvelles du Canada.

L'information sur les fermetures de voies à venir sera également envoyée aux médias locaux par l'entremise d'avis publics.

Contexte

Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC) est responsable de 17 ouvrages techniques dans l'ensemble du pays, dont le pont Macdonald-Cartier, et il met en œuvre un plan de travail quinquennal important visant les immobilisations afin de s'assurer qu'elles demeurent sécuritaires. Dans le cadre de ce plan, TPSGC procède à la réfection parasismique du pont et à la réhabilitation des éléments détériorés.

Le pont Macdonald-Cartier représente une voie de communication importante qui relie la ville d'Ottawa, en Ontario, à la ville de Gatineau, au Québec. Bâti entre 1964 et 1966, le pont chevauche la rivière des Outaouais et, relie l'avenue King Edward, à Ottawa, à l'autoroute 5, à Gatineau. Ayant un débit journalier moyen annuel de 70 000 véhicules, il représente le principal pont interprovincial de la région de la capitale nationale (RCN) pour les usagers des transports en commun et les véhicules commerciaux.

Étendue des travaux

L'étendue des travaux pour le projet du pont Macdonald-Cartier inclus les éléments suivants :

  • Modifier la structure existante pour loger des chaussées et trottoirs élargis afin de respecter les exigences du code en vigueur de l'Association des transports du Canada (ATC);
  • Remplacer les garde-corps pour piétons et les trottoirs par des nouveaux garde-corps, un trottoir polyvalent pour piétons et cyclistes plus large ainsi qu'un éclairage routier;
  • Installer de nouvelles barrières à la circulation;
  • Construire un nouveau terre-plein médian;
  • Améliorer la résistance parasismique du pont selon les exigences des codes en vigueur; et
  • Réparer les piles, les culées et l'infrastructure.

Étapes du projet

À l'automne 2011, TPSGC a émis un appel d'offres pour la prestation de services d'experts-conseils en génie pour le projet de réhabilitation du pont. Le processus a été réalisé de manière concurrentielle par l'intermédiaire du Service électronique d'appels d'offres du gouvernement.

Le 27 janvier 2012, l'honorable Rona Ambrose, ministre des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux et ministre responsable de la Condition féminine, ainsi que John Baird, député local d'Ottawa-Ouest–Nepean, ont annoncé l'attribution d'un contrat de conception technique de 1,8 million de dollars pour la réhabilitation de la structure du pont Macdonald-Cartier à la co-entreprise MMM Group Limited/CIMA+ SENC d'Ottawa, en Ontario. Le contrat a été attribué à la suite d'un processus concurrentiel à MMM Group Limited/CIMA+ SENC, qui a fourni des services de conception technique et a préparé des plans et devis de construction pour la réhabilitation de la structure du pont.

Les plans et devis de construction ont été complétés en décembre 2013 et un appel d'offres a été émis par le biais de l'outil achatsetventes.gc.ca Service électronique d'appel d'offres du gouvernement en janvier 2014.

Le 21 février 2014, TPSGC a annoncé l'attribution d'un contrat d'une valeur de 32.1 millions $ à la société Pomerleau Inc. de Montréal pour la réhabilitation du pont Macdonald-Cartier.   

Les travaux de construction ont commencé en avril 2014 et seront essentiellement terminés en décembre 2015. Quelques travaux de finition mineurs seront menés à bien au printemps 2016. La clôture du projet est prévue pour l'été 2016.

Pour plus de renseignements sur l'annonce récente sur les investissements dans des projets d'infrastructure publique, veuillez consulter l'adresse suivante : ARCHIVÉE - Le gouvernement Harper investit dans l'économie et la création d'emplois au Canada.

Rétroaction et personnes-ressources

Pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires, communiquez avec la Direction générale des biens immobiliers de TPSGC.