Guidelines for External Presentation or Publication of Professional and Technical Papers

Real Property Branch (RPB) staff, with expertise in various architectural and engineering disciplines, often prepare professional and technical papers for presentation and/or publication to external audiences. To promote consistency with departmental practices, positions, and policies, and to mitigate any negative consequences related to misinterpretation/ misrepresentation by the intended audience of the department's position on the subject matter, RPB has adopted specific guidelines to assist their staff. These guidelines apply to all papers that are:

  • presented in person by the author
  • presented by someone delegated to act on behalf of the author
  • included in the proceedings of a meeting
  • published in technical and professional journals
  • published on the internet.

All RPB staff will ensure that all papers to be published and/or presented to external audiences adopt the following guidelines:

  • Prior to writing or co-authoring a professional/technical paper employees will inform their supervisor of their intent. (Where the paper has already been written, employees will inform their supervisor if there is an intent to publish/present)
  • In circumstances where client specific information is to be included or referenced in the paper, client approval for release of the information must be sought prior to inclusion in the paper or presentation.
  • When the paper has been completed, the employee will share the content with their manager prior to presenting or publishing. Where content or subject matter is new, controversial, or addressing an issue where the department's position is unclear, the paper will be shared with the employee's functional director prior to presenting or publishing.
  • The author will submit an electronic version of the document, in both official languages, to the applicable web publisher.
  • For information purposes, the Director General's office (NCA) or the Regional Director General (RDG)'s office (regions) should be notified that a paper will be written (or has been written) and when/where it will be published.

References:

  • "Attendance at Conferences" Policy (for information pertaining to conference attendance and travel approval authorities)
  • Framework for Managing PSPC Communications,This link is available only to clients with access to The Source, the PWGSC/PSPC intranet. March 2010 (for information pertaining to Public Services and Procurement Canada's (PSPC) responsibilities in fulfilling the requirements of Treasury Board's "Government Communications Policy")
  • Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, "Publishing Policy," October 1996 (for information pertaining to PSPC's requirements with respect to the production of timely, environmentally friendly, cost-effective publications)
  • Departmental Policy 056,This link is available only to clients with access to Publiservice, the Government of Canada extranet. "PSPC Corporate Identity" October 1997 (for information pertaining to PSPC's requirements for inclusion of the corporate identity in publications)
  • Treasury Board - Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, November 2004 (for general information on the federal government's publishing policy)

Lignes directrices pour la présentation et la publication externes de documents professionnels et de fiches techniques

Les employés de la Direction générale des biens immobiliers (DGBI), avec leurs expertises dans les diciplines d'architecture et de génie divers, préparent souvent des documents professionnels et des fiches techniques dont la diffusion ou la publication vise des publics externes. Afin de promouvoir la cohérence en ce qui touche les pratiques, les positions et les politiques ministérielles, et afin d'éviter, chez le public visé, les conséquences négatives et les interprétations fautives et toutes déclarations inexactes relativement à la position du Ministère sur un sujet donné, la DGBI a adopté des lignes directices pour assister leurs employés. Ces lignes directrices s'appliquent aux documents :

  • présentés en personne par l'auteur;
  • présentés par une personne autorisée à agir au nom de l'auteur;
  • rédigés dans le cadre d'une réunion;
  • publiés dans des revues techniques ou professionnelles;
  • publiés dans Internet

Tous les employés de la DGBI doivent s'assurer que tous les documents dont la diffusion ou la publication vise un public externe, suive les lignes directrices suivantes :

  • Avant de rédiger, seul ou avec d'autres, un document professionnel ou une fiche technique visant un public externe, les employés doivent en informer leur superviseur. (Si le document est déjà écrit, les employés doivent avertir leur superviseur de leur intention de le publier ou de le diffuser.)
  • Dans les cas où le document doit contenir de l'information portant sur le client ou y faire référence, il faut préalablement obtenir l'approbation du client pour diffuser l'information avant de l'inclure dans le document ou l'exposé.
  • Une fois le document terminé, l'employé renseignera son gestionnaire sur son contenu avant de passer à l'étape de la publication ou de la diffusion visant un public externe. Lorsque le contenu ou le sujet porte sur des faits nouveaux, prête à la controverse ou porte sur des questions pour lesquelles la position du Ministère n'est pas claire, l'employé devra soumettre le document à son directeur fonctionnel avant la publication ou la diffusion.
  • L'auteur fournira la version électronique du document, et ce dans les deux langues officielles, à l'éditeur applicable du site web.
  • Aux fins d'information seulement, le bureau du directeur général (SCN) ou le bureau du directeur général régional (DGR) (régions) doit être avisé qu'un document sera (ou a été) rédigé, et il faut indiquer la date et le type de publication.

Références :

  • Politique sur la participation aux conférences (information portant sur la participation aux conférences et les pouvoirs d'approbation de voyage);
  • Cadre pour la gestion des activités de communication au sein de SPACCe lien n'est disponible qu'aux clients ayant accès à La Source, le site intranet de TPSGC/SPAC., mars 2010 (information portant sur les responsabilités de ravaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC/SPAC) quant au respect de la politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les communications du gouvernement);
  • Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada sur la politique relative aux publications, octobre 1996 (information portant sur les responsabilités de SPAC relativement à la production de publications écologiques, rentables et dans les délais prescrits);
  • Politiques ministérielles 056Ce lien n'est disponible qu'aux clients ayant accs  Publiservice, le site extranet du gouvernement du Canada. sur l'image de marque de SPAC, octobre 1997 (information portant sur la politique de SPAC relativement à l'insertion de l'image de marque dans les publications)
  • Conseil du Trésor - Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, novembre 2004 (information générale sur la politique de publication du gouvernement)