Shop Drawings Review Process

(including Product Data Sheets)

Shop drawings are construction drawings provided by the general contractor which are utilized to facilitate compliance with the plans and specifications. They are:

  • supplementary to, and form part of the contract;
  • vital for monitoring contract compliance;
  • utilized in areas where some flexibility is required due to variations in product supply, fabrication or erection within the terms of the contract;
  • provide essential information on the contractor's proposed product submissions and the implementation strategy within the terms of the contract.

The requirement for their submission is specified in the Canadian National Master Construction Specifications, Section 01 33 00, Clause 15. Specific shop drawing requirements are usually identified in the specification sections calling up the products in question.

There is a 'generic' quality review process utilized in Real Property Branch (RPB) for the review, stamping and signing of shop drawings and the project manager must ensure that all members of the project team are aware of their roles, responsibilities and liabilities related to this review. The review by RPB staff or by consultants is for the sole purpose of ascertaining conformance with general concept. It does not provide 'approval' of the detail design inherent in shop drawings (which remains with the contractor, or the facility owner in cases of a leased facility), nor does it relieve the contractor of responsibility for errors or omissions in shop drawings or for meeting all requirements of the construction and contract documents.

The general contractor should submit shop drawings bearing their approval/signoff directly to the project manager. In cases where this process is not followed, the consultant or RPB in-house designer should not accept the drawings, return them to the sender and advise them of the proper process, or, forward the drawings to the project manager for action. Project managers have a legal responsibility to ensure that the review and signing of all shop drawings takes place. RPB and consultants staff must never provide a statement of 'approval' of the contractor's shop drawings as this could constitute an unconditional endorsement of the drawings.

Table Summary

This table lists the shop drawing review process roles and responsibilities of the Consultant or In-house Designer, the Project Manager and the contractor.

Roles and Responsibilities - (Shop Drawing Review)
Role Responsibilities
Consultant or In-house Designer
  • Specifies within the construction documents, the items for which shop drawings must be submitted by the contractor.
  • Reviews shop drawings for content within time frames negotiated with the PM to determine conformity with general concept/intent of the construction documents and indicates such conformance with the general concept or lack thereof.
  • Coordinates against overall delivery requirements.
  • Provides the contractor with reviewed/stamped/signed copies of shop drawings when reviewed.
  • Ensures each shop drawing returned identifies the applicable specification section number, and sub-section numbers, individual shop drawing number and title and the individual shop drawing review status i.e. reviewed, reviewed with annotation, or revise and re-submit.
  • Retains one copy for their records and forwards two copies to the PM for the project file and the site file.
  • Ensures that the reviewed shop drawings are returned to the contractor under cover of a transmittal form which provides all pertinent record information including addressor, addressee, project title, project number and contract number.
Project Manager
  • Reviews shop drawings for documentation completeness, (quality, specified quantity, adequacy, timeliness, date of receipt, etc.) prior to submitting them to the in-house designer or consultant.
  • Ensures that the review and signing of all shop drawings has taken place.
  • Negotiates a reasonable, agreed-upon time frame for completion of review (this time frame should consider project scope and complexity, number of drawings etc. and is normally stipulated in the contract specification).
  • Determines extent of involvement of resource discipline expertise (mechanical, (commissioning, environmental, etc.) based on project scope and complexity, number of drawings etc.
  • Tracks submissions within the review process for completeness and timeliness.
  • Ensures that the appropriate wording is utilized on all shop drawing review stamps whether project is in-house or designed by private sector consultant.
  • Ensures that the site minutes include an item for shop drawing status.
  • Ensures that the drawings have been reviewed and signed off by the designer(s) or their designate within the specified time frames.
  • Ensures that one signed copy of the shop drawing is retained on the project file and one copy on the site file.
Contractor
  • Each shop drawing submitted for review shall be line itemized and referenced by the contractor to the applicable specifications section number and sub-section numbers; individual shop drawing number and individual shop drawing title.
  • Coordinates delivery requirements with subcontractors and suppliers.
  • Signs and submits all proposed shop drawings for the project to the PM and ensures that subcontractors or suppliers do not submit shop drawings directly to the consultant or RPB.
  • Ensures that all shop drawing submissions are made under the cover of a transmittal form which provides all pertinent record information as per Section 01 33 00 of the specifications including addressor, addressee, project title, project number and contract number.
  • Distributes reviewed shop drawings to originators.

Processus de révision des dessins d'atelier

(Le document comprend également la révision des fiches de projet.)

Les dessins d'atelier sont des dessins de construction fournis par l'entrepreneur qui permettent de faciliter la conformité aux plans et aux devis. En effet, les dessins d'ateliers :

  • complètent le marché et en font partie, sans toutefois le remplacer;
  • sont essentiels au suivi de la conformité au marché;
  • offrent une certaine marge de manœuvre dans le cas de variations dans l'approvisionnement, la fabrication ou le montage d'un produit selon les conditions du marché;
  • donnent de l'information essentielle sur les soumissions de produit proposées de l'entrepreneur et sur la stratégie de mise en œuvre selon les conditions du marché.

Les exigences relatives à la soumission sont énoncées dans la clause 15 de la section 01 33 00 du Devis directeur de la construction au Canada. Les exigences particulières relatives aux dessins d'atelier sont habituellement précisées dans les sections du Devis où l'on exige des dessins d'atelier.

À la Direction générale des biens immobiliers (DGBI), on utilise un processus de révision de la qualité « générique » relatif à la révision, à l'estampillage et à la signature des dessins d'atelier. Le gestionnaire de projet doit s'assurer que tous les membres de l'équipe de projet sont avisés de leurs rôles et de leurs responsabilités. La révision des dessins d'atelier soumis par la DGBI ou par des experts-conseils vise uniquement à vérifier la conformité au concept général. Elle ne signifie pas l'approbation de l'avant-projet détaillé présenté dans les dessins d'atelier (qui demeure la responsabilité de l'entrepreneur ou, dans le cas d'installations louées, celle du propriétaire des installations) et ne dégage pas non plus l'entrepreneur de l'obligation de transmettre des dessins d'atelier complets et exacts ainsi que de se conformer à toutes les exigences des documents de construction et des documents contractuels.

L'entrepreneur général doit soumettre les dessins d'atelier portant sa marque d'approbation ou sa signature directement au gestionnaire de projet. Si cette consigne n'est pas suivie, le concepteur de la DGBI ou l'expert-conseil doit refuser les dessins et les retourner à l'expéditeur en l'avisant du processus à suivre ou refuser d'acheminer les dessins au gestionnaire de projet. Les gestionnaires de projet sont tenus en droit de veiller à ce que tous les dessins d'atelier soient révisés et signés. La DGBI et les experts-conseils ne doivent jamais fournir d'attestation quant à l'approbation des dessins d'atelier d'un entrepreneur, car elle pourrait constituer un appui inconditionnel des dessins.

Sommaire du tableau

Ce tableau indique les rôles et responsabilités de l'expert-conseil ou concepteur de la DGBI, du gestionnaire de projet et de l'entrepreneur lors du processus de révision des dessins d'atelier.

Rôles et responsabilités (révision des dessins d'atelier)
Rôle Responsabilités
Expert-conseil ou concepteur de la DGBI
  • Préciser, dans les documents de construction, tous les dessins d'atelier devant être soumis par l'entrepreneur.
  • Dans les délais convenus avec le gestionnaire de projet, vérifier si les dessins d'atelier sont conformes au concept général et à l'objet des documents de construction, et en faire état.
  • Coordonner les dessins d'atelier en tenant compte des exigences générales relativement à l'exécution du projet.
  • Remettre à l'entrepreneur les copies des dessins d'atelier revus, estampillés et signés.
  • S'assurer que chaque dessin d'atelier remis indique le numéro de la section et des sous-sections applicables des devis, le numéro et titre individuel de chaque dessin d'atelier et l'état de la révision (p. ex. revu, revu avec annotation ou réviser et resoumettre).
  • S'assurer que les dessins d'atelier révisés sont remis à l'entrepreneur avec un formulaire d'envoi qui identifie toutes les données applicables, y compris l'expéditeur, le destinataire, le titre de projet, le numéro de projet et le numéro du marché.
  • Verser deux copies au gestionnaire de projet; l'une pour le dossier du projet et l'autre pour le site.
Gestionnaire de projet
  • Vérifier si les dessins d'atelier sont complets (qualité, quantité précise, pertinence, respect des échéances, date de réception, etc.) avant de les soumettre au concepteur de la DGBI ou à l'expert-conseil.
  • Veiller à ce que les dessins d'atelier soient révisés et signés.
  • Négocier un délai raisonnable pour la révision des dessins d'atelier (la date, qui doit tenir compte de la portée du projet, de la complexité des dessins et du nombre de dessins, est normalement précisée dans le marché).
  • Déterminer l'ampleur de la participation et l'expertise des personnes-ressources (mise en service, environnement, installations mécaniques, etc.) en fonction, notamment, de la portée du projet, de la complexité des dessins et du nombre de dessins.
  • Vérifier si les soumissions sont complètes et si elles respectent l'échéance.
  • Veiller à ce que le libellé approprié soit utilisé sur l'estampille des dessins d'ateliers, tant pour les projets conçus par la DGBI que ceux conçus par un expert-conseil.
  • S'assurer que les comptes rendus de site font mention de l'état des dessins d'atelier.
  • Constater que les dessins ont été revus et signés par le concepteur ou son représentant, dans le délai imparti.
  • S'assurer qu'une copie des dessins est versée dans le dossier du projet et qu'une autre est disponible sur le site.
Entrepreneur
  • S'assurer que chaque dessin d'atelier soumis indique le numéro de la section et des sous-sections applicables des devis et le numéro et titre individuel de chaque dessin d'atelier.
  • Coordonner les exigences relatives à l'exécution du projet avec les sous-traitants et les fournisseurs.
  • Signer et soumettre tous les dessins d'atelier pour le projet au gestionnaire de projet et veiller à ce que les sous-traitants et les fournisseurs ne soumettent pas de dessins d'atelier directement à la DGBI ou à l'expert-conseil.
  • S'assurer que tous les dessins d'atelier sont soumis avec un formulaire d'envoi qui identifie toutes les données applicables selon la section 01 33 00 des devis, y compris l'expéditeur, le destinataire, le titre de projet, le numéro de projet et le numéro du marché.
  • Distribuer les dessins d'atelier examinés aux auteurs.