Consultant Evaluation Board Membership for Architectural and Engineering Contracts

The Real Property Branch (RPB) utilizes individual Consultant Evaluation Boards to conduct evaluations of architectural and engineering proposals. Membership on these Boards consists of qualified senior level professional, technicaland contracting specialists who provide a quality review which demonstrates integrity, consistency, credibility and transparency.

Rating members for each of these Boards consists of a chairperson, and a minimum of three qualified employees, one of whom is normally the project manager. For smaller single discipline proposals, a minimum of three rating members (rather than three and a chairperson) is acceptable. Non-rating membership is comprised of a representative from Real Property Contracting (RPC) who acts as Board Administrator and may also include others on an optional basis i.e., representatives of client, other Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) branches, other government departments, professional associations etc., who may wish to attend either as 'observers' or for training purposes.

Membership on individual boards is proposed by a Senior Project Manager (SPM) following his/her review of project specifics to identify the linguistics, skill sets, professional and technical qualifications and discipline expertise required. The SPM signs the Consultant Evaluation Membership Approval form and obtains approval of the overall membership from the Director level at NCA /Regional Manager level in regions prior to proceeding to the evaluation.

Roles and Responsibilities - Consultant Evaluation Board

Chairperson:

  • exercises the 'technical authority',
  • chairs the pre-board planning meeting,
  • chairs the board meeting,
  • encourages discussion,
  • debriefs (with RPC) non-successful firms where firms request such action.
  • ensures that the Chairperson and rating members are bilingual (when proposals are received in both official languages.)

Evaluators:

  • must have significant relevant broad experience, or reflect a diversity of experience in the type(s) of services being contracted, e.g., for large architectural and engineering contracts, ensure participation of mechanical/electrical disciplines.
  • are recognized as professionals and/or project managers/officers. [In exceptional cases, a 'non- professional' qualified representative of the client may become a rating member for the 'non-technical' portions of a proposal as understood by the proponent (i.e. project objectives)].
  • may be selected from clients, regions (with RM approval), professional associations, other industry specialists and advisors etc. (as required).

Board Administrator: (RPC individual)

  • exercises the 'contracting authority',
  • records the evaluation results,
  • provides contractual advice as required,
  • ensures integrity and transparency of the process and ensures that the evaluation is carried out in accordance with the methodology established in the solicitation document.

Board Protocol:

  • board membership must remain the same for both phases of 'one stage - two phase' proposals.
  • board members must exercise 'professional' judgment as to whether they should rate a particular evaluation criterion or include only ratings from appropriate discipline specialists (i.e., architects evaluating engineers or mechanical engineers evaluating civil engineers).

Forms, samples and checklists

Composition du Comité d'évaluation des services d'experts-conseils pour les marchés d'architecture et de génie

La Direction générale des biens immobiliers (DGBI) utilise des comités d'évaluation individuels pour l'évaluation des propositions en architecture et en génie. L'adhésion sur ces comités se compose des spécialistes de haut niveau qualifiés en professionnel, techniques, et dans l'approvisionnement qui font une évaluation de qualité crédible en faisant preuve d'intégrité, d'uniformité et de transparence.

Les membres évaluateurs pour chacun des comités comprendront un président et au moins trois employés qualifiés, dont un d'entre eux devrait normalement être le gestionnaire de projet. Pour les propositions mineures avec seulement une discipline, un minimum de trois membres évaluateurs est acceptable (au lieu de trois et le président). Les membres non évaluateurs seront un représentant du secteur de l'attribution des marchés immobiliers (SAMI), agissant comme administrateur du Comité ainsi que d'autres membres de façon facultatif c.-à-d. des représentants du client, d'autres directions de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC), d'autres ministères, des associations professionnelles, etc. qui pourraient participer à titre d'observateur ou pour fin de développement.

Un gestionnaire principal de projets (GPP) va recommander la composition de ces comités individuels après son évaluation des particularités du projet pour établir les compétences linguistiques, identifier les ensembles de compétence, qualifications professionnelles et techniques nécessaires ainsi que les disciplines visées. Le GPP signe le Formulaire d'approbation des membres du Comité d'évaluation des services d'experts-conseils et obtient l'approbation du directeur (SCN)/gestionnaire régional (dans les régions) avant de procéder à une évaluation.

Rôles et responsabilités - Comité d'évaluation

Le président :

  • représente l'autorité technique;
  • préside les réunions de planification;
  • préside les réunions de Conseil;
  • stimule la discussion;
  • informe (avec la SAMI) les entreprises non retenues qui en font la demande;
  • s'assure que le président et les membres évaluateurs soient bilingues dans le cas des propositions reçues en anglais et en français.

Évaluateurs :

  • doient avoir une expérience pertinente suffisamment large ou refléter des expériences variées du ou des types de services faisant l'objet de la soumission (par exemple, dans le cas des gros marchés de services d'architecture et de génie, on doit assurer la participation de spécialistes en mécanique/électrique).
  • doivent être reconnus comme "professionnels" et/ou gestionnaire/agent de projet. Dans des cas exceptionnels, un représentant du client qualifié de "non-professionnel" puisse devenir un membre évaluateur pour les parties "non techniques" d'une proposition selon l'interprétation du proposant (c.-à-d. les objectifs du projet).
  • peuvent être recrutés à partir d'autres sources, p. ex. les clients, les régions (avec l'approbation du GR), des représentants des associations professionelles ou autres spécialistes de l'industrie (si requis).

L'administrateur du comité : (individu des SAMI)

  • représente "l'autorité contractante".
  • consigne les résultats de l'évaluation.
  • donne des avis en matière de marchés.
  • assure l'intégrité et la transparence du processus et que l'évaluation soit menée conformément à la méthode établie dans la demande de proposition.

Protocole de comité :

  • les membres du Comité d'évaluation doivent demeurer les mêmes pour les deux phases des propositions d'une étape - deux phases;
  • les membres du Comité d'évaluation doivent démontrer un jugement professionel avant d'évaluer une critère d'évaluation particulier ou inclure seulement les évaluations des spécialistes de discipline (par exemple un architecte évaluant un ingénieur ou un ingénieur mécanique évaluant un ingénieur civil);

Formulaires, modèles et listes de vérification