National Project Management System Directive on Document Management for Real Property Projects

Table of contents

  1. 1. Effective Date
  2. 2. Authority
  3. 3. Context
  4. 4. Scope
  5. 5. Purpose
  6. 6. Details of the directive
  7. 7. Responsibilities
  8. 8. References
  9. 9. Attachment
  10. 10. Enquiries

1. Effective date

September 2013 (updated November 2016)

2. Authority

This directive is issued under the authority of the Director General (DG), Professional and Technical Service Management Sector (PTSM), Real Property Branch (RPB), Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC/PSPC).

3. Context

This directive shall be read in conjunction with the PSPC Policy on the National Project Management System (106) (page available on Government of Canada network only) and the National Project Management System Directive for Real Property Projects.

4. Scope

This directive applies to all PSPC employees involved in the management of real property projects that follow the National Project Management System (NPMS).

5. Purpose

This directive describes the requirements for proper document management within the development process of real property NPMS projects, in order to ensure that information on a project is readily and easily available during the development of the project.

6. Details of the directive

6.1 Document management process

As early as possible within the NPMS Project Inception Stage, the Project Leader or Project Manager shall begin the document management process by requesting the latest Electronic Project Filing Structure (EPFS) from the Regional EPFS Administrator.

The EPFS allows for easy access to all project documents, including contracts and NPMS deliverables, while guiding electronic storage and facilitating quality control and project audits. Users of the EPFS must consult the EPFS User Manual for guidance on the implementation and population of the EPFS in relation to real property projects. This manual is provided within the folders of the EPFS, in the root directory of each project, and is also available from the Regional EPFS Administrator or by contacting SCEP.EPFS@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca. When the EPFS is updated, the EPFS User Manual is updated simultaneously, and the EPFS Administrator shall provide to the users the updated manual.

The EPFS for each NPMS project shall be hosted within a suitable deployment environment (media used to host the EPFS), which is either:

During the course of the project, the Project Manager shall file all project-related documents within the EPFS outlined in Annex A. The Project Manager shall not wait until the end of the project to do the filing.

The EPFS is generic to support a variety of projects and, as such, not all folders will be required for all projects. However, there are numerous folders that are “mandatory” and must be used for all projects. These folders consist of:

For national filing consistency, the use of the Complete EPFS is highly recommended. However, since some groups could have unique document management needs (based on project complexity, technological limitations, etc.), a Basic EPFS, shown in Annex B, has been identified. The Basic EPFS is a subset of the Complete EPFS and represents the minimal organizational structure to support.

The Professional and Technical Services (P&TS) Regional Directors are responsible for determining the appropriate regional business rules for using the Basic EPFS, the Complete EPFS, or a hybrid between the Basic and Complete EPFS. The regional business rules must respect the following criteria:

6.2 Creation of a physical project file

Protected B documents may be stored in GCDOCS. However, a physical project file is necessary to hold documents marked Protected C and above, as well as documents with signatures or hand notations that have to be kept in their original form for legal or audit reasons. When a physical project file is needed by the Project Leader or Project Manager, a request shall be sent to the lead for records management in the appropriate region.

6.3 Project close-out

Once a project is complete, the project data stored in the EPFS must be archived using the departmental document management tool (GCDOCS) where it will remain accessible until it reaches the end of its assigned retention period.  The lead for records management in each region may be consulted for information on how to properly archive physical project files.

7. Responsibilities

The Project Leader is responsible for:

The Project Manager is responsible for:

Regional EPFS administrators are responsible for:

8. References

Treasury Board publications

Public Services and Procurement Canada publications

9. Attachment

10. Enquiries

Please direct enquiries about this directive to SNGP.NPMS@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.

For enquiries specific to the Electronic Project Filing Structure, please contact SCEP.EPFS@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.

Annex A: Electronic project filing structure v3.0

Root directory (P:\RPS\EPFS\R.000000.123)

A_NPMS
B_SERVICES
C_CONSTRUCTION
D_LEASE
E_GOODS
F_CLIENTS
G_COMMUNICATIONS AND MEETINGS
H_PROJECT MONITORING
I_SPECIALIZED AREAS
Z_BASE DATA

Annex B: Basic electronic project filing structure v3.0

Root directory (P:\RPS\EPFS\R.000000.123)

A_NPMS
B_SERVICES
C_CONSTRUCTION
D_LEASE
E_GOODS
F_CLIENTS
G_COMMUNICATIONS AND MEETINGS
H_PROJECT MONITORING
I_SPECIALIZED AREAS
Z_BASE DATA

Directive du Système national de gestion de projet sur la gestion des documents pour les projets immobiliers

Table des matières

  1. 1. Date d'entrée en vigueur
  2. 2. Autorité
  3. 3. Contexte
  4. 4. Portée
  5. 5. But
  6. 6. Détail de la procédure
  7. 7. Responsabilités
  8. 8. Références
  9. 9. Pièce jointe
  10. 10. Demandes de renseignements

1. Date d’entrée en vigueur

Septembre 2013 (mise à jour en novembre 2016)

2. Autorité

La présente directive est publiée sous l’autorité du directeur général, Secteur de la gestion des services professionnels et techniques (GSPT), Direction générale des biens immobiliers (DGBI), Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC/SPAC).

3. Contexte

La présente directive doit être lue parallèlement à la Politique relative au Système national de gestion de projet (106) de SPAC (page accessible uniquement sur le réseau du gouvernement du Canada) et à la Directive relative au Système national de gestion de projet pour les projets immobiliers.

4. Portée

La présente directive s’applique à tous les employés de SPAC qui participent à la gestion des projets immobiliers réalisés selon le Système national de gestion de projet (SNGP).

5. But

La présente directive décrit les exigences de gestion appropriée des documents comprises dans le processus d’élaboration des projets immobiliers dans le SNGP, visant à s’assurer que l’information sur les projets est accessible rapidement et facilement pendant l’élaboration du projet.

6. Détail de la directive

6.1. Processus de gestion des documents

Le plus tôt possible à l’étape de début de projet du SNGP, le chef de projet ou gestionnaire de projet doit entamer le processus de gestion des documents en demandant d’obtenir la plus récente structure de classement électronique des projets (SCEP) à l’administrateur régional de la SCEP.

La SCEP permet d’accéder facilement à l’ensemble des documents de projet, y compris les contrats et les produits livrables du SNGP, tout en orientant le stockage électronique et en facilitant le contrôle de la qualité et les vérifications des projets. Les utilisateurs de la SCEP doivent consulter le Manuel de l’utilisateur de la SCEP pour obtenir une orientation sur la mise en œuvre de la SCEP et le stockage des documents relatifs aux projets immobiliers dans celle-ci. Ce manuel se trouve dans les dossiers de la SCEP, dans le répertoire racine de chaque projet, et peut également être obtenu auprès de l’administrateur régional de la SCEP ou en communiquant avec SCEP.EPFS@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca. Lorsque la SCEP est mise à jour, le manuel de l’utilisateur de la SCEP est mis à jour simultanément, et l’administrateur de la SCEP doit fournir la version mise à jour du manuel aux utilisateurs.

La SCEP de chaque projet du SNGP doit être hébergée dans un environnement de déploiement adéquat (support utilisé pour héberger la SCEP), soit :

Durant le projet, le gestionnaire de projet doit classer tous les documents liés au projet dans la SCEP décrite à l’annexe A. Le gestionnaire de projet ne doit pas attendre à la fin du projet pour procéder au classement.

La SCEP est générique afin de soutenir divers projets et, par conséquent, ce ne sont pas tous les dossiers qui seront utilisés pour l’ensemble des projets. Toutefois, de nombreux dossiers sont « obligatoires » et doivent être utilisés pour les projets. Ces dossiers consistent en :

Afin d’obtenir une uniformité nationale, l’utilisation de la SCEP complète est fortement recommandée. Cependant, puisque certains groupes peuvent avoir des besoins particuliers pour la gestion de leurs documents (basé sur la complexité des projets, les limitations technologiques, etc.), une SCEP de base, décrite à l’annexe B, a été élaborée.  La SCEP de base est une version simplifiée de la SCEP complète et représente la structure organisationnelle minimale à mettre en œuvre.

Les directeurs régionaux des Services professionnels et techniques ont la responsabilité de déterminer les règles d’affaire régionales appropriées pour l’utilisation de la SCEP de base, la SCEP complète, ou un hybride entre celle de base et celle complète.  Les règles d’affaire régionales doivent respecter les critères suivants :

6.2. Création d’un dossier physique de projet

Les documents « Protégé B » peuvent être stockés dans GCDocs. Cependant, un dossier physique de projet est nécessaire pour contenir les documents « Protégé C » ou une cote supérieure, ainsi que les documents comportant des signatures ou des notes écrites à la main qui doivent être conservés dans leur forme originale à des fins juridiques ou de vérification.  Lorsque le chef de projet ou le gestionnaire de projet a besoin d’un dossier physique de projet, une demande doit être envoyée au responsable de la gestion de l’information de la région appropriée.

6.3. Clôture du projet

Lorsqu’un projet est terminé, les données du projet stockées dans la SCEP doivent être archivées au moyen de l’outil de gestion des documents du Ministère (GCDocs), dans lequel elles demeureront accessibles jusqu’à la fin de leur période de conservation. Le responsable de la gestion de l’information de chaque région peut être consulté pour obtenir de l’information sur l’archivage des dossiers physiques de projet.

7. Responsabilités

Le chef de projet doit :

Le gestionnaire de projet est chargé de :

Les administrateurs régionaux de la SCEP doivent :

8. Références

Publications du Conseil du Trésor

Publications de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

9. Pièce jointe

10. Demandes de renseignements

Veuillez adresser toute demande de renseignements concernant la présente directive à SNGP.NPMS@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.

Les demandes de renseignements propres à la SCEP doivent être adressées à : SCEP.EPFS@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.

Annexe A : Structure de classement électronique de projet v3.0

Répertoire racine (P:\RPS\SCEP\R.000000.123)

A_SNGP
B_SERVICES
C_CONSTRUCTION
D_BAIL
E_BIENS
F_CLIENTS
G_COMMUNICATIONS ET RÉUNIONS
H_SUIVI DU PROJET
I_DOMAINES SPÉCIALISÉS
Z_DONNÉES DE BASE

Annexe B : Structure de classement électronique de projet de base v3.0

Répertoire racine (P:\RPS\SCEP\R.000000.123)

A_SNGP
B_SERVICES
C_CONSTRUCTION
D_BAIL
E_BIENS
F_CLIENTS
G_COMMUNICATIONS ET RÉUNIONS
H_SUIVI DU PROJET
I_DOMAINES SPÉCIALISÉS
Z_DONNÉES DE BASE