Annex A—Lessons-learned meeting agenda template

  • Project title:
  • Project Leader:
  • Project Manager:
  • Date:
  • Location:

Guidelines for the lessons learned meeting

Description: This guideline is designed to help in the completion of lessons learned documentation for a project, which includes all the phases of National Project Management System (NPMS). The lessons learned meeting should be held shortly after project completion/ client move-in. It is suggested that the Project Leader chair the meeting (Project Manager for other government department (OGD) projects), with all Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) team members invited to attend. Client participation is highly recommended. Depending on the size and scope of the project the team may wish to include the landlord (if applicable), consultant, contractor and other stakeholders.

The purpose of the meeting is to review the outcome of the project, assess the status of any outstanding items, and review the lessons learned. The discussion would include the project in general, identifying areas of change or improvement for the next project (“lessons learned”), the on-going work requirements, and/or plans for future work on the project. Refer to section 7.1.3 (Step 3) of the National Project Management System Directive on lessons learned for real property projects.

Items to consider are: The NPMS deliverables and control points, project administration, change orders, schedule, costing information, security, commissioning, NPMS knowledge areas specifically relating to the project and other information.

The lessons-learned meeting provides a good opportunity for the Chair to distribute the lessons-learned log or report template for discussion.

The agenda can use the following suggested topics (see the checklist at section 4 of Annex C—Lessons-learned report template of the National Project Management System Directive on lessons learned for real property projects, for additional items):

  1. Close out document checklist: is it completed and are all required documents accounted for?
  2. Performance indicators: did the project finish on budget, on scope, on time? If not, what were the reasons?
  3. Did the project meet its business outcomes (benefit realizations)? The question to answer here is: did completing this project result in benefits to the client?
  4. Outstanding project items (follow the Close Out Document checklist)
  5. Project lessons learned: discuss lessons learned at each stage of the project.This could be in the form of a checklist/writing format. While having this discussion, identify lessons learned that are to be shared with the Regional Gatekeeper and local management.
  6. Summary of lessons learned and issues that can be improved in the future: PSPC, Client, Landlord (if applicable), Consultant, Contractor, Other.
  7. Round table

Annexe A – Modèle d’ordre du jour de réunion de leçons apprises

  • Titre du projet :
  • Chef de projet :
  • Gestionnaire de projet :
  • Date :
  • Emplacement :

Lignes directrices relatives à la réunion de leçons apprises

Description : Les lignes directrices qui suivent visent à faciliter l’établissement de la documentation sur les leçons apprises lors de l’exécution d’un projet. Les leçons apprises tiennent compte de toutes les phases du Système national de gestion de projets (SNGP), et la réunion devrait avoir lieu peu de temps après la fin du projet ou l’occupation des locaux par le client. Le chef de projet devrait présider la réunion à laquelle seront conviés tous les membres de l’équipe de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC). La participation du client est fortement recommandée. Selon la taille et la portée du projet, l’équipe pourra inviter le propriétaire (s’il y a lieu), l’expert-conseil, l’entrepreneur et d’autres intervenants.

La réunion vise à examiner le résultat du projet, à faire le point sur les questions en instance et à examiner les leçons apprises. Les débats porteront sur l’ensemble du projet, sur l’indication des domaines à modifier ou à améliorer avant d’entreprendre un autre projet (leçons apprises) et sur les exigences relatives aux travaux ou les plans relatifs aux travaux futurs touchant le projet. Veuillez vous référer à la section 7.1.3 (étape 3) de la Directive du Système national de gestion de projet relative aux leçons apprises pour les projets immobiliers.

Les points à examiner sont : les produits livrables et les points de vérification du SNGP, l’administration du projet, les autorisations de modifications, l’échéancier, les renseignements sur les coûts, la sécurité, la mise en service, les domaines de connaissance du SNGP qui portent directement sur le projet et les autres renseignements pertinents.

Le président de la réunion devrait profiter de cette occasion pour diffuser le gabarit du document concernant les leçons apprises qui sera examiné.

L’ordre du jour peut s’inspirer des points suivants (voir aussi la liste de contrôle à la section 4 à l’Annexe C – Modèle de leçons apprises de la Directive du Système national de gestion de projet relative aux leçons apprises pour les projets immobiliers, pour des points additionnels) :

  1. Liste de contrôle du document de clôture : est-elle terminée et tient-elle compte de tous les documents exigés?
  2. Indicateurs de rendement : le projet a-t-il été exécuté en respectant le budget, la portée et les échéances? Sinon, pourquoi?
  3. Le projet a-t-il atteint les objectifs d’affaires (concrétisation des avantages)? Il faut répondre à la question suivante : l’exécution du projet a-t-elle apporté des avantages au client?
  4. Éléments du projet en suspens (voir la liste de contrôle du document de clôture).
  5. Leçons apprises du projet : examen des leçons apprises à chaque phase du projet au moyen d’un document écrit ou d’une liste de contrôle. Pendant l’examen, précisez les leçons apprises qui doivent être partagées avec le contrôleur régional et la gestion locale.
  6. Résumé des leçons apprises et problèmes à résoudre en prévision de l’avenir : SPAC, client, propriétaire (s’il y a lieu), expert-conseil, entrepreneur, autre.
  7. Tour de table