Annex 2—National Project Management System conformance review regional/sector report template (update 3)

To: SNGP.NPMS@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca
Date: (insert date on which the report is sent to Head Quarter)

National Project Management System conformance review report

For: (name of region / sector / organization)

This report represents the results of all the National Project Management System (NPMS) comprehensive conformance reviews performed in accordance with the National Project Management System Directive on the Monitoring of Real Property Projects’ Conformance to the National Project Management System for FY xx/xx.

Note: One report per region/sector is to be provided (regions/sectors are to coordinate between their areas as/if necessary).

By project category, the Results table below contains the total number of real property projects over $25K of any type undertaken by the region/sector (column A) and the number of projects reviewed (column B). It also contains, for the projects reviewed, the number of projects that had no major issues (column C) and the percentage that number represents amongst the projects reviewed (column C divided by column B). The major issues encountered must be described after the Results table.

To qualify as a project with no major issues, the reviewed project must:

  1. Not be missing any major documents. If required by the NPMS stream to be followed, the major documents are the Statement of Requirement (SoR), the project charter, the Investment Analysis Report (IAR), the Project Management Plan (PMP) and the Project Review Advisory Committee (PRAC) report. All of these must be on file, approved with signatures (or a proof of approval such as an email from the approval authority). Paper files are acceptable if properly stored in a regional central facility.
  2. Not have more than one NPMS deliverable missing. If required by the NPMS process to be followed, the deliverables are: Preliminary Project Plan (PPP), Feasibility Report (FR), Project Complexity and Risk Assessment (PCRA), Identification Close Out Document (ICOD), Product Turn Over (PTO), Close Out Document (COD) and Lessons learned (LL). They must be on file, approved with signatures (or a proof of approval such as an email from the approval authority). Paper files are acceptable if properly stored in a regional central facility.
  3. Have all project documentation easily retrievable, whether it is in EDRM, GCDOCSFootnote *, in a collaborative tool (such as OPROMA/Sharepoint), or on a properly-structured shared drive. Having project information on a precarious or isolated medium is a major issue (such as a personal network drive, USB or C drive). Not following the electronic project filing structure (EPFS) for projects over $25K started since September 2013 is also a major issue.
  4. Have documentation of appropriate quality according to the nature and complexity of the project. For example, barely-completed templates are a major issue. Following NPMS Lite when the project calls for NPMS Full is a major issue, as projects that go over an NPMS threshold are to meet the new threshold requirements as soon as the change is known.

Results

This table is a template and contains no data.

Table summary

This table specifies, for each project category, the total number, the number of project reviewed, the percentage reviewed, the number of projects with no major issues and associated percentage, and comments.

Project category Threshold ($) Total number (A) Number reviewed (B) % (B/A) No major issues for Issues
Number (C) % (C/B)
Lease
(no fit-up)
250K to <100M            
<250K            
Space
(fit-up, i.e.)
250K to <100M           See Table 1
(example)
<250K            
PSPC-Asset
(bridges, dams, i.e.)
250K to <100M            
<250K            
Environmental Footnote ** 250K to <100M            
<250K            
Other government department 250K to <100M            
<250K           See Table 2
(example)
Tenant Service 250K to <100M            
<250K            
Total for the organization 250K to <100M (1)            
<250K (2)            
Total
(1) + (2)
           
100M            

Table(s) to be provided: Under the Issues column in the Results table, reference numbers (1, 2, 3, i.e.) are used and, below the Results table, additional tables are added which correspond to these reference numbers. These additional tables provide details about each non-conformance (see document glossary below). After each table, any other relevant information is added, as appropriate.

Examples

Table summary

This table indicate, for each space project reviewed that is over $250k and below $100M, whether the required NPMS deliverables and elements of review are provided or not.

Table 1: Space $250K to < $100M
  Element of review
Project name SOR PPP FR PC PCRA IAR ICOD PMP PTO COD PRAC Storage LL
Project A x
Project B x x x x
Project C x n/a
Project n x x

Relevant information added as necessary to explain issues in above table.

Table summary

This table indicate, for each other government department project reviewed that is below $250k, whether the required NPMS deliverables and elements of review are provided or not.

Table 2: Other government department < $250K
  Element of review
Project name SOR PPP FR PC PCRA IAR ICOD PMP PTO COD PRAC Storage LL
Project A x
Project B x x
Project C x
Project n x

Relevant information added as necessary to explain issues in above table.

Sampling

The 1% and 10% sampling for the comprehensive reviews must be calculated from all projects between $25K and $100M that have reached, as a minimum, the substantively-completed IAR status. It is understood that projects at that stage will have fewer completed documents and deliverables, but it is important to start reviewing them at that point. All (100% of) projects over $100M have to be reviewed every year.

Sampling should always be done proportionally to the project types handled in any given region/sector. For example, it would not be appropriate to review mostly identification stage projects when they represent a small number of the total, nor would it be appropriate to mostly review PSPC-funded projects if most of the regional work is Other Government Department (OGD). An identification-stage project is a project that has only reached the substantive IAR phase.

Additional information to be reported on

  1. Observations on the source or causes of the conformance issues encountered during the reviews, and actions already taken to prevent them in the future (can be n/a if there were no issues).
  2. Innovative or integration solutions used to facilitate the conformance review process or integrate the review process into existing regional processes that other regions could benefit from.
  3. Regional action plan for actions to be taken to address the conformance issues (what is being planned to address the issues encountered that can be reviewed in the next review cycle - can be n/a if there are no actions to be taken or if they were already taken) and a report on the implementation of the previous year’s recommendations.
  4. Were PRACs conducted in accordance with NPMS? What were the main issues found in the PRACs that were conducted? Were PRACs done for all projects as per the National Project Management System Real Property Procedure on Project Reviews? If not 100%, what was the percentage of projects that had their PRACs done, and what were the reasons for not doing all projects?
  5. Were lessons learned produced in accordance with NPMS? Were lessons learned done for all projects as per the National Project Management System Directive on Lessons Learned for Real Property Projects? If lessons learned were not done for 100% of projects, what was the percentage of projects that had lessons learned produced, and what were the reasons for not doing all projects?

Glossary

COD
Close Out Document
FR
Feasibility Report
IAR
Investment Analysis Report
ICOD
Identification Close-Out Document
LL
Lessons Learned documentation
PC
Project Charter
PCRA
Project Complexity and Risk Assessment
PMP
Project Management Plan
PPP
Preliminary Project Plan
PRAC
Project Review Advisory Committee (report)
PTO
Product Turn Over
SOR
Statement of Requirements
Storage
Easily retrievable and reliable document storage

Annexe 2 – Modèle de rapport d’examen du respect au Système national de gestion de projet pour région/secteur (mise à jour 3)

À l’intention de : SNGP.NPMS@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca
Date : (date à laquelle le rapport est envoyé à l'administration centrale)

Rapport d’examen du respect au Système national de gestion de projet

Pour : (nom de la région, secteur ou de l’organisation)

Le tableau ci-dessous présente les résultats de tous les examens complets de respect au Système national de gestion de projet (SNGP) qui ont été effectués conformément à la Directive du Système national de gestion de projet sur la surveillance du respect au Système national de gestion de projet des projets immobiliers pour l’exercice financier XXXX-XXXX.

Note : On doit produire un rapport par région (les régions/secteurs doivent coordonner à l’interne au besoin).

Le tableau, séparé par catégorie de projet, présente le nombre total de projets de plus de 25 K $ de tout type (colonne A) et le nombre de projets examinés (colonne B). Il indique également le nombre de projets qui ne présentent aucune lacune importante (colonne C) parmi les projets examinés, ainsi que le pourcentage que ce nombre représente par rapport aux projets examinés (colonne C divisée par colonne B). Les lacunes importantes rencontrées doivent être décrites à la suite du tableau des résultats.

Pour qu’un projet soit considéré sans lacune importante, le projet examiné devra :

  1. Ne pas manquer aucun document important. Si requis par le type de processus SNGP devant être suivi, les documents importants sont l’énoncé des exigences (ÉE), l’arrêté de projet (AP), le rapport d’analyse des investissements (RAI), le plan de gestion de projet (PGP) et le rapport du comité consultatif sur l'examen de projets (CCRP).
  2. Ne pas manquer plus d’un livrable SNGP. Si requis par le processus devant être suivi, les livrables sont : le plan préliminaire de projet (PPP), le rapport de faisabilité (RF), l’évaluation de la complexité et des risques des projets (ECRP), le document de clôture de l’identification (DCI), le transfert du produit livrable (TPL), le document de clôture (DC) et les leçons apprises. Les documents doivent être dans les dossiers, approuvés avec signature (ou une preuve d’approbation tel qu’un courriel de l’autorité compétente). Les documents papier sont acceptables lorsqu’ils sont classés de façon appropriée dans un endroit central régional.
  3. Avoir toute la documentation facilement récupérable, que ce soit dans GDDE, GCDocsNote de bas de page *, dans un outil de collaboration (comme Oproma/Sharepoint) ou bien dans un disque partagé convenablement structuré. Avoir la documentation de projet dans un média précaire ou isolé est une lacune importante (comme un disque réseau personnel, une clef USB ou bien le disque C). Ne pas suivre la structure de classement électronique de projet (SCEP) pour un projet de plus de 25 K $ qui a démarré depuis septembre 2013 est une lacune importante.
  4. Avoir une documentation de qualité appropriée à la nature et la complexité du projet. Par exemples, des gabarits à peine remplis sont une lacune importante. Suivre le SNGP allégé quand le projet requiert le SNGP complet est une lacune importante puisque les projets qui traverse un seuil SNGP doivent recontrer les exigences du nouveau seuil dès que le changement est connu.

Résultats

Ce tableau est un gabarit et ne contient aucune donnée.

Sommaire du tableau

Ce tableau précise, pour chaque catégorie de projet, le nombre de projet total, le nombre de projet examinés, le pourcentage examiné, le nombre de projets n'ayant pas de lacune importante et le pourcentage associé, ainsi que des commentaires.

Catégorie de projet
Seuil
($)
Nombre
total
(A)
Nombre examinés
(B)
% (B/A) Projets sans lacune importante Lacunes
Nombre (C) % (C/B)
Location
(sans aménagement)
250 K à <100 M            
< 250 K            
Locaux
(aménagement, etc.)
250 K à <100 M           Voir tableau 1 (example)
< 250 K            
Biens immobiliers de SPAC
(ponts, barrages, etc.)
250 K à <100 M            
< 250 K            
Environnemental Note de bas de page ** 250 K à <100 M            
< 250 K            
Autres ministères 250 K à <100 M            
< 250 K           Voir tableau 2 (example)
Services aux locataires 250 K à <100 M            
< 250 K            
Nombre total pour l’organisation 250 K à <100 M (1)            
< 250 K (2)            
Total
(1) + (2)
           
100 M            

Tableau(x) à être fournis : Inscrire dans la colonne « Lacunes » les numéros de références (1, 2, 3, etc.) qui correspondent aux tableaux supplémentaires apparaissant à la suite du tableau des résultats. Ces tableaux donnent les détails à propos de chacun des non-respects (voir le glossaire plus bas). À la suite de chacun des tableaux supplémentaires, ajouter toute information pertinente tel qu’approprié.

Examples

Sommaire du tableau

Ce tableau précise, pour chaque projet relatif aux locaux supérieur à 250 K $ et inférieur à 100 M $, si les produits livrables requis du SNGP ainsi que les éléments examinés ont été fournis ou non.

Tableau 1 : Locaux 250 K $ à < 100 M $
  Éléments examinés
Nom de projet ÉE PPP RF AP ECRP RAI DCI PGP TPL DC CCRP Stockage Leçons
Projet A x
Projet B x x x x
Projet C x s.o.
Projet n x x

Information pertinente à ajouter au besoin pour expliquer le tableau ci-dessus.

Sommaire du tableau

Ce tableau précise, pour chaque projet d’un autre ministère inférieur à 250 K $, si les produits livrables requis du SNGP ainsi que les éléments examinés ont été fournis ou non.

Tableau 2 : Autre ministère < 250 K $
  Éléments examinés
Nom de projet ÉE PPP RF AP ECRP RAI DCI PGP TPL DC CCRP Stockage Leçons
Projet A x
Projet B x x
Projet C x
Projet n x

Information pertinente à ajouter au besoin pour expliquer le tableau ci-dessus.

Échantillonnage

L’échantillonnage du 1 et du 10 % pour les examens complets doit être calculé à partir du nombre total de projets entre 25 K $ et 100 M $ qui ont obtenu, au minimum, un RAI presque achevé. On comprend que les projets qui sont à cette étape auront moins de documents à réviser mais il est quand même important de commencer à les examiner à ce moment. Tous les projets (100 %) de plus de 100 M $ doivent être examinés à chaque année.

L’échantillonnage devrait être fait en proportion avec les types de projets que la région/secteur gère. Par exemple, il ne serait pas approprié d’examiner principalement des projets à l’étape d’identification quand ils représentent un petit nombre du total des projets et il ne serait non plus approprié d’examiner principalement des projets de SPAC si la plupart du travail régional est pour d’autres ministères. Un projet à l’étape d’identification est un projet qui a seulement atteint le RAI presque achevé.

Information additionnelle à soumettre dans le rapport

  1. Observations sur la source ou la cause des problèmes de respect rencontrés pendant les examens et les actions déjà prises pour les éviter à l’avenir (peut être s.o. s’il n’y a pas eu de problèmes).
  2. Solutions novatrices ou d’intégration entreprises faciliter le processus d’examen de respect ou pour intégrer le processus d’examen dans des processus régionaux existants dont d’autres régions pourraient bénéficier.
  3. Plan d’action régional sur les mesures à prendre pour remédier aux problèmes de respect (ce qui est planifié pour corriger les problèmes et qui peut être vérifié dans le prochain cycle d’examen – peut être s.o. s’il n’y a aucune mesure à prendre ou bien si les mesures ont déjà été prises) et un rapport au sujet de la mise en œuvre des recommandations de l’année précédente.
  4. Est-ce que les CCRP ont été fait en conformité avec le SNGP? Quels ont été les problèmes soulevés dans les CCRP qui ont été faits? Est-ce que les CCRP ont été faits pour tous les projets tel que requis par la Procédure du Système national de gestion de projet de la Direction générale des biens immobiliers concernant l'examen de projets? Si ce n’est pas 100 %, quel était le pourcentage qui a été fait et quelles sont les raisons pour ne pas tous les avoir faits?
  5. Est-ce que les leçons apprises ont été produites en conformité avec le SNGP? Est-ce que les leçons apprises ont été faites tel que requis par la Directive du Système national de gestion de projet sur les leçons apprises des projets immobiliers? Si les leçons apprises n’ont pas étét faites pour 100 % des projets, quel était le pourcentage de projets pour lesquels les leçons apprises ont été faites et quelles étatient les raisons pour ne pas tous les avoir faits?

Glossaire

AP
Arrêté de projet
CCRP
(rapport du) comité consultatif sur l'examen de projets
DC
Document de clôture
DCI
Document de clôture de l’identification
ECRP
Évaluation de la complexité et des risques des projets
ÉE
Énoncé des exigences
Leçons
Documentation des leçons apprises
PGP
Plan de gestion de projet
PPP
Plan préliminaire de projet
RAI
Rapport d’analyse des investissements
RF
Rapport de faisabilité
SCEP
Struture de classement électronique des projets
Stockage
Documentation facilement récupérable d’un endroit fiable
TPL
Transfert du produit livrable