Claims Evaluation Techniques

General

Once the claim is a 'fait accompli', the Project Manager (PM) requires answers to the following questions:

As a result of a preliminary review, it is usually possible to assess whether there is a sound basis for a claim. If, after serious consideration, the claim appears unjustified, the PM must advise the contractor promptly and provide a clear logical statement of the reasons the claim is not justified. The objectives in claims evaluation and resolution are threefold:

Detailed Claims Study and Evaluation

Most claims involve delay. The best tool to study delay claims is a planned schedule on which actual completion dates or times are shown. In many cases, however, schedules are incomplete and it may be necessary to prepare a chart showing the actual completion date and what would have been a reasonably planned completion time frame. Responsibility for delay can be determined more easily. Strikes, weather, and acts of God might cause a delay that could be referred to as an excusable delay, the effects of which would normally not be chargeable to either party. PSPC's liability to the contractor may now be calculated as well as the contractor's liability to PSPC. The difference between these two figures is what would constitute a reasonable settlement.

A detailed analysis of a complex claim may require months of study by a party(ies) with a good understanding of construction methods, scheduling and estimating. In studying a claim, the following steps are recommended:

Fact-finding

Determine contractual clauses applicable

Determine quantum

Determine your "Best Alternative To a Negotiated Agreement"

Completing a claims evaluation includes preparation for negotiations. This is essential so that the PM is satisfied that all possible options for settlement have been explored. This is especially important in cases where no agreement can been reached. In order to prepare for negotiations, each disputant must consider all of their alternatives and identify the best one or BATNA. This process will enable the PM to weigh offers and counter-offers that they will receive during negotiations. This should also protect a PM against reaching an agreement that possibly should have been rejected. The BATNA can be developed with the assistance of the Claims Prevention and Management Unit or your regional claims representative and by consulting with RPC and Legal Services to evaluate the litigation risk value as well as the legal exposure risk percentage. During negotiations, the proposed settlement should be more advantageous than your BATNA to be acceptable.

Date modified:

Tehniques d'évaluation des réclamations

Généralités

Lorsque cette demande correspond à un « fait accompli », le Gestionnaire de projet (GP) doit apporter des réponses aux questions suivantes :

Après un premier examen, on peut généralement savoir si une réclamation est justifiée par des motifs rigoureux. Si, après un examen attentif, la demande paraît injustifiée, le GP doit le faire savoir rapidement à l'entrepreneur et lui faire connaître clairement et logiquement les raisons pour lesquelles sa demande n'est pas justifiée. L'évaluation et le règlement des réclamations visent à réaliser trois objectifs :

Étude et évaluation détaillées des réclamations

La plupart des réclamations portent sur des retards. L'échéancier indiquant les dates réelles d'achèvement constitue le meilleur outil permettant d'étudier les réclamations fondées sur des retards. Toutefois, dans de nombreux cas, l'échéancier sont incomplets et il peut se révéler nécessaire de préparer un tableau indiquant les dates réelles d'achèvement et les dates auxquelles les travaux auraient dû prendre fin à juste titre. On peut alors plus facilement attribuer la responsabilité d'un retard à SPAC ou à l'entrepreneur. Les grèves, les intempéries et les cas fortuits pourraient entraîner des retards justifiables, dont les incidences ne sont normalement pas imputables à l'une ou l'autre des deux parties. On peut alors calculer la responsabilité de SPAC envers l'entrepreneur, comme celle de l'entrepreneur envers SPAC. Un règlement raisonnable constituerait la différence entre les résultats de ces deux calculs.

Les parties qui connaissent bien les méthodes de construction, l'établissement des échéanciers et l'estimation des coûts peuvent consacrer des mois d'étude à l'analyse détaillée d'une réclamation complexe. En étudiant une réclamation, on recommande de suivre les étapes ci-après :

Enquête

Détermination des clauses contractuelles applicables

Détermination des quantités

Établissement de votre « meilleure solution de rechange pour un accord négocié »

L'évaluation des réclamations consiste aussi à préparer les négociations. Cela est essentiel pour que le GP soit convaincu qu'il amorce et achève le processus après avoir examiné toutes les solutions envisageables pour un règlement. Cela est particulièrement important dans les cas où on ne peut pas conclure d'accord. Pour préparer les négociations, chacune des parties doit tenir compte de toutes ces solutions de rechange et établir sa MESOR. Grâce à ce processus, le GP peut pondérer les offres et les contre-offres qu'il reçoit pendant les négociations. Cela devrait en outre permettre au GP d'éviter de conclure un accord qui devrait éventuellement être rejeté. La MESOR peut être développée avec l'aide de l'Unité de prévention et de gestion des réclamations ou le représentant des réclamations régional, et en consultant les SAMI et les Services juridiques pour évaluer la valeur des risques du litige et le pourcentage de risques sous l'angle juridique. Pendant les négociations, le règlement proposé doit être plus avantageux que votre MESOR pour être satisfaisant.

Date de modification :