Uniform process and framework with respect to proceedings against construction contractors for recovery of Public Services and Procurement Canada costs

The Real Property Branch (RPB) has adopted a uniform process and framework with respect to proceedings against construction contractors for the recovery of Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) costs. These costs are incurred as a result of the contractor's negligence/lack of performance in terms of time or quality on projects as per General Condition 2.2 Interpretation of Contract and 5.10 Assessments and damages for late completion or General Condition 1.8 Laws, permits and taxes. These costs would include for all costs incurred by PSPC, which the department would not otherwise have incurred had the contractor performed all the work of the contract within the specified terms of time and quality. Proceedings against contractors for the recovery of these costs may be required in cases where the contractor:

Negotiation between the project manager and the contractor remains the optimal methodology to recover PSPC costs. Contractors must be given every opportunity to resolve all outstanding issues. At the same time, the contractor should be duly advised that the department intends to take action under the appropriate General Conditions clauses of the contract. Upon formal notification to the contractor of default or dispute and where a performance bond is in place, the Surety must be notified and be involved in the resolution as per the conditions of the performance bond (see 'Primer on Surety Bonds in Federal Construction Contracts—Part 2—Guidelines on Handling Claims Under Surety Bonds'). Proceedings against contractors for recovery of PSPC costs usually take place following a failed negotiation process where PSPC has no other choice remaining but to take 'all' or 'a portion' of the work out of the contractor's hands, and direct the Surety to complete the work. In such cases, the project manager must mitigate all losses and damages and ensure an audit trail which fully demonstrates such action. In cases where the Surety completes the contractual work, they become responsible for all costs incurred by PSPC as a result of the contractor's default. Where there is no Surety that could be held liable, such as damage to property, then PSPC must proceed diligently to rectify the damages and be prepared to defend its actions in a court of law. Categories of costs incurred in overseeing rectification and completion of the work which should be considered and carefully substantiated are:

Proceedings against contractors for the recovery of PSPC salary and other miscellaneous costs must be fully justified as costs which the department would not have incurred had the contractor performed all services satisfactorily. PSPC costs must be specifically incurred as a result of the contractor's negligence or lack of performance in terms of time or quality on the contract.

Roles and Responsibilities in Proceedings

Project Manager

Contract Officer

Project Management Activities for PSPC Proceedings against Construction Contractors

Forms, samples and checklists

Date modified:

Processus pour les poursuites contre les entrepreneurs de construction pour la récupération des coûts de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

La Direction générale des biens immobiliers (DGBI) à adopté un processus et un modèle uniformes portant sur les poursuites contre les entrepreneurs de construction pour le recouvrement des coûts de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC). Ces coûts résultent d'une négligence ou d'un rendement insatisfaisant en ce qui concerne les délais ou la qualité de la part de l'entrepreneur dans le cadre des projets, conformément aux conditions générales Conditions générales 2.2 Interprétation du contrat et Conditions générales 5.10 Dédommagement pour retard d'achèvement ou Conditions générales 1.8 Lois, permis et taxes. Ces coûts comprennent tous les coûts engagés par SPAC que le ministère n'aurait pas engagés si l'entrepreneur avait accompli tous les travaux du contrat selon les modalités précisées concernant le temps et la qualité. Des poursuites contre les entrepreneurs pour le recouvrement de ces coûts peuvent être nécessaires si l'entrepreneur :

Le processus de négociation entre l'entrepreneur et le gestionnaire de projet constitue encore la méthodologie de choix pour récupérer les coûts de SPAC. Les entrepreneurs doivent avoir toutes les chances de régler les questions en suspens. En même temps, l'entrepreneur doit être avisé que le Ministère a l'intention de prendre des mesures conformément aux conditions générales pertinentes du contrat. Lorsqu'un avis officiel de défaut ou de différend est envoyé à l'entrepreneur, et lorsqu'un cautionnement d'exécution est en place, la société de cautionnement doit être avisée et prendre part au règlement, d'après les modalités du cautionnement d'exécution (voir - Guide d'introduction aux cautionnements dans les contrats de construction fédéraux – Partie 2 – Lignes directrices sur la gestion des réclamations en vertu d'un cautionnement). Les poursuites contre les entrepreneurs pour la récupération des coûts de SPAC sont habituellement le résultat de l'échec d'un processus de négociation où SPAC n'a pas d'autre choix que de retirer à l'entrepreneur « la totalité » ou « une partie » des travaux et de demander à la société de cautionnement d'achever les travaux. Dans ces cas, le gestionnaire de projet doit réduire au minimum les pertes et les dommages et s'assurer qu'une piste de vérification le démontre entièrement. Dans les cas où la société de cautionnement termine les travaux précisés dans le contrat, elle devient responsable de tous les coûts additionnels engagés par SPAC découlant du défaut de l'entrepreneur. Lorsqu'il n'y a pas de société de cautionnement qui peut être tenue responsable, comme pour les dommages matériels, SPAC doit faire preuve de diligence raisonnable pour réparer les dommages et doit être prêt à défendre ses actions devant les tribunaux. Voici les catégories de coûts relatifs à la supervision du déroulement des travaux qui doivent être pris en considération et clairement justifiés :

Dans le cas de poursuites pour la récupération de coûts salariaux et d'autres frais divers réclamés aux entrepreneurs par SPAC, ces coûts doivent être justifiés pleinement comme des coûts que le Ministère n'aurait pas engagés si l'entrepreneur avait terminé les travaux à la satisfaction de SPAC.

Les frais de SPAC doivent résulter précisément d'une négligence ou d'un rendement insatisfaisant de l'entrepreneur en ce qui concerne les délais ou la qualité dans le cadre du marché.

Rôles et responsabilités dans les poursuites

Gestionnaire de projet

Agent de négociation des contrats

Activités de gestion de projet pour les poursuites de SPAC contre des entrepreneurs de construction

Formulaires, modèles et listes de vérification

Date de modification :