Dealing with Surety Companies on Construction Contracts

(This document should be read in conjunction with Real Property Contracting (RPC) Best Practice Statemen—"A Primer on Surety Bonds in Federal Construction Contracts") 

There is a need for project managers to follow standard guidelines to ensure that the obligations of the Surety are exercised in those rare instances where Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) declares the construction contractor to be in default of their contract, or bidding issues arise, or subcontractor claims are received.

Surety bonds furnished by the contractor provide protection to PSPC as Obligee and to the claimants in cases of default by contractors starting from the tendering process, through contract default, to payments of subcontractor claims. Construction contracts generally require default protection in the event that a contractor does not perform according to the contract. PSPC pays for this protection, as this cost is built into the contractor's bid. Surety companies that are members of the Surety Association of Canada usually provide this protection in the form of performance bonds and labour & material payment bonds, signed jointly by the principal (contractor) and the bonding company (Surety), referencing the contract between the Obligee (PWGSC/PSPC) and the contractor. Traditionally, bonds are issued in the amount of fifty percent (50%) each for performance and labour & material payment. There are four types of bonds presently utilized by PSPC, as follows:

Bid Bond (Format as prescribed by Treasury Board)
The bid bond is provided by the Surety through the contractor to guarantee the sincerity of a contractor to enter a contract at its bid price. The provision of a bid bond does not, by itself, guarantee the performance of the contract by the contractor. It may be used to cover losses to PSPC for those cases where a contractor is the low bidder and withdraws its tender or refuses to provide contract security.
Performance Bond (Format as prescribed by Treasury Board)
This bond is a bond given by the Surety to the contractor as the Principal naming PSPC as the Obligee to guarantee the performance (completion) of a contract in accordance with its terms and conditions.
Labour & Material Payment Bond (Format as prescribed by Treasury Board)
This bond is given by the Surety to the contractor as the Principal naming PSPC as the Obligee and guarantees payment for labour furnished or materials supplied in connection with a contract awarded to that contractor. It provides protection to claimants as defined in the bond, typically subcontractors/suppliers/sub-sub-contractors who have not received payment for labour and material utilized in the execution of the contract. The notice of such claims must be received by the Surety and the contractor within ninety (90) days from the date the payment was due and may be in amounts up to the value of the bond.
Claimant's Payment Bond (Format as prescribed by Treasury Board)
This bond is given by the Surety to the contractor and is used mainly as an alternative to withholding "earned but unpaid" monies from contractor's progress claim for those cases where PSPC has received notices of claims from claimants. A claimant's payment bond protects registered claimants by ensuring that funds are available to them in the event the contractor refuses or is unable to pay. Normally this form of bond is not required when a labour and material payment bond has been provided by the contractor.

Ensuring Surety Obligations are Exercised

In cases of default by a contractor, project managers must work in conjunction with RPC, Legal Services and the Surety to complete the project. Timing for the involvement of parties is at the discretion of the project manager but should begin if non-performance/ non-payment continues following an initial request for remedial action (warning letters, e-mails, facsimiles, etc.). Other factors to be considered are health and safety, economic and environmental consequences etc. of the non performance/non payment. In order to ensure that the Surety obligations are not compromised, PSPC must exercise the following obligations through the project manager:

Guidelines for the Use of Bonds

Bid Bonds

The maximum liability of the Surety for a bid bond is $250,000, as stipulated in the General Instructions to Tenderers. Project managers should never waive the requirement for the provision of a performance bond by the successful tenderer simply because it has demonstrated financial and technical qualifications by its ability to obtain a bid bond.

When to forfeit a Bid Bond

When to not forfeit a Bid Bond

Performance bonds

Project managers should advise the Surety of all major changes in the scope of the work during the course of the contract and take the following actions as applicable.

Preliminary Actions

Declaration of Default or Six-day Notice

Remedial Action by PSPC to Preserve and Protect the Work

Directing the Surety to complete the work

Limitation period

Liability not accepted by the Surety

It has been agreed that any earned but unpaid monies owed to the defaulting contractor will be released to the Surety upon receipt of a written request and a fully executed Limited Indemnification Agreement. The earned but unpaid referred to herein do not include the contractual holdback (5%) stipulated in the Terms of Payment. That is retained until the issuance of the Interim Certificate of Completion. It is also agreed that if there are lawful claims against these earned but unpaid monies in excess of the amount released to the Surety, it has the option of returning the amount to PSPC who will then be responsible for its distribution as may be directed by the courts, etc.

Labour and material payment bonds

Project managers have three primary roles in the resolution of non-payment issues: direct the contractor to resolve the issue, direct the Surety to resolve the issue in cases where the contractor fails to do so and direct the claimants to register their claims with the Surety.

Standard course of action

Limitation period

Claimant's Payment Bonds

Although used rarely, project managers should be aware that these bonds provide an alternative in the resolution of non-payment issues.

Claimant's Payment Bonds can be utilized

Advantages of Claimant Payment Bonds

Sample Claiment's Payment Bond


Bond Posted as Security Pursuant to the Contract Documents.

KNOW ALL PERSONS BY THESE PRESENTS, That as Principal, hereinafter called the Principal, and as Surety, hereinafter called the Surety, are, subject to the conditions hereinafter contained, held and firmly bound unto as Obligee, hereinafter called the Crown, in the amount of Dollars ($), lawful money of Canada, for the payment of which sum, well and truly to be made, the Principal and the Surety bind themselves, their heirs, executors, administrators, successors and assigns, jointly and severally, or, where this bond is subject to the law of the Province of Quebec, as solidary debtors, and firmly by these presents.

SIGNED AND SEALED this day of 20

WHEREAS, the principal has entered into a Contract with the Crown, dated the day of 20 for

AND WHEREAS, the Crown has notified the Principal in writing of its intention to withhold contract funds, pursuant to Clause GC5 of the Contract for the following claim(s) registered against the Contract:

Date of Notification
Claimant Amount

NOW, THEREFORE, THE CONDITION OF THIS OBLIGATION is such that this Bond stands in lieu of and as security for the release to the Principal of funds which otherwise would have been withheld by the Crown, by reason of Clause GC5 of the Contract on account of the aforementioned claim(s).

To the intent and condition that if the Principal shall pay or cause to be paid the said claim(s) as the Principal may be directed by the Crown to pay, which claim(s) otherwise the Crown would have been entitled to pay by reason of Clause GC5 of the Contract, then this obligation shall be void, otherwise it shall remain in full force and effect.

The Crown may sue on this Bond, have the right to prosecute the suit to final judgment for such sum or sums as may be due and have execution thereon; and such right of the Crown is assigned by virtue of Part VIII of the Financial Administration Act to each such aforementioned claimant.

Provided that, no suit or action shall be instituted by the Crown or its assignees herein against the Surety, unless the claimant(s) shall have commenced the proceedings to determine the right to payment pursuant to Clause GC5 of the Contract within one year from the date of notification.

Provided further that:

  1. the amount of this Bond shall be reduced by and to the extent of any payment or payments made in good faith hereunder
  2. the Surety shall not be liable for a greater sum than the total amount specified in this Bond

IN WITNESS WHEREOF these presents have been executed by the Principal under its hands and seal and by the Surety by its seal and by the signature of its Attorney this day of 20.

SIGNED, SEALED AND DELIVERED in the presence of:




Note: Affix Corporate seal if applicable

Date modified:

Rapports avec les sociétés de cautionnement

(Ce document doit être lu en tenant compte de l'Énoncé des pratiques exemplaires des Services de l'attribution des marchés immobiliers (SAMI) – Guide d'introduction aux cautionnements dans les contrats de construction fédéraux) 

Les gestionnaires de projet doivent suivre des lignes directrices normalisées pour s'assurer que les sociétés de cautionnement respectent leurs obligations dans les rares cas où Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) déclare que l'entrepreneur en construction est en défaut en vertu de son contrat, ou lorsque des problèmes d'appel d'offres surviennent ou lorsqu'un sous-traitant transmet une réclamation.

Les cautionnements fournis par l'entrepreneur protègent SPAC en tant qu'obligataire et les demandeurs en cas de manquement de la part des entrepreneurs au cours du processus d'appel d'offres, lors d'un manquement au contrat ou lors du paiement des demandes de sous-traitants. Les contrats de construction comportent généralement une protection en cas de défaut, dans l'éventualité où l'entrepreneur n'exécute pas le travail conformément au contrat. SPAC paie le coût de cette protection, qui est compris dans la proposition de l'entrepreneur. Les sociétés de cautionnement qui sont membres de l'Association canadienne de caution fournissent généralement cette protection sous la forme d'un cautionnement d'exécution ainsi que d'un cautionnement de paiement de la main-d'œuvre et des matériaux. Ces documents sont signés conjointement par le débiteur (l'entrepreneur) et la société de cautionnement (la caution) et rappellent le contrat passé entre SPAC et l'entrepreneur. Habituellement, le cautionnement d'exécution et le cautionnement de paiement de la main-d'œuvre et des matériaux valent chacun cinquante pour cent (50 %) du contrat.

Il y a quatre types de cautionnements actuellement utilisés par SPAC :

Cautionnement de soumission (modèle prescrit par le Conseil du Trésor)
Ce type de cautionnement est déposé par la société de cautionnement afin de garantir la sincérité d'un entrepreneur pour sa soumission et son acceptation d'un contrat. Il ne garantit pas, en soi, l'exécution du contrat par l'entrepreneur. Il peut être utilisé pour couvrir les pertes de SPAC dans les cas où le soumissionnaire moins-disant retire son offre ou refuse de donner une garantie contractuelle.
Cautionnement d'exécution (modèle prescrit par le Conseil du Trésor)
Ce cautionnement est déposé par la société de cautionnement, qui le remet à l'entrepreneur, qui devient le débiteur en nommant SPAC comme obligataire pour garantir l'exécution (l'achèvement) du contrat conformément aux modalités du contrat.
Cautionnement de paiement de main-d'œuvre et des matériaux (modèle prescrit par le Conseil du Trésor)
Ce cautionnement est déposé par la société de cautionnement, qui le remet à l'entrepreneur, qui devient le débiteur en nommant SPAC comme obligataire. Il garantit le paiement de la main-d'œuvre ou des matériaux à fournir dans le cadre d'un contrat attribué à cet entrepreneur. Il permet également de protéger les demandeurs au sens défini dans le cautionnement, soit généralement les sous-traitants de l'entrepreneur, les fournisseurs et les sous-traitants de ces derniers, qui n'ont pas été payés pour le coût de la main-d'œuvre et des matériaux affectés à l'exécution du contrat. L'avis d'une telle demande doit être reçu par la société de cautionnement et l'entrepreneur dans les quatre-vingt-dix (90) jours suivant la date d'échéance du paiement et son montant peut atteindre la valeur du cautionnement.
Cautionnement pour le paiement des demandeurs (modèle prescrit par le Conseil du Trésor)
Ce cautionnement est déposé par la société de cautionnement pour l'entrepreneur et est principalement utilisé comme alternative à la retenue de toute somme « gagnée mais non versée » provenant des demandes de paiement partiel de l'entrepreneur dans les cas où SPAC a reçu des avis de réclamations des demandeurs. Il protège les demandeurs enregistrés en leur garantissant la disponibilité de fonds si l'entrepreneur refuse de payer ou en est incapable. Normalement, ce type de cautionnement n'est pas requis quand l'entrepreneur fournit un cautionnement de paiement de la main-d'œuvre et des matériaux.

S'assurer que la société de cautionnement s'acquitte de ses obligations

En cas de défaut de l'entrepreneur, les gestionnaires de projet doivent travailler en collaboration avec les SAMI, les Services juridiques et la société de cautionnement pour achever le projet. Le gestionnaire de projet choisit à son gré le moment où il fait intervenir ces parties, mais on recommande de les faire intervenir immédiatement si le défaut d'exécution ou de paiement se poursuit après une première demande de mesures correctives (au moyen d'une lettre d'avertissement, d'un courriel ou d'une télécopie, par exemple). Il faut aussi tenir compte d'autres facteurs comme la santé et la sécurité et les conséquences financières/environnementales du défaut d'exécution ou de paiement. Afin de s'assurer que la société de cautionnement s'acquitte de ses obligations, SPAC doit exercer les engagements suivants par le biais du chef de projet :

Lignes directrices pour l'utilisation des cautionnements

Cautionnement de soumission

La responsabilité maximale de la société de cautionnement pour un cautionnement de soumission est de 250 000 $, tel que stipulé dans les Instructions générales à l'intention des soumissionnaires. Les gestionnaires de projet ne devraient jamais suspendre l'exigence concernant la fourniture d'un cautionnement d'exécution par l'adjudicataire simplement parce qu'elle a démontré ses qualifications financières et techniques par sa capacité d'obtenir un cautionnement de soumission.

Circonstances où la confiscation d'un cautionnement de soumission est appropriée

Circonstances où la confiscation d'un cautionnement de soumission n'est pas appropriée

Cautionnement d'exécution

Les gestionnaires de projet doivent aviser la société de cautionnement de tout changement important à la portée des travaux pendant la durée du contrat et prendre les mesure suivantes, s'il y a lieu.

Mesures préliminaires

Mise en défaut ou avis de six jours

Mesures correctives prises par SPAC pour protéger les travaux

Demande adressée à la société de cautionnement pour l'achèvement des travaux

Délai de prescription

Rejet de la responsabilité par la société de cautionnement

Il est entendu que toutes les sommes réalisées mais non versées à l'entrepreneur en défaut sont remises à la société de cautionnement sur réception d'une demande écrite et d'un accord d'indemnisation limité signé en bonne et due forme. Les sommes réalisées mais non versées et visées dans les présentes ne comprennent pas la retenue contractuelle (5 %) précisée dans les modalités de paiement. On conserve ces sommes jusqu'à la date de l'établissement du Certificat provisoire d'achèvement. Il est également entendu que si l'on dépose des réclamations conformes à la loi par rapport aux sommes ainsi réalisées mais non versées au-delà du montant remis à la société de cautionnement, cette dernière peut, à son gré, restituer ce montant à SPAC, qui doit alors le répartir conformément aux directives des tribunaux, entre autres.

Cautionnement de paiement de la main-d'œuvre et des matériaux

Le gestionnaire de projet joue trois rôles principaux dans le règlement des questions de non-paiement : aider l'entrepreneur à régler la question, aider la société de cautionnement à la régler dans les cas où l'entrepreneur ne le fait pas et aider les demandeurs à enregistrer leurs demandes auprès de la société de cautionnement.

Ligne de conduite normale

Délai de prescription

Cautionnements de paiement des demandeurs

Même s'ils sont rarement utilisés, le gestionnaire de projet doit être conscient que les
cautionnements pour le paiement des demandeurs constituent une alternative dans le règlement des questions de non-paiement.

Les cautionnements de paiement des demandeurs peuvent être utilisés

Avantages des cautionnements de paiement des demandeurs

Modèle de cautionnement de paiement du demandeur

No 

Cautionnement fourni à titre de garantie en vertu des documents du marché.

SACHEZ PAR LES PRÉSENTES, que en sa qualité de Débiteur (ci-après appelé le « Débiteur ») et en sa qualité de Caution (ci-après appelé la « Caution ») s'obligent expressément, sous réserve des conditions ci-après énoncées, à payer la somme totale de dollars ( $), en monnaie légale du Canada, à en sa qualité de Créancier (ci-après appelé la « Couronne »); l'obligation de verser ladite somme dans son entier lie conjointement et solidairement, ou, si le cautionnement est régi par les lois du Québec, solidairement, le Débiteur et la Caution ainsi que leurs héritiers, exécuteurs et ayants droit.

SIGNÉ ET SCELLÉ le jour de 20

ATTENDU QUE le Débiteur a conclu un marché avec la Couronne en date du pour et que les dispositions de ce marché (ci-après appelé le « Marché ») font par renvoi partie intégrante des présentes;

ET ATTENDU QUE conformément à la CG5 du Marché, la Couronne a notifié par écrit au Débiteur son intention de retenir des fonds destinés au Marché au titre des réclamations suivantes qui ont été enregistrées sur le Marché :

Date de l'avis
Demandeur Montant

PAR CONSÉQUENT, le présent Cautionnement garantit au Débiteur le versement de fonds qui, autrement, auraient été retenus par la Couronne, en vertu de la CG5 du Marché au titre des réclamations susmentionnées.

Si le Débiteur paie ou fait payer lesdites réclamations que la Couronne aurait autrement été autorisée à payer en vertu de la CG5 du Marché, selon les directives données à cet effet par la Couronne, le présent Cautionnement s'éteint; en toute autre circonstance, il demeure en vigueur.

La Couronne peut agir en justice en invoquant ce Cautionnement; elle a le droit d'intenter des poursuites pour obtenir le paiement des sommes qui peuvent être exigibles et de faire exécuter le jugement prononcé à l'issue des procédures; ce droit de la Couronne est cédé en vertu de la partie VIII de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques à tout demandeur susmentionné et visé. Aucune action ou poursuite n'est intentée par la Couronne ou ses ayants droit contre la Caution, à moins que les demandeurs n'aient entamé des procédures pour faire trancher le droit au paiement en vertu de la CG5 du Marché dans un délai d'un an à compter de la date d'avis.

Il est entendu en outre que :

  1. les paiements effectués de bonne foi en vertu des présentes seront déduits du montant du présent Cautionnement;
  2. la responsabilité de la Caution est limitée au montant total précisé dans le présent Cautionnement

EN FOI DE QUOI, le Débiteur a apposé sa signature et son sceau et la Caution a apposé son sceau et la signature de son fondé de pouvoir le .

SIGNÉ, SCELLÉ ET DÉLIVRÉ en présence de :

Principal

Témoin

Caution

Remarque : Apposer le sceau corporatif le cas échéant.

Date de modification :