Creating the Project Team

The Real Property Branch (RPB) of Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) along with organizations such as the Project Management Institute (PMI) and the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) (USA) promote the use of 'project teams' in the delivery of real property projects in order to make informed decisions on critical project issues, and to reduce the risk of increased legal liabilities, claims and disputes.

Although PM's are responsible for the provision of the full range of project management services, they cannot also be held responsible to provide the full range of related professional, technical, or design and construction expertise (i.e. mechanical, electrical, environmental, civil, structural) nor the full quality assurance functions necessary on real property projects. For this reason, the project teams should include the related professional and technical expertise to deliver projects. This will provide them with the capability for making informed decisions, reducing risks, and ensuring a quality assurance function for the project.

PM's cannot independently and exclusively represent PSPC nor does their project management role include taking responsibility for professional and technical discipline expertise, related advice and quality assurance in the delivery of projects. PM's have a wide range of specialist resources available to them within the various internal PSPC organizations for this responsibility. Where feasible, PM's should include a 'Design Manager' as a partner on the project, to either lead a 'shadow design team' when the project is designed by consultants, or the actual 'design team' for in-house projects. Note: In some regions the term 'Design Manager' is synonymous with 'Design Team leader'.

PM's have a primary responsibility to direct their project teams, and outline the value added and quality assurance services required from each of the internal discipline expertise organizations. It is recommended that the PM:

  • provide adequate notice to each of the internal specialist organizations what skills sets or expertise is required, the timing of the requirement, and the expectations (regional variances may exist)
    Note: In cases where the internal resource organization cannot, for whatever reasons, meet realistic expectations of the PM, it is the responsibility of that specialist organization to provide the PM with appropriate alternative solutions (i.e. through the use of Standing Offers, individual professional and technical services contracts, etc.)
  • include, when possible, a 'Design Manager' as a partner on the project team for all large multi-discipline projects
  • provide clear and concise definitions of the roles and responsibilities between project management functions and all discipline expertise functions (see Roles and Responsibilities on Project Teams - Generic Practice Model for Project Teams)
  • involve the discipline specialists in discussions with clients regarding project definition, options, risks, program delivery, preliminary design decisions and other project brief issues
  • disclose all facts concerning the requirements of the project to the project team at the earliest stage possible
  • provide adequate time for their involvement during the development of work breakdown structures, schedules and cash flows.
  • involve the disciplines in the inspection and certification of consultant and contractors work

La création de l'équipe de projet

La Direction de la gestion des biens immobiliers (DGBI) de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) tout comme les organismes comme le Project Management Institute (PMI) et le National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) (ÉU) préconisent le recours à des équipes de projets dans la réalisation des projets immobiliers pour lui permettre de prendre des décisions éclairées sur des aspects essentiels du projet et de réduire les risques de responsabilités juridiques accrues, ainsi que les risques associés aux réclamations et aux litiges.

Les GP ne peuvent pas être les seuls à représenter SPAC et le rôle qu'ils jouent en gestion de projets ne leur confère pas la responsabilité d'un domaine particulier de compétence professionnelles et techniques, ni de conseils reliées, ni de se charger de l'assurance de la qualité. Les GP ont un large éventail de ressources spécialisées qui leur sont accessibles au sein des organisations internes de SPAC qui en sont responsables. Si possible, les GP devraient s'adjoindre comme partenaire dans le cadre d'un projet un gestionnaire de la conception qui serait chargé de diriger soit 'l'équipe de transition' quand le projet est conçu par des experts- conseils, soit 'l'équipe chargée' de la conception dans le cas des projets internes. Nota : Dans certaines régions, les termes « gestionnaire de la conception » et « chef d'équipe de la conception » sont remplacés l'un par l'autre ».

Bien que les GP soient responsables de fournir la gamme complète des services de gestion de projet, ils ne peuvent pas également être jugés responsables de dresser la gamme complète de l'expertise relative professionnelle, technique, ou de conception et de construction (c.-à-d. mécanique, éléctrique, environnementale, civil, structural) ni des pleines fonctions de l'assurance de la qualité nécessaires sur les projets immobiliers. Pour cette raison, les équipes de projet devraient inclure le professionnel relatif et l'expertise technique afin de réaliser les projets. Ceci leur fournira les possibilités pour prendre des décisions au courant, réduire des risques, et assurer une fonction d'assurance de la qualité pour le projet.

Les GP ont comme responsabilité principale de diriger les équipes des projets et de dresser la liste des services d'assurance qualité à valeur ajoutée requis dans chaque domaine de spécialité. Il est recommandé que le GP :

  • fournis un préavis raisonnable à chacun des organismes internes spécialisés qui identifie lesquels des qualifications ou expertise seront requises, le délai d'obtention de ces services et les attentes (des variances régionales existent)
    Note : Quand, pour quelques raisons que ce soit, l'organisme spécialiste resource ne peut pas répondre aux attentes du GP, il incombe à l'organisme de proposer à ce dernier des solutions de rechange appropriées (p.ex. les offres de commandes, les marchés individuels professionnelles et techniques, etc.)
  • adjoigne comme partenaire au sein de l'équipe du projet lorsque possible, un 'gestionnaire de la conception' de tous les projets multidisciplinaires importants;
  • fournis la définition précise des rôles / responsabilités de la gestion de projet et ceux de tous les experts de disciplines resources (voir Rôles et responsabilités - Modèle générique de pratique pour des équipes de projet)
  • fait participer les spécialistes à leurs discussions avec les clients concernant la définition du projet, les options, les risques, la réalisation du projet, les décisions préliminaires en matière de conception et autres questions concernant l'énoncé du projet;
  • communique le plus tôt possible à l'équipe du projet tous les faits / les exigences du projet;
  • prévoie un délai suffisant pour qu'ils puissent participer à l'élaboration des structures des travaux, des calendriers et des mouvements de trésorerie;
  • fait participer les spécialistes à l'inspection et à la certification des travaux des experts-conseils et des entrepreneurs