Project charter template (Projects funded by other government departments)

Table of contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Project objective
  3. Project management plan
  4. Roles and responsibilities
  5. Financial liability
  6. Issues resolution
  7. Endorsement

1.0 Introduction

This Project Charter is a high level agreement between the client department and Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) that is intended to establish a framework for the implementation of a real property project. At this stage of project development, the intent is to document client identified key parameters (scope, time and cost) for validation by PSPC once the Project Management Plan is developed, and to confirm client commitment to provide funds in support of the resources required to deliver the defined project. The terms and conditions and the services required to deliver the project will be explicitly described in the Project Management Plan and will be organized according to the knowledge areas defined by the National Project Management System (NPMS). The Project Management Plan provides the details on project scope, schedule, finances, risk, and other management strategies necessary to define and deliver the project and will form an integral part of this Project Charter.

Both the Project Charter and Project Management Plan will be amended in accordance with Treasury Board (TB) policy whenever changes outside of the approved scope, schedule, finances, or other significant changes to the project occur.

The Project Charter is to be used in conjunction with the Specific Service Agreement (SSA).

2.0 Project objective

This Project Charter authorizes PSPC to develop a project to produce [should be a summary statement identifying the expected end result, its location, its total project cost, and an in-service/completion date].

3.0 Project management plan

Upon agreement of this Project Charter and the provision of funding through a Specific Service Agreement (SSA), PSPC will proceed with development of the Project Management Plan [optional: to be completed by (insert date) for a cost of (insert cost)].

4.0 Roles and responsibilities

4.1 Client department role

The Client representative, through the normal chain of command to his/her deputy minister, is accountable for:

  • interfaces with the senior management of their department, TB (if applicable) and participating departments; and serving as the spokesperson for the project;
  • notifying other federal government departments or agencies who may be affected by this project and inviting them to participate in an active or co-ordination role as appropriate;
  • ensuring that this project is managed in accordance with the Treasury Board Policy on the Management of Projects, and if required, consulting as early as possible with the Treasury Board Secretariat, particularly for larger projects of higher risk and complexity;
  • providing a detailed project definition which enables the project manager to perform adequate project planning to address the size, scope, complexity, risk, visibility and administrative needs of the project;
  • establishing the context and defining fully the scope for the project including the wider interests of the government;
  • all external aspects including continuous interpretation of operational needs and wider government objectives, and the validation of planned end-product in that context;
  • all internal aspects including general supervision of the project management framework to ensure that Project Manager will meet all objectives approved for the project;
  • preparing project approval documents;
  • identifying any potential risks associated with the project;
  • determining if the project requires an environmental screening as identified under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act. If required, ensure completion of the screening prior to tendering the construction contract;
  • establishing resource allocations of the project;
  • making all relevant project submissions to the appropriate authorities for approvals and modifications, and for reporting progress;
  • ensuring that approvals have been obtained prior to initiating any part of the project, and prior to making significant changes beyond the parameters established in the original or amended approvals;
  • vetting proposals to amend objectives due to changed external or internal factors;

4.2 Public Services and Procurement Canada Role

PSPC is responsible for carrying out the more detailed day-to-day management of project activities. These responsibilities include:

  • establishing an appropriate organizational structure based on an agreed-upon scope for the project;
  • managing the project and assigning and detailing roles and responsibilities identified in pertinent internal and interdepartmental agreements;
  • negotiating and obtaining written agreements with participating departments when project-specific resource commitments or activities need to be documented in the interests of effective management of the project;
  • utilizing the PSPC National Project Management System (NPMS) in the management of the project;
  • organizing the project using planning and analytical tools for work breakdown, responsibility assignment, and schedule preparation;
  • developing the Project Plan in consultation with the Client;
  • estimating the benefits and costs for project alternatives;
  • assessing and monitoring risk and planning for risk mitigation by systematically applying the PSPC Risk Management approach and common methodology;
  • planning to phase the project where necessary or appropriate;
  • entering the project in the PSPC current corporate business management system (SIGMA);
  • monitoring the project progress to ensure conformance to the Project Plan and updating the Plan as necessary;
  • reporting progress to internal management (and to Treasury Board if required);
  • providing input to briefing notes,TB submissions and other documentation as required to support the Project Leader;
  • identifying specific performance milestones in the Project Plan where withdrawal from, or termination of the project would be practical, should the project cease to be viable during execution;
  • informing Client department of any proposed changes in scope, and ensuring that approvals have been obtained from the Client prior to initiating and to making significant changes beyond the parameters established in the original or amended approvals

5.0 Financial liability

[Note: This section is not to be modified]

PSPC provides services to Other Government Departments under Service Level Agreements as a Common Service Organization (CSO) and as such client department retains financial responsibility for any liabilities arising from their contracting activity or contracting done through a common service agency (TB Policy: Decision Making in Limiting Contractor Liability in Crown Procurement Contracts, September 2003). The presence of PSPC in such a process does not remove the financial responsibilities of the client department, i.e. the client department, and not PSPC, is responsible for the funding of any cost associated with the project. Treasury Board policy states that liabilities arising from contracting activities are the financial responsibility of the originating client department.

Should consultant errors or omissions occur then PSPC will act as the Client’s agent and seek compensation from the consultant for those errors and/or omissions in accordance with the consultant contract. Where PSPC acts as the Client’s agent, the Client will be responsible to fund PSPC related fees and legal costs along with any settlements that arise in the settling of all claims.

Where errors and/or omissions are made by RPB staff in the delivery of Architectural & Engineering Design Services to clients, which result in expenditures that do not add value to the Crown nor to the project, it is PSPC policy to ensure that clients do not unfairly bear the cost of rectifying such errors or omissions.

6.0 Issues resolution

Issues arising between the Client and PSPC will be resolved between the two parties where possible. Issues that cannot be resolved at this level within [insert time frame] will be simultaneously elevated to the next management level in their respective organizations.

The resolution mechanisms for all other issues that arise within the project team will be identified in the Project Plan.

7.0 Endorsement

The undersigned hereby agree to undertake this project in accordance with this Project Charter and any subsequent revisions appended to this document.

CLIENT SIGNATURE(S)

Approved by: (Authorized Client Representative(s) with Financial Signing Authority)
Signature

Please print:
Name, Title (role of Project Leader) and date

PSPC SIGNATURE

Approved by: (PSPC - Person accountable for delivering the project)

Prepared by:
Signature

Please print:
Name, Title (role of Project Leader) and date

c.c. (if needed, ex. Director, Client Services Unit, Senior Project Manager, etc.)

Arrêté de projet (Projets financés par d'autres ministères)

Table des matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Objectif du projet
  3. Plan de gestion de projet
  4. Rôles et responsabilités
  5. Responsabilité financière
  6. Règlement des conflits
  7. Approbation

1.0 Introduction

Le présent arrêté de projet représente une entente globale conclue entre le ministère client et Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) en vue d’établir le cadre de mise en œuvre d’un projet immobilier. À cette étape du projet, le but est de consigner les principaux paramètres définis par le client (portée, délais et coûts) pour leur validation par SPAC lors de la rédaction du plan de gestion de projet, et de confirmer l’engagement du client à fournir les fonds pour affecter les ressources requises afin de réaliser le projet défini. Les modalités et les services requis pour réaliser le projet seront explicitement décrits dans le plan de gestion de projet et seront répartis en fonction des domaines de connaissances définis par le Système national de gestion de projet (SNGP). Le plan de gestion de projet fournit des détails sur la portée du projet, l’échéancier, le financement, ses risques, ainsi que sur d’autres stratégies de gestion et fera partie intégrante du présent arrêté de projet.

L’arrêté de projet et le plan de gestion de projet seront modifiés conformément à la politique du Conseil du Trésor (CT) chaque fois que l’on apportera des changements à la portée, aux échéanciers, au financement du projet ou lors de tout autre changement important.

L'arrêté de projet devra être accompagné d'une convention particulière de services (CPS).

2.0 Objectif du projet

L'objectif du présent arrêté de projet est d'autoriser SPAC à démarrer un projet en vue d'élaborer [fournir un énoncé sommaire décrivant les résultats attendus, l'emplacement, les coûts totaux du projet ainsi qu'une date de début et d'achèvement].

3.0 Plan de gestion de projet

Suite à l'approbation du présent arrêté de projet et à l'allocation des fonds dans le cadre d'une convention particulière de services (CPS), SPAC procédera à l’élaboration du plan de gestion de projet [optionnel : d'ici le (inscrire la date), au coût de (inscrire coût)].

4.0 Rôles et responsabilités

4.1 Rôle du ministère client

Le représentant du client, dont l'autorité découle de son sous-ministre, est responsable :

  • des relations avec la haute direction de son ministère, le Conseil du Trésor (si applicable) et les ministères participants; il doit également tenir le rôle de porte-parole pour tout ce qui concerne le projet;
  • d'aviser les autres ministères ou organismes fédéraux qui peuvent être touchés par ce projet et de les inviter à assumer un rôle actif ou de coordination, selon le cas;
  • de voir à ce que le projet soit géré conformément à la Politique sur la gestion des projets du Conseil du Trésor, et au besoin, de consulter le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor le plus rapidement possible si le projet présentent un haut niveau de risques et de complexité;
  • de définir le projet en détail, pour permettre à SPAC de faire une planification répondant à la taille, la portée et la complexité du projet, de même qu'aux risques, visibilité et administration particuliers du projet en question;
  • d'établir le contexte et de définir la portée complète du projet, tout en considérant les intérêts globaux du gouvernement;
  • de tous les aspects externes, tels l'interprétation continue des besoins opérationnels et des objectifs plus larges de l'État ainsi que de la validation dans ce contexte du produit final prévu;
  • de tous les aspects internes du projet, notamment la supervision générale du cadre de gestion du projet, pour veiller à ce que le gestionnaire de projet soit en mesure d'atteindre tous les objectifs approuvés du projet;
  • de préparer les documents d'approbation du projet;
  • d'identifier les risques potentiels associés au projet;
  • de déterminer si un examen environnemental préalable doit être effectué conformément à la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale. S'il y a lieu, voir à l'achèvement de l'examen préalable avant de lancer l'appel d'offres pour le marché de construction;
  • d'y affecter les ressources nécessaires au projet;
  • de faire toutes les présentations de projet pertinentes aux autorités chargées d'approuver le projet, pour les approbations et les modifications, ainsi que pour les rapports d'étapes;
  • d'obtenir toutes les approbations avant la mise en œuvre du projet, et avant toutes modifications des paramètres de base déjà approuvés;
  • d'examiner en détail les propositions visant à modifier les objectifs, en raison de changements découlant de facteurs externes ou internes.

4.2 Rôle de SPAC

SPAC s'occupe de la gestion quotidienne du projet, à savoir :

  • établir une structure organisationnelle adéquate fondée sur la portée du projet qui a été acceptée;
  • gérer le projet, attribuer des rôles et des responsabilités et définir ceux-ci en fonction des termes énoncés dans les accords internes et interministériels connexes;
  • négocier et obtenir des accords écrits avec les ministères participants si des activités ou des engagements particuliers visant les ressources nécessaires dans le cadre d'un projet doivent être étayés par des documents pour assurer la gestion efficace du projet;
  • utiliser le Système national de gestion de projet (SNGP) de SPAC pour gérer le projet;
  • organiser le projet en utilisant des outils de planification et d'analyse pour répartir les travaux, attribuer les responsabilités et préparer le calendrier;
  • développer le plan de projet en consultation avec le client;
  • analyser les avantages et les coûts concernant les solutions de rechange d'un projet;
  • évaluer et faire le suivi des risques et de prévoir des mesures d'atténuation des risques en fonction de la méthodologie commune préscrite par SPAC;
  • planifier les étapes du projet lorsque c'est nécessaire ou adéquat;
  • inscrire le projet dans le Système de gestion de projet et des activités (SIGMA) de SPAC;
  • assurer le suivi des progrès réalisés dans le cadre du projet pour que ce dernier soit conforme au plan de projet et faire la mise à jour du plan de projet, le cas échéant;
  • présenter des rapports d'étape à la direction interne (et au Conseil du Trésor, s'il y a lieu);
  • donner ses commentaires pour l'élaboration de notes d'information, de présentations au Conseil du Trésor et d'autres documents, le cas échéant, afin d'offrir du soutien au chef de projet;
  • dans le plan de projet, indiquer les jalons relatifs au rendement qui permettront au Ministère d'abandonner un projet ou de l'achever si, en cours d'exécution, ce dernier n'est plus viable;
  • d'informer le ministère client de tout changement proposé à la portée, et d'obtenir les approbations du client avant la mise en œuvre du projet et avant toutes modifications des paramètres de base déjà approuvés.

5.0 Responsabilité financière

[Nota : cette section ne doit pas être modifiée]

SPAC offre des services aux autres ministères en vertu des Accords sur les niveaux de service à titre d’organisme de services communs et, par conséquent, les ministères clients conservent la responsabilité financière découlant de leurs activités de passation de marché, y compris les marchés exécutés en leur nom par des organismes de services communs (Politique sur la prise de décisions concernant la limitation de la responsabilité des entrepreneurs dans les marchés de l’État du Conseil du Trésor, septembre 2003). La présence de SPAC dans un tel processus ne dégage pas le ministère client de ses responsabilités financières. Autrement dit, c’est au ministère client, non à SPAC, à qui il incombe de financer tous les coûts associés au projet. Selon la politique du Conseil du Trésor, toute responsabilité financière découlant des activités de passation de marchés est la responsabilité du ministère client à l’origine de la demande.

Advenant une erreur ou une omission commise par un expert­conseil, SPAC agira à titre d’agent du client et demandera un dédommagement à cet expert­conseil conformément au marché. Lorsque SPAC agit à titre d’agent du client, il incombe à ce dernier de financer les frais assumés par SPAC, les dépenses juridiques ainsi que tout règlement découlant de la résolution des réclamations.

Si des erreurs ou des omissions sont commises par le personnel de la DGBI lorsque des services de conception en architecture et génie sont offerts aux clients, et que ces erreurs ou omissions engendrent des dépenses qui n’ajoutent aucune valeur à l’État ou aux projets, SPAC a comme politique de garantir que les clients n’assumeront pas injustement les coûts de correction de ces erreurs ou omissions.

6.0 Règlement des différends

Dans la mesure du possible, les différends soulevés entre le client et SPAC doivent être réglés par les parties. Les problèmes qui ne pourront pas être réglés à ce niveau dans [inscrire délai] seront simultanément portés au prochain niveau de gestion des organisations respectives de chacune des parties.

Les mécanismes de règlement pour tous les autres enjeux soulevés au sein de l'équipe de projet seront définis dans le plan de projet.

7.0 Approbation

Les soussignés acceptent par la présente d'entreprendre ce projet conformément à cet arrêté de projet et de toute révision subséquente du présent document.

SIGNATURE DU CLIENT

Approuvé par : (représentant(s) autorisé(s) du client qui détient le pouvoir de signer des documents financiers)
Signature

En lettres moulées : 
Nom, titre (rôle de chef de projet) et date

SIGNATURE DE SPAC

Approuvé par : (SPAC- personne responsable de livrer le projet)
Signature

En lettres moulées : 
Nom, titre (rôle de chef de projet) et date

c.c. (au besoin, par exemple, Directreur (Directrice) d'Équipe services clients, Gestionnaire principal(e) de projets, etc.)