Lease projects roadmap

Delivery stage

Introduction

This Lease Projects Roadmap is based on main activities and tasks required to manage the delivery of lease projects. It is not intended to cover in detail activities related to the lease space acquisition process but rather provides a high level overview for the Project Delivery Stage activities from the time that a Lease Project Approval has been obtained and the Identification Stage Close Out Phase activities have been completed. For steps to be taken during these front-end stages, see the Space Projects Roadmap—Inception and Identification Stages.

This roadmap is intended to be used as a guide for those having the role of Accommodation Manager, Project Leader, or Project Manager. Relevant links are indicated for specific business line information, processes and templates to be used.

The National Project Management System (NPMS) procedures apply to all space-based projects over 3,000  rentable (regions) or 5,000  rentable (National Capital Area / Parliamentary Precinct). For projects under these limits, the NPMS principles remain applicable. However, the level of effort and extent of documentation will vary depending upon a number of factors including the project size and complexity as well as the sensitivity of the project. For these smaller projects, see the principles of the National Project Management System methodology (available on Government of Canada network only).

The methodology utilized for lease projects are governed by the Federal Real Property and Federal Immovables Act (FRPFIA) and its Regulations. The lease agreement signed between Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) and the landlord allows PSPC to have lessee's improvements carried out by the landlord in the leased premises and this, at any time prior to and during the Term of the lease. To do so, PSPC enters into one or more "Sub-agreement(s) for Lessee's Improvements" with the landlord, under which the landlord engages architectural and engineering consultants as well as contractors to provide and deliver the required design and construction services.

All other contracts (for example, furniture, move, etc.) fall under the contract regulations.

Project delivery stage

Planning phase

Objective

The purpose of the Planning Phase is to confirm the quality and completeness of the existing project information in an effort to develop and organize lease project delivery strategy.

Description of the work

During this phase, all previous parameters of the project are validated and an agreement for delivery is reached or re-confirmed by the project team. The lease acquisition process will also be undertaken and recommendation for lease contract award concluded when lease renewal or lease acquisition are required.

Inputs

Activities / Tasks

  1. Start-up Stage
    1. Refine Project Team
    2. Update Functional Program, as required
    3. Create Project Management Plan
    4. Update Project Charter
    5. Update Project File Structure (financial codes, confirm funds, etc.)

      Note: Project Management Plan and Project Charter are not required for a Lease Renewal project where there is no fit-up.

  2. Undertake Leasing acquisition
    1. Prepare Leasing Mandate when lease acquisition is required
    2. Proceed with the acquisition process as per the Project Approval (PA) (Framework and Processes for Leasing of Real Property in Public Services and Procurement Canada [available on Government of Canada network only])
    3. Prepare document for seeking Lease Contract Approval (LCA).

      Note: Where TB approval was required for PA/EA, LCA authority may have been obtained in the Analysis Phase

    4. Complete Planning Phase Checklist

Outputs

Deliverable

Control Point

Project Management Plan Approval (PMPA) / Confirmed Lease Project Approval

Note: Prior to awarding the lease contract, PA and EA are to be confirmed to ensure that the terms and conditions of the proposed lease contract are within the approved project parameters. The PA and EA will need to be reaffirmed again in the Design Phase, once the fit-up costs are estimated (when the substantive cost estimate is received).

Design phase

Objective

The purpose of the Design Phase is to conclude a lease agreement, and come up with a design solution which meets client functional and operational requirements while forming an integral part of the base building system in the leased premise. With pre-construction documents ready, and other project expenses have substantive cost estimates, PA/EA will be either confirmed or amended, at the end of the Phase.

Description of the work

The Design Phase includes four major activities: 1. Award Lease, 2. Procure, 3. Develop Design (the activity by which client functional and operational requirements are translated into spatial, architectural and engineering terms for development into construction documents), and 4. Reaffirm PA/EA in light of full project costs, now to include the estimated fit-up costs. Quality Assurance reviews, approvals and risk assessments are critical during this phase. This phase can resume in a Lease Contract Award, if no fit-up is required.

Inputs

Activities / Tasks

  1. Award Lease
    1. Seek Lease Contract Approval
    2. Sign Lease Contract Award Letter (available on Government of Canada network only)
  2. Procure
    1. Prepare RFP/TOR (mandate) for Consultant Services
    2. Procure consultant services
    3. Complete the Project Team
    4. Sign Sub-Agreement with Landlord for Consulting Services and/or Construction Documents (available on Government of Canada network only) (if provided by the Lessor)
  3. Develop Design
    1. Develop Concept and Design for approval by client
    2. Prepare furniture layouts for approval by client
    3. Prepare Moving Plans for approval by client
    4. Prepare Furniture and Equipment and Systems Procurement Documents
    5. Review for consistency with The Government of Canada Workplace 2.0 Fit-up Standards and the Space Allocation Standards at each design activity and obtain approval as required
    6. Update the Workplace 2.0 Accreditation Evaluation Grid
  4. Reaffirm PA/EA
    1. Prepare cost estimate
    2. Confirm PA/EA
    3. Revise IAR, if amended PA/EA needs to be sought
    4. Update key parameters of the PMP
    5. Complete Design Phase Checklist

Outputs

Deliverables

Note: For amended PA/EA, reconfirm or update Project Complexity and Risk Assessment (PCRA)

Control Point

Amended or reconfirmed PA/EA - based upon both lease award letter and fit-up estimated costs

Implementation phase

Objective

The purpose of the Implementation Phase is to produce an end product of acceptable quality which meets client requirements.

Description of the work

The Implementation Phase is where all the plans and related strategies are put into motion. All construction-related (or physical 'work') activities are carried out. The Implementation Phase includes the following three major activities: 1. Procure (the activity whereby tenders are called, submissions are evaluated, Sub-agreement(s) is(are) signed with the landlord and other contracts are awarded), 2. Construct (the activity whereby all contracts are administered in order to deliver the end product to the client), 3. Accept Work (the activity whereby the end product is inspected and accepted).

Inputs

Activities / Tasks

  1. Procure (construction and other contractors/suppliers)
    1. Obtain construction documents (specs and drawings for fit-up or leasehold improvements)
    2. Conduct review at 33-66-99% (for fit-up projects) to ensure compliance with the Government of Canada Workplace 2.0 Fit-up Standards and Space Allocation Standards, and obtain approval as required
    3. Obtain tender calls by landlord
    4. Award Contracts to assure delivery of project
    5. Sign Sub-Agreement with Landlord for construction of lease premises
  2. Construct
    1. Administer the contracts Footnote 1
    2. Proceed to site quality control of construction by landlord
  3. Accept Work
    1. Inspection and commissioning of all deliverables
    2. Assemble as-built documents
    3. Ensure training is provided and manuals delivered
    4. Issue Interim Certificate of Completion of Lessee's Improvements
    5. Return contracts securities (including hold-backs)
    6. Transfer site to Real Property Manager
    7. Client Move-in
    8. Update key parameters of the PMP
    9. Complete Implementation Phase Checklist

Outputs

Deliverable

Control point

Turn-Over Approval (TOA)

Delivery stage close out phase

Objective

In an effort to improve overall project performance and client satisfaction, both product and process performance will be documented and assessed against pre-determined performance criteria. The process of Continual Improvement is imperative to the overall enhancement of project delivery within PSPC. The basis for the continual improvement process is its encapsulation of both positive and negative elements of the project.

Description of the work

The Delivery Close Out Phase is the final and arguably, the most integral stage of the project. It not only gives the team the opportunity to tie-up all loose ends, but it allows for a thorough assessment of all aspects of the projects. This assessment underscores any performance targets that were reached, surpassed or not met. In addition, the Continual Improvement Process provides a valuable method for highlighting successes as well as deficiencies reported throughout the life of the project. These records form the basis for systematic improvements to the way similar projects will be delivered in the future. The Close Out Phase includes two major activities: 1. Close-outs of contracts (the activity whereby all aspects of the performance and conformance of the end product with respect to specific equipment, installation or services provided are analyzed and evaluated), 2. Close Project (the activity of gathering and assessing project performance data).

Inputs

Activities / Tasks

  1. Close-outs of Contracts
    1. Perform Post-Occupancy Inspection
    2. Issue Final Certificate of Completion of Lessee's Improvements
    3. Perform Warranty Activities
    4. Process final payments and close contracts as per financial and contracting regulations
  2. Close Project
    1. Execute Final Space Measurement
    2. Ensure Occupancy Instrument is in place
    3. Gather End-User Feedback, and document lessons learned
    4. Submit the completed Workplace 2.0 Accreditation Evaluation Grid to wp2.mt2@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca
    5. Send as-builts to the regional Geomatics group to allow updates of current drawings
    6. Complete Administrative Close Out Activities
    7. Complete Close Out Document
    8. Complete final recording of documents

Outputs

Deliverable

Control point

Close Out Document Approval (CODA)

Date modified:

Feuille de route pour les projets de location

Étape de réalisation

Introduction

Cette feuille de route décrit les activités et les tâches principales nécessaires à la réalisation des projets de location. Cette feuille de route n'a pas pour but de traiter en détail des activités reliées au processus d'acquisition de locaux, mais plutôt de fournir un aperçu général des activités de l'étape de réalisation de projet à partir de l'obtention d'une approbation préliminaire de projet jusqu'à la conclusion de la phase de la clôture de l'identification. Pour la marche à suivre durant ces étapes préliminaires, voir Feuille de route pour les projets relatifs aux locaux – Étapes de début et d'identification de projet.

Cette feuille de route sert de guide à ceux qui jouent le rôle de gestionnaire des locaux, de chef de projet ou de gestionnaire de projet. Des liens pertinents sont indiqués pour les renseignements particuliers sur les secteurs d'activité, les processus et les modèles à utiliser.

Les procédures du Système national de gestion de projet (SNGP) s'appliquent à tous les projets relatifs aux locaux dont la superficie est supérieure à 3 000  locatifs (régions) ou à 5 000  locatifs (Secteur de la capitale nationale et Cité parlementaire). Pour les projets sous ces limites, les principes du SNGP s'appliquent, mais l'ampleur du travail et l'étendue de la documentation varient en fonction de divers facteurs dont le type, l'envergure, la complexité et la nature délicate du projet. Pour les petits projets, voir les principes de la méthodologie du Système national de gestion de projet (accessible uniquement sur le réseau du gouvernement du Canada).

La méthode employée pour les projets de location est dictée par la Loi sur les immeubles fédéraux et les biens réels fédéraux et son règlement. L'entente de location conclue entre Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) et le locateur permet à SPAC d'exiger du locateur que soient apportées des améliorations locatives dans les locaux loués, et ce, en tout temps avant ou pendant la durée du bail. À cette fin, SPAC conclut avec le locateur une ou plusieurs « ententes auxiliaires pour des améliorations locatives », dans le cadre desquelles le locateur engage des experts-conseils en architecture et en génie, de même que des entrepreneurs, qui fourniront les services de conception et de réalisation du projet.

Tous les autres marchés (comme ceux concernant l'ameublement, le déménagement et autres) relèvent du Règlement sur les marchés.

Étape de réalisation de projet

Phase de la planification

Objectif

L'objectif de la phase de la planification consiste à confirmer la qualité et l'intégralité de l'information existante sur le projet afin d'élaborer et d'organiser la stratégie de réalisation du projet.

Description des travaux

Au cours de cette phase, tous les paramètres précédents du projet sont validés, et un accord pour la réalisation est conclu ou confirmé de nouveau par l'équipe de projet. Le processus d'acquisition de locaux sera également entrepris et des recommandations portant sur l'attribution du contrat de location seront formulées lorsqu'un renouvellement de bail ou une acquisition de locaux sera nécessaire.

Intrants

Activités et tâches

  1. Lancement de l'étape
    1. Compléter l'équipe de projet.
    2. Mettre à jour le Programme fonctionnel, si nécessaire.
    3. Créer le plan de gestion de projet.
    4. Mettre à jour l'arrêté de projet.
    5. Mettre à jour la structure du dossier du projet (codes financiers, confirmation des fonds, et autres).

      Remarque : Le plan de gestion de projet et l'arrêté de projet ne sont pas requis pour un renouvellement de bail sans travaux d'aménagement.

  2. Entreprendre l'acquisition par bail
    1. Préparer le mandat relatif au bail lorsqu'une acquisition par bail est nécessaire.
    2. Enchaîner avec le processus d'acquisition selon l’approbation de projet (AP) (Cadre et processus pour la location de biens immobiliers à Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada [accessible uniquement sur le réseau du gouvernement du Canada]).
    3. Rédiger le document en vue d'obtenir l'approbation du contrat de location (ACL)  

      Remarque : Lorsque l'approbation du CT est exigée pour l’AP/PD, l'autorisation de conclure des baux peut avoir été reçue durant la phase de l'analyse.

    4. Remplir la liste de vérification de la phase de la planification.

Extrants

Produit livrable

Point de vérification

Approbation du plan de gestion de projet (APGP) / Approbation de projet confirmée

Remarque : Avant l'attribution du marché de location, l'AP et le PD doivent être confirmés afin d'assurer que les modalités du contrat de location proposé cadrent bien avec les paramètres approuvés du projet. L'AP et le PD devront être de nouveau confirmés durant la phase de conception, une fois que les coûts d'aménagement ont été évalués (après l'estimation de coût fondée).

Phase de la conception

Objectif

Le but de la phase de conception est de conclure un bail, et d'en arriver à une solution qui réponde aux besoins fonctionnels et opérationnels du client tout en faisant partie intégrante des installations techniques du bâtiment de base sur les lieux loués. Lorsque les documents préalables de construction sont prêts et quand les autres dépenses connues ont des estimations de coût fondées, l'AP et le PD seront soit confirmés ou soit modifiés à la fin de la phase.

Description des travaux

La phase de la conception comprend quatre grandes activités : 1. la conclusion du bail, 2. l'acquisition des ressources, 3. l'élaboration de la conception (l'activité par laquelle les besoins fonctionnels et opérationnels du client sont exprimés en paramètres spatiaux, architecturaux et techniques pour l’élaboration des documents de construction) et 4. la reconfirmation de l'AP et du PD, compte tenu de tous les coûts du projet, qui comprennent désormais les coûts d'aménagement. Les examens d'assurance de la qualité, les approbations et les évaluations des risques sont essentiels à cette phase. Cette phase peut se traduire par la conclusion du bail, si aucun aménagement ne s'impose.

Intrants

Activités et tâches

  1. Conclusion du bail
    1. Tenter d'obtenir l'autorisation de conclure des baux (ACB).
    2. Signer la lettre d'adjudication en prévision de la signature de baux (accessible uniquement sur le réseau du gouvernement du Canada).
  2. Acquisition des ressources
    1. Préparer la demande de proposition et les paramètres pour les services d'experts-conseils.
    2. Faire l'acquisition des services d'experts-conseils.
    3. Compléter la composition de l'équipe de projet.
    4. Signer l'entente auxiliaire avec le locateur pour obtenir des services d'experts-conseils ou les documents de construction (accessible uniquement sur le réseau du gouvernement du Canada) (si fournis par le locateur) .
  3. Élaboration de la conception
    1. Élaborer l'avant-projet aux fins d'approbation du client.
    2. Effectuer les plans de disposition du mobilier et obtenir l'approbation du client (s'il y a lieu).
    3. Dresser les plans de déménagement aux fins d'approbation par le client.
    4. Rédiger les documents d'approvisionnement portant sur l'ameublement, l'équipement et les systèmes.
    5. Vérifier que Les Normes d'aménagement du gouvernement du Canada relatives à l'initiative Milieu de travail 2.0 et que les Normes d’attribution des locaux sont respectées durant chaque étape de la conception et obtenir l'approbation s'il y a lieu.
    6. Mettre à jour la grille d'évaluation pour l'accréditation à l'initiative Milieu de travail 2.0
  4. Reconfirmation de l'AP et du PD
    1. Effectuer l'estimation des coûts.
    2. Confirmer l'AP et le PD.
    3. Revoir le RAI s'il faut chercher à obtenir une modification de l’AP et du PD.
    4. Mettre à jour les paramètres critiques du PGP.
    5. Remplir la liste de vérification de la phase de conception.

Extrants

Produits livrables

Note : Pour une AP et un PD modifiés, confirmer ou mettre à jour l'Évaluation de la complexité et des risques des projets.

Point de vérification

AP et PD confirmés ou modifiés en tenant compte de la lettre d'adjudication en prévision de la signature de baux et des coûts estimatifs d'aménagement.

Phase de la mise en œuvre

Objectif

Il s'agit de réaliser un produit final de qualité acceptable qui répond aux besoins du client.

Description des travaux

C'est à la phase de mise en œuvre qu'on met en branle tous les plans et les stratégies connexes. C'est alors que commencent les activités relatives à la construction (ou les travaux « concrets »). La phase de la mise en œuvre comprend les trois grandes activités suivantes : 1. l'acquisition (l'activité qui consiste à lancer des appels d'offres, à évaluer les soumissions et à signer une ou des ententes auxiliaires avec le locateur et à attribuer d'autres marchés), 2. la construction (l'activité par laquelle on administre tous les marchés pour réaliser le produit final pour le client) et 3. l'acceptation des travaux (l'activité qui consiste à inspecter le produit final et à l'accepter).

Intrants

Activités et tâches

  1. Acquisition (services de construction et autres services offerts par des entrepreneurs ou des fournisseurs).
    1. Obtenir les documents de construction (plans et devis pour les travaux d’aménagement ou les améliorations locatives).
    2. Mener des examens à 33-66-99% (pour un projet d’aménagement) pour s’assurer de la conformité avec les Normes d'aménagement du gouvernement du Canada relatives à l'initiative Milieu de travail 2.0, et avec les Normes d’attribution des locaux, et obtenir l'approbation s'il y a lieu.
    3. Obtenir les appels d'offres du locateur.
    4. Attribuer des marchés pour assurer la réalisation du projet.
    5. Signer l'entente auxiliaire avec le locateur pour la construction de locaux à louer.
  2. Construction
    1. Administrer tous les marchés Note de bas de page 1.
    2. Assurer le contrôle de la qualité sur le chantier de construction du locateur.
  3. Acceptation des travaux
    1. Inspection et mise en service de tous les produits livrables.
    2. Réunir tous les documents de l'ouvrage fini.
    3. Veiller à la formation et à la distribution des manuels et guides.
    4. Délivrer le certificat provisoire d'achèvement des améliorations locatives.
    5. Retourner les garanties contractuelles (y compris les retenues).
    6. Transférer les lieux au gestionnaire immobilier.
    7. Installation du client dans les locaux.
    8. Mettre à jour les paramètres critiques du PGP.
    9. Remplir la liste de vérification de la phase de mise en œuvre.

Extrants

Produit livrable

Point de vérification

Approbation du transfert (AT)

Phase de la clôture de la réalisation

Objectif

Afin d'améliorer le rendement des projets et la satisfaction des clients dans l'ensemble, on consigne par écrit et on évalue, par rapport à des critères de rendement préétablis, le rendement des produits et des processus. Le processus de l'amélioration continue est indispensable à l'amélioration générale de la réalisation des projets à SPAC. Si on doit faire appel au processus de l'amélioration continue, c'est parce qu'il reprend les éléments positifs et les éléments négatifs des projets.

Description des travaux

La phase de clôture représente la phase finale du projet; on peut même affirmer qu'elle en constitue l'étape la plus importante. En plus de donner à l'équipe l'occasion de faire toutes les dernières mises au point, elle permet d'évaluer rigoureusement tous les aspects du projet. Cette évaluation porte sur tous les objectifs de rendement qui ont été atteints, dépassés ou non respectés. De plus, le processus de l'amélioration continue constitue une méthode très utile pour mettre en évidence les succès remportés et les lacunes constatées pendant toute la durée du projet. Les documents ainsi établis permettent d'apporter des améliorations systémiques à la façon de réaliser des projets semblables à l'avenir. La phase de la clôture comprend deux grandes activités : 1. la clôture des contrats (l'activité qui consiste à analyser et à évaluer tous les aspects du rendement et de la conformité du produit final en ce qui concerne le matériel, l'installation ou les services particuliers fournis) et 2. la clôture du projet (l'activité qui consiste à réunir et à évaluer les données sur le rendement du projet).

Intrants

Activités et tâches

  1. Clôture des contrats
    1. Effectuer l'inspection postérieure à l'occupation.
    2. Délivrer le certificat définitif d'achèvement des améliorations locatives.
    3. Exercer les activités relatives à la garantie.
    4. Traiter les paiements définitifs et clore les contrats selon les règlements sur les finances et sur les marchés.
  2. Clôture du projet
    1. Mesurer la superficie finale.
    2. S'assurer de la mise en œuvre de l'accord d'occupation.
    3. Soumettre la grille dévaluation complétée pour l'accréditation à l'initiative Milieu de travail 2.0 à wp2.mt2@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca   
    4. Envoyer les dessins conformes à l'exécution au groupe de géomatique régional afin qu'ils mettent à jour les plans actuels.
    5. Exercer les activités administratives de clôture.
    6. Remplir le document de clôture.
    7. Parachever la consignation finale des documents.

Extrants

Produit livrable

Point de vérification

Date de modification :