Security of Federal Buildings

This is a guide to the issue of real property security of federal buildings.

Relevant Policies

The ARCHIVED - Government Security Policy states that employees under threat of violence must be safeguarded according to baseline security requirements and continuous security risk management. Assets must be safeguarded according to baseline security requirements and continuous security risk management. Continued delivery of services must be assured through baseline security requirements, including business continuity planning, and continuous security risk management. The core policy is supplemented by the operational security standards from the Treasury Board Secretariat, and these standards are complemented by technical documentation from the lead security departments.

As a subordinate policy requirement, government departments must establish and conduct a security program to apply and comply with the GSP. The PWGSC/PSPC (DP 051) - Departmental Security Program PolicyThis link is available only to clients with access to Publiservice, the Government of Canada extranet. indicates that it shall:

  1. protect sensitive information and assets under control of the department in accordance with the GSP and the associated security standards;
  2. protect the safety and security of departmental employees in accordance with the Canada Labour Code, the GSP and associated security standards;
  3. incorporate security requirements in all departmental planning and operations, including, but not limited to:
    1. construction or modification projects undertaken as a custodian department;
    2. contracts let as a contracting authority;
    3. information technology (IT) projects undertaken as the lead agency for common service telecommunications in government;
    4. report and investigate actual or suspected security violations and breaches, take necessary corrective action and maintain a record of all investigations and associated recommendations.

This departmental policy establishes the fundamental framework for a departmental security program within a distributed security structure. This policy applies to all employees of PSPC, including Special Operating Agencies (SOAs) as well as other personnel having authorized access to sensitive government information an assets in conjunction with government programs or contracts and other arrangements administered by the department.

As indicated in PSPC (DP 051) Departmental Security Program, PSPC has adopted a distributed security structure to implement a departmental security program in accordance with the GSP. Within this context, the Real Property Services Branch has been assigned overall responsibility for the corporate security program. This sister policy, PSPC (DP 052) Corporate Security ProgramThis link is available only to clients with access to Publiservice, the Government of Canada extranet. establishes the departmental framework and policy for physical security and the protection of important assets, including personnel and sensitive information.

The PSPC (DP 052) - Corporate Security Program Policy indicates that it shall:

  1. protect sensitive information and other assets under control of the department in accordance with the GSP and the associated security standards;
  2. protect the safety and security of departmental employees in accordance with the Canada Labour Code, the GSP and associated security standards;
  3. incorporate physical security requirements in all facilities administered as a custodian department;
  4. report and investigate actual or suspected security violations and breaches in respect of departmental information or assets, take necessary corrective action and maintain a record of all investigations and associated recommendations.

This policy applies to all employees of PSPC, including Special Operating Agencies (SOAs) and persons engaged under contract with the government.

Application

This TBS Government Security Policy applies to all departments listed in Schedule I, Schedule I.1 and Schedule II of the Financial Administration Act (FAA).

It also applies to:

  1. Any commission under the Inquiries Act that is designated by order of the Governor in Council as a department for the purposes of the FAA.
  2. The Canadian Forces with the proviso that any reference in this policy to employees does not include members of the Canadian Forces.

Certain agencies and crown corporations can enter into agreements with the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat to adopt the requirements of this policy and apply them to their organization.

Operational Standards

The TBS Security Organization and Administration Standard supplements the core Government Security Policy. This standard describes the general approach that departments are expected to follow in protecting their personnel and managing protected and classified information and assets. Among the topics covered by the standard are threat and risk assessment and guard management.

The TBS Operational Standard or the Security of Information Act for the Security of Information Act supplements the core Government Security Policy. This standard concerns the narrow categories of "special operational information" and "persons permanently bound to secrecy" that were introduced by the Security of Information Act when it replaced the Official Secrets Act. When PSPC is the contracting authority for goods or services which involve access to "special operational information," the Deputy Minister may designate contractors as "persons permanently bound to secrecy."

The TBS Operational Security Standard on Physical Security supplements the core Government Security Policy. This standard describes the general approach that departments are expected to follow in planning physical safeguards for their personnel, visitors, and protected and classified information and assets. Among the topics covered by the standard are security design briefs for accommodation projects and methods of access control.

The ARCHIVED - TBS Personnel Security Standard supplements the core Government Security Policy. This standard identifies the procedures for screening personnel who require access to protected or classified information and assets. Although the standard remains in effect, it is necessary to consult Security Policy Implementation Notice 2002-07 for information on subsequent changes to personnel screening procedures.

The Treasury Board Secretariat's Operational Security Standard on Readiness Levels for Federal Government FacilitiesThis link is available only to clients with access to Publiservice, the Government of Canada extranet. supplements the core Government Security Policy. This standard sets out the levels of heightened security that may apply to government facilities as a result of national or international events.

The TBS Business Continuity Planning (BCP) Program supplements the core Government Security Policy. This standard describes the general approach that departments are expected to follow in business resumption planning, contingency planning, and planning for security during emergencies. Further direction is available in Departmental Policy 001, "Policy for Emergency Preparedness in Public Services and Procurement Canada."

The TBS Security and Contracting Management Standard supplements the core Government Security Policy. This standard explains how departments are expected to implement the GSP in the contracting process. Further direction is available in PSPC's Supply Manual.

The Treasury Board Secretariat's Information Technology Security Standard supplements the core Government Security Policy. This standard explains in general terms how departments are expected to ensure the security of information technology hardware and software, networks, telecommunications and other equipment that is interconnected, and facilities in which the equipment is housed. Further direction is available in DP 104 - Policy on Information Technology SecurityThis link is available only to clients with access to Publiservice, the Government of Canada extranet..

Technical Documentation

The PSPC Supply Manual has the force of departmental policy with respect to security requirements for contracts. In particular, it states that "[all] requisitions and contract amendments containing requirements for physical security, information technology security or personnel security screening must include the form TBS-SCT 350/103, Security Requirements Check List (SRCL )". The SRCL is one of the documents which "must be sent by the contracting officer to the Canadian and International Industrial Security Directorate (CIISD) for security arrangements." CIISD uses the SRCL to select contract clauses on security from the Standard Acquisition Clauses and Conditions Manual or draft new clauses as the need arises.

The following information must be sent by the contracting officer to the Canadian and International Industrial Security Directorate (CIISD) for security arrangements:

  1. copy of the requisition / amendment cover page;
  2. a copy of those portions of the requisition / amendment documentation which contain statements about security;
  3. an original or high quality, non-faxed copy of the SRCL form;
  4. a list of relevant security clauses from the Standard Acquisition Clauses and Conditions (SACC) Manual, Subsection 5F; and
  5. a short list of any identified, potential suppliers, if applicable.

The PSPC Industrial Security Manual explains the requirements of PSPC's Industrial Security Program, whose objective is to ensure that contractors follow the security measures identified for contracts involving access to protected or classified information and assets. This includes contracts for goods, services, construction, building services and leases. The Industrial Security Program is important with respect to real property management because of the widespread requirements that contractors hold at least feasibility reliability status for work at federal sites.

The Guide to the Preparation of Physical Security Briefs is published by the RCMP as a reference for applying the Treasury Board Secretariat's Physical Security Standard. The Guide describes the methods for preparing security site briefs (to be used when choosing a site for a facility) and security site briefs (to be used when planning physical safeguards for a facility). Of special interest to asset managers is Appendix B, "Basic Building Security Attributes for Custodians," which lists the physical safeguards that custodian departments are responsible for providing and funding.

Procurement

Under the National Master Standing Offer (NMSO) for Commissionaire Services, the Canadian Corps of Commissionaires has the right of first refusal for security guard contracts with the federal government. The responsibility of contracting with the Corps falls to PSPC, which is recognized by the Treasury Board as the contracting authority for commissionaire services required by federal departments and agencies. If the Corps declines a call-up against the NMSO, PSPC may initiate a call-up against standing offer from a private security agency.

Inquiries

For further technical inquiries on the physical security of buildings, please contact SNGP.NPMS@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.

Associated Documents

Best Practices

Legislation

PSPC Policies

Treasury Board Policies

Standards

Specifications

Toolkit

Sécurité des immeubles fédéraux

Voici un guide sur la question de la sécurité des biens immobiliers fédéraux.

Politiques pertinentes

La ARCHIVÉE - Politique du gouvernement sur la sécurité précise qu'on doit protéger les employés menacés de violence conformément aux exigences sécuritaires de base et en gérant continuellement les risques pour la sécurité. Il faut protéger les biens conformément aux exigences sécuritaires de base et en gérant continuellement les risques pour la sécurité. On doit veiller à assurer continuellement les services selon les exigences sécuritaires de base, notamment en planifiant la continuité des activités et en gérant en continu les risques pour la sécurité. Cette politique est complétée par les normes opérationnelles de sécurité approuvées par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor; ces normes sont elles-mêmes complétées par les documents techniques des principaux ministères responsables de la sécurité.

Dans le cadre des exigences de cette politique, les ministères doivent instituer et réaliser un programme de sécurité respectant la Politique du gouvernement sur la sécurité (PGS). La Politique ministérielle 051 de SPAC - Programme de sécurité du MinistèreCe lien n'est disponible qu'aux clients ayant accès à Publiservice, le site extranet du gouvernement du Canada. précise qu'il faut :

  1. protéger les renseignements et les biens de nature délicate dont le Ministère a la garde, en conformité avec la PGS et les normes de sécurité connexes;
  2. protéger la sécurité des employés du Ministère, en conformité avec le Code canadien du travail, la PGS et les normes de sécurité connexes;
  3. intégrer les impératifs de sécurité dans tous les plans et activités du Ministère, y compris ce qui suit de façon non limitative :
    1. les projets de construction ou de modification entrepris par SPAC en tant que ministère gardien;
    2. les marchés passés par SPAC en tant qu'autorité contractante;
    3. les projets liés à la technologie de l'information entrepris par SPAC en tant qu'organisme responsable de la prestation de services communs en télécommunications au gouvernement;
    4. signaler les infractions et les manquements réels ou apparents à la sécurité et faire enquête sur ceux-ci, prendre les mesures correctives nécessaires et tenir un dossier de toutes les enquêtes et de toutes les recommandations connexes.

Cette politique ministérielle constitue le cadre essentiel du programme de sécurité de SPAC dans une structure de sécurité décentralisée. Elle s'applique à l'ensemble des employés de SPAC, dont les organismes de service spécial (OSS), ainsi qu'aux autres employés autorisés à avoir accès aux renseignements et aux biens confidentiels du gouvernement dans le cadre des programmes et des contrats de l'État et d'autres accords administrés par le Ministère.

Comme l'indique la Politique ministérielle 051 - Programme de sécurité du Ministère, SPAC a adopté une structure de sécurité décentralisée pour réaliser un programme ministériel de sécurité conformément à la PGS. Dans ce contexte, on a confié à la Direction générale des biens immobiliers la responsabilité globale du Programme de sécurité du Ministère. La Politique ministérielle complémentaire Politique ministérielle 052 - Programme de la sécurité ministérielleCe lien n'est disponible qu'aux clients ayant accès à Publiservice, le site extranet du gouvernement du Canada. a pour effet d'instituer le cadre et la politique ministériels pour la sécurité matérielle et la protection des biens importants, ainsi que du personnel et des renseignements confidentiels.

La Politique ministérielle 052 - Programme de la sécurité ministérielle précise qu'il faut :

  1. protéger les renseignements et les biens de nature délicate dont le Ministère a la garde, en conformité avec la PGS et les normes de sécurité connexes;
  2. assurer la sécurité des employés du Ministère, en conformité avec le Code canadien du travail, la PGS et les normes de sécurité connexes;
  3. mettre en oeuvre les exigences en matière de sécurité matérielle dans toutes les installations gérées par SPAC en tant que ministère gardien;
  4. signaler les infractions et les manquements réels ou soupçonnés à la sécurité des biens et des renseignements du Ministère, faire enquête sur ceux-ci, prendre les mesures correctives qui s'imposent et tenir un dossier de toutes les enquêtes et de toutes les recommandations connexes.

Cette politique s'applique à tous les employés de SPAC, dont les organismes de service spécial (OSS), ainsi qu'aux personnes travaillant dans le cadre de contrats conclus avec le gouvernement.

Application

La Politique du gouvernement sur la sécurité du SCT s'applique à tous les ministères énumérés dans les annexes I, I.1 et II de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques (LGFP).

Elle s'applique également aux institutions suivantes :

  1. toute commission créée en vertu de la Loi sur les enquêtes et nommée par décret du gouvernement en conseil comme ministère aux fins de la LGFP;
  2. les Forces canadiennes avec la condition que toute référence aux employés dans cette politique ne comprend pas les membres des Forces canadiennes.

Certains organismes et certaines sociétés d'État peuvent conclure des ententes avec le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada afin d'adopter les exigences de cette politique et de les appliquer à leur organisation.

Normes opérationnelles

La Norme de sécurité relative à l'organisation et l'administration du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor complète la Politique du gouvernement sur la sécurité de base. Cette norme décrit la méthode générale que les ministères devraient appliquer dans la protection de leurs employés et dans la gestion des renseignements et des biens protégés et classifiés. L'évaluation des menaces et des risques et la gestion de la surveillance font partie des sujets traités dans cette norme.

La Norme opérationnelle de la Loi sur la protection de l'information SCT pour la Loi sur la protection de l'informationcomplète la Politique du gouvernement sur la sécurité de base. Cette norme porte sur les catégories précises des « renseignements opérationnels spéciaux » et des « personnes astreintes au secret à perpétuité », catégories qui ont été adoptées dans la Loi sur la protection de l'information, qui a remplacé la Loi sur les secrets officiels. Lorsque SPAC est l'autorité contractante pour les marchés de biens et de services qui consistent à avoir accès à des « renseignements opérationnels spéciaux », le sous-ministre peut désigner des entrepreneurs comme des « personnes astreintes au secret à perpétuité ».

La Norme opérationnelle sur la sécurité matérielle SCT complète la Politique du gouvernement sur la sécurité de base. Cette norme décrit la méthode générale que les ministères devraient normalement appliquer dans la planification des mesures de protection à l'intention des membres de leur personnel, des visiteurs et des renseignements et biens protégés et classifiés. Les énoncés de conception de la sécurité pour les projets de gestion des locaux et les méthodes de contrôle de l'accès à l'information font partie des sujets traités dans cette norme.

La ARCHIVÉE - Norme sur la sécurité du personnel SCT complète la Politique du gouvernement sur la sécurité de base. Cette norme fait état des procédures pour le filtrage de sécurité du personnel qui doit avoir accès à des renseignements et à des biens protégés ou classifiés. Bien que cette norme continue de produire ses effets, il est nécessaire de consulter l'Avis de mise en oeuvre de la politique sur la sécurité 2002-07 pour prendre connaissance de l'information sur les changements qui ont été apportés par la suite aux procédures de filtrage de sécurité du personnel.

La Norme opérationnelle de sécurité - Niveaux de préparation des installations du gouvernement fédéral du SCT complète la Politique du gouvernement sur la sécurité de base. Cette norme fait état des niveaux de sécurité supérieure qui peuvent s'appliquer aux installations du gouvernement en raison d'événements nationaux ou internationaux.

La Programme de planification de la continuité des activités (PCA) SCT complète la Politique du gouvernement sur la sécurité de base. Cette norme décrit la méthode générale que les ministères devraient normalement appliquer dans la planification de la reprise de leurs activités, des mesures d'urgence et de la sécurité pendant les cas d'urgence. Pour des directives plus précises, on peut consulter la Politique ministérielle 001 (« Politique de préparatifs d'urgence pour Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada »).

La Norme de sécurité et de gestion des marchés SCT complète la Politique du gouvernement sur la sécurité de base. Dans cette norme, on explique comment les ministères doivent normalement mettre en oeuvre la PGS dans le processus d'attribution des marchés. Pour des directives plus précises, on peut consulter le Guide des approvisionnements de SPAC.

La Norme opérationnelle de sécurité : Gestion de la sécurité des technologies de l'information du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor complète la Politique du gouvernement sur la sécurité de base. Dans cette norme, on explique généralement comment les ministères devraient normalement assurer la sécurité du matériel et des logiciels, des réseaux, des télécommunications et des autres biens d'équipement de technologie de l'information qui sont interconnectés, ainsi que des installations dans lesquelles l'équipement est abrité. Pour des directives plus précises, on peut consulter la Politique ministérielle 104 de SPAC sur le Programme de sécurité de la technologie de l'information (TI)Ce lien n'est disponible qu'aux clients ayant accès à Publiservice, le site extranet du gouvernement du Canada..

Documents techniques

Le Guide des approvisionnements de SPAC s'applique au même titre qu'une politique ministérielle en ce qui a trait aux exigences relatives à la sécurité pour les contrats. En particulier, ce guide précise que « [toutes]les commandes et modifications contractuelles comportant des exigences en matière de sécurité relative aux installations, à la technologie de l'information ou au personnel, doivent inclure la Liste de vérification des exigences relatives à la sécurité (LVERS) ». La LVERS constitue l'un des documents que « l'agent de négociation de contrats doit faire parvenir à la Direction de la sécurité industrielle canadienne et internationale (DSICI) pour les mesures à prendre en matière de sécurité ». La DSICI se sert de la LVERS pour sélectionner les clauses contractuelles sur la sécurité dans le Guide des clauses et conditions uniformisées d'achat ou pour rédiger de nouvelles clauses sur la sécurité, selon les besoins.

L'agent de négociation de contrats doit faire parvenir les renseignements suivants à la Direction de la sécurité industrielle canadienne et internationale (DSICI) pour les mesures à prendre en matière de sécurité :

  1. une copie de la page de couverture de la demande d'achat;
  2. une copie des parties de la documentation accompagnant la demande et renfermant les conditions à propos de la sécurité;
  3. l'original ou une copie de qualité (non télécopiée) de la LVERS;
  4. la liste des clauses pertinentes sur la sécurité, extraites du Guide des clauses et conditions d'achat uniformisées, sous-section 5F;
  5. la liste abrégée des fournisseurs éventuels, le cas échéant.

Dans le Manuel de la sécurité industrielle de SPAC on explique les exigences du Programme de la sécurité industrielle de SPAC, dont l'objectif consiste à s'assurer que les entrepreneurs appliquent les mesures de sécurité définies pour les contrats donnant accès aux renseignements et aux biens protégés ou classifiés. Il s'agit notamment des contrats de biens, de services, de travaux de construction, de services immobiliers et de location à bail. Le Programme de la sécurité industrielle est important en ce qui a trait à la gestion immobilière, puisque généralement on exige que les entrepreneurs détiennent au moins la cote de vérification de la fiabilité pour travailler dans les établissements fédéraux.

La GRC publie le Guide des institutions locatives pour la préparation d'un énoncé de sécurité matérielle, qui constitue un ouvrage de référence pour l'application de la Norme opérationnelle sur la sécurité matérielle du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. Ce guide décrit les méthodes de préparation des énoncés de sécurité matérielle (qu'on doit établir lorsqu'il s'agit de choisir un site pour une installation) et des énoncés de sécurité matérielle (qu'on doit appliquer dans la planification des mesures de protection matérielle pour des installations. L'Appendice B (« Mesures de sécurité des édifices exigées des gardiens »), qui dresse la liste des mesures de protection matérielle que les ministères gardiens doivent adopter et financer, intéressera en particulier les gestionnaires de biens.

Achats

Dans le cadre de l'Offre à commandes principale et nationale (OCPN) pour les services de commissionnaires, le Corps canadien des commissionnaires a un droit de premier refus pour les contrats de sécurité attribués par le gouvernement fédéral. SPAC, que le Conseil du Trésor reconnaît comme l'autorité contractante pour les services de commissionnaires dont les ministères et les organismes fédéraux ont besoin, est responsable des contrats à attribuer au Corps canadien des commissionnaires. Si cet organisme refuse une commande subséquente dans le cadre de cette OCPN, SPAC peut passer une commande subséquente dans le cadre d'une offre à commandes à une agence privée de sécurité.

Demandes de renseignements

Pour les demandes techniques en ce qui a trait à la sécurité matérielle dans les immeubles, veuillez contacter SNGP.NPMS@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.

Documents connexes

Conseils pratiques

Lois

Politiques de SPAC

Politiques Conseil du Trésor

Normes

Devis

Trousse à outils