Seismic Resistance

This is a guide to the Seismic Resistance of Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) Buildings.

Mandatory Policies

The PSPC RPS Policy Seismic Resistance of PSPC Buildings This link is available only to clients with access to The Source, the PWGSC/PSPC intranet. addresses the issue of seismic (earthquake) resistance of new and existing buildings. The objective is to provide a consistent risk management approach.

New Buildings

New buildings shall be designed and constructed in accordance with the seismic requirements of the National Building Code of Canada (NBCC) The WWW icon indicates a link that takes you outside the federal government's common web environment., provincial / territorial building codes, and local bylaws.

Existing Buildings

A seismic screening must be undertaken and the results included in the building's Asset Management Plan This link is available only to clients with access to The Source, the PWGSC/PSPC intranet.. The results are used in the investment analysis planning process on a portfolio-wide basis if greater than 30 or when a significant project is planned.

For buildings that are not yet within the custody of PSPC, a seismic screening shall be completed prior to a final agreement to acquire the facility. Results of the seismic screening will determine the need for a detailed seismic assessment.

  • A detailed seismic assessment is mandatory when
    • Structural Priority Index resulted from the seismic screening is greater than 30 or
    • a "significant" project is being planned for the building. Conditions for qualifying the building as significant are listed in the policy. Generic terms of reference for detailed seismic assessments are given in the policy. Results of the detailed seismic assessment will determine the need for a seismic upgrade.
  • A seismic upgrade is not mandatory if the building structure's seismic resistance meets or exceeds 60% of the seismic load requirement for new building construction as specified by the current NBCC. A seismic upgrade is required when the building structure's seismic resistance does not meet 60% of the NBCC requirements or such upgrade is required to comply fully with current bylaws and provincial / territorial building codes. The optimal level of upgrade shall be based on financial, functional, operational, security, and client requirements. A list of some of these requirements to be considered is given in the policy. Seismic improvements for the main structure and non-structural components shall be considered within the context and scope of the plans for the building as detailed in the Asset Management Plan and in specific Investment Analysis Reports. Innovative and cost effective technologies and approaches to seismic improvements are to be explored. For heritage-designated buildings, the heritage character and value are to be respected and protected.

Generic terms of reference This link is available only to clients with access to The Source, the PWGSC/PSPC intranet. for seismic screenings are given in the policy.

Application

This policy applies to structural and non-structural seismic hazards in crown-owned buildings currently in or to be added to the custody of PSPC. External seismic hazards such as potential failure of service lifelines, ground failures outside the building, and business resumption after an earthquake are not addressed in this policy. Refer to Threat & Risk Assessments for further requirements.

Communities where there are PSPC administered crown-owned buildings are listed in RPS Policy Seismic Resistance of PSPC Buildings - Appendix A This link is available only to clients with access to The Source, the PWGSC/PSPC intranet., with the Effective Seismic Zone rating for the respective community. Existing buildings in zones of moderate to high seismicity, based on the effective seismic zone value, shall require seismic screening.

Relevant Technical Documentation

Non-Structural Building Components

For design and evaluation of non-structural building components (i.e., building contents, bookcases, piping, light fixtures, etc.) refer to the CAN/CSA-S832-06 Seismic Risk Reduction of Operational and Functional Components (OFCs) of Buildings The WWW icon indicates a link that takes you outside the federal government's common web environment.. The Guideline provides information and methodology to identify and evaluate hazards caused by earthquake forces acting on operational and functional components (OFCs) and to undertake appropriate mitigation strategies and techniques.

It is important to note that seismic risk reduction of OFCs is affected by the structural performance of the building, although the Guideline does not address the structural integrity of the building. This CSA Standard S832-06 supersedes the PSPC Guideline on Seismic Evaluation and Upgrading on Non-Structural Building Components.

Project Managers and Designers should note that this is a evolving area. Research is being undertaken by many groups in the public and private sector, in Canada and abroard.

Heritage Masonry

PSPC has developed the Guidelines for the Seismic Assessment of Stone-Masonry Structures to provide technically sound analytical tools and acceptable assessment criteria for the seismic evaluation of stone-masonry structures. The Guidelines for the Seismic Upgrading of Stone-Masonry Structures as companion guidelines specifically for the seismic assessment and upgrading of stone-masonry structures. provide a general understanding of the potential seismic deficiencies of stone-masonry structures, principles of seismic upgrading, and descriptions, cost and effectiveness of existing design concepts and methods for seismic upgrading of stone masonry structures.

Building Structures

The following documents National Research Council documents provide detailed information on the evaluation and upgrading of existing structures for seismic conditions:

Examples of Seismic Works in PSPC

Innovative Upgrade Technology / Materials

  • Esquimalt Graving Dock Pumphouse, Esquimalt, BC - heritage; PALL friction dampers; glass fibre wrap
  • Federal Electronics Research Building, Ottawa, ON - PALL friction dampers
  • Harry Stevens Building, Vancouver, BC - PALL friction dampers
  • Standards Building, Vancouver, BC - glass fibre wrap

Non-Structural Components

  • Installation of restraints in various PSPC offices in BC - office components
  • Esquimalt Graving Dock Pumphouse, Esquimalt, BC - mechnanical and electrical components
  • Shake table testing of bookcases and partition walls, Vancouver, BC, and Montreal, QC - leading-edge research

Heritage Buildings

  • Evaluation of Parliament Building, Ottawa, ON - structural assessment
  • Evaluation of Sinclair Centre, Vancouver, BC - stone cladding assessment; structural assessment

Inquiries

To obtain further information or to contact your regional representative, please contact SNGP.NPMS@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.

Associated Documents

PSPC Policies

Standards

Toolkit

Résistance sismique

Voici un guide sur la résistance sismique des immeubles de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC).

Politiques obligatoires

La Politique des SI Résistance sismique des immeubles de SPAC Ce lien n'est disponible qu'aux clients ayant accès à La Source, le site intranet de TPSGC/SPAC. porte sur la résistance sismique (tremblements de terre) des immeubles neufs et des immeubles existants. L'objectif consiste à adopter une méthode uniforme dans la gestion des risques.

Immeubles neufs

On doit concevoir et construire les immeubles neufs conformément aux exigences sismiques du Code national du bâtiment du Canada (CNBC) L'icône WWW indique un lien menant à l'extérieur de l'environnement commun Web du gouvernement fédéral., des codes du bâtiment des provinces et des territoires et des règlements locaux.

Immeubles existants

Il faut procéder à une évaluation de la résistance des immeubles aux tremblements de terre et faire état des résultats de cet examen dans le Plan de gestion des biens immobiliers Ce lien n'est disponible qu'aux clients ayant accès à La Source, le site intranet de TPSGC/SPAC.. On s'inspire de ces résultats dans le processus de planification de l'analyse des investissements pour l'ensemble du portefeuille si l'indice de priorité structurelle est supérieur à 30 ou lorsqu'on planifie des projets « l'envergure ».

Pour ce qui est des immeubles dont SPAC n'assure pas encore la garde, on doit procéder à une évaluation de la résistance des immeubles aux tremblements de terre avant de conclure l'accord final pour l'acquisition des installations. Les résultats de cette évaluation permettent de savoir s'il est nécessaire de procéder à une évaluation sismique détaillée.

  • L'évaluation sismique détaillée est obligatoire dans les cas suivants :
    • l'indice de priorité structurelle attribué dans la foulée de l'examen sismique est supérieur à 30;
    • on planifie un projet « d'envergure » pour un immeuble. Les conditions à remplir pour que l'immeuble réponde à la définition des projets d'envergure sont énumérées dans la politique. Cette politique fait également état du mandat générique pour l'évaluation sismique détaillée. Les résultats de cette évaluation permettent de savoir s'il faut procéder à une mise à niveau sismique.
  • La mise à niveau sismique n'est pas obligatoire si la résistance sismique des structures de l'immeuble atteint ou dépasse 60 % de la capacité de charge sismique des immeubles neufs précisée dans la version actuelle du CNBC. Il faut procéder à une mise à niveau sismique lorsque la résistance sismique des structures de l'immeuble n'atteint pas 60 % de la capacité de charge exigée dans le CNBC ou qu'il faut procéder à cette mise à niveau pour respecter parfaitement les règlements et les codes du bâtiment des provinces et des territoires en vigueur à l'heure actuelle. Le degré optimal de la mise à niveau doit se fonder sur les impératifs financiers, fonctionnels et opérationnels, sur les exigences relatives à la sécurité et sur les besoins du client. La politique dresse la liste de certaines exigences dont on doit tenir compte. On doit analyser les améliorations sismiques à apporter aux structures principales et aux éléments non structurels dans le contexte et selon la portée des plans de l'immeuble, conformément au Plan de gestion des biens immobiliers et aux rapports d'analyse des investissements en particulier. On doit envisager de recourir à des technologies innovantes et économiques et à des méthodes d'amélioration sismique.On doit respecter et protéger le caractère et la valeur patrimoniaux des édifices classés.

La politique fait état du cadre de référence générique Ce lien n'est disponible qu'aux clients ayant accès à La Source, le site intranet de TPSGC/SPAC. pour les examens sismiques.

Application

Cette politique s'applique aux risques sismiques des éléments structurels et non structurels dans les immeubles appartenant à l'État et qui font déjà partie ou qui feront partie du parc immobilier dont SPAC assure la garde. Cette politique ne fait pas état des risques sismiques externes, par exemple l'interruption potentielle des services essentiels, l'affaissement des terrains sous les immeubles et la reprise des activités après un séisme. Pour prendre connaissance des exigences précises, veuillez consulter la rubriqueÉvaluations de la menace et des risques.

La Politique des SI Résistance sismique des immeubles de SPAC Annexe A Ce lien n'est disponible qu'aux clients ayant accès à La Source, le site intranet de TPSGC/SPAC. dresse la liste des collectivités dans lesquelles SPAC administre des immeubles appartenant à l'État, laquelle indique également la zone sismique effective de ces agglomérations. Il faut procéder à un examen sismique pour les immeubles existants dans les zones de sismicité modérée ou élevée, en fonction de la valeur de la zone sismique effective.

Documents techniques pertinents

Éléments non structuraux des bâtiments

Pour la conception et l'évaluation des éléments non structuraux des bâtiments (par exemple, le contenu des immeubles, les bibliothèques, la tuyauterie et l'éclairage), veuillez consulter la norme CAN/CSA-S832-F06 Diminution des risques sismiques concernant les composants fonctionnels et opérationnels des bâtiments (CFO) L'icône WWW indique un lien menant à l'extérieur de l'environnement commun Web du gouvernement fédéral.. Cette norme comprend de l'information et fait état de la méthodologie à appliquer pour répertorier et évaluer les risques causés par les forces sismiques qui agissent sur les éléments opérationnels et fonctionnels (EOF) et pour appliquer les stratégies et les techniques adéquates d'atténuation.

Il est important de faire observer que le rendement structurel des immeubles permet de réduire les risques sismiques pour les EOF; toutefois, la norme ne porte pas sur l'intégrité structurelle des immeubles. La norme S832-F06 annule et remplace les Lignes directrices pour l'évaluation et la protection parasismiques des éléments non structuraux des bâtiments de SPAC.

Les gestionnaires de projet et les concepteurs devraient noter qu'il s'agit d'un secteur qui ne cesse d'évoluer. Dans le secteur public comme dans le secteur privé, au Canada et à l'étranger, de nombreux groupes réalisent des travaux de recherche à ce sujet.

Maçonnerie patrimoniale

SPAC a élaboré les Lignes directrices pour l'évaluation de la capacité de résistance sismique des structures de maçonnerie de pierres, afin d'adopter des outils analytiques techniquement rigoureux et des critères d'analyse satisfaisants pour l'évaluation sismique des structures de maçonnerie en pierres. Ce document n'est disponible qu'en anglais. Le document Guidelines for the Seismic Upgrading of Stone-Masonry Structures constitue un document d'accompagnement rédigé expressément pour l'évaluation et la mise à niveaux sismiques des structures de maçonnerie en pierres. Ce document donne une vue d'ensemble des lacunes sismiques potentielles des structures de maçonnerie en pierres et des principes de la mise à niveau sismique; on y trouve la description et de l'information sur les coûts et l'efficacité des principes et des méthodes de conception existants pour la mise à niveau sismique des structures de maçonnerie en pierres.

Structures des immeubles

Les documents suivants du Conseil national de recherches du Canada renferment des renseignements détaillés sur l'évaluation et la mise à niveau des structures existantes pour la résistance sismique.

Exemples de travaux sismiques à SPAC

Technologies et matériaux innovateurs pour la mise à niveau

  • Station de pompage de la cale sèche d'Esquimalt, (Colombie-Britannique) - patrimoine; amortisseurs de friction PALL; enrobage de fibre de verre
  • Édifice fédéral de recherche en électronique, Ottawa (Ontario) - amortisseurs de friction PALL;
  • Édifice Harry Stevens, Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique) - amortisseurs de friction PALL
  • Standards Building, Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique) - enrobage de fibre de verre

Éléments non structuraux

  • Installation de dispositifs de retenue dans différents bureaux de SPAC en Colombie-Britannique - ameublement de bureaux
  • Station de pompage de la cale sèche d'Esquimalt, (Colombie-Britannique) - équipements mécaniques et électriques
  • Mise à l'essai de bibliothèques et de cloisons sur des tables de vibration, Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique) et Montréal (Québec) - travaux de recherche de pointe

Édifices patrimoniaux

  • Évaluation des édifices du Parlement, Ottawa (Ontario) - évaluation structurelle
  • Évaluation du Centre Sinclair, Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique) - évaluation du revêtement en pierres; évaluation structurelle

Demandes de renseignements

Pour obtenir de plus amples informations ou pour joindre votre représentant régional, veuillez contacter SNGP.NPMS@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.

Documents connexes

Politiques de SPAC

Normes

Trousse à outils