PSPC Mechanical Design Guidelines

MD 15116 - 2006 Computer Room Air-conditioning Systems

Guidelines for Building Owners, Design Professionals, and Maintenance Personnel

Engineering and Technical Services

Advisory and Practices (Professional Services)
Professional and Technical Service Management
Real Property Branch
Public Services and Procurement Canada
Place du Portage, Phase III, 8A1-101
11 Laurier Street, Gatineau QC K1A 0S5

ISBN 0-662-43596-6

Public Information

All rights reserved. No part of this book may be reproduced by photocopying, recording, or any other means, or stored, possessed, or transmitted in or by any computer of other systems without prior written permission.

Public Works and Government Services, Canada is pleased to present the Mechanical Design Guideline MD 15116 - 2006 "Computer Room Air Conditioning Systems".

Computer rooms form an integral part of most federal buildings, and very often, they perform "mission critical" function, handling sensitive data on a 24/7 basis. As a result computer room air conditioning systems differ from general office air-conditioning systems in many significant ways. The cooling load is much higher and the requirements for temperature and humidity control are much stricter than for general purpose office buildings. The air conditioning systems requires a much higher level of reliability, as a breakdown in computer room air conditioning systems could lead to disruption of essential services and major economic losses. In addition, computer room air conditioning systems require greater flexibility to accommodate future changes. In most cases, control of computer room operation is independent of the rest of the building.

The objective of this document is to provide general guidance for the design and operation of mechanical systems for computer rooms, server rooms, LAN rooms, telecom equipment rooms and data centers. It provides guidance for the design requirements, estimation of cooling loads, selection of computer room mechanical equipment, and, the proper commissioning of the mechanical systems. This guideline is intended for use in new projects as well as for the retrofits of existing buildings.

This document has been developed by the Mechanical and Maintenance Engineering group, NCA, in consultation with specialists and engineering professionals from throughout the regions. A previous version of this guideline was published in the 1980's but it is now obsolete due to rapid evolution of computer technology and an exponential increase in computer room equipment density. Many of the design techniques that were prevalent in the 80s are no longer applicable today.

One problem with many computer room air conditioning systems is simultaneous humidification and dehumidification, due to condensation in the cooling coils. This imposes an energy penalty on the cooling system. The present guideline addresses this issue, and suggests using only "dry coil" operation for maximum energy savings. Application of these guidelines will also improve equipment reliability, and minimize computer system failures.

It is important that clients, property managers, engineers, and, maintenance personnel be familiar with the contents of this document, so that they can apply the guidelines in a consistent manner for PWGSC/PSPC projects throughout Canada.

We encourage you to use this guideline whenever Computer Room Air Conditioning Systems are being planned, or where existing facilities require upgrades.

For more information regarding this guideline, please email Biensimmobiliers.RealProperty@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.

Introduction

General

This document has been developed by the Mechanical and Maintenance Engineering group of Professional and Technical Programs, Architectural and Engineering Resources Directorate, Real Property Branch, Public Services and Procurement Canada.

Feedback

Corrections, recommendations, suggestions for modifications or additional information and instructions that will improve this document are invited. For this purpose the attached form entitled "Request for change to this manual" may be used and mailed or faxed to the address shown. E-mail or other forms of electronic transmission may also be used for this purpose.

Conflicts

Any area of conflict between this document and the Project Brief/RFP shall be brought to the attention of the Project Manager as soon as it is noted.

MD15116 - 2006
Computer Room Air Conditioning
Request for changes

Engineering and Technical Services
Advisory and Practices (Professional Services)
Professional and Technical Services
Real Property Branch
Public Works and Government Services Canada
Place du Portage, Phase III, 8A1-101
11 Laurier Street, Gatineau QC K1A 0S5

Type of change suggested:

  • Correction of information
  • Deletion of information
  • Addition of Information

Details of suggested changes:

If necessary, photocopy relevant page(s) of this manual and attach to this sheet. Page: Chapter: Paragraph no.:

Details of suggested changes:

(Use additional sheets if necessary)

Signature:
Phone No:
Date:

Table of Contents

Chapter 1 - Introduction

Chapter 2 - Design Requirements

Chapter 3 - Design Cooling Loads

Chapter 4 - Computer Room A/C Equipment

Chapter 5 - Measurements During Commissioning

Chapter 6

Chapter 7

Appendix A - Supplementary Material

Appendix B - Fire Protection Systems

SPAC Lignes directrices d'ingénierie mécanique

IM 15116 — 2006 Systèmes de conditionnement d'air des salles d'ordinateurs

Lignes directrices pour les propriétaires d'immeubles, les professionnels du design et le personnel d'exploitation des bâtiments

Génie et services techniques

Conseils et pratiques (Services professionnels)
Gestion des services professionnels et techniques
Direction générale des biens immobiliers
Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada
Place du Portage, Phase III, 8A1-101
Gatineau (Québec), K1A 0S5

ISBN 0-662-72078-4

Information publique

Tous droits réservés. Aucune partie du présent ouvrage ne peut être reproduite par photocopie, enregistrement ou un autre moyen quelconque, ni être stockée, détenue ou transmise par ordinateur ou un autre système quelconque sans une permission écrite au préalable.

Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada a le plaisir de vous présenter les Lignes directrices d'ingénierie mécanique IM 15116 - 2006 « Systèmes de conditionnement d'air des salles d'ordinateurs ».

Les salles d'ordinateurs font partie intégrante de la plupart des immeubles fédéraux, et elles remplissent très souvent une fonction « essentielle à la mission » en permettant de traiter des données confidentielles 24 heures sur 24. C'est pourquoi les systèmes de conditionnement d'air des salles d'ordinateurs diffèrent largement de ceux des locaux à bureaux généraux. La charge de refroidissement est beaucoup plus élevée et les exigences de température et d'humidité sont beaucoup plus strictes que celles des immeubles à bureaux à vocation générale. Les systèmes de conditionnement d'air des salles d'ordinateurs exigent un niveau de fiabilité beaucoup plus élevé, puisqu'une défaillance risque d'entraîner une perturbation des services essentiels et d'importantes pertes financières. Ces systèmes ont besoin en outre d'une plus grande souplesse pour tenir compte des modifications éventuelles. Dans la plupart des cas, les commandes de la salle d'ordinateurs fonctionnent indépendamment de celles du reste de l'immeuble.

L'objectif du présent document est d'offrir des conseils généraux sur la conception et l'exploitation des systèmes techniques des salles d'ordinateurs, des salles de serveurs, des salles de réseau local, des salles de télécommunications et des centres de données. Il contient des renseignements sur les exigences de calcul, l'estimation des charges de refroidissement, le choix de l'équipement technique des salles d'ordinateurs et la mise en service adéquate des systèmes mécaniques. Ces lignes directrices s'appliquent aux nouvelles constructions aussi bien qu'à l'aménagement des bâtiments existants.

Le présent document a été élaboré par le groupe du Génie mécanique et d'entretien du SCN avec la collaboration des spécialistes et des ingénieurs de l'ensemble des régions. Une première version de ces lignes directrices a été publiée dans les années 80, mais elle est devenue désuète en raison de l'évolution rapide de la technologie informatique et d'une croissance exponentielle de la densité de l'équipement des salles d'ordinateurs. Bon nombre de techniques de conception qui étaient courantes dans les années 80 ne sont plus applicables aujourd'hui.

L'un des problèmes qui se posent dans les systèmes de conditionnement d'air des salles d'ordinateurs, c'est le processus d'humidification et de déshumidification simultané dû à la condensation des serpentins de refroidissement. Ce processus impose une pénalité énergétique au système de refroidissement. Les présentes lignes directrices traitent de cette question et proposent de fonctionner uniquement avec batterie de refroidissement sèche en vue d'une économie maximale d'énergie. L'application de ces lignes directrices permettra également d'améliorer la fiabilité de l'équipement et réduire les défaillances du système informatique.

Il est important que les clients, les gestionnaires immobiliers, les ingénieurs et le personnel d'entretien se familiarisent avec le contenu de ce document afin qu'ils puissent appliquer les lignes directrices d'une façon uniforme dans les projets de TPSGC/SPAC partout au Canada.

Nous vous encourageons à utiliser les présentes lignes directrices toutes les fois que des systèmes de conditionnement d'air de salles d'ordinateurs sont en cours de planification ou que des installations existantes ont besoin d'être modernisées.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements concernant les présentes lignes directrices, veuillez communiquer avec Biensimmobiliers.RealProperty@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.

Introduction

Généralités

Le présent document a été rédigé par le groupe du Génie mécanique et d'entretien, Programmes professionnels et techniques, Ressources d'architecture et de génie, Direction générale des biens immobiliers, Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada.

Rétroactions

Nous vous invitons à nous faire part des corrections, recommandations, propositions de modifications, renseignements additionnels et consignes qui pourraient améliorer le présent document. À cet effet, vous trouverez ci-joint un formulaire intitulé « Demande de modification des lignes directrices » que vous pouvez remplir et nous renvoyer par la poste ou par télécopieur à l'adresse indiquée. Vous pouvez également utiliser le courriel ou d'autres modes de transmission électronique.

Incohérences

Toute incohérence notée entre le présent document et l'énoncé de projet et/ou la DDP doit immédiatement être portée à l'attention du gestionnaire de projet.

IM15116 - 2006
Systèmes de conditionnement d'air des salles d'ordinateurs
Demande de modification des lignes directrices

Génie et services techniques
Conseils et pratiques (Services professionnels)
Direction générale des biens immobiliers
Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada
Place du Portage, Phase III, 8A1-101
Gatineau (Québec), K1A 0S5

Type des modifications proposées :

  • Renseignements à corriger
  • Renseignements à supprimer
  • Renseignements à ajouter

Détails des modifications proposées :

Si nécessaire, noter les modifications proposées sur une photocopie des pages pertinentes des lignes directrices et les joindre au présent formulaire. Page : Chapitre : No de paragraphe :

Détails des modifications proposées :

(Utiliser des feuilles supplémentaires au besoin)

Signature :
Nº de téléphone :
Date :

Table des matières

Chapitre 1 - Introduction

Chapitre 2 - Exigences de conception

Chapitre 3 - Charges de refroidissement de calcul

Chapitre 4 - Équipement de conditionnement d'air des salles d'ordinateurs

Chapitre 5 - Prise de mesures pendant la mise en service

Chapitre 6

Chapitre 7

Annexe A - Renseignements supplémentaires

Annexe B - Systèmes de protection incendie