Security Implications of the Integrated Telecommunications Infrastructure

Technical Bulletin (2003-002)

Sharing facilities between government departments invariably raises issues of security and performance guarantee challenges, especially as networks are intended to carry traffic that includes sensitive information. Such security concerns cover both the information transferred, as well as the equipment used to transport it. This document addresses additional concerns that result from permitting authorized personnel from more than one department to access shared telecommunications rooms.

In order to safeguard the integrity and security of a standards-based telecommunications system to meet government-mandated requirements, departments must implement baseline security controls and any additional security measures identified through a Threat and Risk Assessment (TRA) process.

Access to telecommunications spaces and pathways (Telecommunications Rooms, Main Terminal/Equipment Room, Equipment Rooms) shall be controlled, authorised and monitored in a manner appropriate to the sensitivity of the information transmitted over the infrastructure that can be accessed from these spaces. There is a need for implementing commensurate security measures in order to protect the wiring at the same level as the information passing through the wiring infrastructure. The results of the TRA would determine the level of protection and specific security measures required in specific situations.

Telecommunications spaces and pathways shall be treated as restricted zones, access to which is controlled and limited to the authorised and properly security-cleared personnel only. Using appropriate methods, such as installation of electronic access controls, mechanical combination locksets or deadbolts, shall control access. A list of persons authorised to access these spaces shall be maintained. For security audit purposes an access control log should be maintained.

When assessing the need for security measures in the telecommunications rooms, a holistic and pragmatic approach must be followed taking into account the sensitivity of the information being transported. For example, telecommunications rooms equipped with an alarm system and constructed within an Operations Zone may not require as robust physical security as those without an alarm system and constructed in (or adjacent to) a zone accessible by the public.

Departments must consider what, if any, additional security measures must be applied to telecommunications rooms that are accessible by authorized representatives from more than one department. Once again, a holistic and pragmatic approach must be followed taking into account the sensitivity of the information being transported. Because it is costly and time consuming to re-arrange physical barriers in response to changes in tenancy of a space, other measures must be considered to ensure that proper balance is maintained between the potential threats and the safeguards.

In addition to physical security, departments must take into account operational considerations as well as encryption to meet their overall security goal. Operational considerations include security clearances of authorized persons permitted unescorted access to the telecommunications rooms. In rare cases, it may be considered appropriate to have a representative from both departments present before either is allowed to enter a shared telecommunications room. For networks carrying traffic having a sensitivity of up to and including Protected B, it is not anticipated that any additional physical security measures will be required within shared telecommunications rooms. It may be appropriate for each department sharing the main terminal / equipment room to install its equipment in its own equipment cabinet.

In a multi-department government building, a security committee (custodian and occupants) will determine the security requirements for the shared telecommunications spaces. In determining the security requirements, standard sensitivity classifications should be used (e.g. Protected A, Protected B etc.). The Custodian Department shall monitor conformance with the established and agreed-upon access control measures and take appropriate action to resolve jurisdictional or other issues that may arise.

In exceptional circumstances (for example, information sensitivity above Protected B level), the results of the TRA may justify that portions of the telecommunications infrastructure be separated and protected to a higher level. This isolation would typically follow the "onion-skin" approach where equipment associated with a network carrying highly-sensitive traffic (above Protected B) may be installed in a secure cabinet located within the shared telecommunications room.

If such additional physical security measures are required, the Custodian Department must agree to any modifications to the integrated telecommunications infrastructure, before these changes are implemented.

Additional security guidance is provided by several security standards:

Incidences sécuritaires de l'infrastructure intégrée des télécommunications

Bulletin technique (2003-002)

Le partage d'installations de télécommunications entre ministères gouvernementaux soulève immanquablement des questions relatives à la sécurité et à la garantie d'exécution, surtout lorsqu'il s'agit de réseaux destinés au transport de renseignements qui peuvent être de nature délicate. Les considérations de sécurité touchent aussi bien les renseignements transmis que le matériel utilisé pour les transmettre. Le présent document traite, en outre, des questions qui se posent lorsqu'on permet à des employés de plus d'un ministère d'avoir accès à des locaux de télécommunications partagés.

Afin de sauvegarder l'intégrité et la sécurité d'un réseau de télécommunications fondé sur des normes pour répondre à des besoins définis par le gouvernement, les ministères doivent mettre en oeuvre des contrôles de sécurité de base et tout système de sécurité additionnel déterminé selon un processus d'Évaluation des menaces et des risques (EMR).

L'accès aux espaces et aux voies de télécommunications (locaux de télécommunications, terminal principal / salle de matériel, locaux techniques) doit être contrôlé, autorisé et surveillé d'une manière qui correspond à la classification des renseignements transmis sur le réseau auquel on peut accéder à partir de ces mêmes espaces. Il convient d'appliquer des mesures de sécurité proportionnelles afin d'assurer à l'infrastructure de câblage un niveau de protection égal à celui des renseignements qu'il transporte. Les résultats de l'EMR permettront de déterminer le niveau de protection ainsi que les mesures de sécurité précises exigées dans certaines situations.

Les espaces et les voies de télécommunications doivent être considérés comme des zones restreintes dont l'accès est contrôlé et réservé aux seules personnes autorisées et proprement mandatées. Avec des dispositifs appropriés tels que les commandes d'accès électroniques, les serrures mécaniques à combinaison ou les pennes dormants, on peut contrôler cet accès. On doit tenir une liste contenant les noms des personnes autorisées à entrer dans ces espaces. Pour les besoins de la vérification de sécurité, on devrait aussi tenir un registre de contrôle d'accès.

Lorsqu'on évalue les besoins de sécurité dans les locaux de télécommunications, on doit adopter une approche holistique et pragmatique en tenant compte de la classification des renseignements transmis. Par exemple, les locaux de télécommunications munis d'un système d'alarme et construits à l'intérieur d'une zone d'opérations peuvent ne pas exiger un système de sécurité matérielle aussi important que ceux qui n'ont pas de système d'alarme et qui sont construits à l'intérieur ou à proximité d'une zone accessible au public.

Les ministères doivent envisager quelles mesures de sécurité additionnelles il convient d'appliquer, s'il y a lieu, aux locaux de télécommunications auxquels des employés autorisés appartenant à plus d'un ministère peuvent avoir accès. Là encore, on doit recourir à une approche holistique et pragmatique en tenant compte de la classification des renseignements transmis. Comme il faut beaucoup de temps et d'argent pour réorganiser la sécurité matérielle par suite d'un changement de locataire, on doit penser à d'autres moyens pour obtenir un bon équilibre entre les menaces potentielles et les mesures de sécurité.

En plus de la sécurité matérielle, les ministères doivent tenir compte des considérations opérationnelles ainsi que du cryptage des données pour atteindre leur objectif global en matière de sécurité. Les considérations opérationnelles englobent les cotes de sécurité des personnes autorisées qui peuvent entrer sans escorte dans les locaux de télécommunications. Dans de rares cas, on pourrait exiger qu'un représentant d'un ministère ne puisse entrer dans un local de télécommunications partagé sans la présence d'un représentant de l'autre ministère. Dans le cas des réseaux qui transportent des renseignements dont le niveau de classification va jusqu'à Protégé B, on ne prévoit pas la nécessité d'appliquer des mesures de sécurité matérielles additionnelles dans les locaux de télécommunications partagés. Il peut être convenable pour chacun des ministères qui partagent le terminal principal / salle de matériel d'installer son équipement dans sa propre armoire technique.

Dans un immeuble du gouvernement à locataires multiples, un comité de sécurité (gardien et occupants) décidera des besoins de sécurité pour les locaux de télécommunications partagés. La détermination des besoins de sécurité devrait être fondée sur les niveaux de classification habituels tels que Protégé A, Protégé B, etc. Le ministère qui a la garde de l'immeuble doit surveiller le respect des mesures de contrôle d'accès établies et mutuellement acceptées, et doit faire le nécessaire pour trancher les questions de compétence ou autres qui peuvent se poser.

Dans des circonstances exceptionnelles, lorsqu'il s'agit par exemple de renseignements dont le niveau de classification est supérieur à Protégé B, les résultats de l'EMR peuvent justifier que des portions de l'infrastructure de télécommunications soient isolées et classées à un niveau supérieur. Cette distinction répondrait normalement au principe des anneaux concentriques en vertu duquel le matériel associé à un réseau qui sert à la transmission de données hautement confidentielles (de niveau supérieur à Protégé B) pourrait être installé dans une armoire de sécurité située à l'intérieur du local de télécommunications partagé.

S'il faut appliquer de telles mesures additionnelles de sécurité matérielle, le ministère qui a la garde de l'immeuble doit donner son accord avant qu'une modification quelconque de l'infrastructure intégrée de télécommunications soit mise en oeuvre.

On trouve des conseils sur les mesures de sécurité additionnelles dans plusieurs normes de sécurité.