Joint Federal—Provincial Response

Canada—Nova Scotia Response to the Environmental Assessment Report of the Joint Review Panel on the Sydney Tar Ponds and Coke Ovens Remediation Project

Joint Response from the Government of Canada and the Government of Nova Scotia to the Environmental Assessment Panel Report

Introduction

On May 12, 2004, the governments of Canada and Nova Scotia signed a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA), which committed the two governments to the remediation of the Sydney Tar Ponds and Coke Ovens sites, located in the heart of Sydney in the Cape Breton Regional Municipality, Nova Scotia. The MOA provides for Government of Canada funding for the Project of up to $280 million, and Government of Nova Scotia funding of $120 million. The MOA provided details on the proposed Project, its funding provisions and Project management. As well, the Government of Nova Scotia was to establish a single purpose agency to implement and manage the project as the proponent, and did so with the creation of the Sydney Tar Ponds Agency.

The project plans detailed in the MOA provided for:

A subsequent detailed project description submitted by the Sydney Tar Ponds Agency in 2004 was subject to a federal/provincial (joint) environmental assessment in 2005 and early 2006.

The Environmental Assessment

The joint environmental assessment process was conducted pursuant to the requirements of both the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act (CEAA) and the Nova Scotia Environment Act. The Panel, the public, governments and stakeholders, completed a review of an environmental impact statement. Public hearings were subsequently held on the Project's potential impacts on the environment beginning April 29, 2006, and concluding on May 18, 2006. On July 12, 2006, the Panel released a report providing 55 recommendations for consideration by governments.

Summary of Panel Conclusions

In its deliberations, the Panel considered the initial Project plans put forward by the Sydney Tar Ponds Agency (STPA) as well as a technically feasible and economically viable alternative means of carrying out the Project. The latter consisted of the in-place solidification and stabilization of all contaminated materials and did not include incineration as a Project component.

The Panel's mandate was to determine whether the Project as originally presented by the STPA, or any alternative means of carrying out the Project that are technically and economically feasible brought forth by the STPA, would result in significant adverse environmental effects. In the process of reaching its overall conclusions in this regard, the Panel made six key findings:

  1. The Panel report indicated agreement with the STPA that both options could be considered technically and economically feasible and that either option could be implemented without significant adverse environmental effects. These conclusions were predicated on the assumption that the project plans for either approach would be further developed in accordance with the 55 Panel report recommendations
  2. In general, the Panel recommended that for any and all Project activities, the environment be protected through the adoption of appropriate mitigation techniques as recommended in the environmental impact statement and as dictated by final design and environmental management planning; that the Project be subject to rigorous environmental effects monitoring throughout the life of the Project; that additional studies be undertaken to further identify risk to the environment and to assist in further development of mitigation measures and monitoring protocols; that the two governments consult on the development of regulatory requirements for the Project; and, that consideration be given to the protection of geographically sensitive areas
  3. The Panel believed that the STPA, governments and the public must be prepared for the possibility that the Tar Ponds site will have to be managed over the long term
  4. Both the community and STPA have placed great importance on the use of proven technologies. Accordingly, the Panel recommended that further pilot studies be carried out and specific targets reached before solidification and stabilization technology is approved for use in the Project
  5. The Panel concluded that, with appropriate technology selection and stringent regulation, incineration could be carried out without significant adverse environmental effects. The Panel also found that, under the terms of the Toxic Substances Management Policy, the federal government is obliged to compare the relative risks associated with removing and destroying PCBs versus managing them in place
  6. Although the Panel indicated that while the future uses of the two sites was not originally part of the Project, it nonetheless concluded that ensuring that the sites have the capacity to support viable and sustainable uses should be an integral part of final Project design

In general, the Panel recommended that for any and all Project activities, the environment must be protected through the adoption of appropriate mitigation techniques as identified by the environmental impact assessment, as further refined by project design and as identified over the course of the development of environmental management plans and associated implementation protocols.

The Panel report, released on July 12, 2006, indicated agreement with the Sydney Tar Ponds Agency (STPA) that both options could be considered technically and economically feasible and that either option could be implemented without significant adverse environmental effects. These conclusions were predicated on the assumption that the project plans for either approach would be further developed in accordance with the 55 Panel report recommendations.

Government Response to Panel Recommendations

The Government of Canada and the Government of Nova Scotia are in agreement that the Panel report has and will significantly contribute to their ability to successfully manage the Project from environmental and regulatory perspectives. Panel recommendations have not only provided a clear way forward for a comprehensive environmental management strategy for the Project, but have also assisted governments in decision making with respect to an appropriate approach to the remediation of the Project area. In this regard, as a result of the risk-based analyses carried out at the Panel's request, incineration no longer comprises part of the Project. Similarly, and again pursuant to Panel recommendations, the land farming component for the Coke Ovens site has been removed. In addition, governments have committed to incorporate end land use into final Project design.

In responding to the Panel report, governments undertook a cost analysis of implementing Panel recommendations for both Project options. While implementation costs were found to be significant, these were offset for the full capping and containment option by the removal of the incinerator component. Governments are pleased as a result to be able to report that the Project, without incineration, remains financially viable and technically feasible.

The Government of Canada and the Government of Nova Scotia are committed to ensuring that the Project is effectively managed from an environmental standpoint. To assist in carrying out related duties, the governments have established an Environmental Management Committee to provide a forum for government experts to provide related input throughout the life of the Project. Additionally, the Government of Canada Response to Panel notes that the Independent Engineer will, among other things, ensure that environmental requirements are implemented by the STPA. In addition, the Nova Scotia Department of Environment and Labour will act as the lead agency for regulatory oversight of the Project through the conditions of the Environmental Assessment Approval, and subsequent approvals for the Project required pursuant to the Nova Scotia Environment Act. The Minister of Environment and Labour will also establish an independent Monitoring Oversight Board to monitor regulatory management of the Project.

The 55 recommendations generally relate to ensuring that work is carried out safely and effectively, that the health of the community and the environment is protected, that the site is managed over the long-term and that its future uses are appropriately considered and planned. The report is a positive step and a significant contribution in the planning process for the project enabling us to move ahead.

Proceeding with the clean up of this site while respecting the recommendations of the Panel is an important signal of our nationwide commitment to protecting the health and environment of Nova Scotians and Canadians.

Date modified:

Réponse conjointe des gouvernements fédéral et provincial

Canada – Réponse du gouvernement du Canada et de la province de la Nouvelle-Écosse au rapport de la Commission conjointe d'évaluation environnementale sur le project d'assainissement des étangs de goudron et du site des fours à coke de Sydney

Réponse conjointe du gouvernement du Canada et du gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Écosse au rapport de la Commission conjointe d'évaluation environnementale

Introduction

Le 12 mai 2004, les gouvernements du Canada et de la Nouvelle-Écosse ont signé un protocole d'entente (PE) par lequel ils se sont engagés à assainir les étangs de goudron et le site des fours à coke, situés au cœur de Sydney, dans la municipalité régionale du Cap-Breton, en Nouvelle Écosse. Ce PE prévoit le financement du projet par le gouvernement du Canada, qui convient de verser jusqu'à 280 millions de dollars, et par le gouvernement de la Nouvelle Écosse, qui s'engage à verser 120 millions de dollars. Le PE établissait les détails, les modalités de financement et la gestion du projet. De plus, le gouvernement de la Nouvelle Écosse devait mettre sur pied un organisme à but unique chargé de mettre en œuvre et de gérer le projet à titre de promoteur, ce qu'il a fait en créant la Sydney Tar Ponds Agency (STPA).

Les plans de projet décrits dans le PE prévoyaient :

Une description de projet détaillée soumise ultérieurement par la STPA en 2004 a fait l'objet d'une évaluation environnementale conjointe par les gouvernements fédéral et provincial en 2005 et au début de 2006.

Évaluation environnementale

Le processus d'évaluation environnementale conjointe a été mené en vertu des exigences de la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale et de la Nova Scotia Environment Act. La Commission, le public, les gouvernements et des intervenants ont passé en revue l'étude d'impact environnemental. Par la suite, des audiences publiques sur les impacts potentiels du projet sur l'environnement ont eu lieu du 29 avril au 18 mai 2006. Le 12 juillet 2006, la Commission a présenté un rapport qui comprenait 55 recommandations devant être examinées par les gouvernements.

Résumé des conclusions de la Commission

Durant son examen, la Commission a tenu compte des plans de projet initiaux soumis par la STPA ainsi que d'une autre méthode techniquement et économiquement viable pour réaliser le projet. Cette méthode consistait en la solidification/stabilisation sur place de toutes les matières contaminées et excluait la composante incinération du projet.

La Commission avait pour mandat de déterminer si le projet initial ou toute autre méthode techniquement et économiquement viable, proposés par la STPA dans le but de réaliser le projet, pourraient avoir des effets néfastes importants sur l'environnement. Durant le processus visant à formuler des observations générales à cet égard, la Commission a tiré six conclusions clés :

  1. Dans son rapport, la Commission a indiqué qu'elle était d'accord avec la position de la STPA selon laquelle les deux options pouvaient être considérées comme techniquement et économiquement viables et que l'une ou l'autre pouvait être mise en œuvre sans qu'il n'y ait d'effets environnementaux néfastes importants. Les conclusions ont été émises en supposant que les plans de projet des deux options seraient revus afin de respecter les 55 recommandations formulées par la Commission
  2. En général, la Commission a recommandé que, dans le cadre de toute activité de projet, l'environnement soit protégé grâce à l'adoption de mesures d'atténuation appropriées, comme le recommande l'étude d'impact environnemental et le dictent la conception finale et la gestion de planification environnementale; que le projet fasse l'objet d'une surveillance rigoureuse afin de déterminer les effets sur l'environnement pendant toute la durée des travaux; que des études supplémentaires soient entreprises afin de mieux connaître les risques pour l'environnement et de favoriser l'instauration d'autres mesures d'atténuation et protocoles de surveillance; que les deux gouvernements se consultent à propos de la formulation d'exigences réglementaires pour le projet; et que l'on tienne compte de la protection des zones fragiles sur le plan géographique
  3. La Commission a indiqué que la STPA, les gouvernements et le public doivent reconnaître la possibilité que le site nécessite une gestion à long terme
  4. La collectivité et la STPA ont accordé une grande importance à l'utilisation de technologies éprouvées. Par conséquent, la Commission a recommandé que d'autres études pilotes soient menées et que des objectifs spécifiques soient atteints avant que l'on approuve l'utilisation de la technologie de solidification/stabilisation dans le cadre du projet
  5. La Commission a conclu qu'en choisissant une technologie appropriée et en mettant en place une réglementation rigoureuse, l'incinération pourrait être effectuée sans qu'il n'y ait d'effets néfastes importants sur l'environnement. La Commission a aussi constaté qu'en vertu de la Politique de gestion des substances toxiques, le gouvernement fédéral a l'obligation de comparer les risques relatifs associés à l'enlèvement et à la destruction des BPC, ainsi qu'à la gestion de ces BPC sur place
  6. La Commission a conclu que, malgré le fait que les utilisations futures des deux sites ne faisaient pas partie du projet initial, la capacité d'utiliser le site de façon viable et durable dans l'avenir devrait faire partie intégrante de la conception finale du projet

En général, la Commission a recommandé que, dans le cadre de toute activité de projet, l'environnement soit protégé grâce à l'adoption de mesures d'atténuation appropriées, comme l'indique l'étude d'impact environnemental, le précise la conception du projet et le définit le processus d'élaboration de plans de gestion environnementale et de protocoles de mise en œuvre connexes.

Dans son rapport présenté le 12 juillet 2006, la Commission a indiqué qu'elle était d'accord avec la position de la STPA selon laquelle les deux options pouvaient être considérées comme techniquement et économiquement viables et que l'une ou l'autre pouvait être mise en œuvre sans qu'il n'y ait d'effets environnementaux néfastes importants. Les conclusions ont été émises en supposant que les plans de projet des deux options seraient revus afin de respecter les 55 recommandations formulées par la Commission.

Réponse des deux gouvernements aux recommandations de la Commission

Le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Écosse conviennent que le rapport de la Commission les a aidés et continuera de les aider à gérer le projet avec succès, des points de vue environnemental et réglementaire. Les recommandations de la Commission ont non seulement fourni une orientation claire vers une stratégie de gestion environnementale complète pour le projet, mais elles ont également aidé les gouvernements à prendre des décisions concernant une approche appropriée de l'assainissement des sites. À cet égard, compte tenu de l'analyse fondée sur le risque qui a été réalisée à la demande de la Commission, la composante incinération ne fait plus partie du projet. Dans le même ordre d'idée, et conformément aux recommandations, la composante épandage agricole sur le site des fours à coke a été supprimée. De plus, les gouvernements se sont engagés à incorporer l'utilisation future des sites dans la conception finale du projet.

Dans le cadre de leur réponse au rapport de la Commission, les gouvernements ont entrepris une analyse des coûts de mise en œuvre des recommandations de la Commission pour les deux options étudiées. Les coûts de mise en œuvre calculés sont considérables, toutefois ils sont compensés par la suppression de la composante incinération. Les gouvernements sont heureux d'annoncer que le projet, sans la composante incinération, demeure économiquement et techniquement viable.

Le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Écosse s'engagent à faire en sorte que le projet soit géré efficacement du point de vue environnemental. Pour les aider à accomplir les tâches liées au projet, les gouvernements ont établi un comité de gestion environnementale afin de fournir aux experts gouvernementaux une tribune par laquelle ils pourront communiquer de l'information relative au projet pendant toute la durée des travaux. En outre, la réponse du gouvernement du Canada à la Commission indique que l'ingénieur indépendant s'assurera entre autres de la mise en œuvre des exigences environnementales par la STPA. De plus, le ministère de l'Environnement et du Travail de la Nouvelle-Écosse sera l'organisme responsable de la surveillance réglementaire du projet suivant les conditions de l'approbation de l'évaluation environnementale et des approbations subséquentes relatives au projet, aux termes de la Nova Scotia Environment Act. Le ministre de l'Environnement et du Travail de la Nouvelle-Écosse créera aussi une commission de surveillance indépendante dans le but de surveiller la gestion réglementaire du projet.

Les 55 recommandations visent généralement à veiller à ce que les travaux soient réalisés de manière sécuritaire et efficace, que la santé de la collectivité et l'environnement soient protégés, que le site soit géré à long terme et que les utilisations futures du site soient prises en compte et planifiées de façon adéquate. Le rapport est une étape positive et une composante importante du processus de planification du projet nous permettant d'aller de l'avant.

Le fait que nous procédions à l'assainissement du site tout en respectant les recommandations de la Commission est un important témoignage de notre engagement, à l'échelle du pays, envers la protection de la santé et de l'environnement des Néo-Écossais et des Canadiens.

Date de modification :