Government of Canada's Response to the Environmental Assessment Report of the Joint Review Panel on the Sydney Tar Ponds and Coke Ovens Remediation Project

1.0 Executive Summary

On May 12, 2004, the governments of Canada and Nova Scotia signed a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) which committed the two levels of government to the remediation of the Sydney Tar Ponds and Coke Ovens sites, located in the heart of Sydney in the Cape Breton Regional Municipality, Nova Scotia. The MOA provided for the Government of Canada (GC) funding commitment of up to $280 million and $120 million on the part of the Government of Nova Scotia. The MOA also specified the required development of several implementation agreements in respect of the initiative, including further definition of the Project and the undertaking of an environmental assessment (EA). As well, the Government of Nova Scotia was required to establish a single purpose agency to implement and manage the project, and did so with the Sydney Tar Ponds Agency as the Proponent.

On May 2, 2005, the Ministers of the Environment and of Public Works and Government Services announced an EA decision for the Sydney Tar Ponds and Coke Ovens Remediation Project (Project), as a joint federal/provincial public review by a three member independent panel. Following a rigorous review of the Environmental Impact Statement (EIS) of the Project, the Panel held public hearings from April 29 to May 18, 2006. The Panel released its report to governments on July 12, 2006. Section 37 of the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act (Act) requires that the GC respond to the Panel's Report with the approval of the Governor in Council.

The scope of the Project, subject to environmental assessment, was defined by the MOA, and included:

The Project assessment also considered the environmental implications of an alternative means of carrying out the Project (Alternative). The Alternative is characterized by the deletion of the first item in the above noted scope (that is the removal and destruction of PCBs from the tar ponds as well as the removal of the contents of the tar cell on the coke ovens site with a proven technology such as high temperature incineration in a single use dedicated facility). In other words, the Alternative would involve the full containment, in situ treatment of all contaminated materials and capping along with the other scope provisions as noted.

The Panel's report is comprised of 55 separate recommendations covering all aspects of the Project. In general, the Panel has concluded that with appropriate implementation of their recommendations, either the Project with incineration or the Alternative without incineration are unlikely to result in significant adverse environmental effects.

The GC response to the Panel's report is provided by the ensuing text. It has been prepared by Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC), with advice and input from Responsible Authorities including Environment Canada (EC) and the Cape Breton Development Corporation (CBDC) as well as other federal authorities including Health Canada (HC), Natural Resources Canada (NRCan), Justice Canada and Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO).

Key to the development of the federal response was the undertaking of a Risk Based Analysis (RBA) in accordance with Panel recommendation number 3. The purpose of the RBA was to compare the risks, benefits and costs associated with the Project with incineration as defined by the MOA to the risks, benefits and costs associated with the Alternative without incineration.

The conclusion of the RBA is presented from a Risk Benefit perspective and in part indicates that a direct comparison of the Project with incineration to the Alternative without incineration leads to the conclusion that the Project with incineration will, on balance, carry with it higher risks across most of the nine analysis categories assessed. Because of these risks the Project with incineration will yield relatively lower benefits and relatively higher costs than the Alternative without incineration. As well, the estimated cost of the Project with incineration is about $100 million greater than the Alternative Project without incineration. For these reasons, the analysis suggests that the Alternative without incineration would be preferred over the Project with its incineration component.

Consistent with the GC support of the Alternative without incineration, the responses to a number of recommendations (specifically recommendations 20 to 32 inclusive and recommendation 37) in this federal response document will, to a great extent, not apply.

In general, the Response provides federal agreement for virtually all of the Panel recommendations pertaining to areas of federal jurisdiction. Where outright agreement has not been reached, agreement in principle is provided with qualifying remarks.

2.0 Introduction

On July 13, 2006, the Joint Environmental Assessment (EA) Review Panel (the Panel) for the Sydney Tar Ponds and Coke Ovens Remediation Project (Project) released its report (Report), providing the GC and the Government of Nova Scotia (GNS) with recommendations on the environmental acceptability of the Project. The Panel also made recommendations concerning further work to be carried out in advance of final Project approval and initiation.

Section 37. (1.1)(a) of the Act states that when a report is submitted by a mediator or review panel, the responsible authority shall take into consideration the report and, with the approval of the Governor in Council, respond to the report. This document provides the GC's response to those Panel recommendations that fall under federal purview, and highlights how the GC will address these recommendations. With respect to recommendations the Panel has directed specifically to the "Proponent" (the Sydney Tar Ponds Agency), the GC response addresses those aspects that are a matter of federal jurisdiction. The GC response also indicates those recommendations that are a matter of sole jurisdiction of the Province.

In preparing this Response document, the GC has consulted closely with the Nova Scotia Department of Transportation and Public Works (NSTPW) which is responsible for administering $120 million in funding on behalf of the GNS. The GC has also consulted with the Nova Scotia Department of Environment and Labour (NSEL), which will be responsible for providing approvals and conditions to the Proponent for environmental aspects that fall under provincial jurisdiction in accordance with the Province's duties associated with the joint EA process.

3.0 Background

On May 12, 2004, the Minister of PWGSC and the Premier of Nova Scotia (the Parties) signed a MOA, wherein the governments committed to the remediation of the federally and provincially owned portions of the Sydney Tar Ponds and Coke Ovens Sites (STP site).

The MOA provided direction concerning the planned scope of the Project, consisting of the following potential elements:

At the same time, the MOA required that a number of agreements be entered into by the Parties concerning project governance, preventative and preliminary works, scope of Project, federal/provincial cost sharing, EA of the Project and the appointment of an independent engineer. All of these agreements were established with the exception of the requirement pertaining to the EA of the Project, which became the joint responsibility of the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency (CEAA) and the NSEL upon the initiation of a public review by panel.

4.0 Environmental Assessment Process

A Project Description released by the Proponent in December 2004 contained two Comprehensive Study (CS) requirements pursuant to the Act related to groundwater withdrawal and the potential siting of a hazardous waste incinerator on federal land. This resulted in the initiation of an environmental assessment at the CS level by PWGSC, Transport Canada (TC) and EC in February 2005. TC subsequently withdrew from the process upon further consideration of their responsibilities pursuant to the Act.

Following rigorous public consultation concerning the potential scope of the CS, an environmental assessment track report was provided by the Minister of PWGSC to the federal Minister of the Environment in April 2005, with the accompanying recommendation that, due to pronounced public concern in relation to the Project, a public review by panel should be undertaken. The Minister of the Environment announced his acceptance of this recommendation on May 2, 2005, and indicated that discussions were underway to develop a joint review process with the GNS. Subsequently, an agreement for a Joint Review Panel was reached by the GC and GNS in June 2005.

On June 30, 2005, the Draft Environmental Impact Statement (EIS) Guidelines for the EA of the STP Project were released by the CEAA for public comment. These were subsequently finalized and issued to the Sydney Tar Ponds Agency (STPA) on August 30, 2005.

On July 14, 2005, the Agreement Concerning the Establishment of a Joint Review Process for the Sydney Tar Ponds and Coke Ovens Sites Remediation Project (Agreement) was signed by the provincial and federal Ministers of the Environment. This Agreement contained a detailed description of the environmental assessment process and provided the Panel's terms of reference.

On September 19, 2005, a three member environmental assessment review Panel was appointed for the STP Project by the CEAA and NSEL. An EIS was subsequently provided to the Panel for consideration in late December 2005. Following review of the Project EIS by the Panel, the Panel determined that sufficient information was provided to proceed with public hearings, which were held from April 29 to May 18, 2006. Subsequent to this, the Panel released its report of recommendations first to governments on July 12, 2006 and then to the public on July 13, 2006.

The GC Response to the Panel recommendations set out in this document is in partial fulfillment of the Government's obligations pursuant to the Act. Responsible Authorities for the Project are PWGSC and the CBDC. PWGSC is participating as a Responsible Authority (RA) as the administrator of federal funds in respect of the Project and, the CBDC is participating as an RA owing to a possible disposal of land in relation to the Project.

NRCan, HC, DFO, Department of Justice, EC and TC have all contributed specialist or expert information or knowledge in support of the initiative in accordance with the Act.

5.0 Roles of Government of Canada Departments

PWGSC has been assigned the lead for the Project on behalf of the GC as administrator of up to $280 million in respect of the Project. In keeping with this role, as defined by the MOA, PWGSC is co-signatory with NSTPW to those agreements required by the MOA. As such, PWGSC has the overall GC responsibility for Project governance, the implementation of financial and environmental controls, risk management initiatives and Project quality assurance on behalf of the GC. In this regard, PWGSC will also ensure that the implementation of environmental controls and protection measures is carried out in consultation with federal and provincial expert and regulatory stakeholders. PWGSC will also be tasked to ensure that the Proponent in accordance with the MOA carries out resulting environmental requirements.

As RAs for the Project, PWGSC and CBDC will participate in the determination of appropriate environmental controls and protection measures throughout the implementation phase of the Project. Both RAs will participate in the development and implementation of a follow up program pursuant to the Act.

During the Project implementation phase, the following GC departments will provide expert and specialist information or knowledge related to the following:

6.0 Implementation of Panel Recommendations

PWGSC leads the federal interest in the management of the STP Project and is responsible for the negotiation and management of appropriate implementation agreements to ensure effective governance and accountability over the course of the project. In this respect, the GC, through PWGSC, provides the federal share of funding to the Province of Nova Scotia through a federal/provincial cost share agreement. In turn, the Province of Nova Scotia provides the total funding, including the federal and provincial shares, to the STPA, a single purpose entity established for implementation of the Project. In both cases, the transfer of funds is subject to accountability mechanisms involving, but not limited to, independent engineering inspections, audits and financial certifications. As well, the responsibility for management of the cost share agreement rests with a Project Management Committee (PMC) comprised of senior officials of PWGSC and NSTPW.

A specific requirement of the cost share agreement is that:

Canada and Nova Scotia will have no obligation to make all or part of the funding commitment unless the Sydney Tar Ponds Agency:

  1. satisfies Canada and Nova Scotia that it has implemented or will implement, measures to mitigate any identified potentially adverse environmental effects
  2. incorporates, utilizes and maintains environmental protection measures in relation to the Works that satisfy the requirements of all regulatory bodies having jurisdiction over the Works and certifies to Canada and Nova Scotia that it has done so. Certification must be provided with each claim for payment

PWGSC, in its role as RA and federal lead, and in concert with the Province, will facilitate the establishment and management of an Environmental Management Committee (EMC) which co-ordinates the expert advice of all federal and provincial departments, for the duration of the project. The EMC will comprise the primary mechanism whereby environmental requirements in respect of the Project are developed.

Additionally, through the PMC and on behalf of their respective governments, PWGSC and NSTPW will be responsible for ensuring that, as appropriate, the responses to the recommendations as detailed in this report pertaining to federal and provincial jurisdiction are implemented by the STPA as a condition of funding for the duration of the Project.

7.0 Project Definition

On the understanding that the GNS is in accord, the GC supports the refinement and implementation by the Proponent of the general remediation strategy identified as "the Alternative" for purposes of the EA. In general, this remediation option calls for the avoidance of the removal and incineration of the more hazardous substances, in favour of a full containment, in situ treatment of all contaminated materials and capping including related site mitigation, monitoring and other remediation and community support measures. The GC notes that the Panel has agreed with the Proponent that the alternative approach is a technically and economically feasible means of carrying out the project. The RBA, undertaken by the GC in response to Panel recommendation #3, found that the Alternative is preferred over the Project owing to its relatively lower risks, higher benefits, and lower costs in most of nine analytical categories employed by the study. These categories included environment, human health, psycho-social/community stress, community acceptance, local benefits/economy, political, project implementation schedule control and costs.

Acceptance of the study's findings, on the part of the GC, requires the removal of incineration from the Project to be considered. Provided approval of this Response document, and specifically the GC response to recommendation number three, the removal of a portion of the worst contaminated materials and their subsequent thermal destruction will no longer comprise part of the overall remediation Project. Accordingly, GC responses to recommendation numbers 20 through 32, and recommendation number 37, will no longer be applicable.

8.0 Overview of Government of Canada Response

The GC welcomes the recommendations of the Panel, which will serve to substantially refine and enhance the overall approach to remediation of the STP site. The recommendations are fully consistent with the overall project objectives and guiding principles. The GC notes that, collectively, the Panel's recommendations reflect a pragmatic approach to ensuring a responsible and effective remediation of the site and, in particular, respond to the needs, values and concerns of affected parties and stakeholders.

The proposed federal actions set out below in the GC Response can readily be implemented under existing project authorities and budgetary allocations. The GC is prepared to continue working closely with the Province of Nova Scotia, the Responsible Authorities, and related partners and stakeholders, to implement the initiatives set out in the GC Response.

The GC is pleased to indicate that it agrees in principle with all of the Panel recommendations applicable to the GC and the preferred approach to remediation. Indeed, the GC agrees entirely with the vast majority of these applicable recommendations. In the few instances where the GC response deviates from specific details of the Panel's recommendation, the GC agrees with the objectives, spirit and intent of the recommendations but feels that these can be achieved through different means.

For all recommendations pertinent to the GC, the response below identifies the nature of the GC's agreement, and in all cases sets out how either the specific recommendations, or, where applicable, their spirit and intent will be addressed and implemented by GC actions.

As noted in the GC Response to individual Panel recommendations below, the GC agrees in principle with virtually all of the Panel's recommendations, and indeed agrees fully with the vast majority of them.

Document "Government of Canada's Response to the Environmental Assessment Report of the Joint Review Panel on the Sydney Tar Ponds and Coke Ovens Remediation Project" Navigation

Date modified:

Réponse du gouvernement du canada au rapport d'évaluation environnementale de la commission d'examen conjoint du projet d'assainissement des étangs de goudron et du site des fours à coke de Sydney

1.0 Résumé

Le 12 mai 2004, les gouvernements du Canada et de la Nouvelle-Écosse ont conclu un protocole d'entente (PE) par lequel ils se sont engagés à assainir les étangs de goudron et le site des fours à coke, situés au cœur de Sydney, dans la municipalité régionale du Cap Breton, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Aux termes du PE, le gouvernement du Canada (GC) convenait de verser jusqu'à 280 millions de dollars en financement, et le gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Écosse (GNE), 120 millions de dollars. Le PE prévoyait aussi l'élaboration nécessaire de plusieurs ententes de mise en œuvre pour ces travaux, y compris une définition plus précise du projet et la réalisation d'une évaluation environnementale (EE). De plus, le GNE devait mettre sur pied un organisme à but unique chargé de mettre en œuvre et de gérer le projet, ce qu'il a fait en créant la Sydney Tar Ponds Agency (STPA), le promoteur.

Le 2 mai 2005, les ministres d'Environnement Canada (EC) et de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux (TPSG) ont annoncé leur décision sur le mode d'EE à retenir pour le Projet d'assainissement des étangs de goudron et du site des fours à coke de Sydney (le Projet) : il s'agirait d'un examen public conjoint fédéral-provincial dirigé par une commission indépendante de trois personnes (la Commission d'examen conjoint ou la Commission). Après avoir fait un examen rigoureux de l'étude d'impact environnemental (EIE) du Projet, la Commission a tenu des audiences publiques du 29 avril au 18 mai 2006. La Commission a enfin soumis son rapport aux gouvernements le 12 juillet 2006. L'article 37 de la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale (la Loi) stipule que le GC doit faire approuver sa réponse au rapport de la Commission par la gouverneure en conseil.

Le PE précise dans les termes suivants l'ampleur des travaux soumis à l'EE :

L'évaluation du Projet a aussi permis de cerner les incidences environnementales du recours à une mesure de rechange (l'Autre option) pour mener à bien le Projet. Cette Autre option se caractérise par la suppression du premier élément des travaux énumérés ci dessus (enlèvement et destruction des BPC de certains secteurs définis des étangs de goudron de Sydney, ainsi qu'enlèvement et destruction du contenu du réservoir de goudron, situé sur le site des fours à coke, par une technologie éprouvée, par exemple incinération à haute température dans une installation qui ne servira qu'une fois). Autrement dit, l'Autre option viserait le traitement de tous les sols contaminés et leur confinement intégral sur place, ainsi que leur recouvrement et les autres mesures décrites dans la liste des travaux visés par le Projet.

Le rapport de la Commission comporte 55 recommandations qui touchent tous les aspects du Projet. En général, la Commission a conclu que, pour autant que ses recommandations soient appliquées de façon appropriée, le Projet incluant l'incinération tout comme l'Autre option excluant l'incinération comportent peu de risques d'entraîner de graves incidences environnementales.

Le présent document expose la réponse du GC aux recommandations de la Commission. Il a été rédigé par TPSGC, avec les conseils et les suggestions des autorités responsables, notamment d'EC et de la Société de développement du Cap-Breton (SDCB), ainsi que d'autres instances fédérales, dont Santé Canada (SC), Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan), Justice Canada (JC) et Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO).

La préparation de la réponse du GC a été fortement influencée par l'engagement, prévu dans la recommandation 3 de la Commission, envers la réalisation d'une analyse comparative des risques, des coûts et des avantages du Projet incluant l'incinération et de ceux de l'Autre option excluant incinération.

La conclusion de l'analyse en fonction du risque est présentée dans une perspective risques-avantages et indique en partie qu'une comparaison directe des options avec incinération et sans incinération mène à la conclusion que l'incinération comporte plus de risques, et ce, pour la majorité des neuf catégories d'analyse à l'étude. Compte tenu de ces risques, le Projet incluant l'incinération apportera des retombées relativement plus faibles et des coûts relativement plus élevés que l'Autre option excluant l'incinération. En outre, le coût estimatif du Projet incluant l'incinération dépasse d'environ 100 millions de dollars celui de l'Autre option excluant l'incinération. Pour ces raisons, l'analyse permet de conclure que l'Autre option excluant l'incinération serait préférable.

Compte tenu de l'appui du GC à l'égard de l'Autre option, les réponses à un certain nombre de recommandations (plus précisément les recommandations 20 à 32 et la recommandation 37) formulées dans le présent document ne seront plus applicables.

En général, dans sa réponse, le GC approuve virtuellement toutes les recommandations de la Commission touchant les secteurs de compétence fédérale. Quand il ne leur donne pas son accord pur et simple, il leur donne un accord de principe accompagné de réserves.

2.0 Introduction

Le 13 juillet 2006, la Commission d'examen conjoint du Projet a rendu public son rapport (le Rapport) où sont formulées ses recommandations au GC et au GNE sur l'acceptabilité environnementale du Projet. La Commission a aussi fait des recommandations sur les autres travaux à entreprendre.

Aux termes du paragraphe 37.1 (1.1)(a) de la Loi, une fois pris en compte le rapport du médiateur ou de la commission, l'autorité responsable est tenue d'y donner suite avec l'agrément de la gouverneure en conseil. Le présent document expose la réponse du GC aux recommandations de la Commission qui sont de compétence fédérale et décrit comment le GC entend satisfaire à ces recommandations. En ce qui concerne les recommandations que la Commission a adressées spécifiquement au promoteur (la STPA), la réponse du GC concerne les aspects qui ont une incidence sur la compétence fédérale. La réponse du GC précise aussi les recommandations qui sont clairement du ressort du GNE.

En rédigeant ce document de réponse, le GC a tenu des consultations étroites avec le ministère des Transports et des Travaux publics de la Nouvelle-Écosse (NSTPW), qui est responsable d'administrer la contribution de 120 millions de dollars versée par le GNE. Le GC a aussi tenu des consultations avec le ministère de l'Environnement et du Travail de la Nouvelle-Écosse (NSEL), qui sera responsable de fournir au Promoteur les autorisations et les conditions associées aux aspects environnementaux qui relèvent de la compétence du GNE, conformément au rôle de celui-ci dans le cadre du processus conjoint d'EE.

3.0 Historique

Le 12 mai 2004, le ministre des TPSGC et le premier ministre de la Nouvelle-Écosse (les Parties) ont signé un PE selon lequel les gouvernements s'engageaient à assainir les secteurs des étangs de goudron et du site des fours à coke de Sydney dont ils étaient les propriétaires respectifs.

Le PE comporte des directives générales sur la portée envisagée du Projet, constituée des éléments potentiels suivants :

Par la même occasion, le PE prévoit la signature d'un certain nombre d'ententes par les Parties en ce qui concerne la gouvernance du Projet, les travaux préventifs et préliminaires, la portée du Projet, le partage des coûts entre le GC et le GNE, l'EE du Projet et la désignation d'un ingénieur indépendant. Toutes ces ententes ont été conclues, sauf celle concernant l'EE du Projet, qui est devenue une responsabilité conjointe de l'Agence canadienne d'évaluation environnementale (ACEE) et du NSEL au moment de la mise en œuvre d'une consultation publique par la Commission.

4.0 Processus d'évaluation environnementale

La description du Projet rendue publique par le promoteur en décembre 2004 prévoyait le besoin de mener deux études approfondies en vertu de la Loi, l'une sur l'exploitation de la nappe d'eau et l'autre sur le choix de l'emplacement d'un incinérateur de déchets dangereux sur les terres de l'État. Ce besoin a mené au déclenchement, en février 2005, d'une EE au niveau de l'étude approfondie par TPSGC, Transports Canada (TC) et EC. Après avoir examiné plus en profondeur ses responsabilités en vertu de la Loi, TC s'est alors retiré du processus.

En avril 2005, après une campagne rigoureuse de consultations publiques sur la portée potentielle des études approfondies, le ministre des TPSG fournissait un rapport de suivi de l'EE au ministre fédéral de l'Environnement. Ce rapport recommandait qu'un examen public par une commission soit entrepris compte tenu des graves préoccupations soulevées par le Projet dans la population. Le ministre de l'Environnement a annoncé le 2 mai 2005 qu'il acceptait cette recommandation et que des discussions étaient en cours afin d'élaborer un processus d'examen conjoint avec le GNE. En juin 2005, le GC et le GNE s'entendaient pour instituer une commission d'examen conjoint.

Le 30 juin 2005, les lignes directrices provisoires sur l'EIE du Projet étaient rendues publiques par l'ACEE aux fins de consultation du public. Ces lignes directrices devaient être complétées par la suite et soumises le 30 août 2005 à la STPA.

Le 14 juillet 2005, l'entente concernant l'établissement d'un processus d'examen conjoint dans le cadre du Projet d'assainissement des étangs de goudron et du site des fours à coke de Sydney était signée par les ministres de l'Environnement de la Nouvelle-Écosse et du Canada. Cet accord contient une description détaillée du processus d'EE et un énoncé du mandat de la Commission.

Le 19 septembre 2005, l'ACEE et le NSEL désignaient les trois membres de la Commission d'examen de l'évaluation environnementale du Projet. Par la suite, vers la fin de décembre 2005, une EIE était soumise à la Commission pour examen. Après avoir passé en revue l'EIE du Projet, la Commission a estimé qu'elle possédait assez d'information pour organiser des audiences publiques, qui ont eu lieu entre le 29 avril et le 18 mai 2006. La Commission soumettait ensuite son rapport de recommandations, d'abord aux gouvernements le 12 juillet, puis au grand public le 13 juillet 2006.

Le présent document décrit la réponse du GC aux recommandations de la Commission, en exécution partielle de ses obligations en vertu de la Loi. TPSGC et la SDCB ont été désignés autorités responsables (AR) pour le Projet. TPSGC est responsable de l'administration des fonds fédéraux engagés dans le Projet, et la SDCB participe à titre d'AR en raison d'une éventuelle cession de terrains en rapport avec le Projet.

RNCan, SC, le MPO, JC, EC et TC ont tous fourni spécialistes et expertise à l'appui du Projet, conformément aux dispositions de la Loi.

5.0 Rôles des ministères du Gouvernement du Canada

C'est TPSGC qui dirigera le Projet au nom du GC et administrera à cette fin une somme pouvant atteindre 280 millions de dollars. Pour s'acquitter de ce rôle, dont les modalités sont prévues dans le PE, TPSGC est co-signataire avec le NSTPW des ententes requises par le PE. À ce titre, TPSGC a la responsabilité globale, au nom du GC, de la gouvernance du Projet, de l'application de contrôles financiers et environnementaux, des activités de gestion des risques et de l'assurance de la qualité du Projet. Incidemment, TPSGC veillera aussi à ce que la mise en œuvre des contrôles environnementaux et des mesures de protection se fasse en consultation avec les scientifiques et les autorités de réglementation du GNE et du GC. C'est aussi à TPSGC qu'incombe la tâche de voir à l'exécution par le promoteur des exigences environnementales du PE.

À titre d'AR pour le Projet, TPSGC et la SDCB participeront au choix des contrôles environnementaux et des mesures de protection appropriés tout au long de l'étape de mise en œuvre du Projet. Les deux AR contribueront à la conception et à la mise en œuvre du programme de suivi, conformément au PE.

Durant l'étape de mise en œuvre du Projet, les ministères fédéraux suivants fourniront leur expertise et leurs renseignements spécialisés dans les domaines suivants :

6.0 Mise en œuvre des recommandations

À titre d'administrateur des intérêts du gouvernement fédéral dans la gestion du Projet, TPSGC est responsable de la négociation et de la gestion des ententes nécessaires pour assurer avec efficacité la gouvernance et l'imputabilité de sa mise en œuvre. À cet égard, le GC, par l'intermédiaire de TPSGC, fournit la part fédérale du financement au GNE en vertu d'une entente fédérale provinciale de partage des coûts. Pour sa part, le GNE fournit la totalité du financement, constituée des parts fédérale et provinciale, à la STPA, un organisme à but unique chargé de mettre en œuvre le Projet. Dans les deux cas, le transfert des fonds est assujetti à des mécanismes de responsabilité qui comprennent, sans s'y limiter, des inspections techniques indépendantes, des vérifications et des attestations financières. En outre, la responsabilité de gérer l'entente de partage des coûts incombe à un comité de gestion du Projet (CGP) constitué de hauts fonctionnaires de TPSGC et du NSTPW.

Selon une disposition de l'entente de partage des coûts :

Le Canada et la Nouvelle-Écosse ne seront toutefois pas tenus de consentir la totalité ou une partie de l'engagement financier à moins que la STPA :

  1. démontre à la satisfaction du Canada et de la Nouvelle-Écosse qu'elle a pris ou qu'elle prendra des mesures pour atténuer les incidences environnementales néfastes éventuelles relevées
  2. ait pris des mesures de protection de l'environnement relativement aux Travaux qui satisfont aux exigences de tous les organes de réglementation ayant compétence sur les Travaux et maintienne ces mesures, et en atteste auprès du Canada et de la Nouvelle Écosse. L'attestation doit accompagner chaque demande de paiement

À titre d'AR et de gestionnaire pour le gouvernement fédéral, TPSGC facilitera, en concertation avec le GNE, la création et la gestion d'un comité de gestion environnementale (CGE) qui coordonnera les expertises de tous les ministères fédéraux et provinciaux durant tout le Projet. Le CGE constituera le principal instrument de formulation d'exigences environnementales pour le Projet.

En outre, par l'intermédiaire du CGP et au nom des gouvernements du Canada et de la Nouvelle-Écosse, TPSGC et NSTPW verront à ce que les réponses aux recommandations qui sont de compétence fédérale et provinciale, telles que stipulées dans le présent rapport, soient mises en œuvre par la STPA comme condition de financement pour toute la durée du Projet.

7.0 Définition du Projet

Étant entendu que le GNE en convient, le GC appuie l'amélioration et l'application par le Promoteur de la stratégie d'assainissement générale décrite comme l'Autre option aux fins de l'EE. En général, cette option d'assainissement consiste à éviter d'enlever et d'incinérer les substances les plus toxiques et à procéder plutôt au traitement et au confinement intégral sur place de toutes les matières contaminées, y compris les activités connexes d'assainissement du site, de surveillance et de réparation supplémentaires, et les mesures de soutien à la collectivité. Le GC indique que la Commission a convenu que l'Autre option constitue une manière techniquement et économiquement viable de mener le Projet. L'analyse fondée sur le risque, entreprise par le GC en réponse à la recommandation 3 de la Commission, a conclu que cette Autre option était préférable au Projet en raison de ses risques relativement plus faibles, de ses avantages plus nombreux et de ses coûts inférieurs dans la plupart des neuf catégories d'analyse. Ces catégories comprennent l'environnement, la santé humaine, le stress psychosocial pour la collectivité, l'acceptation par la collectivité, les retombées sur l'économie locale, les considérations politiques, le contrôle sur le calendrier de mise en œuvre du projet et les coûts.

L'acceptation des résultats de l'étude, de la part du GC, suppose la suppression de l'incinération des activités du Projet à considérer. Dans l'éventualité où le présent document de réponse est approuvé, et en particulier la réponse du GC à la recommandation 3, l'enlèvement d'une partie des matières les plus toxiques et leur destruction thermique subséquente ne feront plus partie du Projet d'assainissement. Par conséquent, les réponses du GC aux recommandations 20 à 32 et à la recommandation 37 ne seront plus applicables.

8.0 Survol de la réponse du Gouvernement du Canada

Le GC accueille avec satisfaction les recommandations de la Commission, qui permettront de préciser et d'améliorer de façon substantielle la stratégie d'assainissement du site de Sydney. Ces recommandations cadrent parfaitement avec les objectifs généraux et les principes directeurs du projet. Le GC constate que, dans l'ensemble, les recommandations de la Commission témoignent d'une approche pragmatique en vue d'une restauration responsable et efficace du site, et qu'elles respectent tout particulièrement les valeurs et les préoccupations des parties concernées et des intervenants.

Les mesures fédérales proposées, telles que décrites ci-dessous dans la réponse du GC, peuvent être mises en œuvre sans délai dans le cadre des autorisations et des budgets prévus pour le Projet. Le GC est disposé à continuer de travailler en étroite collaboration avec le GNE, les AR et les partenaires et intervenants connexes, en vue de la mise en œuvre des mesures décrites dans la réponse du GC.

Le GC est heureux d'indiquer qu'il est d'accord en principe avec toutes les recommandations de la Commission sur lesquelles il a compétence, ainsi qu'avec le recours à la stratégie d'assainissement retenue. D'ailleurs, le GC est entièrement d'accord avec la plupart des recommandations pertinentes. Dans de rares cas, le GC donne une réponse plus nuancée, généralement sur des questions de détail; il approuve quand même les objectifs, l'esprit et l'intention de la recommandation, mais suggère qu'elle peut être mise en œuvre par des moyens différents.

Pour toutes les recommandations qui concernent le GC, les réponses contenues dans le présent document décrivent la nature de son accord; dans tous les cas, il indique comment les recommandations elles-mêmes ou, s'il y a lieu, leur esprit et leur intention, seront mis en œuvre.

Comme on pourra le constater à la lecture de ses réponses dans les prochaines pages du présent document, le GC est d'accord en principe avec la quasi totalité des recommandations de la Commission, et de fait est entièrement d'accord avec la plupart d'entre elles.

Navigation pour Document « Réponse du gouvernement du canada au rapport d'évaluation environnementale de la commission d'examen conjoint du projet d'assainissement des étangs de goudron et du site des fours à coke de Sydney »

Date de modification :