Internal Audit and Evaluation reports

In government and in the private sector, internal audits and evaluations contribute to improving the management and cost-effectiveness of program delivery activities and internal operations, to strengthening accountability, and achievement of results for Canadians. Internal audits provide independent and objective advice on the effectiveness and adequacy of risk management, controls and governance processes. Evaluations provide independent and objective advice on the business performance of programs, policies and initiatives.

The Office of Audit and Evaluation produces internal audit and evaluation reports for use as on-going management tools to assist the department in improving the efficiency and effectiveness of its activities and demonstrating accountability for and stewardship of resources.

Management Action Plans are developed to respond to internal audit and evaluation report recommendations. Branch heads are responsible for the implementation of the Management Action Plans.

Internal Audit and Evaluation reports and Management Action Plans are tabled at the Department's Audit and Evaluation Committee which meets six times a year to ensure that the results of internal audits and evaluations are incorporated in the departmental decision-making processes.

Since 1999, internal audit and evaluation reports and related Management Action Plans have been posted on Public Works and Government Services Canada's (PWGSC) Internet Web site after recommendation for approval by the Audit and Evaluation Committee and approval by the Deputy Minister. From time to time, Management Action Plans may be updated to reflect progress to date. For all questions regarding reports and Management Action Plans, please see the Contact us section on the PWGSC web site.

For access to older audit and evaluation reports, please contact the Office of Audit and Evaluation.

Rapports de vérification interne et d'évaluation

Au gouvernement comme dans le secteur privé, les vérifications internes et les évaluations contribuent à l'amélioration de la gestion et la rentabilité des activités de prestation de programmes et les activités internes, au renforcement des responsabilités, ainsi qu'à l'atteinte de résultats pour les Canadiens. Les vérifications internes permettent d'obtenir des conseils indépendants et objectifs sur l'efficacité et à la pertinence des processus de gestion des risques, de contrôle et de gouvernance. Les évaluations permettent d'obtenir des conseils indépendants et objectifs sur le rendement des programmes, des politiques et des initiatives.

Le bureau de la vérification et de l'évaluation produit des rapports sur la vérification interne et l'évaluation qui servent d'outils de gestion continue pour aider le Ministère à améliorer l'efficacité de ses activités et à être responsable de ses ressources et à en assurer la gérance.

Des plans d'action de gestion sont établis en fonction des recommandations des rapports sur la vérification interne et l'évaluation. Les dirigeants des directions générales sont responsables de la mise en œuvre des plans d'action de gestion.

Les rapports de vérification interne et d'évaluation ainsi que les plans d'action de gestion sont présentés au Comité de vérification et d'évaluation ministériel. Le Comité tient six réunions par année pour s'assurer que les résultats des vérifications internes et des évaluations sont incorporés au processus décisionnel ministériel.

Depuis 1999, les rapports de vérification interne et d'évaluation ainsi que les plans d'action de gestion connexes sont affichés dans le site Web de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC) après leur approbation par le Comité de vérification et d'évaluation. À l'occasion, les plans d'action de gestion peuvent être mis à jour en fonction des progrès réalisés. Si vous avez des questions sur les rapports et les plans d'action de gestion, veuillez consulter la section Contactez-nous du site Web de TPSGC.

Pour accéder à des rapports d'années antérieures, veuillez contacter le Bureau de vérification et d'évaluation.