Government of Canada's Integrity Regime

In the event of a Canada Post labour disruption, suppliers and other interested parties are advised to send any mail by courier to the address listed below, or by email at PWGSC.O.integrity-TPSGC.O.integrite@pwgsc-tpsgc.gc.ca. For any additional information, please contact us at 1-844-705-2084.

Registrar of Ineligibility and Suspension
Departmental Oversight Branch
Public Services and Procurement Canada
11 Laurier Street
Portage III, Tower A, 10A1 – Room 105
Gatineau, Quebec K1A 0S5

The Government of Canada is committed to open, fair and transparent contracts and real property agreements. A strong government-wide Integrity Regime has been put in place to ensure that the Government conducts business with ethical suppliers in Canada and abroad. It will foster ethical business practices, ensure due process for suppliers and uphold the public trust in the procurement process.

Authorities

The Integrity Regime consists of:

  • the Ineligibility and Suspension Policy;
  • any Directives issued further to the Policy; and
  • any clauses used in instruments relating to contracts

Application

The Integrity Regime applies to any procurement, standing offer, supply arrangement, contract, real property transaction, real property agreement or other instrument above $10,000 that incorporates the Policy by reference that is issued by a department or agency identified in in Schedule I, I.1 and II of the Financial Administration Act, and any other federal entity that voluntarily adopts the Policy.

The Policy does not apply to certain specified contracts, real property agreements and other instruments (e.g., transfer payments, financial contracts and transactions with other orders of government). A complete list of exclusions can be found in the policy.

Automatic ineligibility

PWGSC will determine a supplier Footnote 1 to be ineligible in the following circumstances:

  • The supplier has been convicted, at any time, of an offence listed in the policy that results in the loss of capacity to contract with Her Majesty or to receive any benefit under a contract between Her Majesty and any other person under the Criminal Code and Financial Administration Act.
  • The supplier was convicted, in the past three years, of an offence listed in the policy under the Criminal Code, Competition Act, Income tax Act, Excise tax Act, Corruption of Foreign Public Officials Act, Controlled Drugs and Substance Act and Lobbying Act.
  • The supplier entered into a subcontract with an ineligible supplier.
  • The supplier provided a false or misleading certification or declaration to PWGSC in relation to the policy.

The precise list of offences can be found in the Ineligibility and Suspension Policy.

Discretionary ineligibility

PWGSC may, in its discretion, determine a supplier to be ineligible in the following circumstances:

  • The supplier was convicted, in the past three years, of an offence in a jurisdiction other than Canada that, in PWGSC’s opinion is similar to an offence listed in the policy.
  • The supplier’s affiliate was convicted in the past three years of an offence found in the policy, or in PWGSC’s opinion, of a similar offence in a jurisdiction other than Canada and, in PWGSC’s opinion, the supplier directed, influenced, authorized, assented to, acquiesced in or participated in the commission of the offence.
  • In the opinion of PWGSC, the supplier breached any term or condition of an administrative agreement entered into with PWGSC pursuant to the policy.

Suspension

PWGSC may suspend a supplier from contracting, or entering into a real property agreement, with Canada if the supplier has been charged with, or admits guilt of certain offences listed in the policy, or is charged with, or admits guilt of, in PWGSC’s opinion, a similar offence in a jurisdiction other than Canada.

Pardons

PWGSC will not make a determination of ineligibility in respect of a listed offence if the supplier demonstrates that it or its affiliate (if applicable) has been granted an absolute discharge, conditional discharge (and has satisfied the conditions), a pardon or a record suspension.

PWGSC will also not make a determination of ineligibility in a case where a supplier demonstrates that it has benefited from a foreign measure which in PWGSC’s opinion is similar to a Canadian pardon.

Period of ineligibility suspension

In most cases, a supplier determined to be ineligible will be ineligible for a period of 10 years.

  • A supplier may reduce this period of ineligibility by a period of up to 5 years by entering into an administrative agreement with PWGSC.

If a supplier has lost the capacity to contract with Her Majesty it will be considered to be ineligible until it has regained that capacity.

If a supplier subcontracts with an ineligible supplier, they will be ineligible for a period of 5 years.

A supplier suspended will be ineligible for a period of 18 months subject to extension pending final disposition of the charges.

Due process

PWGSC may make determinations of ineligibility and suspension:

  • On its own initiative;
  • Upon request from a supplier; or
  • Upon request from another federal organization to which the policy applies.

Suppliers will be notified of their ineligibility/suspension and provided information of the process(es) available to them.

In cases of similar foreign offences or convictions of an affiliate, a supplier will be able to present evidence and written submissions to PWGSC prior to the final determination.

A supplier may request a limited review of a determination of ineligibility on the sole basis that it did not direct, influence, authorize, assent to, acquiesce in or participate in the commission of the offence of which its affiliate has been convicted.

Administrative agreements

An administrative agreement may be required:

  • to reduce the period of a supplier’s ineligibility;
  • to enter into a contract or real property agreement further to a Public Interest Exception where time is not of the essence;
  • in lieu of, or to stay, a suspension; or
  • in lieu of terminating an existing contract or real property agreement due to a determination of ineligibility or suspension.

Monitoring of the terms of an administrative agreement would be conducted by an independent, qualified third party monitor paid for by the supplier.

PWGSC has a public listing of suppliers with administrative agreements.

Exceptions

The Public Interest Exception applies in circumstances in which it is necessary to the public interest to conduct business with an ineligible supplier .

Possible circumstances necessary to the public interest could include:

  • an emergency where delay would be injurious to the public interest;
  • the supplier is the only person capable of performing the contract  or providing the real property agreement;
  • the contract is essential to maintain sufficient emergency  stocks; and
  • not entering into the contract or real property agreement with the supplier would have a significant adverse impact on the health, national security, safety, public security or economic or financial well-being of the people of Canada or the functioning of any portion of the federal public administration.

The exception is applied on a case-by case basis by the contracting authority issuing the contract or real property agreement.

When a Public Interest Exception is involved, an administrative agreement between PWGSC and the supplier is required.

A Public Interest Exception cannot be invoked, and/or an administrative agreement concluded in situations where the supplier is without capacity to contract with Canada.

Sub-contractors

A supplier cannot subcontract with an ineligible supplier. A supplier is required to verify the status of their prospective first-tier subcontractors prior to bid submission.

Should a supplier require the services of a suspended or ineligible sub-contractor, they will require written consent by the contracting authority.

Any supplier that enters into a contract with an ineligible sub-contractor without written consent in circumstances where information about that subcontractor’s ineligibility or suspension was reasonably available to the supplier will be ineligible for five years.

Treatment of affiliates

If an affiliate of a supplier has been convicted of a listed offence in Canada or a similar offence in a jurisdiction outside of Canada, an assessment will be made to determine if the supplier directed, influenced, authorized, assented to, acquiesced in or participated in the commission of the offence that led to the affiliate's conviction. If this is the case, the supplier will be determined ineligible.

Suppliers will be required to retain the services of an independent third party at their expense to undertake the assessment of their involvement in the actions of the affiliate that led to the conviction. This assessment will be provided to PWGSC and a determination will be made by the Minister.

Treatment of existing contracts after conviction

If a supplier is determined to be ineligible or suspended during the performance of a contract or real property agreement, the contracting authority may terminate the contract or real property agreement for default. Suppliers will be afforded an opportunity to show cause as to why the termination should not be exercised.

An administrative agreement between the supplier and PWGSC may be required if a decision is taken to not terminate the contract or real property agreement.

Certification

By submitting a bid, a supplier certifies that:

  • It has read and understands the Ineligibility and Suspension Policy;
  • It understands that certain domestic and foreign criminal charges and convictions, and other circumstances, as described in the Policy, will or may result in a determination of ineligibility or suspension under the Policy;
  • It is aware that Canada may request additional information, certifications, and validations from the supplier or a third party for purposes of making a determination of ineligibility or suspension;
  • It has provided with its bid a complete list of all foreign criminal charges and convictions pertaining to itself, its affiliates and its proposed first-tier subcontractors that, to the best of its knowledge and belief, may be similar to one of the listed offences in the Policy;
  • None of the domestic criminal offences, and other circumstances, described in the Policy that will or may result in a determination of ineligibility or suspension, apply to it, its affiliates and its proposed first-tier subcontractors; and
  • It is not aware of a determination of ineligibility or suspension issued by PWGSC that applies to it.

Third party monitoring and verification

In specific situations, suppliers will be required to obtain and pay for the services of an independent, qualified third party to:

  • Monitor and verify the progress and compliance of suppliers as per the terms of their administrative agreement. 
  • Provide information with respect to foreign charges and convictions.
  • Validate information provided by the supplier with respect to the level of participation in the commission of a listed offence by an affiliate.
  • Provide information to determine whether a reduction in a supplier’s ineligibility period is warranted through an administrative agreement.
  • Confirm measures have been put in place, after a period of ineligibility has expired if an administrative agreement was not in place, to avoid the re-occurrence of the types of wrongdoing that led to the ineligibility.

The Minister of PWGSC will make all determinations of ineligibility.

Administration

The Integrity Regime will be administered by PWGSC on behalf of the Government of Canada and will be governed by Memoranda of Understanding between PWGSC and other departments and agencies.

Public list

PWGSC produces a public listing of ineligible and/or suspended suppliers. Only the names of suppliers that are companies are posted publically. The names of ineligible individuals are not posted for privacy reasons.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Supplier: An individual or company seeking to do business with the Government of Canada.

Return to footnote1

Le régime d'intégrité du gouvernement du Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada prend l'engagement de conclure des contrats et des ententes immobiliers ouverts, équitables et transparents. Un solide régime d'intégrité a été mis en place afin de veiller à ce que le gouvernement fasse affaire avec des fournisseurs dont le comportement est conforme à l'éthique au Canada et à l'étranger. Il encouragera le recours à des pratiques commerciales éthiques, assurera une application régulière de la loi pour les fournisseurs et maintiendra la confiance du public à l'égard du processus d'approvisionnement.

Autorités

Le Régime d'intégrité comprend :

  • la Politique d'inadmissibilité et de suspension ;
  • toute directive émise en vertu de la Politique;
  • toute clause utilisée dans les instruments relatifs aux contrats ou aux ententes sur les biens immobiliers qui font référence à la Politique.

Application

Le Régime d'intégrité s'applique à un approvisionnement, à une offre à commandes, à un arrangement en matière d'approvisionnement, à un contrat, une transaction immobilière, un accord immobilier ou à tout autre instrument de plus de 10 000 $ qui font référence à la politique et qui est émis par un ministère ou un organisme désigné dans les annexes I, I.1 et II de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et par toute autre entité fédérale qui adopte volontairement la Politique.

La Politique ne s'applique pas à certains contrats, accords immobiliers et autres instruments précis (par exemple, les paiements de transfert, les contrats et transactions financières avec les autres ordres de gouvernement). Une liste complète des exclusions se retrouve dans la politique.

Inadmissibilité automatique

TPSGC a la capacité de déterminer si un fournisseur Footnote 1 est inadmissible dans les circonstances suivantes :

  • Le fournisseur a été reconnu coupable d'une  infraction énoncée dans la politique qui lui ont fait perdre sa capacité de conclure un contrat avec Sa Majesté ou de tirer profit de tout contrat conclu entre Sa Majesté et toute autre personne, conformément au Code criminel et à la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques.
  • Le fournisseur a été condamné au cours des trois dernières années d'une infraction indiquée dans la politique en vertu du Code criminel, de la Loi sur la concurrence, de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu, de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise, de la Loi sur la corruption d'agents publics étrangers, de la Loi réglementant certaines drogues et autres substances et de la Loi sur le lobbying.
  • Le fournisseur a conclu un contrat de sous-traitance avec un fournisseur inadmissible.
  • Le fournisseur a présenté à TPSGC une certification ou une déclaration erronée ou trompeuse relativement à la politique.

La liste complète des infractions figure dans la Politique sur l'inadmissibilité et la suspension.

Inadmissibilité discrétionnaire

TPSGC peut, à sa discrétion, déterminer qu'un fournisseur est inadmissible, dans les cas suivants :

  • Le fournisseur a été condamné au cours des trois dernières années, à l'étranger, et selon TPSGC la ou les infractions en question sont semblables à certaines infractions énoncées dans la politique.
  • Une affiliée du fournisseur a, dans les trois dernières années, été condamnée en vertu d'une infraction énoncée dans la politique ou, de l'avis de TPSGC , le fournisseur a ordonné, influencé, autorisé ou consenti à la commission de l'infraction.
  • Selon TPSGC, le fournisseur a manqué aux modalités ou conditions d'une entente administrative conclue avec TPSGC en vertu de la Politique.

Suspension

TPSGC peut suspendre un fournisseur et ainsi l'empêcher de conclure une entente sur les biens immobiliers ou un contrat avec le Canada si le fournisseur a été accusé ou s'est reconnu coupable de l'une des infractions indiquées dans la politique ou a été accusé ou admet avoir commis une infraction commise à l'étranger et considérée comme semblable par TPSGC.

Pardons

TPSGC ne déterminera pas l'inadmissibilité au sujet d'une infraction indiquée dans la politique si le fournisseur démontre que lui ou sa société affiliée, le cas échéant, a reçu une absolution inconditionnelle, une absolution sous condition (et qu'il a satisfait les conditions), un pardon ou une suspension du casier.

Période d'inadmissibilité

Dans la plupart des cas, un fournisseur qui est jugé inadmissible le demeurera pendant 10 ans.

  • Un fournisseur peut réduire cette période d'inadmissibilité à cinq ans en concluant une entente administrative avec TPSGC.

Si un fournisseur ne peut plus conclure de contrats avec le Canada, il sera inadmissible jusqu'à ce qu'il ait retrouvé cette capacité.

Si un fournisseur passe un contrat de sous-traitance avec un fournisseur inadmissible, il sera jugé inadmissible pendant une période de cinq ans.

Un fournisseur suspendu est inadmissible pendant une période de 18 mois, sous réserve d'un prolongement dans l'attente de l'issue des accusations portées contre lui.

Application régulière de la loi

TPSGC peut déterminer l'inadmissibilité et la suspension :

  • de son propre chef;
  • à la demande d'un fournisseur;
  • à la demande d'une autre organisation fédérale à laquelle la politique s'applique.

Les fournisseurs seront avisés de leur inadmissibilité ou de leur suspension et on leur fera parvenir des renseignements sur le ou les processus qui sont à leur disposition.

En cas d'infractions semblables commises à l'étranger ou de la condamnation d'une affiliée, un fournisseur pourra présenter des preuves et des documents écrits à TPSGC avant la prise de la décision.

Un fournisseur peut demander un examen limité d'une décision qui le rend inadmissible pour la seule raison qu'il n'a pas ordonné, influencé, autorisé la commission d'une infraction pour laquelle la affiliée a été condamnée, et qu'il n'y a pas consenti ni participé.

Ententes administratives

Une entente administrative peut être nécessaire pour l'une des raisons suivantes :

  • réduire la période d'inadmissibilité d'un fournisseur;
  • conclure un contrat ou un accord immobilier suite à une exception d'intérêt public et que le délai n'est pas une condition essentielle;
  • au lieu de, ou de rester, une suspension; ou
  • au lieu de mettre fin à un contrat existant ou un accord immobilier en raison d'une détermination d'inadmissibilité ou d'une décision de suspension.

Un tiers indépendant qualifié, embauché aux frais du fournisseur, veillerait à l'application des modalités d'une entente administrative.

TPSGC a une liste publique des fournisseurs qui ont conclu une entente administrative.

Exceptions

L'exception de l'intérêt public s'applique dans les cas où il est nécessaire, dans l'intérêt du public, de traiter avec un fournisseur inadmissible.

Des circonstances possibles où il est nécessaire, dans l'intérêt du public, de traiter avec un tel fournisseur figurent ci-dessous :

  • Une urgence où un retard serait préjudiciable à l'intérêt public.
  • Le fournisseur est la seule personne capable d'exécuter l'entente sur les biens immobiliers ou le contrat.
  • Le contrat est essentiel pour maintenir des stocks d'urgence suffisants.
  • Le fait de ne pas conclure l'entente sur les biens immobiliers ou le contrat avec le fournisseur aurait des répercussions négatives importantes sur la santé, la sécurité nationale, la sûreté, la sécurité publique ou le mieux-être économique ou financier de la population du Canada ou sur le fonctionnement d'une partie de l'administration publique fédérale.

L'exception sera appliquée au cas par cas par l'autorité contractante qui émet le contrat ou l'entente sur les biens immobiliers.

Lorsqu'il est question d'une exception de l'intérêt public, une entente administrative doit être établie entre TPSGC et le fournisseur.

Une exception de l'intérêt public ne peut pas être invoquée ou une entente administrative ne peut pas être conclue dans les cas où le fournisseur n'est pas autorisé à conclure un contrat avec le Canada.

Sous-traitants

Un fournisseur ne peut pas confier un contrat en sous-traitance à un fournisseur inadmissible. Les fournisseurs doivent vérifier le statut des sous-traitants éventuels avant la présentation des soumissions.

Si un fournisseur doit faire appel aux services d'un sous-traitant inadmissible ou suspendu, il aura besoin du consentement écrit d e l'autorité contractante.

Un fournisseur qui conclut un contrat ou un accord immobilier avec un premier sous-traitant inadmissible ou suspendu, et qui était au fait de ladite inadmissibilité ou suspension ou qui aurait raisonnablement pu prendre connaissance de cette information, sera inadmissible pendant cinq ans.

Traitement des affiliés

Si un affilié d'un fournisseur a été déclaré coupable d'une des infractions figurant sur la liste, au Canada, ou d'une infraction semblable à l'étranger, on procédera une évaluation afin de déterminer si le fournisseur a ordonné, influencé, autorisé la perpétration de l'infraction qui a entraîné la condamnation de l'affilié, y a consenti ou y a participé. Si c'est le cas, le fournisseur sera déterminé inadmissible.

Les fournisseurs seront tenus d'avoir recours, à leurs frais, aux services d'un tiers indépendant pour procéder à l'évaluation de leur participation aux actions de l'affilié qui ont conduit à sa culpabilité. Cette évaluation sera fournie à TPSGC et une décision sera rendue par le ministre.

Traitement des contrats existants après la condamnation

Si un fournisseur est déclaré non admissible ou suspendu pendant l'exécution d'une entente sur les biens immobiliers ou d'un contrat, l'autorité contractante peut le résilier en raison d'une défaillance. Les fournisseurs se verront offrir l'occasion d'expliquer pourquoi le droit de résiliation ne devrait pas être exercé.

Une entente administrative entre le fournisseur et TPSGC pourrait être requise s'il est décidé de ne pas résilier le contrat ou l'accord immobilier.

Certification

En présentant une soumission, le fournisseur atteste :

  • qu'il a lu et qu'il comprend la Politique d'inadmissibilité et de suspension;
  • qu'il comprend que certaines accusations au criminel et déclarations de culpabilité au Canada et à l'étranger, et certaines autres circonstances, décrites dans la politique, entraîneront ou peuvent entraîner une détermination d'inadmissibilité ou une suspension conformément à cette dernière;
  • qu'il est au courant que le Canada peut demander des renseignements, des attestations et des validations supplémentaires auprès du fournisseur ou d'un tiers, afin de prendre une décision à l'égard de son inadmissibilité ou de sa suspension;
  • qu'il a fourni avec sa soumission une liste complète de toutes les accusations criminelles et déclarations de culpabilité à l'étranger qui le touchent ou qui concernent ses affiliés et les sous-traitants qu'il propose et qui, à sa connaissance, peuvent être semblables aux infractions énoncées dans la politique;
  • qu'aucune des infractions criminelles commises au pays ni aucune autre circonstance décrite dans la politique et susceptible d'entraîner une détermination d'inadmissibilité ou de suspension ne s'appliquent à lui, à ses affiliés ou aux sous-traitants qu'il propose;
  • qu'il n'est au courant d'aucune décision d'inadmissibilité ou de suspension rendue par TPSGC à son sujet.

Surveillance et vérification par des tiers

Dans des situations précises , les fournisseurs seront tenus d'obtenir et de payer les services d'un tiers qualifié indépendant qui :

  • surveillera et vérifiera l'état d'avancement des fournisseurs que par les termes de leur entente administrative ;
  • fournira de l’information concernant les accusations et les condamnations à l'étranger et du niveau de participation d'un fournisseur à l'acte répréhensible d'un affilié,
  • Validera l’information soumise par un fournisseur voulant que celui-ci ait ou non ordonné, influencé ou autorisé la commission d’une infraction figurant sur la liste ou qu’il ait ou non acquiescé, consenti ou participé;
  • fournira des renseignements concernant le fournisseur afin de déterminer s’il est justifié de réduire la période d’inadmissibilité de ce dernier au moyen d’une entente administrative; et
  • confirmera la mise en place de mesures visant à éviter que les actes répréhensibles à l’origine de l’inadmissibilité ne se reproduisent.

Le ministre de TPSGC rendra toutes les décisions en matière d'inadmissibilité.

Services administratifs

Le Régime d'intégrité sera administré par TPSGC au nom du gouvernement du Canada et sera régi par des protocoles d'entente entre TPSGC et les autres ministères et organismes.

Liste publique

TPSGC produit une liste publique des fournisseurs inadmissibles ou suspendus. TPSGC produit une liste publique des fournisseurs inadmissibles et/ou suspendus. Seuls les noms des fournisseurs qui sont des entreprises sont rendus publics. Les noms des personnes inadmissibles ne sont pas rendus publics pour des raisons de confidentialité.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Fournisseur : Tout individu ou toute entreprise qui cherche à faire affaire avec le gouvernement du Canada.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1