ARCHIVED - Directive on awarding of contracts and real property transactions during after-hours situations

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

1. Effective date

The directive takes effect on September 7, 2015.

2. Application

This directive applies to all government departments and agencies that have a signed Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) to implement the Ineligibility and Suspension Policy and the Integrity provisions. It applies to all contracts and real property transactions.

3. Context

On July 3, 2015, following a commitment made in Economic Action Plan 2015, the Government of Canada introduced a new government-wide Integrity Regime. The Integrity Regime is governed by the Ineligibility and Suspension Policy and Integrity provisions.

The Ineligibility and Suspension Policy enables the Minister of Public Works and Government Services (PWGS) to issue Directives excluding different classes of contracts from the application of the Regime.

4. Directive statement

4.1 Objective

To provide clear instructions on the process and responsibilities of those issuing contracts/real property transactions during after-hours situations.

4.2 Expected results

The expected result of this directive is that the government does business with ethical suppliers.

5. Definitions

5.1 Afterhours situation

An after-hours situation is one in which, based on specific criteria, there is a requirement to award a contract or real property transaction without first receiving an integrity check from Public Works and Government Services Canada's (PWGSC) Integrity Verification Services. Afterhours is defined as any time between 4:00 p.m. and 8:00 a.m. eastern standard time Monday to Friday, weekends and public holidays.

In those situations, it is possible to issue a contract or real property transaction to respond to an after-hours situation without first receiving an integrity check from PWGSC's Integrity Verification Services if the following criteria are met:

5.2 Public interest exception in after-hours situations

In the event that the potential supplier is on the public list, contracts and real property transactions may be awarded if it is an after-hours situation and if it is in the public interest to enter into the contract or real property transaction. A public interest exception (PIE) may be invoked based on an individual's expertise and knowledge of the realm of procurement or real property transaction in question. (Refer to the Information Bulletin on PIE).

Criteria for a public interest exception:

In an after-hours situation, a PIE can be invoked in the following circumstances:

6. Requirements

  1. Prior to awarding a contract or real property transaction, check the public list of ineligible suppliers.
  2. Obtain from the supplier a signed PWGSC integrity verification form that neither they, nor members of the board of directors nor any of their affiliates, have ever been convicted of a listed  offence under PWGSC's integrity provisions.
  3. On the first business day following the issuance of the contract/real property transaction, all information must be submitted to PWGSC's Integrity Framework Team.
  4. If the supplier is on the public list of ineligible suppliers, if necessary, invoke the PIE.
  5. If a PIE is invoked, on the first business day following the issuance of the contract or real property transaction:
    • submit all information to PWGSC's Integrity Verification Services;
    • submit detailed information about the circumstances of the after-hours/PIE situation;
    • complete all PIE endorsement documentation;
    • explain the reason(s) why the integrity provisions were not practical or possible;
    • the type and total value of the awarded contract(s)/real property transaction(s);
    • the department or agency's delegated contracting/real property authority level at which the after-hours / PIE contract/real property transaction was approved.

7. Monitoring and reporting

All departments and agencies will need to track and report on all cases of after-hours/PIE situations where integrity verification was not done prior to awarding of contract/real property transaction.

8. Inquiries

If you have questions related to this Directive, please contact the Integrity Regime Team:

Toll free:
1-844-705-2084
Email:
PWGSC.O.integrity-TPSGC.O.integrite@pwgsc-tpsgc.gc.ca
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Directive sur l’attribution de contrats et transactions immobilières après les heures normales

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

1. Date d'entrée en vigueur

La directive entre en vigueur le 7 septembre 2015.

2. Champ d'application

La présente directive s'applique à tous les ministères et organismes gouvernementaux qui disposent d'un protocole d'entente ratifié sur la mise en œuvre de la Politique d'inadmissibilité et de suspension ainsi que des dispositions relatives à l'intégrité. Elle s'applique aux contrats et transactions immobilières.

3. Contexte

Le 3 juillet 2015, à la suite d'un engagement pris dans le Plan d'action économique de 2015, le gouvernement du Canada a mis en place un nouveau régime d'intégrité à l'échelle du gouvernement. Le régime d'intégrité est régi par la politique d'inadmissibilité et de suspension et les dispositions relatives à l'intégrité.

4. Énoncé de la directive

4.1 Objectif

Fournir des renseignements précis concernant le processus et les responsabilités des agents d'approvisionnement/de bien immobilier après les heures normales.

4.2 Résultats attendus

Le résultat escompté de la présente directive est que le gouvernement fasse affaire avec des fournisseurs éthiques.

5. Définition

5.1 Carte d'achat

Il s'agit d'une situation dans laquelle, compte tenu de certains critères, il est nécessaire d'attribuer un contrat ou une transaction immobilière sans que les Services de vérification de l'intégrité de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC) fassent au préalable une vérification de l'intégrité. Les heures après les heures normales correspondent aux heures entre 16 h et 8 h (heure normale de l'Est), du lundi au vendredi, les fins de semaine et les jours fériés.

Dans ce cas, les agents d'approvisionnement/de bien immobiliers sont autorisés à émettre un contrat/une transaction immobilière  après les heures normales sans que les Services de vérification de l'intégrité de TPSGC fassent au préalable une vérification de l'intégrité, et ce, si les critères suivants sont respectés :

5.2 Exceptions destinées à protéger l'intérêt du public après les heures normales

Si le fournisseur potentiel apparaît sur la liste publique, l'agent d'approvisionnement/de bien immobilier peut attribuer des contrats de construction, des contrats de biens et de services ou des transactions immobilières après les heures normales, s'il est dans l'intérêt du public d'attribuer le contrat ou d'effectuer une opération immobilière. Une exception destinée à protéger l'intérêt du public peut être invoquée en fonction de l'expertise et des connaissances de l'agent d'approvisionnement/de bien immobilier  relativement au contrat/transaction en question (voir le bulletin d'information sur les exceptions destinées à protéger l'intérêt du public).

Critères relatifs aux exceptions destinées à protéger l'intérêt du public

Après les heures normales, une exception destinée à protéger l'intérêt du public peut être invoquée dans les cas suivants :

6. Exigences

  1. Avant l'attribution du contrat/transaction immobilière, vérifier la liste publique des fournisseurs non admissibles.
  2. Obtenir de l'entrepreneur ou du fournisseur/proposant un formulaire de vérification de l'intégrité signé de TPSGC confirmant que ni lui ni les membres de son conseil d'administration et ni ses sociétés affiliées n'ont été reconnus coupables d'une infraction en vertu des dispositions de TPSGC en matière d'intégrité.
  3. Le premier jour ouvrable suivant l'émission du contrat/de la transaction immobilière, l'agent d'approvisionnement/de bien immobilier doit fournir toute l'information à l'équipe de TPSGC chargée du cadre d'intégrité.  
  4. Si le fournisseur apparaît sur la liste publique des fournisseurs non admissibles, invoquer l'exception destinée à protéger l'intérêt du public (au besoin).
  5. Si une exception destinée à protéger l'intérêt du public est invoquée, le premier jour ouvrable suivant l'émission du contrat/de la transaction immobilière, il faut :
    • fournir toute l'information aux Services de vérification de l'intégrité de TPSGC;
    • présenter des renseignements détaillés sur les circonstances connexes/la situation en ce qui a trait aux exceptions relatives à protéger l'intérêt du public;
    • remplir tout document d'approbation en ce qui a trait aux exceptions relatives à protéger l'intérêt du public;
    • expliquer les raisons pour lesquelles les dispositions relatives à l'intégrité n'étaient ni pratiques ni possibles;
    • indiquer le type et la valeur des contrats/transactions immobilières attribués;
    • indiquer le niveau de délégation du ministère ou de l'organisme auquel le pouvoir de passation de contrats/biens immobiliers  après les heures/d'exception destinée à protéger l'intérêt du public a été accordé.

7. Suivi et rapports

Tous les ministères et organismes devront assurer le suivi de l'ensemble des cas en dehors des heures normales/situations dans le cadre desquelles l'exception destinée à protéger l'intérêt du public a été invoquée et aucune vérification de l'intégrité n'a été effectuée avant l'attribution du contrat/de la transaction immobilière, et produire un rapport à cet égard.

8. Demandes de renseignements

Pour toute question au sujet de la présente directive, veuillez communiquer avec l'équipe chargée du régime d'intégrité :

Numéro sans frais :
1-844-705-2084
Courriel :
PWGSC.O.integrity-TPSGC.O.integrite@pwgsc-tpsgc.gc.ca
Date de modification :