Parliament Hill flags

On February 15, 1965, our national flag was raised for the first time on Parliament Hill. Five flags fly on the Hill: one on the Peace Tower, one on each side of the Centre Block, one on the West Block and one on the East Block.

The flag master

Every weekday, the flag master changes the Peace Tower flag, except on statutory holidays and during poor weather conditions. The flag is also changed for half-masting. The other Parliament Hill flags are changed weekly and on days that they are at half-mast.

To replace the Peace Tower flag, the flag master folds and places a new flag in a satchel, takes the elevator to the observation deck, and climbs 33 metres of stairs and ladders. Once at the top, the flag master lowers the flying flag and raises the new one on the 10.7-metre flagpole. Throughout the 20 to 30 minute process, the flag is never to touch the ground.

Meet the flag master

Flags on Parliament Hill

Flag location Approximate size Minimal pole height requirement Approximate waiting period
(as of September 30, 2015)
Peace Tower 2.3 m x 4.6 m
(7.5 ft x 15 ft)
13.7 m to 15.2 m
(45 ft to 50 ft)
57 years
Other Parliament Hill flags 1.35 m x 2.7 m
(4.5 ft x 9 ft)
9.1 m to 10.7 m
(30 ft to 35 ft)
43 years


The waiting period is typically updated in March and September. If you have requested a flag, the acknowledgement that you received will contain the most reliable approximate waiting period.

Requesting a flag

To request a flag that has flown on Parliament Hill or to report a change of address for a previous request, provide the following information to Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC):


Public Works and Government Services Canada
Office of the Minister
Portage III, 18A1
11 Laurier Street
Gatineau, Québec K1A 0S5




More information