Explore the grounds and the Centennial Flame

The Parliament Hill grounds are the setting for national celebrations, political demonstrations and public ceremonies. Learn about the design of the grounds and about the Centennial Flame and its upcoming transformation.

About the grounds

In the late 1800s, architect Thomas Scott designed the grounds, which cover an area of 88,480 square metres. These designs included landscaping that would provide visitors with a mix of experiences. Visitors to the lawn can join in Canada Day celebrations. They can also demonstrate their support for a cause or watch the changing of the guard ceremony. More than 1.5 million visitors enjoy the grounds every year.

Centennial Flame

View enlarged image of the Centennial Flame

The Centennial Flame is a major feature on the Parliament Hill grounds. You will find it just inside the Queen’s Gate in front of the Peace Tower.

It was originally built as a temporary monument. Prime Minister Lester B. Pearson lit the flame for the first time on December 31, 1966, to open the celebrations of Canada's 100th anniversary of Confederation. Canadians loved the monument so much that it became a permanent feature.

Design of the Centennial Flame

The Centennial Flame burns atop a fountain. Each side of the fountain has a bronze shield with the coat of arms of a province or territory. The year that the province or territory joined Canada is carved into the granite in front of the shield. The granite is also carved with the provincial or territorial floral emblem. The shields of the provinces and territories surround the flame to symbolize Canada's unity.

Adding the symbols of Nunavut

To celebrate Canada’s 150th anniversary of Confederation, the symbols of Nunavut were added to the Centennial Flame. In fall 2017, the monument was deconstructed and rebuilt to add a 13th side with Nunavut’s coat of arms, territorial flower, and the date it officially joined Confederation. The new structure was unveiled and the flame relit on December 13, 2017.

Coins for a cause

Every day, visitors make wishes and toss their lucky coins into the fountain. This money is collected and helps to fund the Centennial Flame Research Award. The award helps pay for disability research and reporting. The Standing Committee on Human Resources, Skills and Social Development and the Status of Persons with Disabilities presents the award each year to a researcher with a disability.

Maintaining the Centennial Flame

The Centennial Flame burns year round, except when it is shut off for occasional maintenance. Public Services and Procurement Canada is responsible for operating and maintaining this national symbol.

Interesting fact

The water in the Centennial Flame’s fountain never freezes, even in Ottawa's cold winters! The continuous movement of the water keeps it from freezing.

Maintaining the Centennial Flame video

Rebuilding the Centennial Flame video (short version)

Transcript: Rebuilding the Centennial Flame – Video (short version)

(Light instrumental music plays in the background.)

(Text on screen: Fifty-one years after its construction,) (Close-up of the Centennial Flame; Parliament Hill visitors are taking photos of the monument in the background)

(Text on screen: the Centennial Flame was transformed.) (Overhead shot of the monument)

(Text on screen: During Canada 150,) (Wide-angle shot of the monument, with the Centre Block in the background)

(Text on screen: the symbols of Nunavut were added to the structure.) (Close-up of a sculptor’s hands chiseling the North Star in the mold of Nunavut’s shield)

(Close-up of a hand turning a page of the Centennial Flame’s designs)

(Text on screen: This iconic monument now represents every province and territory.)

(Close-up of a masked and gloved welder using a blowtorch to weld pieces of the monument’s metal frame)

(Close-up of a welder’s hands using a grinder to smoothen edges of the monument’s frame)

(Overhead shot of a transport truck travelling on a highway, carrying the rebuilt monument’s frame on the back) (Text on screen: Follow us to learn more about this historic project.)

(Cut to black, and music stops.)

(Main Public Services and Procurement Canada social media handles)

(Public Services and Procurement Canada departmental signature)

(Canada wordmark)

Rebuilding the Centennial Flame video (long version)

Transcript: Rebuilding the Centennial Flame – Video (Long version)

(Light instrumental music plays in the background throughout the video.)

(Wide-angle shot of Parliament Hill’s Centennial Flame, with the Centre Block and the Peace Tower in the background)

Voice over (Phil White): When the Centennial Flame was built in 1966, (Close-up of the monument showing British Columbia’s bronze shield; camera pans to the left towards Yukon’s shield) Nunavut didn’t exist as a territory. (Close-up of the monument showing a carving of the year 1867) Now, 150 years later (Chest shot of Phil White), Nunavut was brought into Confederation (Text on screen: Phil White, Dominion Sculptor), made part of Canada in 1999 officially.

(Close-up of the monument showing the flame burning at the centre of the fountain) Now is our opportunity to rectify the absence of Nunavut (Overhead shot of the monument) in the circle of the Centennial Flame.

(Chest shot of Phil White) Adding Nunavut (Close-up of a hand turning a page of the Centennial Flame’s designs) is a bit of a challenge because it requires (Medium shot of the rebuilt monument’s metal frame in a workshop) redesign and rebuild of the flame (Medium shot of masked and gloved welder using a blowtorch to weld pieces of the monument’s metal frame), but we want to preserve the same heritage character. (Chest shot of Phil White) We don’t want it to change in appearance. (Medium shot of a steel worker cleaning a metal part of the monument using a sand blasting tool) Really, it involves completely rebuilding the flame, adding new stone, but in exactly the same design (Chest shot of Phil White) that it was before, but we have to add a 13th slice. (Various shots of steel workers in a workshop handling, measuring and smoothening the edges of the frame of the monument’s cauldron using a grinder) The monument itself was designed with 12 facets to represent the 12 provinces and territories, so we have to include a 13th, which means all the stones have to be redesigned, recut and rebuilt.

(Various shots of a steel worker intentionally creating a green patina on the surface of a bronze shield by heating it with a blowtorch, pouring copper nitrate onto it and spreading it with a brush) We also have to add a new bronze shield for Nunavut because all the provinces and territories in the monument are represented by their shields, the year in which they joined Confederation, (Close-up of the Centennial Flame showing a carving of the year 1905 and of the provincial flower of Saskatchewan) and a carving in stone of their provincial or territorial flower.

(Various shots of Phil White standing at a drawing table, designing representations of the symbols of Nunavut) I have designed the way the flower and the date will be interpreted and have created the model for the bronze shield. (Various shots of Phil White chiseling the model for Nunavut’s shield)

(Close-up of Nunavut’s shield) The shield of Nunavut is circular (Camera pans to Ontario’s shield), unlike all of the other shields (Close-up of the inuksuk on Nunavut’s shield), and has the main symbols of the territory in the design. (Brief fade to black)  

(Overhead shot of a transport truck travelling on a highway, carrying the rebuilt monument’s frame on the back) Now that the new decorative elements have all been recreated, (Night shot of the rebuilt frame being lowered into place on Parliament Hill; the construction site is surrounded by wood hoarding) and/or cleaned and are ready to go, (Sparks fly in the night as a worker smoothens part of the monument’s frame using a grinder) we can rebuild the monument (Various shots of stone masons measuring stones), bring all the new stone in and recreate the Centennial Flame on site. (Close-up of hands installing Nunavut’s shield on the monument, followed by a medium shot of the installation of the monument’s cauldron) (Brief fade to black)  

(Excerpt of the relighting of the Centennial Flame ceremony on Parliament Hill, which occurred on December 13, 2017. The Prime Minister of Canada, the Right Honourable Justin Trudeau, the Governor General of Canada, Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette, representatives of the territory of Nunavut and other dignitaries lit the flame.)

(Overhead shot of the rebuilt monument)

(Close-up of the rebuilt monument showing the flame burning at the centre of the fountain)

(Cut to black, and music stops)

(Public Services and Procurement Canada departmental signature)

(Canada 150 logo)

Canada Day 150 time-lapse video

This video was produced by taking images from the Hill camera during the evening of June 30 through the night of July 1st.

Canadian Forces Snowbirds and the Patrouille de France flyby over Parliament Hill video

A flyby over Parliament Hill featuring the Canadian Forces Snowbirds and the Patrouille de France air demonstration team took place on May 2, 2017, to mark Canada’s 150th anniversary. The two plane formations made a deafening sound as they cut through the sky, leaving behind them a few slim streams of smoke, coloured red, white and blue.

Transcript of the Canadian Forces Snowbirds and the Patrouille de France flyby over Parliament Hill video

Start of clip.

(Low-angle shot of the sky above Parliament Hill)

(Two plane formations, flying North to South, one behind the other, make a deafening sound as they cut through the sky.)

(The second plane formation leaves behind a few slim streams of smoke, coloured red, white and blue.)

(Sound fades out)

(Fade to black)

(Public Services and Procurement Canada Wordmark)

(Canada Wordmark)

More information

Date modified:

Découvrez les terrains et la flamme du centenaire

De nombreuses célébrations nationales, manifestations politiques et cérémonies publiques ont lieu sur les terrains de la Colline du Parlement. Apprenez-en plus sur leur conception et la flamme du centenaire, ainsi que sur sa transformation à venir.

Au sujet des terrains

L’aménagement des terrains, qui couvrent une superficie de 88 480 mètres carrés, a été conçu à la fin des années 1800 par l'architecte Thomas Scott. Celui-ci voulait y offrir des expériences diverses aux visiteurs. Les personnes qui visitent les terrains peuvent prendre part aux célébrations de la fête du Canada. Elles peuvent également manifester leur soutien pour une cause ou assister à la cérémonie de la relève de la garde. Elles sont plus de 1,5 million à les visiter chaque année.

Flamme du centenaire

Voir image agrandie de la flamme du centenaire

La flamme du centenaire compte parmi les éléments saillants des terrains de la Colline du Parlement. Elle se trouve tout près de la Porte de la reine, devant la Tour de la Paix.

La flamme du centenaire se voulait au départ un monument temporaire. Le premier ministre Lester B. Pearson a allumé la flamme pour la première fois le 31 décembre 1966, afin de donner le coup d’envoi aux festivités du centenaire de la Confédération canadienne. Or, la population a tant aimé le monument que celui-ci est devenu permanent.

Conception de la flamme du centenaire

La flamme du centenaire se trouve au sommet d'une fontaine. Chacun de ces côtés arbore l’écu armorial en bronze d’une province ou d’un territoire. Devant chaque écu est gravée dans le granite l'année à laquelle la province ou le territoire s'est joint officiellement au Canada. L’emblème floral de la province ou du territoire y est aussi gravé. Les écus des provinces et des territoires qui entourent la flamme symbolisent l'unité canadienne.

Ajout des symboles du Nunavut

Pour célébrer le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération canadienne, les symboles du Nunavut ont été ajoutés à la flamme du centenaire. À l’automne 2017, le monument a été démonté et reconstruit de manière à y ajouter un 13e côté avec les armoiries et la fleur représentant le territoire du Nunavut, ainsi que la date à laquelle ce dernier s’est officiellement joint à la Confédération. La nouvelle structure a été dévoilée et la flamme a été rallumée le 13 décembre 2017.

Des pièces qui contribuent à une cause

Chaque jour, des visiteurs font un vœu et jettent des pièces de monnaie dans la fontaine. Celles-ci sont ramassées et contribuent au financement de la Bourse de recherches de la flamme du centenaire. Cette bourse vise à soutenir la recherche et l’élaboration de rapports. Tous les ans, le Comité permanent des ressources humaines, du développement des compétences, du développement social et de la condition des personnes handicapées remet la bourse à un chercheur handicapé.

Entretien de la flamme du centenaire

La flamme du centenaire brûle toute l'année, et n'est éteinte qu’à l’occasion à des fins d’entretien. Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada est responsable du fonctionnement et de l'entretien de ce symbole national.

Fait intéressant

L'eau de la fontaine de la flamme du centenaire ne gèle jamais, même durant les froids hivers d'Ottawa! Le mouvement continuel de l’eau l’empêche de geler.

Vidéo de l’entretien de la flamme du centenaire

Vidéo de la reconstruction de la flamme du centenaire (version abrégée)

Transcription : La reconstruction de la flamme du centenaire – Vidéo (version abrégée)

(Une musique instrumentale douce se fait entendre.)

(Texte à l’écran : Cinquante et un ans après sa construction,) (Plan rapproché de la flamme du centenaire. À l’arrière-plan, des visiteurs de la Colline du Parlement prennent le monument en photo.)

(Texte à l’écran : la flamme du centenaire a été transformée.) (Vue plongeante du monument)

(Texte à l’écran : À l’occasion de Canada 150,) (Plan panoramique du monument montrant l’édifice du centre à l’arrière-plan.)

(Texte à l’écran : les symboles du Nunavut ont été ajoutés à cette structure.) (Plan rapproché des mains d’un sculpteur en train ciseler l’étoile Polaire dans le moule de l’écusson du Nunavut.)

(Plan rapproché d’une main tournant une page des plans de la flamme du centenaire.)

(Texte à l’écran : Ce monument emblématique représente maintenant toutes les provinces et tous les territoires.) (Plan rapproché d’un soudeur qui, vêtu d’un masque et de gants, soude des pièces de l’ossature métallique du monument avec une lampe à souder.)

(Plan rapproché des mains d’un soudeur en train de meuler les bords de l’ossature du monument.)

(Vue plongeante d’un camion sur une autoroute en train de transporter l’ossature reconstruite du monument.) (Texte à l’écran : Suivez-nous pour en apprendre davantage sur ce projet historique.)

(L’écran devient noir, et la musique s’arrête.)

(Principaux pseudonymes de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada sur les médias sociaux)

(Signature visuelle de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada)

(Mot-symbole du Canada)

Vidéo de la reconstruction de la flamme du centenaire (version longue)

Transcription : La reconstruction de la flamme du centenaire – Vidéo (version longue)

(Light instrumental music plays in the background throughout the video.)

(Une musique instrumentale douce se fait entendre tout au long de la vidéo.)

(Plan panoramique de la flamme du centenaire sur le Colline du Parlement; l’édifice du Centre et la Tour de la Paix sont à l’arrière-plan)

Voix hors champ (Phil White) : Quand la flamme du centenaire a été construite en 1966, (plan rapproché du monument montrant l’écusson en bronze de la Colombie-Britannique; la caméra se déplace vers la gauche où se trouve l’écusson du Yukon) le territoire du Nunavut n’existait pas encore. (Plan rapproché du monument montrant l’année 1967 gravée dans la pierre) 150 ans plus tard (Plan poitrine de Phil White), le Nunavut fait maintenant partie du Canada, (texte à l’écran : Phil White, sculpteur du Dominion) ayant fait officiellement son entrée dans la Confédération en 1999.

(Plan panoramique du monument qui montre la flamme brûlant au centre de la fontaine) Nous avons aujourd’hui l’occasion de corriger l’absence du Nunavut (vue plongeante du monument) dans le cercle de la flamme du centenaire.

(Plan poitrine de Phil White) L’ajout du Nunavut (plan rapproché d’une main tournant une page des plans de la flamme du centenaire) pose un certain défi parce qu’il faut (plan moyen de l’ossature du monument reconstruite dans un atelier) revoir la conception de la flamme et la reconstruire, (plan rapproché d’un soudeur qui, vêtu d’un masque et de gants, soude des pièces de l’ossature métallique du monument avec un chalumeau) mais nous voulons préserver son caractère patrimonial. (Plan poitrine de Phil White) Nous ne voulons pas changer son apparence. (Plan moyen d’un métallurgiste qui nettoie une pièce en métal du monument avec une sableuse) Essentiellement, la tâche consiste à reconstruire complètement la flamme et à y ajouter de nouvelles pierres dans le respect de la forme d’origine (Plan poitrine de Phil White), mais tout en y ajoutant une 13e plaque. (Plans variés de métallurgistes en train de manipuler, de mesurer et de meuler les bords de l’ossature de la vasque du monument) Le monument d’origine comprenait 12 faces représentant les 12 provinces et territoires. Comme nous devions en ajouter une 13e, il fallait revoir la forme de toutes les pierres, les retailler, puis les remonter.

(Plans variés d’un métallurgiste en train de créer intentionnellement une patine verte sur la surface d’un écusson en bronze en le chauffant avec un chalumeau, en y versant du nitrate de cuivre et en l’étendant avec un pinceau) Nous devons aussi ajouter l’écusson en bronze du Nunavut sur le monument, car les provinces et les territoires y sont tous représentés par leur écusson, ainsi que l’année de leur entrée dans la Confédération (plan rapproché de la flamme du centenaire montrant l’année 1905 et la fleur emblématique de la Saskatchewan gravées dans la pierre) et leur fleur emblématique gravées dans la pierre.

(Plans variés de Phil White debout, à sa table à travail, en train de dessiner les symboles du Nunavut) J’ai conçu la façon dont la fleur et la date seront interprétées, et j’ai créé le modèle de l’écusson en bronze. (Plans variés de Phil White en train de ciseler le modèle de l’écusson du Nunavut)

(Plan rapproché de l’écusson du Nunavut) L’écusson du Nunavut a une forme circulaire (la caméra se déplace vers l’écusson de l’Ontario), contrairement aux autres écussons (plan rapproché de l’inuksuk sur l’écusson du Nunavut), et il arbore les principaux symboles du territoire. (Fondu rapide au noir)  

(Vue plongeante d’un camion sur une autoroute en train de transporter le monument reconstruit) Comme tous les éléments décoratifs sont maintenant prêts après avoir été créés (vue nocturne de la structure reconstruite en train d’être mise en place sur la Colline du Parlement; le chantier de construction est entouré de palissades en bois) ou bien nettoyés, (un ouvrier meulant une partie de l’ossature du monument fait jaillir des étincelles alors qu’il fait nuit) nous pouvons maintenant remonter le monument (plans variés de maçons en train de mesurer des pierres), amener toutes les nouvelles pierres sur place et recréer la flamme du centenaire. (Plan rapproché de mains en train d’installer l’écusson du Nunavut sur le monument; s’ensuit un plan moyen montrant l’installation de la vasque du monument) (Fondu rapide au noir)  

(Images de la cérémonie de rallumage de la flamme du centenaire, qui a eu lieu le 13 décembre 2017, sur la Colline du Parlement. Le premier ministre du Canada, le très honorable Justin Trudeau, la gouverneure générale du Canada, Son Excellence la très honorable Julie Payette, des représentants du territoire du Nunavut et d’autres dignitaires ont alors allumé la flamme.)

(Vue plongeante du monument reconstruit)

(Plan rapproché du monument reconstruit qui montre la flamme brûlant au centre de la fontaine)

(L’écran devient noir, et la musique s’arrête.)

(Signature visuelle de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada)

(Logo de Canada 150)

Vidéo en accéléré prise lors de la fête du Canada 150

Cette vidéo a été produite en prenant des images de notre caméra de la Colline entre la soirée du 30 juin et la nuit du 1er juillet.

Vidéo des Snowbirds des Forces Canadiennes et de la Patrouille de France survolant la Colline du Parlement

Les Snowbirds des Forces Canadiennes et l’équipe de démonstration aérienne Patrouille de France ont survolé la Colline du Parlement le 2 mai 2017, pour marquer le 150e anniversaire du Canada. Les deux formations d’avions ont faites un bruit assourdissant alors qu’elles découpaient le ciel, laissant derrière elles quelques minces traits de fumée de couleur rouge, blanc et bleu.

Transcript de la Vidéo des Snowbirds des Forces Canadiennes et de la Patrouille de France survolant la Colline du Parlement

Début de la vidéo.

(Vue en contre-plongée du ciel au-dessus la Colline du Parlement)

(Deux formations d’avions volant en direction sud, une derrière l’autre, font un bruit assourdissant alors qu’elles découpent le ciel)

(Le seconde formation laisse derrière elle quelques minces traits de fumée de couleur rouge, blanc et bleu.)

(Le bruit s’éteint progressivement)

(Fondu au noir)

(Mot-symbole « Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada »)

(Mot-symbole « Canada »)

Renseignements supplémentaires

Date de modification :