How parliamentary buildings are rehabilitated

On this page

If you have visited or seen the Parliament Buildings recently, you will have noticed the scaffolding around the West Block. You may also have noticed the work being done on heritage buildings on nearby Wellington and Sparks Streets.

Many of these buildings are well over a hundred years old. Back then, these building were not built to withstand earthquakes. As well, their fine exterior stonework is crumbling, their roofs need repair and their windows need to be brought to current energy standards. Also, the buildings' plumbing, electrical, information technology and other systems need to be upgraded.

The Library of Parliament: An example of successful modern rehabilitation

Built in 1876, the Library of Parliament holds a special place in the history of Canada. It is the last remaining part of the original Centre Block and the only section to survive the fire of 1916.

By the end of the last century, the exterior of the Library of Parliament was seriously deteriorated. It was last rehabilitated over a half century ago following another fire in 1952.

In 2002, major work began to conserve, rehabilitate and upgrade the Library inside and out. This would ensure that it would remain an efficient and modern parliamentary resource. As well, it would remain a destination for visitors and an architectural wonder for future generations.

Work included:

Restoring stone at Reading Room window, February 3, 2004. (Photo: Roy Grogan.)

Restoring stone at Reading Room window, February 3, 2004. (Photo: Roy Grogan.)

Restored decorative ironwork that was reinstalled on lantern roof on October 14, 2005.

Restored decorative ironwork that was reinstalled on lantern roof on October 14, 2005.

New copper roof and gutters

New copper roof and gutters (Photo: Roy Grogan.)

A multi-faceted rehabilitation

Many features of the parliamentary buildings are being upgraded, including the buildings' safety, heating and cooling systems. Ease of access and earthquake protection are also being improved. All this work is a huge task in any building—but especially so in these iconic buildings where we must preserve their heritage elements.

Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) works closely with heritage architects and other specialists. Together, they ensure that the buildings are safe and meet the technical requirements of a 21st century democracy. The work must also respect the heritage nature of the buildings. The Library of Parliament is a testament to the work being carried out on Parliament Hill.

Earthquake-proofing

The parliamentary buildings are undergoing seismic assessments and upgrades

The parliamentary buildings are undergoing seismic assessments and upgrades

PSPC is studying how the parliamentary buildings respond to earthquakes. These seismic assessments and upgrades are difficult, especially because many of these buildings were designed and built before building codes existed.

As part of a planned rehabilitation, experts routinely assess the seismic resistance of the parliamentary buildings. To date, all of their assessments have confirmed that the buildings are safe to occupy, even after recent earthquakes.

Experts also perform yearly assessments to ensure that the buildings can be evacuated safely in the event of a major earthquake. If a building is not up to the standards in the National Building Code of Canada, upgrades are automatically undertaken when the building is slated for major renovation.

In 2007, PSPC collaborated with Canadian universities to study the effects of ground shaking on walls like those found on Parliament Hill. The research provided important findings on how these heritage stone walls will react to earthquakes. The research also provides information to conservationists, engineers and stonemasons. This way, these experts can better preserve important heritage structures across Canada and around the world. Expert recommendations from our ongoing seismic upgrade work are also used in upcoming projects and designs. These recommendations ensure that our parliamentary buildings will last for centuries more.

Laser cleaning

Laser technology offers a 21st-century solution for a medieval craft. Using a highly focused, powerful light source, the stonemasons simply vaporize the dirt without any physical contact. Unlike the wet abrasive methods that require a carefully sequenced approach so that chemical and water waste does not flow over previously cleaned stones, laser cleaning allows larger surfaces to be cleaned uniformly, at any time and at any location. It is a convenient, flexible and vastly superior approach, and now a standard tool in the stonemason’s kit right beside the traditional trowel.

Transcript of the laser cleaning

Start of clip

(Construction sounds resonate in the background)

Medium shot of a man holding a laser cleaning tool. He is wearing a hard hat, safety glasses and a bright orange safety vest.

Close-up of the laser cleaning tool. As the man moves the devices upwards and downwards, a dark film of dirt covering the stone disappears.

Close-up of the tool cleaning a second stone. The laser cleaning tool is then deactivated and pulled away leaving half of the stone clean.

(Cut to black.)

Canada Wordmark

End of clip

MP4 format ( 3.5M B)

 

Meet Phil White, Canada’s Dominion Sculptor

Learn about Canada’s Dominion Sculptor and watch a video about his work.

About Canada’s Dominion Sculptor

Canada's Dominion Sculptor is responsible for carving and conserving statues, portraits and decorative pieces to commemorate Canada's history, people, events and character in Parliament Hill's Centre Block and other government buildings. Phil White has been our nation’s Dominion Sculptor since 2006.

Phil works in Technical Services, which is part of the Heritage Conservation group in the Real Property Services at Public Services and Procurement Canada, the federal department responsible for the maintenance of the Parliament Buildings.

Canada has only had 5 Dominion sculptors since the position was established in 1936. The role was created to fulfill the vision of the architect of the Centre Block, John Pearson. In his design, Pearson included some 3,000 blank stone blocks on the outside of the Centre Block and about 2,500 more on the inside.

The stones were left empty so that future generations of sculptors could carve the ongoing story of Canada’s history and culture for decades and even centuries to come. About 170 blank blocks remain to be carved.

As time takes its toll on the buildings, Phil is required to put more energy into conservation and restoration. But he still sculpts statues, portraits and decorative pieces, and continues carving our history into the stones of the Centre Block.

The Dominion Sculptor video

Watch this video to learn more about Phil and his role as Dominion Sculptor.

Transcript: The Dominion Sculptor

(Text on screen: The Dominion Sculptor is a government official responsible for creating works of art to commemorate the country's heritage. The position is unique to Canada.)

(Phil White, the Dominion Sculptor, talks while sitting.)

Sculpture is one of those arts that's very often anonymous. Particularly architectural sculpture. They go up on the side of buildings and no one really knows who did it. And that's ok.

(The camera shows the sculptor’s house and him working in his shop while he continues to talk, panning between the workshop and him sitting and talking.) 

I really took to the idea of taking sharp tools and passing them through wood. There's something about the combination of the sound, the senses and the smell of the material. You get the same thing with all materials; it's just a different experience with each one.

I never studied sculpture formally. I went to ... I studied art all through school and when I was a kid I took private art lessons for 4 or 5 years from the time I was about 8 to 12 and that really helped me out a lot. I think that I was strongly influenced by a woman who was a friend of my mother who was an artist. She was a sculptor and worked in a lot of really different materials, combinations of materials. And she was very influential in my early years.

I also studied drawing, drafting that is. Architectural drafting and mechanical drafting. My dad wanted me to be a draftsman. I had other ideas.

(The sculptor continues talking while the camera shows him sitting in the woods, looking at a maple leaf and then looking over a rural landscape.)

The inspiration can come from a walk you know, looking down, looking around, seeing animals or birds or just something as simple as a flower. Think looking at the flower and wondering how that could be transformed into a block of stone or a piece of wood.

(The camera shows the sculptor working on a draft board in his office.)

I never really thought about what it would be like to be the Dominion Sculptor until I saw the competition. It was asking for someone who had background in conservation, art conservation and experience sculpting all these different materials, wood, stone, bronze. And the whole thing just looked like it was written specifically for me. And that's when I start to think "Oh! Maybe this can actually happen." I’ve known about the position for years and years but I remember thinking to myself "Oh! Who would take over that job?!"

(The camera shows the sculptor walking up to the Centre Block on Parliament Hill and then inside the building, working on a sculpture.)

Because I've known about it for so long, it really is literally the job of my dreams. Something I thought about for so long and it's finally come true, you know. It's something I feel like I've been building up to all my life.

(The camera shows the sculptor walking into the Memorial Chamber and admiring the chamber.)

The project that I did in the Memorial Chamber to replace the temporary altars with new permanent altars, that is the altars for the books of remembrance, is probably the most ... to date the most important to me because ... my family background. My parents were veterans. I have relatives who are listed in the books of remembrance as casualties in the First World War. So ... to me ... it was a very, very important project from the point of view of remembering Canada's war dead. Remembering the sacrifices these people have made. In my mind if I had done nothing else with my career and just that, I would be perfectly happy.

(The sculptor is sitting in a dark room on a leather couch in the Parliament Buildings, writing in a draft book.)

It's a bit hard to comprehend sometimes. Leaving this legacy for the Canadian people in such a fantastic building. It's a lot of pressure to make sure that everything is done right. I think I managed to do it so far. I hope ...

(Text on screen: Phil White has been the Dominion Sculptor of Canada since 2006.)

(Text on screen: Produced and created by Francis René, Ryan Jeddore, Faye Ouellette, Scott Butcher)

(Public Services and Procurement Canada Wordmark)

(Government of Canada Wordmark)

More information

Date modified:

Réhabilitation des édifices du Parlement

Sur cette page

Si vous avez récemment visité les édifices du Parlement, vous aurez remarqué les échafaudages qui entourent l'édifice de l'Ouest. Vous aurez aussi peut-être remarqué les travaux effectués aux édifices patrimoniaux des rues Wellington et Sparks voisines.

Bon nombre de ces édifices ont bien plus de cent ans. À l'époque, ils n'avaient pas été construits pour résister aux tremblements de terre. En outre, leur superbe maçonnerie de pierre d'extérieur s'effrite, leur toit doit être réparé et leurs fenêtres doivent être mises aux normes énergétiques actuelles. De plus, la tuyauterie, le câblage électrique, la technologie de l'information et d'autres systèmes de ces édifices doivent être modernisés.

La Bibliothèque du Parlement : un exemple de réhabilitation moderne réussie

Construite en 1876, la Bibliothèque du Parlement occupe une place particulière dans l'histoire du Canada. Il s'agit de la dernière partie originale de l'édifice du Centre et la seule section à avoir survécu à l'incendie de 1916.

À la fin du siècle dernier, l'extérieur de la Bibliothèque du Parlement s'était gravement détérioré. Il a été réhabilité il y a plus d'un demi-siècle, à la suite d'un autre incendie, en 1952.

En 2002, des travaux importants ont été lancés pour préserver, réhabiliter et rénover la Bibliothèque de fond en comble. Ces travaux permettront à cet édifice de rester une ressource parlementaire efficace et moderne. En outre, il restera une destination de choix pour les visiteurs et une merveille architecturale pour les générations à venir.

Les travaux comprenaient :

Restauration de la pierre de la fenêtre de la salle de lecture, le 3 février 2004 (Photographie : Roy Grogan.)

Restauration de la pierre de la fenêtre de la salle de lecture, le 3 février 2004 (Photographie : Roy Grogan.)

Ferronnerie décorative restaurée qui fut réinstallée sur le toit de la lanterne le 14 octobre 2005.

Ferronnerie décorative restaurée qui fut réinstallée sur le toit de la lanterne le 14 octobre 2005.

Nouveau toit et gouttières en cuivre

Nouveau toit et gouttières en cuivre (Photographie : Roy Grogan)

Une réhabilitation à plusieurs facettes

De nombreuses caractéristiques des édifices du Parlement sont modernisées, y compris les systèmes de sécurité, de chauffage et de climatisation. La facilité d'accès et la protection contre les séismes sont également améliorées. Ces travaux représentent une tâche énorme dans n'importe quel immeuble, mais en particulier dans ces édifices emblématiques dont nous devons préserver les éléments patrimoniaux.

Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) collabore étroitement avec des architectes protecteurs du patrimoine et d'autres spécialistes du domaine. Ensemble, ils veillent à ce que les édifices soient sécuritaires et répondent aux exigences techniques d'une démocratie du XXIe siècle. Les travaux doivent également respecter la nature patrimoniale des édifices. La Bibliothèque du Parlement est un exemple éloquent des travaux effectués sur la Colline du Parlement.

Mise en place de dispositifs de renforcement parasismique

Les édifices du Parlement soumis à des évaluations sismiques et à des mises à niveau.

Les édifices du Parlement soumis à des évaluations sismiques et à des mises à niveau.

SPAC étudie la réponse des édifices du Parlement aux séismes. Ces évaluations et rénovations sismiques sont difficiles, en particulier parce que ces édifices ont été conçus et construits avant l'existence des codes de construction.

Dans le cadre de la réhabilitation prévue, des spécialistes évaluent périodiquement la résistance sismique des édifices du Parlement. Jusqu'à ce jour, toutes leurs évaluations ont confirmé que l'occupation des édifices ne présentait aucun danger, même après les récents séismes.

Les experts ont également mené des évaluations annuelles visant à déterminer s'il était possible d'évacuer les édifices en toute sécurité à la suite d'un grand séisme. Si un édifice ne répond pas aux normes du Code national du bâtiment du Canada, des mises à niveau sont automatiquement entreprises lorsqu'une rénovation majeure de l'édifice est désignée.

En 2007, SPAC a collaboré avec des universités canadiennes pour étudier les effets des séismes sur les murs comme ceux que l'on trouve sur la Colline du Parlement. La recherche a donné lieu à des constats importants, à savoir comment ces murs de pierre du patrimoine réagiront aux séismes. Elle a également fourni des renseignements aux agents de conservation, aux ingénieurs et aux maçons. De cette manière, les experts sont en mesure de mieux préserver les structures patrimoniales importantes dans le Canada et à l'échelle de la planète. Les recommandations d'experts provenant de nos travaux suivis de renforcement parasismique sont également utilisées dans le cadre des projets et des conceptions à venir. Les recommandations assureront la pérennité des édifices du Parlement pour les siècles à venir.

Nettoyage au laser

La technologie laser offre une solution du 21e siècle à un savoir-faire médiéval. À l’aide d’une source de lumière puissante et fortement concentrée, les maçons peuvent simplement vaporiser les saletés sans aucun contact physique. Contrairement aux méthodes humides abrasives, qui nécessitent une approche séquencée minutieuse pour que les résidus chimiques et l’eau sale ne ruissellent pas sur les pierres déjà nettoyées, le nettoyage au laser permet de traiter des surfaces plus larges de façon uniforme, à tout moment, et à tout endroit. Cette approche est pratique, souple et bien meilleure; le laser est maintenant un outil standard de la trousse du maçon, juste à côté de la traditionnelle truelle.

Transcription du nettoyage au laser

(Le bruit de travaux résonne en arrière-plan.)

Plan moyen qui montre un homme tenant un outil de nettoyage au laser. L'homme porte un casque protecteur, des lunettes de protection et une veste de sécurité d'un orange vif.

Plan serré qui montre l'outil de nettoyage au laser. Au fur et à mesure que l'homme déplace l'outil vers le haut et vers le bas, la mince couche de poussière foncée qui recouvre la pierre disparaît.

Plan serré qui montre l'outil nettoyant une autre pierre. Puis, l'outil de nettoyage au laser est désactivé et s'éloigne de la pierre propre à moitié.

(L'écran devient noir.)

Mot-symbole « Canada »

Fin de la séquence

Format MP4 ( 3.5M o)

 

Rencontre avec Phil White, sculpteur du Dominion du Canada

Apprenez-en plus sur le sculpteur du Dominion du Canada et regardez la vidéo sur son travail.

Au sujet du sculpteur du Dominion du Canada

Le sculpteur du Dominion est chargé de sculpter et de conserver les statues, les portraits et les œuvres décoratives qui commémorent l’histoire, des personnes, des événements et le caractère du Canada dans l’édifice du Centre et d’autres édifices gouvernementaux sur la Colline du Parlement. Phil White exerce cette fonction depuis 2006.

M. White relève des Services techniques, qui font partie de la Direction de la conservation du patrimoine des Services immobiliers de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada, soit le ministère fédéral responsable de l’entretien des édifices du Parlement.

Seulement 5 personnes ont occupé les fonctions de sculpteur du Dominion depuis que le poste a été établi en 1936. Ce poste a été créé pour concrétiser la vision de l’architecte de l’édifice du Centre, John Pearson. Dans ses plans, Pearson avait inclus quelque 3 000 blocs de pierre intacts à l’extérieur de l’édifice du Centre et environ 2 500 de plus à l’intérieur.

Les pierres avaient été laissées intouchées pour que les prochaines générations de sculpteurs puissent y graver la représentation continue de l’histoire et de la culture du Canada pour les décennies à venir, voire même les siècles. Il reste plus ou moins 170 pierres intactes à graver.

Comme le temps a laissé sa marque sur les édifices, M. White doit consacrer plus de temps à ses activités de conservation et de restauration. Cela dit, il sculpte toujours des statues, des portraits et des œuvres décoratives et continue de sculpter notre histoire dans les pierres de l’édifice du Centre.

Vidéo sur le sculpteur du Dominion

Regardez cette vidéo pour en savoir plus sur M. White et ses fonctions de sculpteur du Dominion.

Transcription : Le sculpteur du Dominion

(Texte à l’écran : Le sculpteur du Dominion est un employé du gouvernement qui a la responsabilité de créer des œuvres d'art afin de commémorer le patrimoine du pays. Il s’agit d’un poste unique au Canada.)

(Phil White, sculpteur du Dominion, parle tout en étant assis.)

La sculpture est une forme d'art souvent anonyme. Plus particulièrement les sculptures architecturales. On les installe sur le côté des bâtiments, et personne ne sait vraiment qui les a faites. Et c'est correct comme ça.

(La caméra montre la maison du sculpteur et celui-ci en train de travailler dans son atelier alors qu’il continue de parler; la caméra alterne ainsi entre l’atelier et le sculpteur assis en train de parler.) 

J'ai vraiment aimé l'idée de prendre des outils aiguisés et de sculpter le bois. Il n'y a rien de tel que la combinaison du son, des sens et de l'odeur lorsqu'on sculpte dans ce matériau. Cela s'applique à tous les matériaux, mais c’est simplement une expérience différente avec chacun d’eux.

Je n'ai jamais fait d'études officielles dans la sculpture. Je suis allé… J'ai étudié l'art tout au long de mes études et lorsque j'étais enfant, j'ai pris des cours privés pendant 4 ou 5 ans. Je devais avoir environ de 8 à 12 ans. Cela m'a vraiment beaucoup aidé. Je crois que j'ai été fortement influencé par une amie de ma mère qui était artiste. Elle était sculptrice et travaillait dans un bon nombre de matériaux très différents. Elle utilisait même des combinaisons de matériaux. Elle a eu beaucoup d'influence sur moi dans mes premières années.

J'ai aussi étudié le dessin; le dessin d'architecture et le dessin mécanique. Mon père voulait que je sois dessinateur. Mais moi j'avais d'autres idées.

(Le sculpteur continue de parler pendant que la caméra le montre assis dans la forêt en train de regarder une feuille d’érable, puis un paysage rural.)

Vous savez, l'inspiration peut provenir d'une promenade que vous faites. Alors que vous regardez par terre, aux alentours, vous voyez des animaux ou des oiseaux ou quelque chose d'aussi simple qu'une fleur. Vous réfléchissez en regardant la fleur et vous vous demandez comment elle pourrait se transformer en un bloc de pierre ou une pièce de bois.

(La caméra montre le sculpteur en train de travailler sur une table à dessin dans son bureau.)

Je n'ai jamais vraiment pensé à ce que ce serait d'être le sculpteur du Dominion jusqu'à ce que je voie l'avis de concours. Ils recherchaient une personne ayant de l'expérience dans la conservation, la conservation des œuvres d'art et la sculpture dans différents matériaux. Le bois, la pierre, le bronze. Il me semblait que toute cette description et cet avis étaient rédigés précisément pour moi. C’est alors que j'ai commencé à penser : « Oh! Peut-être que cela pourrait vraiment fonctionner. » Je connais ce travail depuis des années et des années, mais je me suis souvenu de m'être dit : « Oh! Qui pourrait faire ce travail »?!

(La caméra montre le sculpteur qui marche vers l’édifice du Centre sur la Colline du Parlement, puis qui travaille à une sculpture à l’intérieur de l’édifice.)

Puisque je connaissais ce travail depuis si longtemps, c'était tout à fait le poste de mes rêves. J'y ai pensé pendant tant d'années, et c'est finalement devenu réalité. J'ai l'impression que je me suis préparé pour cela toute ma vie.

(La caméra montre le sculpteur qui entre dans la Chapelle du Souvenir et admire les lieux.)

Le projet que j'ai réalisé dans la Chapelle du Souvenir afin de remplacer les autels temporaires par de nouveaux autels permanents, c'est-à-dire les autels des Livres du Souvenir, est probablement le plus… jusqu'à maintenant le plus important pour moi en raison de mon histoire familiale. Mes parents ont été des vétérans. Des gens de ma famille ont leurs noms dans les Livres du Souvenir car ils ont péri lors de la Première Guerre mondiale. Alors… pour moi… c'était un projet vraiment très important pour se rappeler des Canadiens morts à la guerre. Se souvenir des sacrifices faits par ces gens. Dans mon esprit, si je réussis à ne faire que cela dans ma carrière, je serai parfaitement heureux.

(Le sculpteur est assis sur un canapé en cuivre, dans une pièce sombre d’un édifice du Parlement, et il écrit dans un cahier.)

C'est quelque fois un peu difficile à imaginer. Laisser cet héritage à la population canadienne dans un bâtiment aussi fantastique. C'est beaucoup de pression afin de s'assurer que tout est bien réalisé. Mais je crois que j'ai réussi à le faire jusqu'à maintenant. Du moins je l'espère…

(Texte à l’écran : Phil White est le sculpteur du Dominion du Canada depuis 2006.)

(Texte à l’écran : Produit et réalisé par Francis René, Ryan Jeddore, Faye Ouellette et Scott Butcher)

(Mot-symbole de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada)

(Mot-symbole du gouvernement du Canada)

Renseignements supplémentaires

Date de modification :