Executive summary—The Long Term Vision and Plan Annual Report 2014–15

Parliament Hill is a place of national significance for Canadians. It symbolizes the country's history and sense of identity through its majestic setting and iconic heritage buildings, and it represents the country's future through the continuing work of Canada's Parliament and the public gathering spaces it offers for national celebrations and democratic expression. It is essential, therefore, that the buildings and grounds of the Precinct be preserved and enhanced to support the ongoing work of the country and for future generations of Canadians to appreciate.

The Long Term Vision and Plan

Planning in the Parliamentary Precinct is an ongoing activity that assesses site and building conditions and evaluates how best to accommodate evolving parliamentary requirements. In 2007, the Long Term Vision and Plan (LTVP) was updated, confirming the vision and guiding principles—the values and principles for careful stewardship of the Precinct—and the first priority to rehabilitate the Parliamentary Triad, the three main Parliament Buildings (West Block, Centre Block and East Block).

Delivering the Long Term Vision and Plan

Working in collaboration with its Parliamentary Partners— the Senate of Canada, the House of Commons and the Library of Parliament—and with other key stakeholders, the Parliamentary Precinct Branch (PPB) has established a successful track record of providing consistent, high quality accommodations and services for Parliament and the delivery of a legacy, for all Canadians, through the preservation and modernization of Canada's Parliament Buildings. To reinforce this commitment, PPB continuously seeks ways to strengthen the organization and its governance to ensure delivery of the LTVP effectively, efficiently and with sound accountability and oversight. Additionally, the integration of industry leading practices, partnering with universities, leveraging lessons learned and an active outreach program with international governments ensures continued success in the delivery of a challenging and complex program of work.

The LTVP is implemented through five-year programs of work. To ensure coordination, integration, and alignment with the overarching LTVP vision and guiding principles, PPB has four programs for the delivery of projects:

Balancing the need for a safe and secure workplace for Parliamentarians, while ensuring that Parliament remains open and accessible for business and visitors, is becoming more difficult within the changing global security environment and new security challenges in Canada. Rapidly evolving security requirements continue to influence technological, operational and infrastructure change. The span of these requirements is so broad that security has become a major LTVP Program component.

Long Term Vision and Plan accomplishments in fiscal year 2014–15

Fiscal year 2014–15 was an outstanding year in the delivery of Long Term Vision Plan (LTVP) projects. All programs exceeded their targets for the year—the MCP and BCC programs achieved 100% on-time/on-scope/on-budget in all four quarters, and the Recapitalization program achieved 94% overall for the year. With the exception of one project that was delayed due to severe winter weather, every project met or exceeded its performance targets for the year.

Total LTVP expenditures for fiscal year 2014–15 were $355.9 million (M), an increase of 25% over fiscal year 2013–14. This upward trend, which began in 2010, reflects the increasing maturity of the LTVP program and the concentration of large-scale rehabilitation and construction work currently underway in the Precinct, with many projects at peak implementation. Major Capital Program expenditures accounted for 86.2% of total LTVP expenditures, again reflecting the scope and concentration of major projects. Two significant milestones in fiscal year 2014–15 were the completion of the Sir John A. Macdonald Building rehabilitation and the advancement of the Centre Block Rehabilitation project.

Delivered on time and on budget, the Sir John A. Macdonald Building is an outstanding heritage restoration and adaptive reuse combined with a sensitive, modern addition. This facility, which replaces the West Block's Confederation Room 200, is an impressive contribution to the Capital's ceremonial route and an excellent example of PPB's capable project management and sound stewardship.

To ensure that the Centre Block rehabilitation project is ready to commence in 2018, PPB completed an extensive pre-planning program of work in fiscal year 2014–15. This includes several key technical studies, a full inventory of the vast art and artifact collection, and comprehensive preparatory work required for the early establishment of a multidisciplinary project design and delivery team.

For the major rehabilitation work of Centre Block to commence, the building must be vacated, which requires all interim accommodation facilities be in place before 2018. In fiscal year 2014–15, the Wellington Building progressed ahead of target and is 75% complete. This project will be completed in 2016, followed in 2017 by the West Block, and Visitor Welcome Centre phase I, and then the Government Conference Centre in 2018, at which point Centre Block will be vacated.

In fiscal year 2014–15, projects in the Recapitalization Program focused largely on repairs and upgrades to the Confederation Building and Centre Block, including preparations to modify the House of Commons Chamber to accommodate 30 additional Members of Parliament following the general election in Fall 2015. The Building Components and Connectivity program (BCC) advanced several Precinct-wide IT upgrading projects, which will be implemented over several years in more than 30 buildings throughout the Precinct. The Planning Program continued to look forward, evaluating the broader and longer-term infrastructure needs within the Precinct, and assessing the planning and development issues in the West Sector Area of the Precinct and the south side of Wellington Street.

Figure 0.01 – Long Term Vision and Plan expenditures in fiscal year 2014–15

(in millions of dollars)
Planned expenditures – fiscal year 2014–15
(in millions of dollars)
$358.00
Actual expenditures – fiscal year 2014–15
(in millions of dollars)
$355.91
Percentage spent 99.4%

Figure 0.02 – Long Term Vision and Plan expenditures in fiscal year 2014–15 (in millions of dollars)

Figure 0.02 – Long Term Vision and Plan expenditures in fiscal year 2014-15 (in millions of dollars) - Text description of the chart in the table below.
Table equivalent of Figure 0.02 – Long Term Vision and Plan expenditures in fiscal year 2014–15 (in millions of dollars)
Program Expenditures
Planning $10.72
Major Capital Program $306.94
Recapitalization Program $18.81
Building Components and Connectivity program $19.44

Looking ahead

The first priority—to rehabilitate the three main Parliament Buildings—is now in sight. Work on the West Block will be completed within the next two years, preliminary work has begun on the East Block, and the stage has been set for the full rehabilitation of the Centre Block to begin in 2018.

Getting to this point required the planning and delivery of a complex sequence of numerous inter-dependent projects throughout the Parliamentary Precinct over many years. At every step, PPB has worked with their Parliamentary Partners to develop strategies to accelerate the program of work and to deliver projects in an efficient and cost-effective manner.

There is much work ahead and PPB is committed to building on the successes and lessons learned to date to ensure that Parliament has the accommodations it needs to do its work, and that the Parliamentary Precinct continues as a proud symbol of the values treasured and celebrated by all Canadians.

Document navigation for "The Long Term Vision and Plan Annual Report 2014–15"

Date modified:

Sommaire – Rapport annuel 2014-2015 sur la vision et le plan à long terme

La Colline du Parlement est un lieu d'importance nationale pour les Canadiens. Son cadre enchanteur et ses édifices patrimoniaux emblématiques en font le symbole de l'histoire du pays et de l'identité collective. Elle représente en outre le futur de la nation grâce à la poursuite des travaux du Parlement canadien. Permettant des rassemblements lors de célébrations nationales, ses espaces publics sont l'expression de la démocratie. Par conséquent, il est nécessaire que les édifices et les terrains de la Cité parlementaire soient préservés et améliorés en vue d'appuyer les travaux en cours du pays et pour les prochaines générations de Canadiens et de Canadiennes à qui ils profiteront.

La vision et le plan à long terme

Dans la Cité parlementaire, la planification est une activité permanente qui permet d'examiner les conditions du site et des édifices tout en évaluant la meilleure façon de répondre aux besoins changeants des parlementaires. En 2007, la vision et le plan à long terme (VPLT) ont été mis à jour, ce qui confirmait la vision et les principes directeurs d'une gérance prudente de la Cité parlementaire, mais aussi que la réhabilitation des trois principaux édifices du Parlement, la triade parlementaire composée des édifices de l'Ouest, du Centre et de l'Est, est la priorité absolue.

Réaliser la vision et le plan à long terme

Grâce au travail effectué en collaboration avec ses partenaires parlementaires (le Sénat du Canada, la Chambre des communes et la Bibliothèque du Parlement) et avec d'autres intervenants clés, la Direction générale de la Cité parlementaire (DGCP) a fait ses preuves en ce qui concerne sa capacité à fournir des locaux et des services uniformes et de grande qualité pour les activités du Parlement. Elle a également bâti un héritage, pour l'ensemble de la population canadienne, par la préservation et par la modernisation des édifices du Parlement du Canada. Pour appuyer cet engagement, la DGCP est constamment à l'affût de façons de renforcer l'organisation et sa gouvernance afin de réaliser la VPLT de manière efficace et efficiente, grâce à une gestion responsable et à une bonne supervision. De plus, l'intégration des pratiques exemplaires de l'industrie, les partenariats avec les universités, l'influence des leçons apprises et un programme actif de rayonnement auprès des gouvernements étrangers garantissent que nous pourrons mener à bien des programmes de travaux complexes et difficiles.

La VPLT est mise en œuvre dans le cadre de programmes de travaux quinquennaux. Afin d'assurer la coordination, l'intégration et l'harmonisation avec l'ensemble de la vision et des principes directeurs de la VPLT, la DGCP réalise les projets dans le cadre des quatre programmes ci-après.

Trouver un équilibre entre la nécessité d'offrir un milieu de travail sain et sécuritaire pour les parlementaires tout en veillant à ce que le Parlement demeure ouvert et accessible pour les opérations et les visites devient de plus en plus difficile dans un contexte où les mesures de sécurité sont en pleine évolution à travers le monde et où le Canada doit faire face à de nouveaux enjeux en matière de sécurité. L'évolution rapide des exigences en matière de sécurité influence les changements technologiques et opérationnels et les modifications aux infrastructures. L'étendue de ces exigences est si vaste que la sécurité est devenue un important volet du programme de la VPLT.

Réalisations de la vision et du plan à long terme au cours de l'exercice 2014-2015

L'exercice 2014-2015 a été exceptionnel en matière de réalisation de projet. Tous les programmes ont dépassé leurs objectifs pour l'exercice; les programmes des grands projets d'immobilisations et de l'équipement et des éléments de connectivité des édifices (EECE) ont obtenu une note parfaite pour ce qui est du respect des délais, du budget et de la portée, et ce, pour les quatre trimestres, tandis que le programme de réfection a obtenu 94 % pour l'exercice. Tous les projets ont atteint ou dépassé leurs objectifs de rendement, à l'exception d'un seul projet qui a été retardé en raison de conditions météorologiques hivernales difficiles.

Les dépenses totales de la VPLT pour 2014-2015 s'élèvent à 355,9 millions de dollars, soit une augmentation de 25 % par rapport à 2013-2014. Cette tendance à la hausse, qui a commencé en 2010, reflète la maturité du programme de la VPLT et la concentration de grands travaux de réhabilitation et de construction en cours dans la Cité parlementaire. Pour plusieurs de ces projets, nous en sommes au plus fort des travaux. Les dépenses relatives aux grands projets d'immobilisations comptent pour 86,2 % du total des dépenses de la VPLT; encore une fois, elles sont le reflet de la portée et de la concentration des grands projets. L'exercice 2014-2015 comportait deux jalons importants : l'achèvement de la réhabilitation de l'édifice Sir-John-A.-Macdonald et l'avancement du projet de réhabilitation de l'édifice du Centre.

Réalisée dans le respect des délais et du budget, la restauration patrimoniale de l'édifice Sir-John-A.-Macdonald est exceptionnelle; les caractéristiques du patrimoine y côtoient la modernité. Cette installation, qui remplace la salle de la Confédération (salle 200 de l'édifice de l'Ouest), est une partie impressionnante du Parcours d'honneur de la capitale nationale. Elle illustre bien le potentiel de la DGCP quant à la gestion de projets et à la capacité d'assurer une saine gérance.

Pour garantir que le projet de réhabilitation de l'édifice du Centre sera bel et bien lancé en 2018, la DGCP a effectué, au cours de l'exercice 2014-2015, un programme détaillé de planification préliminaire des travaux. Cela comprend plusieurs études techniques, un répertoire complet de la grande collection d'œuvres d'art et d'artéfacts et des travaux préparatoires nécessaires à l'établissement de l'équipe multidisciplinaire qui sera chargé de la conception et de la réalisation du projet.

L'édifice du Centre doit être libéré avant de pouvoir y commencer les travaux de réhabilitation majeurs. Il faut donc que tous les locaux provisoires soient disponibles avant 2018. Au cours de 2014-2015, les travaux touchant l'édifice Wellington ont progressé au-delà des prévisions; ils sont achevés à 75 %. Ce projet sera achevé en 2016, puis ceux de l'édifice de l'Ouest et de la phase 1 du Centre d'accueil des visiteurs le seront en 2017. Le projet du Centre de conférences du gouvernement sera, quant à lui, achevé en 2018. À ce moment, l'édifice du Centre pourra être libéré.

Au cours de l'exercice 2014-2015, les projets du programme de réfection étaient principalement axés sur les travaux de réparation et de réfection des édifices de la Confédération et du Centre, y compris les préparatifs visant à loger 30 députés supplémentaires à la Chambre des communes après l'élection générale de l'automne 2015. Le programme de l'EECE a fait progresser plusieurs projets de modernisation de la TI de la Cité parlementaire, lesquels projets seront mis en œuvre au cours des années à venir dans plus d'une trentaine d'immeubles de la Cité parlementaire. Le programme de planification s'est continué avec l'évaluation des besoins élargis et à long terme des infrastructures de la Cité parlementaire et la détermination des problèmes de planification et de développement du secteur ouest de la Cité parlementaire et du côté sud de la rue Wellington.

Figure 0.01 – Dépenses liées à la Vision et au plan à long terme pour l'exercice 2014-2015

(en millions de dollars)
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice 2014-2015 (en millions de dollars) 358,00 $
Dépenses réelles pour l'exercice 2014-2015 (en millions de dollars) 355,91 $
Pourcentage consacré 99,4 %

Figure 0.02 – Les dépenses liées à la Vision et au plan à long terme pour l'exercice 2014-2015 (en millions de dollars)

Figure 0.02 – Les dépenses liées à la Vision et au plan à long terme pour l’exercice 2014-2015 (en millions de dollars) - Voir la description du graphique dans le tableau ci-dessous.
Tableau équivalent de la figure 0.02 – Les dépenses liées à la Vision et au plan à long terme pour l'exercice 2014-2015 (en millions de dollars)
Programme Dépenses
Programme de planification 10,72 $
Programme des grands projets d'immobilisations 306,94 $
Programme de réfection 18,81 $
Programme de l'équipement et des éléments de connectivité des édifices 19,44 $

Regard vers l'avenir

La priorité, soit de réhabiliter les trois principaux édifices du Parlement, n'est plus seulement un objectif lointain. En effet, les travaux dans l'édifice de l'Ouest seront terminés d'ici deux ans, les travaux préliminaires ont commencé dans l'édifice de l'Est et tous les éléments sont en place pour que la réhabilitation entière de l'édifice du Centre débute en 2018.

En arriver à ce point a exigé la planification et la réalisation, au cœur de la Cité parlementaire, d'une grande série de projets complexes et interdépendants, échelonnés sur de nombreuses années. À chaque étape, la DGCP a travaillé avec ses partenaires parlementaires afin d'élaborer des stratégies pour accélérer le programme de travaux et pour réaliser les projets de façon efficace et rentable.

Il reste encore beaucoup à faire et la DGCP s'est engagée à tenir compte de ses réussites et des leçons apprises à ce jour pour ainsi veiller à ce que le Parlement ait les locaux nécessaires pour remplir son rôle et que la Cité parlementaire demeure un fier symbole des valeurs que chérissent et défendent l'ensemble des Canadiens et des Canadiennes.

Navigation pour le Document « Vision et plan à long terme – Rapport annuel 2014-2015 »

Date de modification :