Alternative Formats and Plug-ins

Information throughout the Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) Web site is provided in Hypertext Markup Language (HTML) as the primary format. In some cases, other software formats are provided as alternatives. To open these alternate formats, you may need to download and install one or more of the following on your computer:

Portable Document Format (PDF)

Some of the pages available on our Web site are electronic versions of documents that were originally designed for printing. These documents may also be available for download in PDF so that you can view and print them with virtually the same graphics, typography and layout as the original version.

Before you can open any of the PDF documents on our Web site, you will first need to install one of the free PDF reader software programs from the list below.

Word Processing Software

  • DOC – Some files are available in Microsoft Word or Rich Text formats. To view these files you will need Microsoft Word Reader.
  • XLS – To read a spreadsheet in Microsoft Excel format, you will need the Microsoft Excel Viewer.
  • PPT – Presentations are available in Microsoft PowerPoint format. To view these files you will need PowerPoint Presentation Viewer.
  • RTF – Rich Text format. To access these files use the document conversion features available in most word processing software, or use a file viewer capable of reading RTF.

Media Players (for viewing interactive content)

Zip files

  • Why Zip files? - Zip files compress data and therefore save time and space, and make downloading software faster.
  • How do I open a Zip file? - After you have installed Zip software, you can open a Zip file by double clicking it in your browser and choosing “Unzip or install from an existing Zip file” in the WinZip Wizard. If you do not have Zip software on your computer, you can download many free versions.

These Web sites are outside of the control of PSPC and are listed solely for the convenience of our users. PSPC does not endorse any of the software found on these sites and is unable to provide technical assistance to users who install this software on their computers.

Autres formats et plugiciels

L'information figurant sur le site Web de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) est principalement fournie en format HTML. Dans certains cas, des documents sont offerts dans d'autres formats. Pour ouvrir ces documents, vous devrez peut-être télécharger et installer sur votre ordinateur un ou plusieurs des logiciels suivants :

Format de document portable (PDF)

Certaines pages de notre site Web sont des versions électroniques de documents initialement destinés à l'impression. Ces documents peuvent aussi être téléchargés en PDF afin de les visualiser et de les imprimer; les graphiques, la typographie et la mise en page sont quasi identiques aux versions imprimées.

Pour ouvrir un document PDF sur notre site Web, vous devez d'abord installer l'un des logiciels de lecture de fichiers PDF gratuits suivants :

Logiciel de traitement de texte

  • XLS – Pour consulter un document en format Microsoft Excel, vous devez utiliser Microsoft Excel Viewer.
  • PPT – Les exposés sont produits en format Microsoft PowerPoint. Pour les visualiser, vous aurez besoin de PowerPoint Presentation Viewer.
  • RTF – « Rich Text Format ». Pour consulter ces fichiers, utilisez les fonctions de conversion disponibles sur la plupart des logiciels de traitement de textes ou utilisez un logiciel de visualisation capable d'afficher le format RTF.

Diffuseurs de médias (pour visualiser du contenu interactif)

Fichiers compressés (ZIP)

  • Pourquoi utilise-t-on des fichiers ZIP? – Les fichiers ZIP compressent les données et, par conséquent, économisent du temps et de l'espace et accélèrent le téléchargement des logiciels.
  • Comment ouvre-t-on un fichier ZIP? – Après avoir installé le logiciel WinZip, vous pouvez ouvrir un fichier ZIP en faisant un double-clic dans votre navigateur et en choisissant « Décompresser ou installer un fichier Zip existant » dans l'Assistant WinZip. Si le logiciel WinZip n'est pas installé sur votre ordinateur, vous pouvez en télécharger de nombreuses versions gratuites.

Ces sites Web ne sont pas contrôlés par SPAC et sont fournis seulement parce qu'ils peuvent être utiles aux utilisateurs. SPAC n'approuve pas les logiciels figurant sur ces sites Web et n'est pas en mesure d'offrir une assistance technique aux utilisateurs qui installent ces logiciels sur leur ordinateur.