Chapter 3: Facility security clearances, Part II—Facility security clearance (classified)

On this page

350. General

  1. A facility security clearance (FSC) is an administrative determination that an organization is eligible, from a security viewpoint, for access to classified and protected information and assets of the same or lower classification level as the clearance being granted.

    Where an organization requires access to only protected information and assets, refer to Part I—Designated organization screening (protected) of this chapter.

  2. An FSC is required before an organization can be awarded contracts that have classified information or asset requirements.

    Certain individuals must be cleared in connection with an FSC. These individuals are referred to as key senior officials (KSOs). They include the company security officer (CSO), owners, officers, directors (of the board), executives and partners who occupy positions which may enable them to adversely affect an organization's policies or practices in the performance of classified contracts.

    The organization is responsible for determining its KSOs and for reporting this information to the appropriate field industrial security officer with the Canadian Industrial Security Directorate (CISD). CISD reserves the right to challenge the organization's list of KSOs, and to call for amendments or exclusions to this list.

    Refer to Annex 3-A: Designated organization screening requirements (protected information) and Annex 3-B: Facility security clearance requirements (classified information) in this chapter for specific levels of clearance required by KSOs, the CSO and employees requiring access, for each level and type of FSC.

  3. Organizations must have their KSOs cleared, as a minimum, to the classification level required before an FSC will be granted.
  4. Normally, an FSC is required before an organization can obtain personnel security clearances for employees other than KSOs. Clearance requests for other employees may be submitted concurrently. However, they will not be authorized until after the establishment of the FSC.
  5. In establishing the FSC, the Canadian head office will be inspected and, if classified safeguarding is required at the head office, must be inspected, and the FSC will include a site clearance for that office. In addition, a separate inspection and site clearance is required for each additional location where classified information or assets will be stored or handled.
  6. An FSC is based on an assessment of the following elements:
    1. the organization is not under adverse foreign influence
    2. the owners, officers, directors (of the board), executives and partners of the organization can be entrusted to participate in classified contracts
    3. the organization can protect classified information or assets at its facilities, when required
  7. The Director of CISD will notify the organization in writing as to whether an FSC has been granted.
  8. When an FSC is granted, an organization can request the clearance of their employees anywhere in Canada.

351. Personnel security clearances for key senior officials

  1. The CSO must maintain a current list of all KSOs, and submit a copy to CISD each time the list is amended. The list must designate by name and title those KSOs who are cleared, those not yet cleared but who are being processed for a personnel security clearance, and those who have been excluded from access to sensitive information.
    1. KSO exclusions. When the government has an urgent need to issue an FSC to an organization, CISD may temporarily waive the requirement that all KSOs be security cleared before an FSC is granted. The process for KSO exclusions will be considered to allow an organization to:
      1. receive a request for proposal (RFP) or other pre-contractual documentation containing classified information
      2. be awarded a classified contract
      3. continue with contracts when a company takeover has occurred
    2. Security procedures must exist within the organization to ensure that excluded KSOs are denied access to classified information and assets. The exclusion does not become effective until formally approved by the Director of CISD, who will also determine the number of excluded KSOs to be permitted, on a case-by-case basis. If the excluded official's position or responsibilities in the organization change, the CSO must notify CISD, who will review the exclusion. Exclusions will not normally be approved for the president or chief executive officer of an organization.

352. Parent organizations

  1. When an organization has a requirement to obtain classified document safeguarding capability (that is, the authorization for an organization to store and handle protected and classified information or assets at their work sites), its parent organization (if applicable) must also possess an FSC at the same level or it must be excluded from access to the classified information and assets held by the subsidiary organization. Where a parent organization exclusion is required, the organization must submit the following completed forms:
    1. Annex 3-D: Resolution of exemption of parent organization form
    2. Annex 3-E: Non-disclosure certificate form
    3. Annex 3-F: Subsidiary board resolution noting parent's exclusion and resolution to exclude parent organization form
  2. The exclusion of a parent organization does not become effective until formally approved by the Director of CISD, who will determine if there is a valid need for the exclusion of the parent organization.

353. Foreign ownership, control or influence

  1. In certain circumstances, such as involvement in extremely sensitive information security (INFOSEC) programs and contracts, there is a need to evaluate, in more detail, the ownership of an organization and the degree of influence exercised by owners and senior management personnel. In such cases, organizations would be required to provide full details concerning:
    1. corporate organization, up to ultimate ownership (direct or indirect)
    2. foreign directors or officers
    3. actual or potential foreign control or influence over the election, appointment or tenure of directors or officers
    4. ownership of foreign interests
    5. foreign contracts, agreements, understandings or arrangements
    6. foreign indebtedness or foreign sources of income
    7. the relationship between directors and foreign interests
  2. The existence of foreign ownership, control or influence does not, in itself, prohibit an organization from holding an FSC. Each case is assessed individually. In cases of an adverse foreign ownership, control or influence assessment, details will be discussed with the organization to determine whether certain measures can be taken to negate the risk or reduce it to an acceptable level.

354. Care and custody of classified information and assets

The organization's facility must meet the physical and administrative security requirements necessary for the performance of the classified work to be performed under the contract before an FSC with document safeguarding capability will be granted.

Refer to Chapter 4: Facility safeguarding, and Chapter 5: Handling and safeguarding of protected and classified information and assets of this manual. Specific guidance will be provided by the field industrial security officer with CISD.

355. Pre-contractual negotiations

Pre-contractual negotiations, involving classified information and assets, may not be initiated with the organization until after an FSC has been granted. This is also applicable when a cleared organization wishes to subcontract to another non-government organization.

356. Government of Canada security agreement

Prior to being granted an FSC, the organization must enter into an agreement with the Canadian government, whereby the organization undertakes to:

  1. abide by the provisions of this manual, and such other security requirements as may form part of a classified contract awarded to the organization
  2. permit CISD, or other government authorities at the request of CISD, to enter their premises at any time for the purpose of conducting security inspections
  3. not seek reimbursement from the government for security costs except as provided for in a contract

Refer to Annex 3-G: Public Services and Procurement Canada security agreement in this chapter.

357. Types of facility security clearances

  1. There are 3 types of FSCs:
    a. Personnel assigned (PA)
    This is the most basic type of FSC. It normally applies to those organizations involved in contracts for services as opposed to goods. A PA FSC will involve security screening of the organization's KSOs and employees. There is no requirement to evaluate the physical security status of the organization's facilities. A PA FSC does not authorize the organization to possess or store classified information and assets within its facilities.
    b. Document safeguarding capability (DSC)
    This type of FSC involves the security screening of the organization's KSOs and employees. In addition, the physical security of the organization's facilities is assessed to ensure they meet the requirements for the safeguarding of government information and assets. A DSC FSC will authorize the organization to possess and store classified information and assets at their facility.
    c. Production (PROD)
    This type of FSC includes all the same elements of a DSC FSC. In addition, the security of the manufacturing, repairing, modifying or otherwise working on classified components or items is assessed, to ensure they meet the government security requirements.
  2. Each type of FSC may be authorized at the classification level of Confidential, of Secret or Top Secret, or of NATO Confidential or NATO Secret.

358. Status of facility security clearance

Where organizations receive a request from other organizations, other government departments or other governments to confirm their FSC, such requests will be referred to CISD.

359. Period of validity

  1. An FSC granted by CISD is not awarded in perpetuity. An FSC is granted for the performance of a specific contract, or on the basis of registration where it appears an organization may receive a contract award. An FSC lapses on completion of the last classified contract, upon confirmation that registration is not renewed or both. The organization will be advised, in writing by CISD, when the FSC is about to be terminated, and will be given the opportunity to show cause for FSC continuation.
  2. An FSC will be suspended or revoked by CISD if the organization fails to maintain the required security standards. Existing contracts will be cancelled and the organization will not be eligible for future security-related contracts while the organization's FSC is under suspension.

360. Site clearances within an organization located in Canada

  1. Separate site clearances are necessary for each location where classified information or assets will be stored or handled.
  2. When classified document safeguarding is required at sites physically separate from the Canadian head office, the following conditions must be met at each location before a site clearance will be granted:
    1. the head office must have an FSC
    2. the KSO in charge of each location must be cleared to the required level
    3. at least one other employee must be cleared to the same level
      • in the case of a one-person operation or organization, CISD may consider an exception on a case-by-case basis
    4. at least 2 security officers must be appointed
    5. each location must meet the required physical and administrative security requirements

361. Branch office outside of Canada

  1. For the purpose of this manual, a branch office is not considered to be a separate legal entity requiring a separate FSC.
  2. Where it is necessary to safeguard classified information and assets at a branch office outside of Canada, the Canadian head office must submit a written request for clearance to CISD, in order that the appropriate action may be taken with the designated industrial security authority of that nation. Depending on the country involved, CISD may not always be able to establish safeguarding capability at the branch office(s).

362. Reciprocal facility security clearances

  1. For the purpose of this manual, a subsidiary is considered to be a separate legal entity requiring a separate FSC.
  2. Under a number of industrial security agreements (such as between the United States and Canada), CISD can request a foreign government to grant a reciprocal FSC to a subsidiary of a Canadian organization located in another country. This is useful when the subsidiary wishes to get involved as a subcontractor in a Canadian classified contract.

    Note: Reciprocal FSCs are somewhat restricted. For the most part, a reciprocal FSC will only permit the subsidiary to get involved in Canadian classified work. Involvement in classified contracts with the government of the country in which the subsidiary is located may not be permitted with this type of FSC.

  3. When a Canadian subsidiary requires an FSC for involvement or potential involvement in classified work for the government of the country in which it is located, the subsidiary may be required to apply directly to the industrial security authorities of that country for a regular FSC. (CISD can provide points of contact of industrial security authorities in other countries.) In most cases, the subsidiary will have to be incorporated in that country before qualifying for an FSC.

Annexes

Date modified:

Chapitre 3 : Attestations d'organisations, Partie II – Attestation de sécurité d'installations (classifié)

Sur cette page

350. Généralités

  1. L'attestation de sécurité d'installations (ASI) est une décision administrative selon laquelle l'organisation peut, au plan de la sécurité, avoir accès à des renseignements et à des biens protégés et classifiés à un niveau de classification égal ou inférieur à celui de l'attestation délivrée.

    Lorsqu'une organisation doit avoir accès uniquement à des renseignements et à des biens protégés, il faut consulter la Partie I – Attestation de sécurité d'installations (protégé) du présent chapitre.

  2. Avant qu'on puisse attribuer à l'organisation des contrats portant sur des renseignements ou des biens classifiés, elle doit justifier d'une ASI.

    Certains particuliers doivent justifier d'une ASI. On les appelle les cadres supérieurs clés (CSC). Il s'agit notamment de l'agent de la sécurité de l'entreprise (ASE), des propriétaires, des dirigeants, des administrateurs (du conseil d'administration), des cadres et des associés qui occupent des postes pouvant leur permettre d'exercer une influence sur les politiques ou les pratiques de l'organisation dans l'exécution des contrats classifiés.

    L'organisation doit désigner ses CSC et faire connaître leur nom à l'agent local de la sécurité industrielle compétent de la Direction de la sécurité industrielle canadienne (DSIC). La DSIC se réserve le droit de remettre en question la liste des CSC de l'organisation et d'exiger que cette dernière y apporte des modifications ou y exclut des noms.

    Veuillez consulter l'Annexe 3-A : Exigences relatives à la vérification d'organisation désignée (renseignements protégés) et l'Annexe 3-B : Exigences relatives à l'attestation de sécurité d'installation (renseignements classifiés) dans le présent chapitre pour connaître les niveaux précis d'attestations dont doivent justifier les CSC, l'ASE et les employés qui doivent avoir accès à des renseignements ou à des biens pour chaque niveau et chaque type d'ASI.

  3. Les organisations doivent obtenir à tout le moins, pour leurs CSC, une attestation de sécurité au niveau de classification exigé avant qu'on leur délivre une ASI.
  4. Normalement, l'organisation doit justifier d'une ASI avant de pouvoir obtenir des cotes de sécurité du personnel pour les employés autres que des CSC. Elle peut déposer parallèlement des demandes d'attestation pour d'autres employés. Toutefois, les employés ne seront autorisés à consulter les renseignements ou à utiliser les biens que lorsqu'ils justifieront de l'ASI.
  5. Pour l'établissement de l'ASI, le siège social au Canada sera inspecté; s'il faut conserver des documents classifiés à ce siège social, il sera inspecté, et l'ASI comprendra une attestation de sécurité d'emplacement pour ce siège social. En outre, il faudra procéder à une inspection distincte et délivrer une attestation de site différente pour chaque établissement supplémentaire dans lequel on conserve ou traite des renseignements ou des biens classifiés.
  6. L'ASI est délivrée d'après l'évaluation des éléments suivants :
    1. l'organisation n'est pas soumise à une influence étrangère
    2. on peut faire confiance aux propriétaires, ou dirigeants, aux administrateurs (du conseil d'administration), aux cadres supérieurs et aux associés de l'organisation pour qu'ils participent à des contrats classifiés
    3. l'organisation peut protéger les renseignements ou les biens classifiés dans ses installations (le cas échéant)
  7. Le directeur de la DSIC fera savoir par écrit à l'organisation si on lui a délivré une ASI.
  8. Lorsqu'une ASI lui est délivrée, l'organisation peut demander qu'on délivre cette attestation à ses employés n'importe où au Canada.

351. Cote de sécurité du personnel pour les cadres supérieurs clés

  1. L'ASE doit tenir à jour la liste de tous les CSC et en soumettre un exemplaire à la DSIC chaque fois qu'on la modifie. Cette liste doit comprendre le nom et le titre des CSC qui possèdent une cote de sécurité, de ceux qui ne la possèdent pas encore, mais dont la demande est en traitement et de ceux qui ont été exclus parce qu'ils ne peuvent avoir accès à des renseignements classifiés.
    1. Exclusion des CSC. Lorsque le gouvernement doit, de toute urgence, délivrer une ASI à une organisation, la DSIC peut temporairement renoncer à l'exigence selon laquelle tous les CSC doivent justifier d'une cote de sécurité avant qu'on leur délivre une ASI. On fait appel au processus d'exclusion de CSC pour permettre à l'organisation :
      1. de recevoir une demande de propositions (DDP) ou d'autres documents précontractuels renfermant des documents classifiés
      2. de se faire attribuer un contrat classifié
      3. de poursuivre l'exécution des contrats malgré une prise de contrôle de l'entreprise
    2. Il doit exister des procédures de sécurité au sein de l'organisation, pour s'assurer que les CSC exclus n'ont pas accès aux renseignements et aux biens classifiés. L'exclusion n'entre pas en vigueur tant qu'elle n'a pas été approuvée officiellement par le directeur de la DSIC, qui détermine également le nombre permis de CSC exclus dans chaque cas particulier. Si le poste ou les responsabilités du cadre exclu changent au sein de l'organisme, l'ASE doit prévenir la DSIC, qui revoit l'exclusion. Les exclusions ne sont normalement pas approuvées pour le président ou le chef de la direction de l'organisation.

352. Organisations parentes

  1. Lorsque l'organisation doit obtenir une autorisation de détenir des renseignements classifiés (c'est-à-dire l'autorisation pour une organisation de stocker et de traiter des renseignements et des biens protégés ou classifiés sur son lieu de travail), son organisation mère doit elle aussi (le cas échéant) justifier d'une ASI au même niveau ou se voir refuser l'accès aux renseignements et aux biens classifiés détenus par l'organisation filiale. Dans les cas où il faut exclure une organisation mère, l'organisation doit soumettre les formulaires suivants, qui doivent être remplis en bonne et due forme :
    1. Annexe 3-D : Formulaire de résolution en vue de l'exemption d'une organisation mère
    2. Annexe 3-E : Formulaire de certificat de non-divulgation
    3. Annexe 3-F : Formulaire de résolution du conseil d'administration d'une filiale constatant l'exclusion de l'organisation mère et résolution d'exclusion de l'organisation mère
  2. L'exclusion d'une organisation mère n'entre pas en vigueur tant qu'elle n'est pas approuvée officiellement par le directeur de la DSIC, qui décide si l'exclusion de l'organisation parente est justifiée par des motifs valables.

353. Propriété, contrôle et influence de l'étranger

  1. Dans certains cas, par exemple lorsqu'il faut participer à des contrats et à des programmes relatifs à la sécurité de l'information, de nature extrêmement délicate (INFOSEC), il faut évaluer plus en détail la propriété de l'organisation et l'importance de l'influence exercée par les propriétaires et la haute direction. Dans ces cas, l'organisation doit fournir des détails complets sur :
    1. sa structure institutionnelle, jusqu'au niveau de sa propriété ultime (directe ou indirecte)
    2. ses administrateurs ou dirigeants étrangers
    3. le contrôle ou l'influence effectif ou potentiel de l'étranger dans l'élection, la nomination ou la durée des fonctions des administrateurs ou des dirigeants
    4. la propriété des intérêts étrangers
    5. les contrats, accords, conventions ou ententes avec l'étranger
    6. la dette étrangère ou les sources de revenus étrangères
    7. les liens entre les administrateurs et les intérêts étrangers
  2. L'existence de la propriété, du contrôle ou de l'influence de l'étranger n'interdit pas en soi à l'organisation d'être titulaire d'une ASI. Chaque cas est évalué individuellement. Dans les cas où la propriété, le contrôle ou l'influence de l'étranger fait l'objet d'une évaluation défavorable, on discute des détails avec l'organisation pour savoir si on peut prendre certaines mesures afin de se prémunir contre les risques ou de les ramener à un niveau satisfaisant.

354. Conservation et garde des renseignements et des biens classifiés

Les installations de l'organisation doivent respecter les exigences relatives à la sécurité matérielle et administrative pour l'exécution des travaux classifiés à réaliser dans le cadre du contrat, avant qu'on délivre à l'organisation une ASI assortie de la cote de protection des documents.

Veuillez consulter le Chapitre 4 : Protection des installations et le Chapitre 5 : Manipulation et sauvegarde des renseignements et des biens classifiés et protégés du présent manuel. L'agent local de la sécurité industrielle de la DSIC donnera des lignes directrices précises à ce sujet.

355. Négociations précontractuelles

On ne peut pas amorcer avec l'organisation, avant de lui avoir délivré une ASI, de négociations précontractuelles dans le cas des contrats portant sur des renseignements et des biens classifiés. Cette condition s'applique également lorsque l'organisation cotée souhaite faire appel à une autre organisation non gouvernementale à titre de sous-traitant.

356. Accord de sécurité avec le gouvernement du Canada

Avant de se faire délivrer une ASI, l'organisation doit conclure un accord avec le gouvernement du Canada; en vertu de cet accord, l'organisation s'engage à :

  1. respecter les dispositions du présent manuel et toutes les autres exigences en matière de sécurité qui peuvent faire partie d'un contrat classifié attribué à l'organisation
  2. permettre à la DSIC ou à d'autres administrations gouvernementales, à la demande de la DSIC, d'avoir accès aux locaux de l'organisation n'importe quand pour procéder à des inspections de sécurité
  3. ne pas se faire rembourser par le gouvernement les frais de sécurité, sauf dans les cas prévus dans un contrat

Veuillez consulter l'Annexe 3-G : Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada – accord sur la sécurité dans le présent chapitre.

357. Types d'attestations de sécurité d'installations

  1. Il existe 3 types d'ASI :

    a. Personnel affecté (PA)
    Il s'agit du type d'ASI le plus élémentaire. Cette attestation est normalement délivrée aux organisations qui participent à des marchés de services plutôt qu'à des marchés de biens. L'attribution de l'ASI pour le PA donne lieu à une enquête de sécurité sur les CSC et les employés de l'organisation. Il n'est pas nécessaire d'évaluer la sécurité matérielle des installations de l'organisation. Une ASI pour le PA n'a pas pour effet d'autoriser l'organisation à posséder ou à archiver des renseignements et des biens classifiés dans ses installations.
    b. Autorisation de détenir des renseignements (ADR)
    Ce type d'ASI prévoit une enquête de sécurité sur les CSC et les employés de l'organisation. On évalue en outre la sécurité matérielle des installations de l'organisation pour s'assurer qu'elle respecte les exigences relatives à la protection des renseignements et des biens du gouvernement. L'ASI comportant une ADR autorise l'organisation à posséder et à archiver des renseignements et des biens classifiés dans ses installations.
    c. Production (PROD)
    Ce type d'ASI comprend tous les éléments de l'ASI pour l'ADR. En outre, on évalue la sécurité de la fabrication, de la réparation, de la modification des composants ou des articles classifiés ou des travaux effectués sur ces composants ou articles, afin de s'assurer qu'ils respectent les exigences relatives à la sécurité du gouvernement.
  2. Chaque type d'ASI peut être autorisé au niveau de Confidentiel, Secret ou Très secret, ou OTAN Confidentiel ou OTAN Secret.

358. État de l'attestation de sécurité d'installations

Les organisations doivent faire suivre à la DSIC les demandes adressées par d'autres organisations, des ministères ou des gouvernements pour confirmer leur ASI.

359. Période de validité

  1. L'ASI délivrée par la DSIC ne l'est pas en permanence. Cette attestation est délivrée pour l'exécution d'un contrat précis ou lorsque l'organisation est inscrite et qu'il semble qu'elle pourrait se faire attribuer un contrat. L'ASI prend fin au terme du dernier contrat classifié et/ou lorsque l'on confirme que l'inscription ne sera pas renouvelé. La DSIC doit faire connaître par écrit à l'organisation la date à laquelle l'ASI prendra fin et lui donner l'occasion de démontrer les raisons pour lesquelles cette attestation devrait être prorogée.
  2. La DSIC suspend ou révoque l'ASI si l'organisation ne respecte pas les normes de sécurité voulues. Les contrats en vigueur sont annulés et l'organisation ne pourra pas prétendre à d'autres contrats comportant des exigences en matière de sécurité lorsque son ASI est suspendue.

360. Attestations de site au sein d'une organisation ayant son siège au Canada

  1. Des attestations de site distinctes sont nécessaires pour chaque établissement dans lequel des renseignements ou des biens classifiés seront archivés ou traités.
  2. Dans les cas où il faut protéger des documents classifiés dans des établissements physiquement distincts du siège social au Canada, il faut respecter les conditions suivantes dans chaque établissement avant de délivrer à l'organisation une attestation de site :
    1. le siège social doit être titulaire d'une ASI
    2. le CSC de chaque établissement doit justifier d'une cote au niveau voulu
    3. au moins un autre employé doit justifier d'une cote au même niveau
      • dans le cas des entreprises individuelles, la DSIC peut éventuellement autoriser une exception dans chaque cas particulier
    4. au moins 2 agents de sécurité doivent être désignés
    5. chaque établissement doit respecter les exigences matérielles et administratives relatives à la sécurité

361. Succursale hors du Canada

  1. Pour les besoins du présent manuel, on ne considère pas une succursale comme une personne morale distincte à laquelle il faut attribuer une ASI différente.
  2. Lorsqu'il est nécessaire de protéger des renseignements et des biens classifiés dans une succursale hors du Canada, le siège social au Canada doit soumettre à la DSIC une demande écrite d'attestation, pour que cette dernière puisse prendre les mesures nécessaires avec l'administration de la sécurité industrielle désignée dans le pays visé. Selon le pays en cause, il se peut que la DSIC ne puisse pas toujours établir la cote de protection de la succursale.

362. Réciprocité des attestations de sécurité d'installations réciproques

  1. Pour les besoins du présent manuel, on considère qu'une filiale est une personne morale distincte, à laquelle il faut attribuer une ASI différente.
  2. En vertu d'un certain nombre d'accords sur la sécurité industrielle (par exemple entre les États-Unis et le Canada), la DSIC peut demander à un gouvernement étranger de délivrer une ASI réciproque à une filiale d'une entreprise canadienne ayant des bureaux dans un autre pays. Cette attestation est utile lorsque cette filiale veut participer, à titre de sous-traitant, à un contrat classifié au Canada.

    Nota : Il est toutefois important de noter que les ASI réciproques sont en quelque sorte restreintes. Essentiellement, l'ASI réciproque permet seulement à la filiale de participer à des travaux classifiés au Canada. Dans ce type d'ASI, il se pourrait qu'il ne soit pas permis de participer à des contrats classifiés avec le gouvernement du pays dans lequel la filiale a ses bureaux.

  3. Lorsqu'une filiale d'une entreprise canadienne doit justifier d'une ASI pour participer, actuellement ou éventuellement, à des travaux classifiés pour le gouvernement du pays dans lequel elle a des bureaux, elle peut être appelée à s'adresser directement à l'administration de la sécurité industrielle de ce pays pour lui demander une ASI normale. (La DSIC peut fournir les coordonnées des administrations de la sécurité industrielle dans les autres pays.) Dans la plupart des cas, cette filiale devra se constituer en société incorporée dans ce pays avant qu'on puisse lui délivrer une ASI.

Annexes

Date de modification :