How to transfer sensitive information and assets

The Contract Security Program ensures that information and assets that are transferred or exchanged as part of a sensitive government contract, whether in Canada or abroad, are safeguarded.

On this page

Methods of transfer

When do you use regular mail, email, courier or another method to transfer information? That will vary depending on the destination and level of security required.

Find out how to prepare and transfer your sensitive information and assets by consulting the Industrial Security Manual:

Standard transfer of information and assets—inside of Canada

With the exception of North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) transfers, a transfer within Canada does not need to come through the program. However, you should contact the program to ensure that the receiving organization has the appropriate clearance and safeguarding capability.

Standard transfer of information and assets—outside of Canada

Protected and classified information, assets and equipment need to be transferred through government-to-government channels when entering or leaving Canada. Canadian organizations must contact the Contract Security Program when transferring sensitive information or assets to or from Canada.

Plan ahead: timelines for shipment and approvals vary between countries.

North Atlantic Treaty Organization transfers

The Contract Security Program is responsible for all transfers of North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) information and assets by private sector organizations. Organizations can contact the program for more information.

Courier certificates for hand carriage

A courier certificate authorizes a representative of your organization to hand carry classified documents or equipment to or from Canada. Your organization should only use hand carriage if standard document transfer routes do not meet urgent timelines.

Your company security authority can issue a courier certificate, and must give the program at least 7 business days before the scheduled day of departure. This allows time for the program to obtain agreement from the foreign authority, and to process the request. If justified, urgent processing will be considered.

You can find guidelines for courier certificates in the Industrial Security Manual:

You must complete the following forms for hand carriage:

You must consult the following notes for hand carriage:

Bulk transfer

The program will assist with the transfer of bulk shipments of sensitive information and assets within Canada and internationally.

The company security officer (CSO) or alternate company security officer (ACSO) is responsible for submitting the following to the program for bulk transfer:

You can review guidelines for bulk transfers in the Industrial Security Manual:

Transportation plan

Transportation plans are used to coordinate the shipment of oversized items and bulk shipments that cannot be shipped using regular channels. Plans are approved based on bilateral industrial security agreements or arrangements with the receiving or transferring country.

The plan should include:

Notice of consignment

A notice of consignment is used in conjunction with a transportation plan and is required for each shipment involving protected or classified information or assets. It must provide a description of the:

Project security instruction

Project security instruction provides information about contract security requirements that may fall outside of internationally-recognized standards and Memorandum of Understanding with the program's foreign partners.

A project security instruction:

It must include information on the transmission of protected and classified information and assets, on visits, and on the document transfer procedures agreed upon by all participants.

Who prepares a project security instruction

The government department in charge of the contract drafts the project security instruction. It should include at minimum the following details:

Transferring classified documents from United States military commands to Canadian industry

In some cases, an organization will need a United States classified security annex to prepare a request for proposal. All requests for these transfers must come through the program. This applies only to the transfer of classified information from U.S. military commands.

In their request, organizations must provide the program with information about the following:

More information

Date modified:

Transfert de renseignements et de biens de nature délicate

Le personnel du Programme de sécurité des contrats s'assure que les renseignements et les biens transférés ou échangés dans le cadre d'un contrat de nature délicate conclu avec le gouvernement, au Canada ou à l'étranger, sont protégés.

Sur cette page

Méthodes de transfert

Dans quelles circonstances est-il approprié d'utiliser le service postal ordinaire, le courriel, les services de messagerie ou une autre méthode pour transférer des renseignements? La méthode à utiliser dépend de la destination et du niveau de sécurité requis.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la façon de préparer et de transférer les renseignements et les biens de nature délicate en consultant le Manuel de la sécurité industrielle :

Transfert standard de renseignements et de biens – au Canada

Au Canada, à l'exception de ceux qui concernent l'Organisation du Traité de l'Atlantique Nord (OTAN), les transferts n'ont pas à transiter par le programme. Vous devriez cependant consulter le personnel du programme afin de vous assurer que l'organisation destinataire détient l'attestation de sécurité et l'autorisation de détenir des renseignements requises.

Transfert standard de renseignements et de biens – à l'extérieur du Canada

L'équipement, les renseignements et les biens protégés et classifiés doivent être transférés par les circuits gouvernementaux officiels lorsqu'ils entrent au Canada ou lorsqu'ils quittent le pays. Les organisations canadiennes doivent communiquer avec le personnel du Programme de sécurité des contrats en cas de transfert de renseignements ou de biens de nature délicate en provenance ou à destination du Canada.

Planifiez à l'avance : les délais d'expédition et d'approbation varient selon les pays.

Transferts concernant l'Organisation du Traité de l'Atlantique Nord

Le programme est responsable de tous les transferts de renseignements et de biens de l'OTAN par des organisations du secteur privé. Les organisations concernées peuvent communiquer avec le personnel du programme pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires.

Ordres de mission de messager pour les envois par porteur

Un ordre de mission de messagerie autorise un représentant de votre organisation à transporter de l'équipement ou des documents classifiés en provenance ou à destination du Canada. Votre organisation ne devrait recourir à cette méthode de transfert que si les voies de transfert de documents habituelles sont inadéquates en raison d'un manque de temps.

L'autorité responsable de la sécurité de votre entreprise peut délivrer un ordre de mission de messagerie. Elle doit en informer le personnel du Programme au moins 7 jours ouvrables avant la date prévue de l'expédition. Le personnel du Programme disposera ainsi d'un délai suffisant pour recevoir l'approbation de l'autorité étrangère concernée et traiter la demande. Au besoin, un traitement urgent sera envisagé.

Des directives sur les ordres de mission de messagerie se trouvent dans le Manuel de la sécurité industrielle :

Vous devez remplir les formulaires suivants pour avoir recours aux services de porteur :

Vous devez en outre consulter les notes à l'intention du messager :

Transfert en masse

Le personnel du programme facilite le transfert en masse de renseignements et de biens de nature délicate au Canada et à l'étranger.

L'agent de sécurité d'entreprise (ASE) ou l'agent de sécurité d'entreprise remplaçant (ASER) doit présenter les documents suivants au personnel du Programme pour toute demande de transfert en masse :

Vous pouvez consulter les directives sur le transfert en masse dans le Manuel de la sécurité industrielle :

Plan de transport

Le plan de transport est utilisé pour coordonner l'expédition d'articles surdimensionnés et les envois en masse qui ne peuvent être acheminés par les voies habituelles. Le plan est approuvé en fonction des accords bilatéraux de sécurité industrielle conclus avec le pays expéditeur ou destinataire.

Le plan doit comprendre :

Avis d'envoi

L'avis d'envoi est utilisé de concert avec le plan de transport et est requis pour chaque envoi de renseignements ou de biens protégés ou classifiés. Cet avis doit :

Instructions de sécurité d'un projet

Les instructions de sécurité d'un projet fournissent des renseignements sur les exigences de sécurité des contrats qui sont susceptibles de ne pas être visées par les normes internationales reconnues et les protocoles d'entente conclus avec les partenaires étrangers du programme.

Les instructions de sécurité d'un projet :

Ces instructions doivent donner de l'information concernant la transmission de renseignements et de biens protégés et classifiés, les visites connexes et les procédures de transfert de documents sur lesquelles se sont entendues toutes les entités qui participent au projet.

Qui rédige les instructions de sécurité d'un projet

Le ministère ou l'organisme fédéral responsable du contrat rédige les instructions de sécurité du projet. Ces instructions doivent, au minimum, faire part de ce qui suit :

Transfert de documents classifiés de commandements militaires américains à l'industrie canadienne

Dans certaines circonstances, une organisation peut avoir besoin d'un document de sécurité classifié des États-Unis pour préparer une demande de propositions. Toute demande de transfert à cet égard doit être présentée au personnel du programme. Cela s'applique uniquement aux transferts de renseignements classifiés en provenance de commandements militaires américains.

Dans leur demande, les organisations doivent fournir les renseignements suivants au personnel du programme :

Renseignements supplémentaires

Date de modification :