Canada Post Review

The Government of Canada conducted an independent review of Canada Post to ensure Canadians receive quality postal services at a reasonable price. Canadians from coast to coast to coast had a say in the services they value and need.

Follow:

Why we conducted the review

The goal of the review, a key mandate commitment of the Minister of Public Services and Procurement, was to help put Canada Post on a self-sustaining footing, while providing valuable services for Canadians well into the future. Views of Canadians matter and were taken into consideration throughout the review.

How the review was conducted

The independent review of Canada Post was carried out in two phases.

Phase 1

An independent four-member task force undertook an analysis of Canada Post’s services and current financial situation, conducted public opinion research, met with key stakeholders, and examined international best practices for postal delivery.

On September 12, 2016, the task force released a discussion paper, entitled Canada Post in the Digital Age. The paper was developed by the task force to inform Canadians, Parliamentarians and the Government on Canada Post Corporation’s financial situation, the needs of Canadians and viable options.

The results of the public opinion research that was conducted with Canadians, Indigenous peoples, and businesses are also available.

Phase 2

The House of Commons Standing Committee on Government Operations and Estimates consulted Canadians from coast to coast to coast. The information presented in the task force’s discussion paper: Canada Post in the Digital Age provided a starting point for the consultations. The paper is one of many sources that will be used to shape the future of Canada Post.

On December 13, 2016, the Standing Committee on Government Operations and Estimates’ released their report: The Way Forward for Canada Post. The Committee’s report includes recommendations to the Government on the future of Canada Post.

The government tabled its response to the Standing Committee’s report on April 12, 2017.

A new vision for Canada Post
Description for infographic

A new vision for Canada Post

Putting service to Canadians front and centre

  • Close to 64,000 employees
  • Delivering to 16 million addresses
  • Delivering over 8 billion pieces of mail

Government Decision

On January 24, 2018, the government announced a new vision for Canada Post that puts service to Canadians front and centre. In support of the new vision, the government outlined concrete actions and provided guidance for implementation of the renewal.

The renewal of Canada Post will ensure Canadians have access to high-quality service at a reasonable price, no matter where they live.

The actions the government is taking will position the Corporation to better adapt, meet challenges and take advantage of opportunities created by, among other things, new technologies, and the evolving expectations of its customers and the communities it serves.

Immediate and concrete actions in support of Canada Post’s new vision include:

  • Terminating Canada Post’s program to convert door-to-door delivery to community mailboxes.
  • Enhancing an accessible delivery program for seniors and Canadians with mobility challenges to reduce obstacles to access mail.
  • Reclassifying Canada Post under the Financial Administration Act so that it can reinvest all of its profits in service and innovation.
  • Increasing Canada Post’s promotion of its remittance services for Canadians who send money overseas to support family members.
  • Renewing Canada Post’s leadership by appointing a new Chair of the Board of Directors to oversee the implementation of the government’s new vision and build more collaborative relationships with communities, employees, labour and other stakeholders. This appointment is an important part of a wider change in leadership at Canada Post, which will also reflect greater diversity and broader perspectives, including labour.
Date modified:

Examen de Postes Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada a entrepris un examen indépendant de Postes Canada pour s’assurer que les Canadiens obtiennent des services de qualité à un prix raisonnable. Les Canadiens d’un bout à l’autre du pays ont eu leur mot à dire au sujet des services dont ils ont besoin et auxquels ils tiennent.

Suivez :

Objectif de l’examen

L’examen, qui constitue un engagement clé du mandat de la ministre des Services publics et de l’Approvisionnement, visait à assurer la durabilité de Postes Canada, tout en permettant à l’organisation d’offrir des services de qualité à la population canadienne pendant de nombreuses années à venir. L’avis des Canadiens est important et a été pris en considération tout au long de l’examen.

Déroulement de l’examen

L’examen indépendant de Postes Canada a été effectué en deux étapes.

Étape 1

Un groupe de travail indépendant, composé de quatre membres, a examiné les services ainsi que la situation financière actuelle de Postes Canada, a effectué des recherches sur l’opinion publique, a rencontré des intervenants clés et a examiné des pratiques exemplaires internationales en matière de services postaux.

Le 12 septembre 2016, le groupe de travail a publié un document de travail intitulé Postes Canada à l’ère du numérique. Ce document a été rédigé par le groupe de travail pour renseigner la population canadienne, les parlementaires et le gouvernement du Canada au sujet de la situation financière de la Société canadienne des postes, des besoins des Canadiens et des options viables.

Les résultats de la recherche sur l’opinion publique menée auprès des Canadiens, des Autochtones et des entreprises sont aussi accessibles.

Étape 2

Le Comité permanent des opérations gouvernementales et des prévisions budgétaires de la Chambre des communes a mené des consultations auprès de la population canadienne d’un bout à l’autre du pays. L’information qui figure dans le document de travail Postes Canada à l’ère du numérique constituait le point de départ des consultations. Le document de travail, entre autres, servira à façonner l’avenir de Postes Canada.

Le 13 décembre 2016, le Comité permanent des opérations gouvernementales et des prévisions budgétaires a publié son rapport intitulé La voie à suivre pour Postes Canada. Le rapport du Comité comprend les recommandations du gouvernement sur l’avenir de Postes Canada.

Le gouvernement a déposé sa réponse au rapport du Comité permanent le 12 avril 2017.

Une nouvelle vision pour Postes Canada
Description pour infographie

Une nouvelle vision pour Postes Canada

Nous mettons à l’avant plan le service aux Canadiens

  • Près de 64 000 employés
  • Nous livrons à 16 millions d'adresses
  • Nous livrons plus de 8 milliards d’envois postaux

Décision du gouvernement

Le 24 janvier 2018, le gouvernement a présenté une nouvelle vision de Postes Canada qui est axée sur le service aux Canadiens. Pour appuyer cette nouvelle vision, le gouvernement a proposé des mesures concrètes et présenté une nouvelle orientation pour la mise en œuvre du renouvellement.

Le renouvellement de Postes Canada permettra d’assurer un service de grande qualité à prix raisonnable aux Canadiens, peu importe leur lieu de résidence.

Les mesures que prend le gouvernement permettra à la Société de mieux s’adapter, de relever les défis et de profiter des occasions créées, entre autres, les nouvelles technologies et les attentes changeantes de ses clients et des collectivités qu’elle dessert.

Voici les mesures immédiates et concrètes pour appuyer la nouvelle vision de Postes Canada :

  • Mettre fin au programme de Postes Canada visant à convertir la livraison à domicile aux boîtes postales communautaires;
  • Améliorer le programme de de livraison accessible à l’intention des aînés et des Canadiens à mobilité réduite afin de faciliter l’accès au courrier;
  • Reclasser Postes Canada en vertu de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques pour qu’elle puisse réinvestir tous ses profits dans les services et dans l’innovation;
  • Promouvoir davantage les services d’envoi de Postes Canada auprès des Canadiens qui envoient de l’argent à leur famille à l’étranger;
  • Renouveler la direction de Postes Canada en nommant une nouvelle présidente du conseil d’administration, qui dirigera la mise en œuvre la nouvelle vision du gouvernement et tissera des liens tisser des liens plus collaborateurs avec les collectivités, les employés, la main-d’œuvre et d’autres intervenants. Cette nouvelle direction sera plus diversifiée et offrira une perspective plus large, notamment en ce qui concerne la main-d’œuvre.
Date de modification :