Organic agriculture

On this page

Standards

The most recent versions of the organic agriculture standards are available for downloading via Government of Canada publications:

Review of standards

Gatineau, Quebec, June 2018—Public Services and Procurement Canada's Canadian General Standards Board (CGSB) announces the next review for the National Standards of Canada on organic agriculture, CAN/CGSB-32.310—Organic production systems—General principles and management standards, and CAN/CGSB-32.311—Organic productions systems—Permitted substances lists.

CGSB standards are subject to review and revision to ensure that they keep abreast of technological progress. Suggestions for their improvement, which are always welcome, should be brought to the attention of the Committee on Organic Agriculture.

To obtain a copy of the current revision proposal form, please contact Canadian General Standards Board.

Review of standard committee on organic agriculture membership

All CGSB standards committee members are volunteers. Membership in a CGSB standards committee is open to any individual or organization that has a direct interest in the standards committee's decisions, an expressed interest in standards development and are able to make an active contribution. The composition of the committee on organic agriculture includes producers, users, general interest and regulatory representatives.

A standards committee has two types of members: voting and non-voting. The most recent voting membership is published in the last edition of the standards. CGSB strives to ensure that the representation from each interest category is balanced to prevent any single group from dominating the standards committee's voting procedures.

Members should have technical expertise and practical experience related to the work of the committee.

Members will receive:

  • all correspondence relating to the Committee
  • copies of any draft standards, minutes, and notices of meetings
  • and other relevant committee documents

To obtain more information about committee membership, please contact Canadian General Standards Board.

Status in regulation

As of June 30, 2009, the Organic Products Regulations, 2009 (SOR/2009-176) require mandatory certification to the revised National Organic Standards for agricultural products represented as organic in international and inter-provincial trade, or that bear the federal organic agricultural product legend (or federal logo). On January 15, 2019, the Organic Products Regulations, 2009 will be replaced by Part 13 of the Safe Food for Canadians Regulations when they come into force.

For more information regarding regulation, please consult the Canadian Food Inspection Agency website.

Organic agriculture standards development history

First edition (1999)

In December 1996, the Canadian Organic Advisory Board, an industry group representing the interests of groups of organic farmers and certification bodies throughout Canada, and Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC) approached the CGSB to develop a National Standard of Canada (NSC) for organic agriculture. The CGSB established the Standards Committee on Organic Agriculture (the "Committee") that prepared and reviewed six drafts of the standard between January 1997 and March 1999. The national standard entitled Organic Agriculture (CAN/CGSB-32.310) was published in June 1999.

The national standard outlined principles for organic agriculture that endorse sound production and management practices to enhance the quality and sustainability of the environment, and ensure the ethical treatment of livestock. It also specified the minimum criteria that must be met when food products, inputs and other products used in organic production are defined as organic, or by comparable wording described in this standard.

Second edition (2006)

In 2002, in order to facilitate trade with major partners including the European Union (EU), the United States (U.S.) and Japan, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC) requested that the CGSB revise the National Standard of Canada (NSC) for Organic Agriculture. The revisions were intended to ensure that the Canadian standard met the requirements of these trading partners.

Comparative tables of the European Union (EU), United States (U.S.) and Japan regimes, the United Nations' Codex Alimentarius Commission "Guidelines for the Production, Processing, Labelling, and Marketing of Organic Food", and the Canadian standard, were prepared and considered by Committee members in developing the revised national standard. Additional issues considered during this revision included provisions made to the standard because of expected reference in regulations.

Two national standards were published in September 2006: CAN/CGSB-32.310-2006, Organic Production Systems: General Principles and Management Standards, and CAN/CGSB-32.311-2006, Organic Production Systems: Permitted Substances List.

Second edition amendments (2008, 2009 and 2011)

The 2006 edition of the national standards were amended three times. The amendments were required to address items from the previous revision that were placed on a Future Work List. These items include the removal of references to and the discretion of Certification Bodies throughout the standard, clarification of technical requirements, and the addition of new technical requirements and substances to the Permitted Substances List. The Canadian Organic Growers Inc. sponsored the revision, with funding obtained from the Advancing Canadian Agriculture and Agri-Food Program of Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC).

As well, in 2006, the Organic Products Regulations were put in place by the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA), requiring additional changes to the standards.

Third edition

The CGSB Committee on Organic Agriculture was sponsored by the Standards Council of Canada to develop new editions of the organic production systems standards. The CGSB Committee for Organic Agriculture was re-established in 2013 and selected Mr. Hugh Martin as the chair of the committee. The committee addressed several hundred work items over two years and four meetings, held in Gatineau and Vancouver. The new editions were published in November 2015 and included a committee motion to develop a process to update the Permitted Substances List on a more frequent basis while still adhering to requirements of a National Standard of Canada.

Third edition amendments (2018)

The 2015 edition of the national standards were amended in 2018. The amendments were required to address items from the previous revision.

Frequently asked questions on the organic production systems standard

Note

These frequently asked questions (FAQ) address only the process that the CGSB uses to revise the organic agriculture standards. For information on generic CGSB process questions, see standards development. Other departments and agencies of the Government of Canada are responsible for addressing issues that are outside of the CGSB's mandate. Where the CGSB cannot provide an answer, it does indicate where further assistance may be obtained.

Why is it important to have Canadian standards on organic production systems?

A single, consensus standard recognized by producers, users and government has many advantages. They include easy identification of product ingredients through labelling and common language, promotion of user confidence, and representation of a variety of views and expertise.

The aims of the organic production systems standards are:

  • to protect consumers against deception and fraud in the marketplace, and unsubstantiated product claims
  • to protect producers of organic products against unsubstantiated claims or misrepresentation of other agricultural products as being organic
  • to ensure that all stages of production, preparation, storage, transportation and marketing are subject to inspection and comply with these standards
  • to harmonize Canadian provisions for the production, certification, identification and labelling of organic products with international ones

Is the 2015 edition of the standards voluntary or mandatory?

All National Standards of Canada are voluntary standards. However, some CGSB standards have become mandatory because they are referenced in regulation by a regulatory body or in procurement schemes.

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC) and the Canadian Food Inspection Agency—Organic Products (CFIA) developed and put in place the Organic Products Regulations, 2009 (SOR/2009-176). The 2015 edition of the standards is the foundation on which the national federal regulation is built, and is referenced in the regulation.

What do the standards cover?

CAN/CGSB-32.310, Organic Production Systems: General Principles and Management Standards, describes the principles and management standards of organic production systems. This standard outlines the principles of sound organic farming systems throughout the production, processing, storage, transportation, labelling and marketing stages: the production of high quality food using sustainable management practices, which avoid damage to the environment, and ensure the ethical treatment of livestock.

The standard specifies criteria that must be met when food products and other inputs used in organic production are described as organic, including production, processing and handling of organically produced foods. These minimum requirements must be met or exceeded in order to meet this standard for organic agriculture. The standard includes sections on Definitions and Terminology; Organic Plan, which includes Record Keeping and Identification; Crop Production; Livestock Production; Specific Production Requirements; Preparation and Handling of Organic Products; Emergency Pest or Disease Treatment; Labelling and Claims, and the Requirements for Adding or Amending Substances in CAN/CGSB-32.311.

The standard does not cover issues such as implementation and regulations, which are outside the scope of the Standard Committee on Organic Agriculture's mandate. CAN/CGSB-32.311, Organic Production Systems—Permitted Substances Lists, provides lists of substances that are allowed for use in organic production systems. It is not a list of commercial products.

What substances are permitted and prohibited for use in organic agriculture?

CAN/CGSB-32.311, Organic Production Systems—Permitted Substances Lists, includes the following substances lists:

  • crop production including fertilizers, plant foods, soil amendments, crop production aids and materials, and weed management
  • livestock production including feed, feed additives and feed supplements, health care products and production aids
  • processing and sanitation including organic ingredients, non-organic ingredients and with organic ingredients, processing aids, cleaners, disinfectants and sanitizers, and pest control substances

The application and use of these substances must be in accordance with the requirements outlined in CAN/CGSB-32.310, Organic Production Systems: General Principles and Management Standards.

Frequently asked questions on the standards committee on organic agriculture

How were the members of the Standards Committee on Organic Agriculture chosen?

All committee member organizations that developed previous editions of the standard were invited to continue as members. The CGSB then compiled an additional list of potential members using association indexes, government indexes, Web sites, conference information, media sources and discussion with the sponsor. The CGSB sent potential members a letter to invite their participation and their suggestions for membership.

Who is on the Standards Committee on Organic Agriculture?

The Standards Committee on Organic Agriculture includes over 100 technical experts representing user, producer, general interest and regulatory groups. Forty members of this Committee are voting members. The other technical experts are information (non voting) members.

Who chairs the Standards Committee on Organic Agriculture and how is the chairperson chosen?

The Standards Committee members select their own chairperson. The current Chairperson is Hugh Martin. He is an independent consultant in the organics industry, after having been with the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Affairs.

Other frequently asked questions about organic production

Do the organic production system standards affect Canada's trade agreements?

This question should be directed to Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development and to the Canadian Food Inspection Agency.

Do Canada's trading partners have to comply with the organic production system standards in order for their organic products to be accepted in the Canadian marketplace?

This question should be directed to the Canadian Food Inspection Agency.

What requirements must be met to import or export organic products?

This question should be directed to the Canadian Food Inspection Agency.

What other international requirements for organic agriculture exist?

Several international requirements exist, including those of the European Union Standard, the Japanese Agricultural Standards, the U.S. National Organic Program, and the Codex Alimentarius Commission "Guidelines for the Production, Processing, Labelling, and Marketing of Organic Food". Some of these are under equivalency agreements with the Canadian Organic regulations. Please contact the Canadian Food Inspection Agency for more information.

What is the work of the Codex Alimentarius Commission?

The Codex Alimentarius Commission develops international food standards to protect consumer health and to facilitate fair trade practices in foods. The Codex Alimentarius Commission was established in 1962 by the World Health Organization and by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.

Where can I obtain information on the certification process and certification bodies?

This question should be directed to the Canadian Food Inspection Agency.

Related links

Date modified:

Agriculture biologique 32/20

Les normes 32/20

Le Conseil canadien des normes (CCN) a parrainé le Comité sur l'agriculture biologique de l'Office des normes générales du Canada (ONGC) pour élaborer de nouvelles éditions des normes sur les Systèmes de production biologique. Ces nouvelles éditions de normes publiées en 2015 peuvent être téléchargées gratuitement grâce au financement du CCN.

Dans le règlement

Depuis le 30 juin 2009, le Règlement sur les produits biologiques rend obligatoire la certification de la conformité à la norme nationale sur l'agriculture biologique révisée pour les produits agricoles présentés comme des produits biologiques au commerce internationale et interprovincial et pour les produits portant l'estampille fédérale (ou le logo fédéral) des produits agricoles biologiques. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments et consulter le Règlement sur les produits biologiques (2009) (DORS/2009-176) (Décrets, ordonnances et règlements statutaires).

Historique des normes sur l'agriculture biologique 32/20

Première édition (1999)

En décembre 1996, le Conseil consultatif canadien de la production biologique, un groupe de l'industrie représentant les intérêts des associations de fermiers biologiques et des organismes de certification de tout le Canada, et Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada ont demandé à l'Office des normes générales du Canada (ONGC) d'élaborer une Norme nationale du Canada sur l'agriculture biologique. L'ONGC a créé le Comité de normes sur l'agriculture biologique (le « Comité ») qui a préparé et examiné six projets de normes entre janvier 1997 et mars 1999. La norme nationale intitulée Agriculture biologique (CAN/CGSB-32.310) a été publiée en juin 1999.

La norme nationale définissait les principes de l'agriculture biologique à la base de saines pratiques de production et de gestion visant à améliorer la qualité et la durabilité de l'environnement et garantissant le traitement des animaux d'élevage selon les règles de l'éthique. La norme prescrivait aussi des critères minimaux à respecter lorsque des produits alimentaires, des intrants et d'autres produits utilisés dans la production biologique étaient définis comme biologiques ou désignés par des termes comparables décrits dans la norme nationale.

Deuxième édition (2006)

En 2002, en vue de faciliter le commerce avec les principaux partenaires commerciaux du Canada, notamment l'Union européenne (UE), les États-Unis (É.-U.) et le Japon, Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada a demandé à l'ONGC de réviser la Norme nationale du Canada sur l'agriculture biologique. Les modifications avaient pour but d'assurer que la norme canadienne respectait les exigences de ces partenaires commerciaux.

Dans le cadre de la révision de la norme nationale, les membres du Comité ont préparé les tableaux comparatifs des normes européennes, américaines et japonaises et examiné les directives relatives à la production, la transformation, l'étiquetage et la commercialisation des aliments biologiques de la Commission du Codex Alimentarius des Nations Unies et la norme canadienne. Ils ont également abordé l'élaboration de dispositions en vue d'une éventuelle incorporation par renvoi dans la réglementation.

Deux normes nationales ont été publiées en septembre 2006 : la norme CAN/CGSB-32.310-2006, Systèmes de production biologique - Principes généraux et normes de gestion et la norme CAN/CGSB-32.311-2006, Systèmes de production biologique - Listes des substances permises.

Deuxième édition des modifications (2008, 2009 et 2011)

L'édition 2006 des normes nationales a été révisée trois fois. Des modifications ont été nécessaires pour traiter les points laissés en suspens lors de la première révision et reportés sur une liste de points à traiter. Ces points englobent la suppression des mentions des organismes de certification et de leurs pouvoirs discrétionnaires partout dans le texte de la norme, la clarification des exigences techniques et l'ajout de nouvelles exigences techniques et de substances aux Listes des substances permises. Canadian Organic Growers Inc. a parrainé la révision et Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada a également fourni des fonds par le biais du Programme pour l'avancement du secteur canadien de l'agriculture et de l'agroalimentaire.

De plus, des modifications supplémentaires ont dû être apportées à la norme à la suite de la promulgation du Règlement sur les produits biologiques par l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments en 2006.

Troisième édition

Le Comité sur l'agriculture biologique de l'ONGC a été rétabli en 2013 pour élaborer de nouvelles éditions des deux normes et M. Hugh Martin a été choisi comme président. Le Comité a traité plusieurs centaines de points durant les deux années et les quatre réunions qui se sont tenues à Gatineau et à Vancouver. Les nouvelles éditions ont été publiées en novembre 2015 et comprenaient une motion du Comité visant à développer un processus de mise à jour plus fréquente de la Liste des substances permises tout en respectant les exigences des Normes nationales du Canada.

Foire aux questions

Remarque : Cette Foire aux questions (FAQ) traite seulement du processus qu'utilise l'Office des normes générales du Canada (ONGC) pour la révision des normes sur l'agriculture biologique. Pour des informations sur des questions génériques relatives au processus de l'ONGC, voir Élaboration des normes. D'autres ministères et organismes du gouvernement du Canada sont responsables de répondre aux questions qui sont en dehors du mandat de l'ONGC. Lorsque l'ONGC ne peut fournir une réponse, il indique où une aide supplémentaire peut être obtenue.

Questions sur les normes relatives aux Systèmes de production biologique

Pourquoi est-il important d'avoir des normes canadiennes sur les Systèmes de production biologique?

Une seule norme reconnue faisant consensus parmi les producteurs, les utilisateurs et le gouvernement présente plusieurs avantages, notamment une plus grande facilité d'identification des ingrédients d'un produit grâce à un étiquetage et des termes uniformisés, une confiance accrue des utilisateurs et la représentation de diverses opinions et expertises.

Les normes sur les Systèmes de production biologique visent à :

  • protéger les consommateurs contre les tromperies et les fraudes sur le marché et contre les allégations non fondées à l'égard des produits;
  • protéger les producteurs de produits biologiques contre les allégations non fondées ou les déclarations trompeuses à l'égard d'autres produits agricoles dits biologiques;
  • faire en sorte que toutes les étapes de la production, de la préparation, de l'entreposage, du transport et de la commercialisation soient soumises à des inspections et respectent ces normes;
  • harmoniser avec les exigences internationales les dispositions visant la production, la certification, l'identification et l'étiquetage des produits biologiques.

L'édition 2015 des normes est-elle volontaire ou obligatoire?

Toutes les Normes nationales du Canada sont des normes volontaires. Cependant, certaines normes de l'ONGC sont devenues obligatoires, car elles ont été incorporées par renvoi dans la réglementation par un organisme de réglementation ou dans les plans d'approvisionnement.

Agriculture et agroalimentaire Canada (AAAC) et l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA) ont élaboré et mis en place le Règlement sur les produits biologiques (2009) (DORS/2009-176). L'édition 2015 des normes est le fondement de la réglementation fédérale nationale et est incorporée par renvoi dans la nouvelle réglementation.

De quoi traite les normes?

La norme CAN/CGSB-32.310, Systèmes de production biologique – Principes généraux et normes de gestion décrit les principes et les normes de gestion des systèmes de production biologique. Cette norme énonce les principes d'une saine gestion des systèmes de production biologique à toutes les étapes, soit la production, le traitement, l'entreposage, le transport, l'étiquetage et la commercialisation. Ces principes permettront de produire des aliments de grande qualité au moyen de pratiques de gestion durables qui protègent l'environnement et garantissent un traitement des animaux d'élevage selon les règles de l'éthique.

La norme prescrit les critères qui doivent être respectés lorsque des produits alimentaires et autres intrants utilisés dans la production biologique sont décrits comme étant biologiques, y compris la production, le traitement et la manipulation d'aliments produits de façon biologique. Ces exigences minimales doivent être respectées ou dépassées pour être conformes à la présente norme sur l'agriculture biologique. La norme comprend des sections portant sur les définitions et la terminologie, le plan de production biologique incluant la tenue des registres et l'identification, les productions végétales, la production d'animaux d'élevage, les exigences propres à certaines productions, la préparation et la manutention des produits biologiques, le traitement anti-parasitaire d'urgence, l'étiquetage et les allégations, ainsi que les exigences concernant l'ajout ou la modification de substances dans CAN/CGSB-32.311.

La norme ne traite pas de sujets comme la mise en application et la réglementation, qui sont externes au mandat du Comité des normes sur l'agriculture biologique. La norme CAN/CGSB-32.311, Systèmes de production biologique – Listes des substances permises contient des listes de substances qu'il est permis d'utiliser dans les systèmes de production biologique. Ce n'est pas une liste de produits commerciaux.

Quelles sont les substances permises et interdites en agriculture biologique?

La norme CAN/CGSB-32.311, Systèmes de production biologique – Listes des substances permises, contient des listes de substances pour :

  • les productions végétales, y compris les fertilisants, les engrais, les amendements du sol, les auxiliaires et les matières utilisées pour la production végétale et la lutte contre les mauvaises herbes;
  • la production d'animaux d'élevage, y compris les aliments pour animaux, les additifs et les suppléments alimentaires, les produits de soins de santé et les auxiliaires à la production animale;
  • la transformation et l'hygiène, y compris les ingrédients biologiques, non biologiques et contenant des ingrédients biologiques; les auxiliaires de production, les nettoyants, les désinfectants et les assainissants, et les substances de lutte contre les organismes nuisibles.

L'application et l'utilisation de ces substances doivent être conformes aux exigences énoncées dans la norme CAN/CGSB-32.310, Systèmes de production biologique – Principes généraux et normes de gestion.

Questions sur le Comité de normes sur l'agriculture biologique

Comment ont été choisis les membres actuels du Comité de normes sur l'agriculture biologique?

Toutes les organisations membres du Comité ayant révisé les éditions antérieures de la norme ont été invitées à participer à la présente révision. L'ONGC a ensuite dressé une liste supplémentaire de membres potentiels à partir des répertoires d'associations, des répertoires du gouvernement, des sites Web, de l'information obtenue lors de congrès, des médias et de conversations avec le commanditaire. L'ONGC a envoyé une lettre à tous les membres potentiels pour les inviter à participer et à fournir des suggestions quant à la composition du Comité.

Qui sont les membres du Comité de normes sur l'agriculture biologique?

Le Comité sur l'agriculture biologique comprend plus de 100 experts techniques représentant les utilisateurs, les producteurs, les groupes d'intérêt général et les organismes de réglementation. Quarante membres du Comité sont des membres votants. Les autres experts techniques sont des membres observateurs (non votants).

Qui préside le Comité de normes sur l'agriculture biologique et comment ce président est-il choisi?

Les membres du Comité de normes choisissent leur propre président. Le président actuel est Hugh Martin qui est devenu un expert-conseil indépendant dans l'industrie biologique après avoir travaillé pour le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario.

Autres questions sur la production biologique

Les normes sur les Systèmes de production biologique affectent-elles les accords commerciaux du Canada?

Cette question devrait être adressée au ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement et à l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments.

Les partenaires commerciaux du Canada doivent-ils se conformer aux normes sur les Systèmes de production biologique pour que leurs produits biologiques soient acceptés sur le marché canadien?

Cette question devrait être adressée à l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments.

Quelles sont les exigences à respecter pour importer ou exporter des produits biologiques?

Cette question devrait être adressée à l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments.

Existe-t-il d'autres exigences internationales visant l'agriculture biologique?

Il existe plusieurs exigences internationales, notamment la norme de l'Union européenne, les normes japonaises pour l'agriculture biologique, le U.S. National Organic Program et les Directives concernant la production, la transformation, l'étiquetage et la commercialisation des aliments biologiques de la Commission du Codex Alimentarius. Certaines de ces dernières ont un accord d'équivalence avec le Règlement canadien sur la production biologique.

Quelles sont les activités de la Commission du Codex Alimentarius?

La Commission du Codex Alimentarius élabore des normes internationales sur les aliments pour protéger la santé des consommateurs et faciliter le commerce équitable dans le secteur alimentaire. La Commission du Codex Alimentarius a été créée en 1962 par l'Organisation mondiale de la santé et l'Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture.

Où dois-je m'adresser pour obtenir de l'information sur le processus et les organismes de certification?

Cette question doit être adressée à l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments.