Introduction: Guide to the schedule to the Defence Production Act

Navigation for the guide to the schedule to the Defence Production Act

The Controlled Goods Program is the Government of Canada's domestic industrial security program. It regulates the examination, possession and transfer of controlled goods within Canada. Controlled goods are primarily defence articles that are considered to be of strategic significance or have national security implications to Canada (regardless of country of origin), including goods and technologies contained in the United States Munitions List, part 121 of the United States (U.S.) International Traffic in Arms Regulations (ITAR).

The Controlled Goods List, provided in the schedule to the Defence Production Act, is Canada's domestic controlled goods list.

Through the program's registration process and inspection practices, the federal government works to mitigate the risk of the proliferation of controlled goods, strengthen Canada's defence trade controls and support Canada's domestic and international security interests.

Any person who conducts business in Canada and examines, possesses or transfers controlled goods must be registered in the program and comply with the Defence Production Act and the Controlled Goods Regulations. Individuals are eligible to register in the program provided they consent to a security assessment and are ordinarily residing in Canada as either a Canadian citizen or a permanent resident. Businesses are eligible to register provided they are incorporated or authorized by federal, provincial or territorial law to carry on business in Canada.

Subject to specified conditions, the following individuals are exempt from registration in the program:

Registration in the program also supports the U.S. provision of the Canadian exemptions under the U.S. ITAR for the licence-free transfer of some ITAR defence articles between Canada and the U.S. and among registrants of the program. Additionally, registration in the program meets the requirements of a 2011 U.S. ITAR rule with respect to the intra-company transfers of defence articles and services, as well as technical data, to dual and third-country nationals.

Navigation for the guide to the schedule to the Defence Production Act

Date modified:

Introduction : Guide de l'annexe de la Loi sur la production de défense

Navigation pour le guide de l'annexe de la Loi sur la production de défense

Le Programme des marchandises contrôlées est le programme national de la sécurité industrielle du gouvernement du Canada. Il réglemente l'examen, la possession et le transfert de marchandises contrôlées au Canada. Les marchandises contrôlées sont des articles constituant principalement du matériel de défense qui sont considérés d'une importance stratégique ou comme ayant des répercussions sur la sécurité nationale au Canada (indépendamment de leur pays d'origine), comprenant des marchandises et des technologies inscrites à l'United States Munitions List (en anglais seulement), partie 121 de l'International Traffic in Arms Regulations (ITAR) des États-Unis (É.-U.).

La Liste des marchandises contrôlées figurant en annexe de la Loi sur la production de défense est la liste nationale des marchandises contrôlées au Canada.

Le gouvernement fédéral, grâce au processus d'inscription et aux pratiques d'inspection du programme, cherche à prévenir la prolifération des marchandises contrôlées, à renforcer les contrôles du Canada sur le commerce de défense et à soutenir les intérêts du pays en matière de sécurité nationale et internationale.

Quiconque exerce des activités au Canada et examine, possède ou transfère des marchandises contrôlées doit être inscrit au programme et doit se conformer aux dispositions de la Loi sur la production de défense et du Règlement sur les marchandises contrôlées. Un individu peut s'inscrire au programme, pourvu qu'il consente à faire l'objet d'une évaluation de sécurité et qu'il soit un citoyen canadien ou un résident permanent qui réside ordinairement au Canada. Toute entreprise peut s'inscrire au programme pourvu qu'elle soit constituée en société ou qu'elle soit autorisée aux termes des lois fédérales, provinciales ou territoriales à exercer des activités au Canada.

Les individus suivants sont exemptés d'inscription au programme, sous certaines conditions :

L'inscription au programme appuie aussi l'application par les É.-U. des exemptions canadiennes conformément à l'ITAR des É.-U. pour le transfert sans permis de certains articles de défense visés par l'ITAR entre le Canada et les É.-U. et concernant des personnes inscrites au Programme des marchandises contrôlées. De plus, l'inscription au programme satisfait aux exigences d'une règle de 2011 de l'ITAR touchant le transfert, au sein des entreprises, d'articles et de services de défense ainsi que de données techniques aux ressortissants de doubles nationalités et de pays tiers.

Navigation pour le guide de l'annexe de la Loi sur la production de défense

Date de modification :