Introduction

Document Navigation for "2012-2013 Annual Report on Government of Canada Advertising Activities"

The Government of Canada has spent $69 million on advertising for fiscal year 2012-2013.

Through careful planning and efficient media buying strategies, the government sustained its communications with Canadians throughout the year. Overall spending was close to $10 million less or 12% below the 2011-2012 level. The government secured prime advertising space at preferential rates, including spots in high visibility programs like the Canadian broadcasts of the London 2012 Summer Olympic Games, by leveraging the advertising budgets of multiple departments and buying early when rates are low.

Overall, some 48 institutions used advertising to inform parents, travellers, newcomers to Canada, business owners, veterans and their families, students, workers and the general public about the wide variety of government resources, programs and services available to them, and to promote the country’s history and heritage.

Economic Action Plan advertising campaigns provided information on skills and training programs, tax incentives and information on actions taken to develop Canada’s natural resources responsibly.

Activities to commemorate the 200th anniversary of the War of 1812 continued while other key campaigns supported important international priorities. Citizenship and Immigration Canada sponsored the Combating Immigration Fraud and the Services to Newcomers campaigns to warn people wanting to immigrate or stay in Canada about the risks of marriage fraud and to provide information on the services available to help newcomers to Canada succeed. Foreign Affairs and International Trade launched two campaigns, one to outline their commitment to providing comprehensive travel information for Canadians and the other to raise awareness of bilateral and regional trade agreements to help Canadian businesses succeed in foreign markets.

The full range of advertising activities and costs for fiscal year 2012-2013 are documented in this eleventh Annual Report on Government of Canada Advertising Activities.

What is advertising and what costs are included?

Section 23 of the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada defines advertising as: […] any message, conveyed in Canada or abroad, and paid for by the government for placement in media such as newspapers, television, radio, Internet, cinema and out-of-home.” This report includes the costs associated with the production and placement of advertising, including campaign planning, the development of creative materials, media planning and media placement.

Document Navigation for "2012-2013 Annual Report on Government of Canada Advertising Activities"

Introduction

Navigation pour Document « Dépenses en publicité de 2012-2013 »

Le gouvernement du Canada a dépensé 69 millions de dollars en publicité pour l’exercice 2012-2013.

Grâce à une planification soignée et à des stratégies d’achat média efficaces, le gouvernement a maintenu ses communications avec les Canadiens et les Canadiennes durant l’année. Dans l’ensemble, les dépenses s’établissaient à près de 10 millions de dollars de moins ou 12 % sous les niveaux de 2011-2012. Le gouvernement s’est assuré d’espace publicitaire de premier choix à des taux préférentiels, y compris des messages au cours d’émissions à haute visibilité comme la diffusion canadienne des Jeux olympiques d’été de Londres 2012 en utilisant l’effet de levier des budgets publicitaires de multiples ministères et en achetant tôt lorsque les prix sont bas.

Dans l’ensemble, quelque 48 institutions ont eu recours à la publicité pour informer les parents, les voyageurs, les nouveaux arrivants au Canada, les propriétaires d’entreprises, les anciens combattants et leurs familles, les étudiants, les travailleurs et le grand public de la vaste gamme de ressources, de programmes et de services gouvernementaux mis à leur disposition, et pour promouvoir l’histoire et le patrimoine de notre pays.

Les campagnes publicitaires du Plan d’action économique du Canada, fournissaient de l’information sur les compétences et les programmes de formation, les stimulants fiscaux et des renseignements sur les actions entreprises pour développer les ressources naturelles du Canada de façon responsable.

Les activités commémorant le 200e anniversaire de la guerre de 1812 se poursuivaient tandis que d’autres campagnes clés soutenaient d’importantes priorités internationales. Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada parrainait les campagnes intitulées Lutter contre la fraude en matière d’immigration et Services aux nouveaux arrivants pour avertir les personnes désirant immigrer ou demeurer au Canada des risques de la fraude relative au mariage et leur fournir de l’information sur les services visant à aider les nouveaux arrivants au Canada à réussir. Affaires étrangères et Commerce international a lancé deux campagnes, l’une pour donner un aperçu de son engagement à fournir aux Canadiens des renseignements détaillés sur les voyages et l’autre pour sensibiliser la population aux accords commerciaux bilatéraux et régionaux en vue d’aider les entreprises canadiennes à réussir sur les marchés étrangers.

La gamme complète des activités publicitaires et des coûts pour l’exercice 2012-2013 se trouvent dans ce onzième Rapport annuel sur les activités de publicité du gouvernement du Canada.

Qu’est-ce que la publicité et quels coûts comporte-t-elle?

L’article 23 de la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada définit la publicité comme : « […] tout message, véhiculé au Canada et à l’étranger, et payé par le gouvernement pour son placement dans les médias tels que les journaux, la télévision, la radio, l’Internet, les salles de cinéma ou l’affichage. » Ce rapport comporte les coûts associés à la production et au placement de la publicité dont la planification des campagnes, le développement du matériel de création, la planification média et le placement média.

Navigation pour Document « Dépenses en publicité de 2012-2013 »