Selecting media for Government of Canada advertising

Departments work closely with the Agency of Record (AOR) to select media based on a number of factors such as: campaign objectives, target audience and markets, timelines and budgets. To assist with this process, the AOR for the Government of Canada (GC) maintains cost guides with information about selected media with whom the AOR has pre-negotiated rates. Other sources are also used to plan campaigns including: Bureau of Measurement (BBM), Print Measurement Bureau (PMB), Alliance for Audited Media (AAM), NADbank, ComScore, Canadian Advertising Rates and Data (CARD), etc.

The cost guides are developed by medium and provide information to respond to national, provincial and regional requirements, including target markets, language, format, frequency, lead time, pre-negotiated advertising rates and media contact information. Not all media in Canada are listed in the cost guides and being listed is not a guarantee that a particular media outlet will be selected for GC advertising.

Some media suppliers, such as the ones listed below, are automatically eligible to be considered for inclusion in the cost guides:  

  • Radio and television broadcasters licensed by the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission
  • Daily general interest newspapers with audited circulation by a recognized independent organization such as NADBank, the Print Measurement Bureau, the Audit Bureau of Circulations or the Canadian Circulations Audit Board
  • On-line media with appropriate editorial content
  • Specialty print publications, such as magazines and directories that are mainly devoted to a specific topic or sector (for example agriculture, arts, culture, entertainment, sports, finance, business, career, etc.)

Other general interest newspapers, including those targeting the general public, ethnic or Aboriginal audiences, must complete an application form to be eligible for inclusion in the cost guides.

Information on the eligibility criteria and the mandatory documents you will need to provide is outlined below.

Media cost guide application requirements

In order to be included in the media cost guides you must meet all of the following requirements.

Incomplete applications will be returned to the publishers with an explanatory note indicating which information is missing. Publishers must then provide the missing information or the application will not be considered further. In this case, a new application may be submitted at a later date for evaluation.

Please remember that the AOR is responsible for updating the cost guides and for evaluating newspapers in accordance with the eligibility criteria established by the GC. Evaluation results are communicated to the publisher in writing by the AOR.

Eligibility criteria

  • Be published and printed in Canada
  • Be a general-interest newspaper geared to the general public or to one or more ethnic or Aboriginal target audiences, and distributed at the national, regional, provincial or municipal level. A general-interest newspaper is defined based on the following requirements:
    • The newspaper must have a news-oriented front page containing news related to the market that it serves
    • The newspaper must have a clearly defined editorial page
    • The newspaper must contain substantial news related to the market that it serves, including news of general interest regarding current happenings and passing events of various natures, such as political, social, religious, cultural, commercial, financial, legal, etc.
    • The newspaper must be distributed throughout the territory that it serves
  • Be published on a regular, pre-determined basis for a period of at least 12 consecutive months
  • Be published in a format consistent with industry practices. In accordance with these practices, the following requirements must be met:
    • Page layout must be handled electronically
    • The newspaper must be published in tabloid or broadsheet format
    • The newspaper must be printed on newsprint stock
    • The newspaper must contain a minimum of 8 pages and these must be numbered
    • The date and title of the newspaper must be visible on each page
  • Contain no more than 70% advertising throughout the newspaper and on the cover page
  • Ensure that editorial content be of a nature and intent not to:
    • Incite racial hatred
    • Incite discrimination of any kind
    • Incite the subversion of Canada's democratic system of government

Mandatory documents

  • Evaluation Questionnaire duly completed and signed by the Publisher
  • Circulation Sworn Statement duly completed and signed by a commissioner for oaths, a notary, a lawyer or another authorized person

Note: The Commissioner for Oaths is an individual legally empowered to administer oath. The appointment may be limited to one province or territory or may include multiple provinces and territories of Canada, or another country. Other people have the authority to administer oaths by virtue of their positions or occupations, such as lawyers and notaries. The Commissioner for Oaths must require the person making the oath to sign the document in their presence, as the commissioner must be able to attest to both the oath and the person's signature. The Commissioner for Oaths is not required to verify the accuracy of a statement sworn under oath. The person making the oath is responsible for the content of the document.

  • Current advertising rate card, indicating if rates are net or gross

Note: The Government of Canada only pays net advertising rates.

  • Complete copies of the last three consecutive issues of the newspaper

Additional requirements

  • Additional copies of the newspaper upon request
  • Provide a written notice of any increase in advertising rates at least 90 days prior to these changes taking effect
  • Provide a written notice of other changes affecting the newspaper's application (for example new format, new date of publication)
  • Provide a new Circulation Sworn Statement for changes affecting a statement provided earlier

Note: The Government of Canada reserves the right to verify, at any time and without notice, whether newspapers listed in its media planning cost guides remain compliant with the eligibility criteria and consistent with the information submitted on their applications. Newspapers found to be non-compliant or inconsistent will be notified and their file will be re-evaluated.

To obtain an application form, including the mandatory documents, or for more information, please send an email to aorgc.information@cossette.com.

Date modified:

Sélection d'un média pour la publicité du gouvernement du Canada

Les ministères travaillent en étroite collaboration avec l'agence de coordination (AC) afin de choisir un média en fonction de nombreux facteurs comme ceux-ci : les objectifs de la campagne, le public et les marchés cibles, les échéances et les budgets. Afin de les aider dans ce processus, l'AC du gouvernement du Canada (GC) tient à jour des guides de coûts qui contiennent des renseignements sur les médias sélectionnés avec lesquels l'agence de coordination a déjà négocié des tarifs. Diverses autres sources sont aussi utilisées pour planifier des campagnes, notamment : Bureau of Measurement (BBM), le Print Measurement Bureau (PMB), l'Alliance for Audited Media (AAM), la NADbank, ComScore, le Canadian Advertising Rates and Data (CARD), etc.

Les guides de coûts sont élaborés par moyen de communication et fournissent des renseignements visant à satisfaire aux besoins nationaux, provinciaux et régionaux, y compris les marchés cibles, la langue, le format, la fréquence, les délais, les tarifs publicitaires négociés à l'avance et la personne-ressource du média. Ce ne sont pas tous les médias du Canada qui figurent dans les guides de coûts et le fait d'y apparaître ne garantit pas qu'un média en particulier soit sélectionné pour la publicité du GC.

Certains fournisseurs de médias, comme ceux qui sont indiqués ci-dessous, sont automatiquement admissibles pour être pris en considération afin d'être inclus dans les guides de coûts :

  • les radiodiffuseurs et les télédiffuseurs qui détiennent une licence du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes
  • les quotidiens d'intérêt général dont le tirage est certifié par une organisation indépendante comme la NADbank, le Print Measurement Bureau, l'Audit Bureau of Circulations ou l'Office canadien de vérification de la diffusion
  • les médias en ligne dont le contenu rédactionnel est approprié
  • les publications imprimées spécialisées comme les magazines et les répertoires qui sont principalement consacrés à un sujet ou un secteur précis (c’est-à-dire l'agriculture, les arts, la culture, le divertissement, les sports, les finances, les affaires, les carrières, etc.)

D'autres journaux d'intérêt général, y compris ceux qui sont destinés au grand public, aux groupes ethniques ou aux Autochtones, doivent remplir un formulaire de demande afin d'être admissibles à l'intégration dans les guides de coûts.

Vous trouverez ci-dessous des renseignements sur les critères d'admissibilité et les documents obligatoires que vous devez fournir.

Exigences relatives à la demande d'admission dans des guides de coûts médias

Pour que votre nom soit compris dans les guides de coûts médias, vous devez satisfaire à toutes les exigences suivantes.

Les formulaires de demande d'admission incomplets seront retournés aux éditeurs accompagnés d'une note explicative indiquant les renseignements manquants. Les éditeurs doivent ensuite fournir les renseignements manquants ou la demande ne sera pas étudiée davantage. Dans ce cas, une nouvelle demande d'admission peut être présentée à une date ultérieure aux fins d'évaluation.

Veuillez noter que l'agence de coordination est responsable de la mise à jour des guides de coûts et de l'évaluation des journaux conformément aux critères d'admissibilité établis par le GC. L'agence de coordination communique par écrit les résultats de l'évaluation à l'éditeur.

Critères d'admissibilité

  • Être publié et imprimé au Canada
  • Être un journal d'intérêt général visant le grand public ou un ou plusieurs publics cibles d'origine ethnique ou autochtone, et être distribué à l'échelle nationale, régionale, provinciale ou municipale. Un journal d'intérêt général est défini selon les exigences suivantes :
    • Le journal doit avoir une page couverture axée sur les nouvelles concernant le marché qu'il dessert
    • Le journal doit avoir une page éditoriale clairement définie
    • Le journal doit contenir des nouvelles substantielles se rapportant au marché qu'il dessert, y compris des nouvelles d'intérêt général au sujet d'événements actuels ou antérieurs de diverses natures comme la politique, la société, la religion, la culture, le commerce, les finances, les questions juridiques, etc.
    • Le journal doit être distribué partout sur le territoire qu'il couvre
  • Être publié sur une base régulière et prédéterminée durant une période d'au moins 12 mois consécutifs
  • Être publié dans un format correspondant aux pratiques de l'industrie. Conformément à ces pratiques, il faut satisfaire aux exigences suivantes :
    • La mise en page doit être faite électroniquement
    • Le journal doit être publié en format tabloïde ou grand format
    • Le journal doit être imprimé sur du papier journal
    • Le journal doit contenir un minimum de 8 pages numérotées
    • La date de parution ainsi que le titre du journal doivent se trouver sur chaque page
  • Contenir 70 % de publicité au maximum dans l'ensemble du journal et sur la page couverture
  • S'assurer que la nature et l'intention du contenu éditorial ne sont pas :
    • D'inciter à la haine raciale
    • D'inciter à tout genre de discrimination
    • D'inciter à la subversion du régime démocratique du gouvernement au Canada

Documents obligatoires

  • Fournir le Questionnaire d'évaluation dûment rempli et signé par l'éditeur
  • Fournir la Déclaration sous serment concernant la diffusion dûment remplie et signée par un commissaire à l'assermentation, un notaire, un avocat ou une autre personne autorisée

Remarque : Le commissaire à l'assermentation est une personne autorisée légalement à faire prêter serment. L'étendue de la nomination peut se limiter à une province ou un territoire ou comprendre plusieurs provinces et territoires du Canada ou un autre pays. D'autres personnes ont l'autorité de faire prêter serment en vertu de leur poste ou de leur profession comme les avocats et les notaires. Le commissaire à l'assermentation doit exiger que le déclarant signe le document en sa présence, car il doit attester qu'il a reçu le serment et la signature du déclarant. Le commissaire à l'assermentation n'a pas à vérifier l'exactitude de la déclaration de la personne qu'il assermente. La personne assermentée est responsable du contenu du document.

  • Fournir la carte des tarifs d'insertions en vigueur indiquant si les montants sont nets ou bruts

Remarque : Le gouvernement du Canada paie seulement les tarifs publicitaires nets.

  • Fournir des exemplaires complets des trois dernières éditions consécutives du journal

Exigences supplémentaires

  • Fournir des exemplaires supplémentaires du journal sur demande
  • Fournir un avis écrit pour toute hausse des tarifs publicitaires au moins 90 jours avant qu'elle n'entre en vigueur
  • Fournir un avis écrit pour tous les autres changements affectant la demande d'admission du journal (par exemple nouveau format, nouvelle date de parution)
  • Fournir une nouvelle Déclaration sous serment concernant tous les autres changements affectant une déclaration soumise antérieurement

Remarque : Le gouvernement du Canada se réserve le droit de vérifier, en tout temps et sans préavis, si les journaux inscrits dans ses guides de coûts de planification média demeurent conformes aux Critères d'admissibilité et aux renseignements soumis dans leur demande d'admission. Les journaux qui se révèlent non conformes ou qui présentent des renseignements incohérents seront avisés et leur dossier sera évalué de nouveau.

Pour obtenir un formulaire d'admission ou plus de renseignements, veuillez envoyer un courriel à aorgc.information@cossette.com.

Date de modification :