Quarterly Financial Report for the quarter ended June 30, 2017

Quarterly Financial Report for the quarter ended June 30, 2017 (PDF, 312KB)

On this page

1. Introduction

This Quarterly Financial Report (QFR) should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates. It has been prepared by management as required under section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Directive on Accounting Standards, GC 4400 Departmental Quarterly Financial Report. It has not been subject to an external audit or review.

1.1 Raison d'être

Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC) was established effective June 20, 1996, under the Department of Public Works and Government Services Act. As of November 4, 2015, PWGSC operates as Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC). PSPC plays an important role in the daily operations of the Government of Canada. It supports federal departments and agencies in the achievement of their mandated objectives as their central purchasing agent, real property manager, linguistic authority, treasurer, accountant, and pay and pension administrator, and common service provider. The department's vision is to excel in government operations, and its strategic outcome and mission are to deliver high-quality, central programs and services that ensure sound stewardship on behalf of Canadians and meet the program needs of federal institutions.

A summary description of the department's program activities can be found in Part II of the Main Estimates.

1.2 Basis of presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Table 1—Statement of authorities (unaudited) includes the department's spending authorities granted by Parliament, and those used by the department consistent with the Main Estimates for the current fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before money can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts, or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

When Parliament is dissolved for the purposes of a general election, section 30 of the Financial Administration Act authorizes the Governor General, under certain conditions, to issue a special warrant authorizing the Government to withdraw funds from the Consolidated Revenue Fund. A special warrant is deemed to be an appropriation for the fiscal year in which it is issued.

The department uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental results reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

1.3 Public Services and Procurement Canada's financial structure

PSPC provides services to many government departments, agencies and Crown corporations through a variety of funding mechanisms. This includes budgetary authorities that are comprised of voted and statutory authorities, as well as non-budgetary authorities. The voted budgetary authorities include operating expenditures, vote-netted revenues and capital expenditures, while the statutory authorities are mainly comprised of revolving funds, employee benefit plans and payments in lieu of taxes (PILT). The non-budgetary authorities consist primarily of the Seized Property Working Capital Account (see description below).

PSPC's complex financial structure may result in significant fluctuations in authorities on a quarterly basis which are due to timing differences that are resolved by year end. These are summarized as follows:

2. Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date results

2.1 Significant changes to authorities

When compared to the same quarter of the previous year, year to date PSPC's authorities available for use increased by $471.9 million ($3,222.5 million in the fiscal year ended March 31, 2017; $3,694.4 million in the fiscal year ending March 31, 2018) as reflected in Table 1—Statement of Authorities (unaudited). Major reasons for the increase are outlined below:

Year over year variances in authorities available for use (in millions of dollars)
Initiative Operating Capital Budgetary statutory authorities Total variances
Parliamentary Precinct Rehabilitation 25.5 80.0 0 105.5
Real Property Program Integrity 88.3 6.1 0 94.4
Price and Volume Protection 75.1 0 0 75.1
Engineering Assets - Phase II and Budget 2016 12.9 55.6 0 68.5
Energy Savings Acquisition Project 0 68.4 0 68.4
Refit / Fit-up 0 60.0 0 60.0
Federal Contaminated Sites Action Plan - Phase II and III 35.7 0 0 35.7
Capital Vote Implementation 45.6 (45.6) 0 0
Capital Leases 0 (7.5) 0 (7.5)
Grande Allée Armoury 0 (14.0) 0 (14.0)
Other (3.1) (5.3) (5.8) (14.2)
Cumulative variance in authorities available for use 280.0 197.7 (5.8) 471.9

Groupings can change between quarters due to materiality of initiatives.

Amounts may not balance with other public documents due to rounding.

The year to date net increase of $471.9 million can be explained by:

Parliamentary Precinct Rehabilitation—increase of $105.5 million
Work continues with the rehabilitation of the Parliamentary Precinct, in order to preserve these key heritage assets and national symbols for years to come. This initiative reduces the environmental footprint of the precinct and enriches visitor experience, while creating thousands of jobs and supporting the development of innovative technologies. This year, PSPC plans to deliver on the rehabilitation of West Block, including the courtyard infill for the interim House of Commons, and the construction of the Visitor Welcome Centre Phase 1.
Real Property Program Integrity—increase of $94.4 million
Being the Federal Government Real Estate Manager, part of PSPC's mandate includes making necessary repairs and maintenance of federal buildings across Canada in order to ensure a safe, healthy, and secure workplace. Major work on key building components will also take place on various buildings, such as Canada's Four Corners, Lester B Pearson and Postal Station B in Ottawa.
Price and Volume Protection—increase of $75.1 million
This funding increase protects for inflation (price) and variation in the number of public servants requiring accommodations (volume). An annual reconciliation exercise will be performed to ensure PSPC is not over / under funded.
Engineering Assets Phase II and Budget 2016—increase of $68.5 million
Through the Engineering Assets initiatives, PSPC is rehabilitating major public infrastructure, reducing risks related to health and safety, and ensuring long-term stewardship of these assets. The funding received through Budget 2016 allows to focus on four projects, that is: the Alexandra Bridge ON, the Timiskaming Dam Complex QC, the Esquimalt Graving Dock BC and the Alaska Highway BC.
Energy Services Acquisition Project—increase of $68.4 million
In support of Government of Canada's commitment towards cleaner technologies, PSPC's Energy Services Acquisition Project will modernize the energy system serving federal buildings in the National Capital Region. This will be achieved by converting the existing heating infrastructure from steam to a more modern low temperature hot water technology; therefore reducing the environmental footprint.
Refit/fit-up—increase of $60.0 million
Part of PSPC's mandate includes the preparation of the space for occupancy to meet client departments' program requirements. This service can range from smaller refit projects, such as constructing a new boardroom, to larger full scale fit-ups where tenants are relocated in new space.
Federal Contaminated Sites Action Plan—Phase II and III – increase of $35.7 million
The Phase II and III of the Federal Contaminated Sites Action Plan (FCSAP) allow for the continuation of remediation activities at various contaminated sites to reduce associated liabilities, as well as mitigate human health and environmental risks. Through the FCSAP, PSPC supports skills development and employment of Canadians, while encouraging Canada's environmental industry to develop innovative and sustainable technologies. Major sites include the Esquimalt Graving Dock BC, the Alaska Highway BC and the Former Sambault Garbage Dump QC. In the fiscal year ended March 31, 2017, the funding for FCSAP was received later in the year.
Capital Vote Implementation—total variance of $0 million
PSPC must comply with the new Government of Canada Capital Vote definition which will come into effect April 1, 2018. Under this more elaborate definition, PSPC identified recurring operating costs currently funded by the Capital Vote and requested a vote transfer to the Operating Vote, as part of the current fiscal year Main Estimates. Work is ongoing to finalize this initiative.
Capital Leases—decrease of $7.5 million
PSPC's portfolio of real property assets is comprised of facilities owned by the Crown and leased from the private sector, some with special conditions such as options to purchase. This decrease is the result of implementing PSPC's long term capital lease investment strategy approved by Treasury Board in the fiscal year ended March 31, 2015.
Grande Allée Armoury—decrease of $14.0 million
After the 2008 fire which caused heavy damage, the Government of Canada announced the reconstruction of the Grande Allée Armoury in Québec City, as it is a significant federal Crown heritage building. Following the completion of the exterior work in summer 2017, minor work will continue on the interior in order to prepare it for occupancy.
Other—decrease of $14.2 million
The total variance of $14.2 million is the result of miscellaneous funding variances, mainly related to Real Property initiatives. The Statutory variance is mainly explained by the decrease of the Employee Benefit Plans rate from 17.2% in previous year to 15.7% in current year, as directed by the Treasury Board Secretariat.

2.2 Significant changes to year-to-date net expenditures

As presented in Table 2-Departmental budgetary expenditures by standard object (unaudited), year to date total net budgetary expenditures have increased by $19.1 million when compared to the same quarter of the previous year ($1,142.0 million in the previous fiscal year compared to $1,161.1 million in the current fiscal year).

Overall, total spending at the end of the first quarter represents 31% of annual planned expenditures for this current fiscal year, which compares to the first quarter of previous year at 35%.

Year over year variances in net budgetary expenditures (presented by standard object) (in millions of dollars)
Standard object June 30, 2017 Year to date used at quarter end June 30, 2016 Year to date used at quarter end Year over year variance
Other subsidies and payments 100.6 79 21.6
Professional and special services 184.3 162.8 21.5
Personnel 292.4 280.4 12.0
Rentals 300.3 358.9 (58.6)
Transfer payments 349.6 367.9 (18.3)
Other expenditures 247.2 255.4 (8.2)
Revenues netted against expenditures (313.3) (362.4) 49.1
Total net budgetary expenditures 1,161.1 1,142.0 19.1

The year over year net increase of $19.1 million is mainly attributable to:

3. Risks and uncertainties

PSPC integrates risk management principles into business planning, decision-making and organizational processes to minimize negative impacts and maximize opportunities across our diverse range of services and operations. Risk management in PSPC is carried out in accordance with the Treasury Board Secretariat (TBS) Framework for the Management of Risk, the Management Accountability Framework and the PSPC Policy on Integrated Risk Management.

The following key risks were identified as having a potential financial impact:

4. Significant changes to operations, personnel and programs

There were no significant changes to operations, personnel and programs in the first quarter ended June 30, 2017.

Approved by:

Marie Lemay, P.Eng., ing.
Deputy Minister
Public Services and Procurement Canada

Gatineau, Canada
August 25, 2017

Marty Muldoon, CPA, CMA, MBA
Chief Financial Officer
Public Services and Procurement Canada

Gatineau, Canada
August 11, 2017

Table 1—Statement of authorities (unaudited)

For the quarter ended June 30, 2017 (in thousands of dollars)
Fiscal year ending March 31, 2018 Fiscal year ending March 31, 2017
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2018 Used during the quarter ended
June 30, 2017
Year to date used at quarter end Total available for use for the year ending
March 31, 2017
Used during the quarter ended
June 30, 2016
Year to date used at quarter end
Vote 1
Gross operating expenditures 3,411,248 696,364 696,364 3,243,865 695,176 695,176
Vote-netted revenues (1,277,087) (161,335) (161,335) (1,389,612) (184,329) (184,329)
Net operating expenditures 2,134,161 535,029 535,029 1,854,253 510,847 510,847
Vote 5—Capital expenditures 1,441,928 139,895 139,895 1,244,140 93,549 93,549
Revolving fund authorities
Real Property Services Revolving Fund
Gross expenditures 2,066,201 220,917 220,917 2,004,837 279,793 279,793
Revenues (2,060,076) (109,109) (109,109) (2,002,237) (125,431) (125,431)
Net expenditures 6,125 111,808 111,808 2,600 154,362 154,362
Translation Bureau Revolving Fund
Gross expenditures 162,223 28,344 28,344 154,311 28,955 28,955
Revenues (158,266) (28,948) (28,948) (154,630) (30,930) (30,930)
Net expenditures 3,957 (604) (604) (319) (1,975) (1,975)
Optional Services Revolving Fund
Gross expenditures 145,343 12,343 12,343 178,229 8,808 8,808
Revenues (145,343) (13,914) (13,914) (178,229) (21,721) (21,721)
Net expenditures 0 (1,571) (1,571) 0 (12,913) (12,913)
Total of all Revolving Funds
Gross expenditures 2,373,767 261,604 261,604 2,337,377 317,556 317,556
Revenues (2,363,685) (151,971) (151,971) (2,335,096) (178,082) (178,082)
Total Revolving Fund net expenditures 10,082 109,633 109,633 2,281 139,474 139,474
Other budgetary statutory authorities
Contributions to employee benefit plans 107,826 26,957 26,957 121,309 30,251 30,251
Minister of PSP salary and motor car allowance 84 21 21 84 7 7
Refunds of amounts credited to revenues in previous years 0 0 0 0 0 0
Spending of proceeds from the disposal of surplus Crown assets 363 0 0 429 0 0
Collection agency fees 0 0 0 0 0 0
Payment in lieu of taxes to municipalities and other taxing authorities Footnote 2 0 349,644 349,644 0 367,940 367,940
Total other budgetary statutory authorities 108,273 376,622 376,622 121,822 398,198 398,198
Total budgetary authorities 3,694,444 1,161,179 1,161,179 3,222,496 1,142,068 1,142,068
Non-budgetary authority
Seized Property Working Capital Account 0 0 0 0 (7,057) (7,057)
Total authorities 3,694,444 1,161,179 1,161,179 3,222,496 1,135,011 1,135,011

Table 2—Departmental budgetary expenditures by standard object (unaudited)

For the quarter ended June 30, 2017 (in thousands of dollars)
Fiscal year ending March 31, 2018 Fiscal year ending March 31, 2017
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2018 Expended during the quarter ended
June 30, 2017
Year to date used at quarter end Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2017 Expended during the quarter ended
June 30, 2016
Year to date used at quarter end
Expenditures
Professional and special services 2,014,064 184,306 184,306 1,852,587 162,778 162,778
Personnel 1,143,796 292,378 292,378 1,160,423 280,384 280,384
Repair and maintenance 1,177,927 165,403 165,403 1,183,948 163,684 163,684
Rentals 1,311,390 300,345 300,345 1,118,809 358,875 358,875
Other subsidies and payments 773,990 100,647 100,647 717,247 78,985 78,985
Acquisition of land, buildings and works 487,371 36,183 36,183 471,057 36,426 36,426
Utilities, materials and supplies 269,432 21,109 21,109 288,112 24,806 24,806
Transportation and communications 76,736 13,622 13,622 71,607 14,466 14,466
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 67,778 8,789 8,789 70,244 14,063 14,063
Information 12,731 2,059 2,059 13,170 2,072 2,072
Transfer payments Footnote 3 0 349,644 349,644 0 367,940 367,940
Total gross budgetary expenditures 7,335,215 1,474,485 1,474,485 6,947,204 1,504,479 1,504,479
Less revenues netted against expenditure
Revolving Funds revenues (2,363,684) (151,971) (151,971) (2,335,096) (178,082) (178,082)
Vote-netted revenues (1,277,087) (161,335) (161,335) (1,389,612) (184,329) (184,329)
Total revenues netted against expenditures (3,640,771) (313,306) (313,306) (3,724,708) (362,411) (362,411)
Total net budgetary expenditures 3,694,444 1,161,179 1,161,179 3,222,496 1,142,068 1,142,068
Date modified:

Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre se terminant le 30 juin 2017

Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre se terminant le 30 juin 2017 (PDF, 660Ko)

Sur cette page

1. Introduction

Le présent rapport financier trimestriel (RFT) devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses. Il a été établi par la direction conformément à l'article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et selon les modalités prévues dans la Directive sur les Normes comptables, GC 4400 Rapport financier trimestriel des ministères. Il n'a pas fait l'objet d'un audit externe ou d'un examen.

1.1 Raison d'être

Le ministère des Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC) a été constitué le 20 juin 1996, en vertu de la Loi sur le ministère des Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux. Depuis le 4 novembre 2015, TPSGC opère sous le nom de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC). SPAC joue un rôle important dans les activités quotidiennes du gouvernement du Canada. Il aide les ministères et organismes fédéraux à réaliser les objectifs visés par leurs mandats en tant qu'acheteur central, gestionnaire de biens immobiliers, spécialiste des questions linguistiques, trésorier, comptable et administrateur de la paye et des pensions. La vision du Ministère consiste à exceller dans les opérations gouvernementales, et sa mission et ses objectifs stratégiques sont d'offrir des services et des programmes centraux de grande qualité qui assurent une saine intendance au nom de la population canadienne et qui répondent aux besoins opérationnels des institutions fédérales.

Une description des activités de programme du ministère se trouve dans Partie II dans le Budget principal des dépenses.

1.2 Méthode de présentation du rapport 

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses et un référentiel d'information financière à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins en information financière concernant les autorisations de dépenser. Le Tableau 1 – État des autorisations (non audité) qui est joint contient les autorisations de dépenser accordées à SPAC par le Parlement et celles utilisées par le Ministère conformément au Budget principal des dépenses de l'exercice en cours.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l'intermédiaire de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l'intermédiaire d'autres lois, sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Lorsque le Parlement est dissous pour la tenue d'une élection générale, l'article 30 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques autorise le gouverneur général, sous certaines conditions, à délivrer un mandat spécial autorisant le gouvernement à retirer des fonds du Trésor. Un mandat spécial est considéré comme un crédit relatif à l'exercice au cours duquel il a été établi.

Le Ministère utilise la méthode de comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement sont encore accordés en fonction d'une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

1.3 Structure financière de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

SPAC a recours à divers mécanismes de financement pour fournir des services au grand nombre de ministères, d'organismes et de sociétés d'État. Cela comprend des autorisations budgétaires composées d'autorisations votées et législatives ainsi que des autorisations non budgétaires. Les autorisations budgétaires votées comprennent les dépenses de fonctionnement, les recettes nettes en vertu d'un crédit et les dépenses en capital. Les autorisations législatives sont principalement composées des fonds renouvelables, des régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés et des paiements en remplacement d'impôts (PERI). Les autorisations non budgétaires sont composées principalement du compte du fonds de roulement des biens saisis (voir la description ci-dessous).

La structure financière complexe de SPAC peut entraîner, tous les trimestres, des fluctuations importantes des autorisations sur une base trimestrielle. Cependant, ces fluctuations se résorbent en fin d'exercice. En voici un résumé :

2. Faits saillants des résultats trimestriels et cumulatifs

2.1 Changements importants aux autorisations

En comparaison avec le même trimestre de l'exercice précédent, les autorisations cumulatives disponibles à SPAC ont augmenté de 471,9 millions de dollars (3 222,5 millions de dollars à la fin de l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017; 3 694,4 millions de dollars à la fin de l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2018), comme l'indique le Tableau 1 – État des autorisations (non audité). Les principales raisons qui expliquent cette augmentation sont énoncées ci-dessous :

Écarts relatifs aux autorisations disponibles d'un exercice à l'autre (en millions de dollars)
Initiative Fonctionnement Capital Autorisations législatives budgétaires Total des écarts
Réhabilitation de la Cité parlementaire 25,5 80,0 0 105,5
Intégrité du programme des biens immobiliers 88,3 6,1 0 94,4
Protection des prix et du volume 75,1 0 0 75,1
Phase II des ouvrages techniques et Budget 2016 12,9 55,6 0 68,5
Projet d'acquisition de services énergétiques 0 68,4 0 68,4
Réaménagement/aménagement 0 60,0 0 60,0
Plan d'action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux – phases II et III 35,7 0 0 35,7
Mise en place du crédit pour dépenses en capital 45,6 (45,6) 0 0
Contrats de location-acquisition 0 (7,5) 0 (7,5)
Manège militaire de la Grande Allée 0 (14,0) 0 (14,0)
Autres (3,1) (5,3) (5,8) (14,2)
Écarts cumulatifs des autorisations disponibles 280,0 197,7 (5,8) 471,9

Les éléments du tableau peuvent varier d'un trimestre à l'autre en raison de l'importance des initiatives.

Les chiffres étant arrondis, ils peuvent ne pas correspondre au total indiqué sur d'autres documents publics.

L'augmentation cumulative nette de 471,9 millions de dollars s'explique comme suit :

Réhabilitation de la Cité parlementaire – augmentation de 105,5 millions de dollars
Les travaux de réhabilitation de la Cité parlementaire se poursuivent afin de préserver ces biens patrimoniaux et symboles nationaux clés pour de nombreuses années. Cette initiative réduit l'empreinte environnementale de la Cité et enrichit l'expérience des visiteurs, tout en créant des milliers d'emplois et en appuyant la conception de technologies novatrices. Cette année, SPAC prévoit procéder à la réhabilitation de l'édifice de l'Ouest, qui comprend le bâtiment intercalaire dans la cour pour la Chambre des communes temporaire et la construction de la phase 1 du Centre d'accueil des visiteurs.
Intégrité du programme des biens immobiliers – augmentation de 94,4 millions de dollars
En tant que gestionnaire immobilier du gouvernement fédéral, le mandat de SPAC consiste notamment à effectuer les réparations et l'entretien nécessaires des immeubles fédéraux à l'échelle du Canada afin d'assurer un milieu de travail sain et sécuritaire. De grands travaux touchant des composantes du bâtiment clés seront également réalisés dans divers édifices, comme l'édifice Canada's Four Corners, l'édifice Lester B. Pearson et la succursale postale B à Ottawa.
Protection des prix et du volume – augmentation de 75,1 millions de dollars
Cette augmentation du financement protège contre l'inflation (prix) et la variation du nombre de fonctionnaires fédéraux ayant besoin de locaux (volume). Un rapprochement annuel est mené pour s'assurer que SPAC n'est ni trop financé ni sous-financé.
Phase II des ouvrages techniques et Budget 2016 – augmentation de 68,5 millions de dollars
Dans le cadre des initiatives touchant les ouvrages techniques, SPAC procède à la réhabilitation des grandes infrastructures publiques, réduisant ainsi les risques liés à la santé et à la sécurité et assurant l'intendance à long terme de ces ouvrages. Les fonds reçus dans le Budget 2016 permettent de mettre l'accent sur quatre projets : le pont Alexandra Bridge ON, le complexe de barrages Témiscamingue QC, la cale sèche d'Esquimalt C.-B. et la route de l'Alaska C.-B.
Projet d'acquisition de services énergétiques – augmentation de 68,4 millions de dollars
À l'appui de l'engagement du gouvernement du Canada à l'égard des technologies propres, le Projet d'acquisition de services énergétiques de SPAC modernisera le réseau d'énergie qui dessert les immeubles fédéraux dans la région de la capitale nationale. Ceci sera réalisé en convertissant l'infrastructure de chauffage existante en passant de la vapeur à une technologie à eau chaude à basse température plus moderne, réduisant ainsi l'empreinte environnementale.
Réaménagement/aménagement – augmentation de 60,0 millions de dollars
Le mandat de SPAC consiste notamment à préparer les locaux en vue de leur occupation pour satisfaire aux exigences des programmes des ministères clients. Ce service peut aller des petits projets de réaménagement, comme la construction d'une nouvelle salle de conférence, à des aménagements à pleine échelle, dans le cadre desquels les locataires sont réinstallés dans de nouveaux locaux.
Plan d'action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux – phases II et III – augmentation de 35,7 millions de dollars
Les phases II et III du Plan d'action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux (PASCF) permettent de poursuivre les activités d'assainissement de divers sites contaminés pour réduire les responsabilités connexes, de même qu'atténuer les risques pour la santé humaine et l'environnement. Dans le cadre du PASCF, SPAC appuie le développement des compétences et l'embauche des Canadiens et des Canadiennes, tout en encourageant l'industrie environnementale du Canada à élaborer des technologies novatrices et durables. Les principaux sites comprennent la cale sèche d'Esquimalt C.-B., la route de l'Alaska C.-B. et l'ancien dépotoir Sambault QC. À la fin de l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017, le financement de PASCF a été reçu plus tard dans l'année.
Mise en place du crédit pour dépenses en capital – écart total de 0 million de dollars
SPAC doit respecter la nouvelle définition du crédit pour dépenses en capital du gouvernement du Canada qui est entrée en vigueur le 1er avril 2018. Selon cette définition plus élaborée, SPAC a déterminé les frais d'exploitation récurrents actuellement financés au moyen du crédit pour dépenses en capital et a demandé un transfert initial au crédit de fonctionnement, dans le cadre du Budget principal des dépenses de l'exercice en cours. Les travaux se poursuivent pour achever cette initiative.
Contrats de location-acquisition – diminution de 7,5 millions de dollars
Le portefeuille de biens immobiliers de SPAC est constitué d'installations appartenant à l'État et louées au secteur privé, dont certaines comportent des conditions spéciales comme des options d'achat. Cette diminution découle de la mise en œuvre de la stratégie d'investissement à long terme dans les contrats de location-acquisition de SPAC approuvée par le Conseil du Trésor à la fin de l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015.
Manège militaire de la Grande Allée – diminution de 14,0 millions de dollars
Après l'incendie de 2008 qui a causé des dommages importants, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé la reconstruction du Manège militaire de la Grande Allée à Québec, car il s'agit d'un édifice patrimonial important de l'État. Suite à l'achèvement des travaux extérieurs à l'été 2017, des travaux mineurs se poursuivront à l'intérieur afin de le rendre prêt à l'occupation.
Autres–diminution de 14,2 millions de dollars
L'écart total de 14,2 millions de dollars est attribuable à divers écarts de financement, principalement liés à des initiatives de biens immobiliers. L'écart s'explique surtout par la diminution du taux des régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés de 17,2 % de l'exercice précédent à 15,7 % de l'exercice en cours, telle qu'exigée par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor.

2.2 Changements importants relatifs aux dépenses nettes depuis le début de l'année

Tel qu'illustré dans le Tableau 2 – Dépenses budgétaires ministérielles par article courant (non audité), les dépenses budgétaires nettes cumulatives totales ont augmenté de 19,1 millions de dollars par rapport au même trimestre de l'exercice précédent (1 142,0 millions de dollars de l'exercice précédent comparativement à 1 161,1 millions de dollars de l'exercice en cours).

Dans l'ensemble, les dépenses à la fin du troisième trimestre représentaient 31 % des dépenses annuelles prévues de l'exercice en cours, comparativement à 35 % au premier trimestre de l'exercice précédent.

Écarts relatifs aux dépenses budgétaires nettes d'un exercice à l'autre (par article courant)
(en millions de dollars)
Article courant Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre – au 30 juin 2017 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre – au 30 juin 2016 Écart net d'une année à l'autre
Autres subventions et paiements 100,6 79,0 21,6
Services professionnels et spéciaux 184,3 162,8 21,5
Personnel 292,4 280,4 12,0
Location 300,3 358,9 (58,6)
Paiements de transfert 349,6 367,9 (18,3)
Autres dépenses 247,2 255,4 (8,2)
Total des revenus affectés aux dépenses (313,3) (362,4) 49,1
Total des dépenses budgétaires nettes 1 161,1 1 142,0 19,1

L'augmentation nette de 19,1 millions de dollars est principalement attribuable à ce qui suit :

3. Risques et incertitudes

SPAC intègre les principes de gestion des risques à la planification opérationnelle, à la prise de décisions et aux processus organisationnels afin de réduire les retombées négatives de ses activités et d'optimiser les possibilités relatives à sa vaste gamme de services et à ses opérations. La gestion des risques à SPAC est assurée conformément au Cadre de gestion des risques du Secrétariat du Trésor (SCT), au Cadre de responsabilisation de gestion et à la Politique de gestion intégrée des risques de SPAC.

Les facteurs de risques clés suivants ont été désignés comme ayant un impact financier potentiel :

4. Changements importants relatifs aux activités, au personnel et aux programmes

Il n'y a pas eu de changements considérables aux activités, au personnel et aux programmes du Ministère au cours du premier trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2017.

Approuvé par :

Marie Lemay, ing., P.Eng.
Sous-ministre
Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Gatineau, Canada
25 août 2017

Marty Muldoon, CPA, CMA, MAA
Dirigeant principal des finances
Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Gatineau, Canada
11 août 2017

Tableau 1 – État des autorisations (non audité)

Pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2017 (en milliers de dollars)
Exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2018 Exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2018 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2017 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2016 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 1
Dépenses de fonctionnement 3 411 248 696 364 696 364 3 243 865 695 176 695 176
Recettes à valoir sur le crédit (1 277 087) (161 335) (161 335) (1 389 612) (184 329) (184 329)
Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 2 134 161 535 029 535 029 1 854 253 510 847 510 847
Crédit 5 - Dépenses en capital 1 441 928 139 895 139 895 1 244 140 93 549 93 549
Fonds renouvelables
Fonds renouvelable des Services immobiliers
Dépenses brutes 2 066 201 220 917 220 917 2 004 837 279 793 279 793
Revenus (2 060 076) (109 109) (109 109) (2 002 237) (125 431) (125 431)
Dépenses nettes 6 125 111 808 111 808 2 600 154 362 154 362
Fonds renouvelable du Bureau de la traduction
Dépenses brutes 162 223 28 344 28 344 154 311 28 955 28 955
Revenus (158 266) (28 948) (28 948) (154 630) (30 930) (30 930)
Dépenses nettes 3 957 (604) (604) (319) (1 975) (1 975)
Fonds renouvelable des services optionnels
Dépenses brutes 145 343 12 343 12 343 178 229 8 808 8 808
Revenus (145 343) (13 914) (13 914) (178 229) (21 721) (21 721)
Dépenses nettes 0 (1 571) (1 571) 0 (12 913) (12 913)
Total des Fonds renouvelables
Dépenses brutes 2 373 767 261 604 261 604 2 337 377 317 556 317 556
Revenus (2 363 685) (151 971) (151 971) (2 335 096) (178 082) (178 082)
Dépenses nettes des Fonds renouvelables 10 082 109 633 109 633 2 281 139 474 139 474
Autres autorisations budgétaires législatives
Contributions aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés 107 826 26 957 26 957 121 309 30 251 30 251
Ministre de SPA - Traitement et allocation pour automobile 84 21 21 84 7 7
Remboursements de montants portés aux revenus d'exercices antérieurs 0 0 0 0 0 0
Dépenses des produits de la vente de biens excédentaires de l'État 363 0 0 429 0 0
Honoraires - Agence de recouvrement 0 0 0 0 0 0
Paiement en remplacement d'impôts fonciers versés aux municipalités et à d'autres autorités taxatrices Note de bas de page 2 0 349 644 349 644 0 367 940 367 940
Autres autorisations budgétaires législatives totales 108 273 376 622 376 622 121 822 398 198 398 198
Autorisations budgétaires totales 3 694 444 1 161 179 1 161 179 3 222 496 1 142 068 1 142 068
Autorisations non-budgétaires
Biens saisis - Compte de fonds de roulement 0 0 0 0 (7 057) (7 057)
Autorisations totales 3 694 444 1 161 179 1 161 179 3 222 496 1 135 011 1 135 011

Tableau 2 – Dépenses budgétaires ministérielles par article courant (non audité)

Pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2017 (en milliers de dollars)
Exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2018 Exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2018 Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2017 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017 Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2016 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses
Services professionnels et spéciaux 2 014 064 184 306 184 306 1 852 587 162 778 162 778
Personnel 1 143 796 292 378 292 378 1 160 423 280 384 280 384
Services de réparation et d'entretien 1 177 927 165 403 165 403 1 183 948 163 684 163 684
Locations 1 311 390 300 345 300 345 1 118 809 358 875 358 875
Autres subventions et paiements 773 990 100 647 100 647 717 247 78 985 78 985
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et ouvrages 487 371 36 183 36 183 471 057 36 426 36 426
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 269 432 21 109 21 109 288 112 24 806 24 806
Transports et communications 76 736 13 622 13 622 71 607 14 466 14 466
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 67 778 8 789 8 789 70 244 14 063 14 063
Information 12 731 2 059 2 059 13 170 2 072 2 072
Paiements de transfertNote de bas de page 3 0 349 644 349 644 0 367 940 367 940
Dépenses budgétaires brutes totales 7 335 215 1 474 485 1 474 485 6 947 204 1 504 479 1 504 479
Moins les revenus affectés aux dépenses
Revenus fonds renouvelables (2 363 684) (151 971) (151 971) (2 335 096) (178 082) (178 082)
Recettes à valoir sur le crédit (1 277 087) (161 335) (161 335) (1 389 612) (184 329) (184 329)
Total des revenus affectés aux dépenses (3 640 771) (313 306) (313 306) (3 724 708) (362 411) (362 411)
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 3 694 444 1 161 179 1 161 179 3 222 496 1 142 068 1 142 068
Date de modification :