Section II: Operating context and key risks—2016 to 2017 Departmental Results Report

Document navigation for "Section II: Operating context and key risks—2016 to 2017 Departmental Results Report"

Operating context

Over the 2016 to 2017 reporting cycle, Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) continued to play its critical role as a central service provider, in which it provided federal departments, agencies and Parliament with a range of services including procurement solutions, real property management and translation. In doing so, the department supported federal departments and agencies in the delivery of the government's core priorities: open and transparent government, social inclusion and diversity, inclusive and sustainable economic growth, and a safer and stronger Canada at home in the world.

PSPC facilitated the delivery of high quality programs and services and assisted federal department clients in striving towards the efficient use of resources. This achievement was made against the backdrop of PSPC's ongoing efforts to address outstanding issues with the Phoenix pay system. Many activities are underway to capture lessons learned from the rollout of Phoenix that will then be integrated into future complex projects and transformations. The department will also utilize lessons learned from the successful implementation of initiatives, such as the smooth transfer of the pension administration for the Canadian Armed Forces, during which all service levels were met or exceeded.

We demonstrated leadership in meeting the government's environmental focus through the promotion of new approaches to how we manage federal buildings, what we buy, and how we manage acquisitions. For example, our environmental remediation on surplus federal buildings makes them suitable for housing. As well, an overarching sustainable development and environmental strategy was developed to ensure that sustainability is integrated into all departmental real property activities.

PSPC continued to implement the Long Term Vision and Plan for the Parliamentary Precinct to address the deteriorated state of Canada's 19th century parliamentary buildings, meet the accommodation needs of the 21st century Parliament, and implement security measures while maintaining a balance of openness and security on Parliament Hill. Through projects such as rehabilitating the West Block and the Government Conference Centre, as well as constructing the Visitor Welcome Centre, the department improved the sustainability, accessibility and safety of the Parliamentary Precinct, while promoting innovation and offering unique opportunities for youth and Indigenous peoples.

PSPC strove to meet clients' expectations, while balancing its enduring commitment to deliver improved programs and services with integrity. Fair, open and transparent procurement processes, for example, delivered products and services in a manner that was consistent with the highest standards. The department undertook many initiatives to simplify government procurement, provide modern comptrollership and support socio-economic priorities.

PSPC continued to collaborate with federal partners to innovate its delivery of programs and services, and align its activities with government priorities to deliver clear results. These efforts led to the delivery of common Government of Canada (GC) applications, such as My Government of Canada human resources (My GCHR), the Shared Case Management System, and GCdocsFootnote 1 to support government-wide modernization. As well, internal changes, like adapting governance structures and procedures, were made to streamline processes and help deliver the highest quality programs and services to clients.

Over the past year, PSPC continued its efforts with respect to change management support for employees through the creation a Mental Health Ombudsman, a first in the federal public service, and promoting change management training to employees. The department remains focused on continued progress toward a high-performing public service that embraces innovation, transformation and renewal.

Key risks

PSPC integrates risk into business planning, decision making and organizational processes to minimize negative impacts and maximize opportunities across its diverse range of services and operations. Risk management is conducted throughout PSPC in accordance with the Treasury Board framework for the management of risk, the PSPC Policy on Integrated Risk Management, the International Organization for Standardization 31000, and the Canadian Standards Association implementation guide to CAN/CSA-ISO 31000, Risk management: Principles and guidelines.

As outlined in the following table, in 2016 to 2017, PSPC's top 4 risks were as follows:

PSPC reports on these 4 risks, as they were identified in the 2014 to 2015 to 2016 to 2017 Departmental Risk Profile and the 2016 to 2017 Report on Plans and Priorities. However, the department updated its risks for inclusion in the 2017 to 2018 Departmental Plan. For further information, please visit the 2017 to 2018 Departmental Plan – key risks section.

Risk table
Risks Mitigating strategy and effectiveness Link to the department's programs Link to mandate letter commitments or to government-wide and departmental priorities

Financial risk: PSPC's reliance on cost recovery poses risks in an environ­­ment of reduced expendi­tures on the part of client departments.

PSPC's mitigating strategies included:

  • sustaining rigorous forecasting
  • management and monitoring of revenues, as well as working closely with other departments through the client service network to identify changing requirements and their impacts on the department
  • acquisitions
  • accommodation management and real property services
  • Receiver General for Canada
  • integrity programs and services
  • linguistic management and services
  • specialized programs and services
  • internal services

PSPC priority:

  • service excellence

Complex, transformational and interdepartmental major projects and procurements related risk: There are inherent risks in PSPC undertaking and delivering complex, transforma­tional and inter­depart­mental major projects and procure­ments on time, within the approved budget and according to scope (which could ultimately have an impact on the department's service strategy).

PSPC's mitigating strategies included:

  • implementation of disciplined investments and project management processes including:
    • Departmental Investment Plan
    • development and implementation of service agreements with clear identification of responsibilities
    • sound contract management
    • early engagement with client departments and other stakeholders
  • acquisitions
  • accommodation management and real property services
  • Receiver General for Canada
  • integrity programs and services
  • federal pay and pension administration
  • linguistic management and services
  • specialized programs and services

Government of Canada priorities:

  • growth for the middle class
  • a clean growth economy

Minister's mandate letter priority:
Prioritize the National Shipbuilding Procurement Strategy to support renewal of the Canadian Coast Guard fleet and to ensure the Royal Canadian Navy is able to operate as a true blue-water maritime force

PSPC priorities:

  • innovation and modernization
  • value for money

Workforce risk: There is a risk that PSPC may not have the ability to maintain a high-performing work­force with the appro­priate skills and competencies to achieve the expected service delivery levels in support of evolving business needs.

PSPC's mitigating strategies included:

  • reinforcement of the integrated approach to talent management to support employee development and succession planning, including in the context of:
    • transformation
    • modernization of the human resources management through new systems and approaches
    • reinforcement and streamlining of internal processes to better meet clients' needs
    • focus on leadership excellence as a driver for people engagement and building an efficient workforce for the future
  • acquisitions
  • accommodation management and real property services
  • Receiver General for Canada
  • integrity programs and services
  • federal pay and pension administration
  • linguistic management and services
  • specialized programs and services
  • internal services

PSPC priorities:

  • service excellence
  • innovation and modernization

Managed services risk: There is a risk that PSPC may not always meet increasing client expectations and achieve the expected efficiencies and/or savings, or it may experience challenges maintaining service quality under the managed service approach in a context of reduced expenditures.

PSPC's mitigating strategy included:

  • providing a balanced approach between meeting the needs of client departments and demonstrating sound stewardship of resources
  • acquisitions
  • accommodation management and real property services
  • Receiver General for Canada
  • integrity programs and services
  • federal pay and pension administration
  • linguistic management and services
  • specialized programs and services
  • internal services

Minister's mandate letter priority:
Support the President of the Treasury Board in the development of a new service strategy that aims to create a single online window for all government services with new performance standards.

PSPC priorities:

  • service excellence
  • value for money 

Risk narrative

Financial risk

PSPC continued to implement a more robust financial management framework, a more rigorous approach to manage and monitor revenues, as well as a departmental client service strategy targeted at providing quality services while adapting to fluctuating business volumes.

Complex, transformational and interdepartmental major projects and procurements related risk

PSPC has a sustained commitment to the exploration of innovative solutions. Focusing on large and complex transformational initiatives presents the opportunity for delivering more effective and efficient government services and offering enhanced results and benefits for Canadians. Yet at the same time, such large undertakings demand rigorous systems and controls that contain clear accountabilities, and ensure experienced teams possess the flexibility and agility to quickly allow for course correction, when required. PSPC is establishing mechanisms to identify lessons learned from current program challenges, including the Phoenix pay administration initiative, to ensure that new approaches are well supported by effective policies, training and necessary technical expertise to succeed.

Workforce risk

PSPC must have human resources possessing the requisite skills and competencies to ensure continued delivery of service excellence. Resource capacity is affected by a number of factors, including the department's demographic characteristics and its ability to attract and retain talent. Demographics point to over a quarter of PSPC employees being eligible for retirement within the next five years. Meanwhile, the implementation of major transformation initiatives and associated challenges may impact the retention and attraction of highly qualified employees, as well as employees' need for professional development. PSPC is mitigating this situation through human resources management strategies that focus on strengthening skills and capacity, enhancing talent management approaches, and leveraging enabling technologies to ensure the department remains an employer of choice.

Managed services risk

PSPC strives to ensure that its service offerings continue to meet its evolving client departments' needs while delivering efficiencies and ensuring sound stewardship. In many cases, PSPC is reliant on third party vendors for service delivery where PSPC itself is the intermediary between the client department and vendor. This situation lends itself to the possibility of implementation and performance risks, which could lead to reduced client satisfaction. PSPC is addressing this through more rigorous contract management and enhanced client relationship management.

Document navigation for "Section II: Operating context and key risks—2016 to 2017 Departmental Results Report"

Date modified:

Section II : Contexte opérationnel et principaux risques – Rapport sur les résultats ministériels 2016 à 2017

Navigation pour document "Section II : Contexte opérationnel et principaux risques – Rapport sur les résultats ministériels 2016 à 2017"

Contexte opérationnel

Au cours du cycle des rapports de 2016 à 2017, Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) a continué à jouer son rôle essentiel, à titre de fournisseur de services central, dans le cadre duquel il a fourni aux ministères et organismes fédéraux ainsi qu'au Parlement divers services, dont des solutions d'approvisionnement et des services de gestion des biens immobiliers et de traduction. Ce faisant, le Ministère a appuyé les ministères et organismes fédéraux dans l'exécution des priorités fondamentales du gouvernement : gouvernement ouvert et transparent, inclusion sociale et diversité, croissance économique inclusive et durable, et un Canada plus fort et plus sécuritaire à l'échelle nationale et internationale.

SPAC a facilité la prestation de programmes et de services de grande qualité, et a aidé les ministères clients fédéraux dans leurs efforts pour assurer une utilisation efficiente des ressources. Ces réalisations résultent des efforts continus déployés par SPAC pour régler les problèmes persistants du système de paye Phénix. De nombreuses activités sont en cours afin de consigner les leçons apprises du déploiement de Phénix; lesquelles seront ensuite intégrées aux futurs projets complexes et aux futures transformations. Le Ministère utilisera également les leçons apprises de la mise en œuvre réussie d'initiatives, telles que le transfert harmonieux de l'administration des pensions des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC), au cours duquel toutes les normes de service ont été respectées ou dépassées.

Nous avons fait preuve de leadership dans l'atteinte de l'objectif environnemental en faisant la promotion de nouvelles approches relatives à la façon dont nous gérons les immeubles fédéraux, à ce que nous achetons et à la manière dont nous gérons les achats. Par exemple, les travaux d'assainissement environnemental réalisés dans les immeubles fédéraux excédentaires permettent de convertir ceux-ci en logements. De plus, une stratégie globale en matière de développement durable et environnementale a été élaborée pour s'assurer que la durabilité est intégrée dans toutes les activités immobilières ministérielles.

SPAC a poursuivi la mise en œuvre de la vision et du plan à long terme pour la Cité parlementaire afin de remédier à l'état de détérioration des édifices du Parlement du Canada, qui datent du 19e siècle, de répondre aux besoins en locaux d'un parlement du 21e siècle et de mettre en place des mesures de sécurité, tout en maintenant un équilibre entre l'ouverture et la sécurité sur la Colline du Parlement. À travers des projets tels que la réhabilitation de l'édifice de l'Ouest et du Centre de conférences du gouvernement, de même que la construction du Centre d'accueil des visiteurs, le Ministère a amélioré la durabilité, l'accessibilité et la sécurité de la Cité parlementaire, tout en promouvant l'innovation et en offrant des occasions uniques aux jeunes et aux peuples autochtones.

SPAC s'est efforcé de répondre aux attentes des clients, tout en établissant un équilibre entre son engagement constant à fournir des programmes et des services améliorés avec intégrité. Des processus d'approvisionnement équitables, ouverts et transparents, par exemple, permettent de fournir des services et des produits d'une manière conforme aux normes les plus élevées. Le Ministère a entrepris de nombreuses initiatives visant à simplifier le processus d'approvisionnement du gouvernement, à assurer une fonction moderne de contrôle et à appuyer les priorités socioéconomiques.

SPAC a continué à collaborer avec les partenaires fédéraux afin d'innover en termes de sa prestation de programmes et de services, et d'aligner ses activités sur les priorités du gouvernement en vue d'obtenir des résultats claires. Ces efforts ont mené à la création d'applications communes du gouvernement du Canada, telles que Mes ressources humaines du gouvernement du Canada (Mes RHGC), le Système partagé de gestion de cas et GCdocsNote de bas de page 1, afin d'appuyer la modernisation à l'échelle du gouvernement. De plus, des changements internes, comme l'adaptation des structures de gouvernance et de procédures, ont été apportés afin de rationaliser les processus et d'aider à fournir des programmes et des services de la plus grande qualité aux clients.

Au cours de la dernière année, SPAC a poursuivi ses efforts en matière de la gestion du changement auprès des employés avec la création d'un ombudsman de la santé mentale, une première dans la fonction publique fédérale, et la promotion d'une formation portant sur la gestion du changement à l'intention des employés. Le Ministère demeure concentré sur la poursuite des progrès vers une fonction publique hautement performante, qui favorise l'innovation, la transformation et le renouvellement.

Principaux risques

SPAC intègre le facteur risque dans la planification des activités, la prise de décisions et les processus organisationnels afin de réduire au minimum les répercussions négatives et d'optimiser les possibilités relativement à sa vaste gamme de services et d'activités. La gestion du risque est effectuée à travers l'ensemble de l'organisation conformément au Cadre stratégique de gestion du risque du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, à la Politique de gestion intégrée des risques de SPAC, à la norme 31000 de l'Organisation internationale de normalisation, et au Guide de mise en œuvre de la norme CAN/CSA-ISO 31000, Management du risque – Principes et lignes directrices, de l'Association canadienne de normalisation.

Comme il est indiqué dans le tableau ci-après, les 4 principaux risques de SPAC en 2016 à 2017 étaient les suivants :

SPAC rend compte de ces 4 risques, qui ont été ciblés dans le Profil de risque ministériel de 2014 à 2015 à 2016 à 2017 et dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités de 2016 à 2017. Toutefois, le Ministère a mis à jour ses risques en vue de les inclure dans le Plan ministériel 2017 à 2018. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter la section risques clés du Plan ministériel 2017 à 2018.

Tableau des risques
Risques Stratégie d'atténuation et efficacité Lien avec les programmes du ministère Lien avec les engagements énoncés dans la lettre de mandat ou avec les priorités du ministère et de l'ensemble du gouvernement

Risque financier : Le recours, par SPAC, au recouvrement des coûts pose un risque dans le contexte de réduction des dépenses que connaissent les ministères clients.

Les stratégies d'atténuation de SPAC comprenaient :

  • gestion rigoureuse des prévisions
  • surveillance des recettes, ainsi qu'une étroite collaboration avec d'autres ministères par l'intermédiaire du réseau de service à la clientèle afin d'identifier les exigences changeantes et leurs répercussions sur le ministère
  • approvisionnements
  • services de gestion des locaux et services immobiliers
  • Receveur général du Canada
  • programmes et services d'intégrité
  • gestion linguistique et services connexes
  • programmes et services spécialisés
  • services internes

Priorité de SPAC :

  • excellence du service

Risques liés aux grands projets et approvisionnements complexes, transformationnels et interministériels : Il y a des risques inhérents au fait que SPAC entreprenne et exécute de grands projets et approvisionnements complexes, transformationnels et interministériels dans le respect des délais, du budget approuvé et de la portée établie (ce qui, au bout du compte, pourrait avoir une incidence sur la stratégie de service du ministère).

Les stratégies d'atténuation de SPAC comprenaient :

  • la mise en œuvre de processus rigoureux de gestion des investissements et des projets, y compris :
    • le Plan d'investissement ministériel
    • l'élaboration et la mise en œuvre d'ententes de services qui déterminent clairement les responsabilités
    • une saine gestion des contrats
    • la mobilisation en début de processus des ministères clients et des autres intervenants
  • approvisionnements
  • services de gestion des locaux et services immobiliers
  • Receveur général du Canada
  • programmes et services d'intégrité
  • administration de la paye et des pensions fédérales
  • gestion linguistique et services connexes
  • programmes et services spécialisés

Priorités du gouvernement du Canada :

  • croissance de la classe moyenne
  • économie axée sur une croissance propre

Priorité de la lettre de mandat de la Ministre : Donner la priorité à la Stratégie nationale de construction navale pour soutenir le renouvellement de la flotte de la Garde côtière canadienne et veiller à ce que la Marine royale canadienne soit une véritable flotte de haute mer.

Priorités de SPAC :

  • innovation et modernisation
  • optimisation des ressources

Risque lié à l'effectif : Il y a un risque que SPAC n'ait pas la capacité nécessaire pour maintenir un effectif à haut rendement possédant les connaissances et les compétences appropriées pour atteindre les niveaux de prestation de services attendus à l'appui des besoins opérationnels changeants.

Les stratégies d'atténuation de SPAC comprenaient :

  • le renforcement de l'approche intégrée en matière de gestion des talents afin de soutenir le perfectionnement des employés et la planification de la relève, y compris dans un contexte de :
    • transformation
    • la modernisation de la gestion des ressources humaines à l'aide de nouveaux systèmes et de nouvelles approches
    • le renforcement et la simplification des processus internes pour mieux répondre aux besoins des clients
    • la focalisation sur l'excellence du leadership en tant que moteur pour mobiliser les personnes et bâtir un effectif efficace pour l'avenir
  • approvisionnements
  • services de gestion des locaux et services immobiliers
  • Receveur général du Canada
  • programmes et services d'intégrité
  • administration de la paye et des pensions fédérales
  • gestion linguistique et services connexes
  • programmes et services spécialisés
  • services internes

Priorités de SPAC :

  • excellence du service
  • innovation et modernisation

Risque lié aux services gérés : Il y a un risque que SPAC ne puisse pas toujours répondre aux attentes de plus en plus grandes des clients et réaliser les gains d'efficience ou les économies prévus, ou qu'il ait de la difficulté à maintenir la qualité des services dans le cadre de l'approche de services gérés dans un contexte de réduction des dépenses.

La stratégie d'atténuation de SPAC comprenait :

  • l'adoption d'une approche équilibrée entre la satisfaction des besoins des ministères clients et la saine intendance des ressources
  • approvisionnements
  • services de gestion des locaux et services immobiliers
  • Receveur général du Canada
  • programmes et services d'intégrité
  • administration de la paye et des pensions fédérales
  • gestion linguistique et services connexes
  • programmes et services spécialisés
  • services internes

Priorité de la lettre de mandat de la Ministre : Soutenir le président du Conseil du Trésor dans le cadre de l'élaboration d'une nouvelle stratégie de service visant à créer un guichet unique en ligne pour tous les services gouvernementaux avec de nouvelles normes de rendement.

Priorités de SPAC :

  • excellence du service
  • optimisation des ressources

Exposé des faits sur les risques

Risque financier

SPAC a continué à mettre en œuvre un cadre de gestion financière plus solide, une approche plus rigoureuse en matière de gestion des recettes, ainsi qu'une stratégie ministérielle de service à la clientèle visant à fournir des services de qualité tout en s'adaptant aux volumes d'affaires fluctuants.

Risques liés aux grands projets et approvisionnements complexes, transformationnels et interministériels

SPAC a un engagement continu à l'égard de l'exploration de solutions novatrices. En mettant l'accent sur des initiatives complexes et de grande envergure, il est possible de fournir des services gouvernementaux plus efficaces et efficients et d'offrir des résultats et des avantages améliorés à la population canadienne. Pourtant, les initiatives d'une telle envergure exigent des systèmes et des contrôles rigoureux dont les responsabilités sont définies clairement, et assurent que les équipes expérimentées possèdent la flexibilité et la souplesse nécessaires pour rectifier rapidement le tir, au besoin. SPAC établit des mécanismes pour cibler les leçons tirées des défis relevés dans le cadre des programmes actuels, notamment l'initiative d'administration de la paye de Phénix, afin de s'assurer que les nouvelles approches sont bien soutenues par des politiques efficaces, la formation et l'expertise technique nécessaires pour assurer la réussite.

Risque lié à l'effectif

Les ressources humaines de SPAC doivent posséder les habiletés et les compétences requises pour assurer l'excellence continue du service. La capacité en matière de ressources est influencée par un certain nombre de facteurs, notamment les caractéristiques démographiques du Ministère et sa capacité à attirer les talents et à les maintenir en poste. Les données démographiques démontrent que plus d'un quart des employés de SPAC seront admissibles à la retraite au cours des cinq prochaines années. Entre-temps, la mise en œuvre d'importantes initiatives de transformation et les défis qui y sont associés peuvent avoir des répercussions sur le maintien en poste et le recrutement d'employés hautement qualifiés, ainsi que sur le besoin de perfectionnement professionnel des employés. SPAC atténue cette situation à l'aide de stratégies de gestion des ressources humaines axées sur le renforcement des compétences et de la capacité, l'amélioration des approches de gestion des talents et l'utilisation de technologies habilitantes pour s'assurer que le Ministère demeure un employeur de choix.

Risque lié aux services gérés

SPAC s'efforce de veiller à ce que ses offres de service continuent à répondre aux besoins changeants des ministères clients, tout en réalisant des gains d'efficacité et en assurant une saine intendance. Dans de nombreux cas, SPAC dépend de tiers fournisseurs pour la prestation de services, et le Ministère lui-même sert d'intermédiaire entre le ministère client et le fournisseur. Cette situation entraîne d'éventuels risques liés à la mise en œuvre et au rendement, ce qui pourrait se traduire par une baisse de la satisfaction des clients. SPAC atténue ce risque en assurant une gestion plus rigoureuse des contrats et une gestion améliorée des relations avec les clients.

Navigation pour document "Section II : Contexte opérationnel et principaux risques – Rapport sur les résultats ministériels 2016 à 2017"

Date de modification :