Section 8 - Foreign Exchange Accounts

Public Accounts of Canada 2015 Volume I - Top of the page Navigation

Table of Contents

Foreign Exchange Accounts

Foreign exchange accounts represent financial claims and obligations of the Government as a result of Canada's foreign exchange operations. Financial claims and obligations denominated in foreign currencies are reported at Canadian dollar equivalents at March 31. Investment income from the foreign exchange accounts and net gains and losses resulting from the translation of the net assets denominated in foreign currencies, to Canadian dollar equivalents as at March 31, are recorded in foreign exchange net revenues on the Consolidated Statement of Operations and Accumulated Deficit.

Table 8.1 presents the continuity of each foreign exchange account, by showing the opening and closing balances, as well as payments and other charges and receipts and other credits. It should be noted, however, that this table excludes unmatured debt payable in foreign currencies, amounting to $20,267 million as at March 31, 2015 ($16,030 million as at March 31, 2014); details relating to these obligations are presented in Section 6 of this volume. A narrative description is provided for accounts reported in some tables. Such descriptions follow the same presentation order as their respective tables.

Table Summary

The table presents, to the nearest dollar, the Foreign Exchange Accounts. It consists of five columns: a detailled listing of components; April 1 of the current year; Payments and other charges; Receipts and other credits; March 31 of the current year. The first series of rows presents the different foreign exchange accounts followed by a subtotal. The second series of rows lists the notes payable and special drawing rights allocations followed by a subtotal. The final row presents the total.

Table 8.1
Foreign Exchange Accounts

  April 1, 2014
($)
Payments and other charges
($)
Receipts and other credits
($)
March 31, 2015
($)
International reserves held in the Exchange Fund Account, Table 8.2 77,365,078,160 34,153,961,890 19,558,262,746 91,960,777,304
International Monetary Fund — Subscriptions 10,882,988,348 245,660,044   11,128,648,392
International Monetary Fund — Loans 1,665,220,926 609,022,035 920,776,052 1,353,466,909
Subtotal 89,913,287,434 35,008,643,969 20,479,038,798 104,442,892,605
Less:        
International Monetary Fund — Notes payable 7,419,018,280 898,484,732 2,441,306,252 8,961,839,800
Special drawing rights allocations 10,231,773,099   230,960,262 10,462,733,361
Subtotal 17,650,791,379 898,484,732 2,672,266,514 19,424,573,161
Total 72,262,496,055 35,907,128,701 23,151,305,312 85,018,319,444

Public Accounts of Canada 2015 Volume I - Bottom of the page Navigation

Section 8 - Comptes d'opérations de change

Navigation de haut de page du volume I du manuel du receveur général

Table des matières

Comptes d'opérations de change

Les comptes d'opérations de change représentent les créances et les dettes du gouvernement par suite des opérations de change du Canada. Les créances et les dettes libellées en devises sont présentées au 31 mars en dollars canadiens correspondants. Les revenus de placement des comptes d'opérations de change ainsi que les gains et pertes nets résultant de la conversion des éléments d'actif nets libellés en devises, en dollars canadiens correspondants au 31 mars, sont inscrits à titre de revenus nets des opérations de change à l'état consolidé des résultats et du déficit accumulé.

Le tableau 8.1 présente la continuité de chaque compte d'opérations de change, en montrant les soldes d'ouverture et de clôture, de même que les paiements et autres débits et les rentrées et autres crédits. Cependant, on doit noter que ce tableau exclut la dette non échue à payer en devises, au montant de 20 267 millions de dollars au 31 mars 2015 (16 030 millions de dollars au 31 mars 2014); le détail portant sur cette dette est présenté à la section 6 de ce volume. Une description narrative est fournie pour les comptes présentés dans certains tableaux. Ces descriptions sont présentées dans le même ordre que celui de leurs tableaux respectifs.

Tableau récapitulatif

Le tableau présente, au dollar près, les comptes d'opérations de change. Il contient cinq colonnes : une liste détaillée des composantes; solde d'ouverture au 1er avril de l'exercice courant; paiements et autres débits; rentrées et autres crédits; solde de fermeture au 31 mars de l'exercice courant. La première série de rangées liste les comptes d'opérations de change suivis d'un total partiel. La deuxième série de rangées liste les effets à payer et les allocations de droits de tirages spéciaux suivis d'un total partiel. La dernière rangée présente le total.

Tableau 8.1
Comptes d’opérations de change

  1er avril 2014
($)
Paiements et autres débits
($)
Rentrées et autres crédits
($)
31 mars 2015
($)
Réserves de liquidités internationales détenues dans le compte du fonds des changes, tableau 8.2 77 365 078 160 34 153 961 890 19 558 262 746 91 960 777 304
Fonds monétaire international — Souscriptions 10 882 988 348 245 660 044   11 128 648 392
Fonds monétaire international — Prêts 1 665 220 926 609 022 035 920 776 052 1 353 466 909
Total partiel 89 913 287 434 35 008 643 969 20 479 038 798 104 442 892 605
Moins :        
Fonds monétaire international — Effets à payer 7 419 018 280 898 484 732 2 441 306 252 8 961 839 800
Allocations de droits de tirage spéciaux 10 231 773 099   230 960 262 10 462 733 361
Total partiel 17 650 791 379 898 484 732 2 672 266 514 19 424 573 161
Total 72 262 496 055 35 907 128 701 23 151 305 312 85 018 319 444

Navigation en bas de page du volume I du manuel du receveur général