Section 9 - Loans, Investments and Advances

Public Accounts of Canada 2015 Volume I - Top of the page Navigation

Table of Contents

Loans, Investments and Advances

Loans, investments and advances is a category of financial claims represented by debt instruments and ownership interests held by the Government of Canada acquired through the use of parliamentary appropriations, except for the portion of the investment balances representing adjustments for the equity of enterprise Crown corporations and other government business enterprises. Some of these appropriations permit repayments to be used for further loans and advances. Details of the use of non-budgetary appropriations, for loans, investments and advances, can be found in the ministerial sections of Volume II.

The investment in enterprise Crown corporations and other government business enterprises is accounted for under the modified equity method and is carried at cost which is adjusted for the annual profits or losses of the enterprises and reduced by any dividends paid by the corporations to the Government. Under the modified equity method, the accounting policies of the enterprise Crown corporations and other government business enterprises are not adjusted to conform to the Government's accounting policies. The Government also reports any amounts receivable from or payable to these corporations and where the Government has advanced funds to the corporations to support their direct lending activities, the amounts are recorded as loans and advances by the Government.

Other loans, investments and advances are initially recorded at cost and are subject to annual valuation to reflect reductions from the recorded value to the approximate net realizable value. Foreign currency transactions are translated and recorded in Canadian dollar equivalents at the exchange rates prevailing at the transaction dates. Balances of loans, investments and advances resulting from foreign currency transactions are reported at year-end closing rates of exchange; net gains and losses related to these sovereign loans are presented with the return on investments from these loans under other program revenues.

The allowance established to reflect reductions from the recorded value to the approximate net realizable value of financial claims held by the Government has been authorized by the Minister of Finance and the President of the Treasury Board, under subsection 63(2) of the Financial Administration Act.

Revenues received during the year on loans, investments and advances, are credited to other revenues; details are provided in Section 3 of this volume and in Section 10 of Volume III.

Table 9.1 presents the transactions and year-end balances of loans, investments and advances by category.

Some tables in this section present the continuity of accounts, by showing the opening and closing balances, as well as payments and other charges and receipts and other credits. A narrative description is provided for accounts reported in some tables. Such descriptions follow the same presentation order as their respective tables.

Table Summary

The table presents, to the nearest dollar, the transactions and year-end balances of loans, investments and advances by category. It consists of five columns: a detailed listing of components; April 1 of the current year; Payments and other charges; Receipts and other credits; March 31 of the current year. The first six rows present the different loans, investments and advances by category followed by a subtotal. The subsequent row presents the allowance for valuation. The final row presents the total.

Table 9.1
Loans, Investments and Advances

  April 1, 2014
($)
Payments and other charges
($)
Receipts and other credits
($)
March 31, 2015
($)
Enterprise Crown corporations and other government business enterprises, Table 9.2 94,814,258,480 86,300,716,191 91,740,157,757 89,374,816,914
Portfolio investments, Table 9.11 88,226,601 11,526,915 21,549,165 78,204,351
National governments including developing countries, Table 9.12 381,671,343 661,317,378 55,051,255 987,937,466
International organizations, Table 9.13 19,150,525,892 1,057,367,766 18,893,362 20,189,000,296
Provincial and territorial governments, Table 9.14 1,876,728,088 5,891,750 770,479,926 1,112,139,912
Other loans, investments and advances, Table 9.15 26,494,760,892 6,387,844,895 4,636,795,085 28,245,810,702
Subtotal 142,806,171,296 94,424,664,895 97,242,926,550 139,987,909,641
Less: allowance for valuation 25,171,632,695 1,372,429,529 237,370,976 26,306,691,248
Total 117,634,538,601 93,052,235,366 97,005,555,574 113,681,218,393

Public Accounts of Canada 2015 Volume I - Bottom of the page Navigation

Section 9 - Prêts, placements et avances

Navigation de haut de page du volume I du manuel du receveur général

Table des matières

Prêts, placements et avances

Les prêts, placements et avances forment une catégorie d'éléments d'actif représentant les créances acquises sur des tiers et les titres de participation détenus par le gouvernement du Canada obtenus par l'emploi de crédits parlementaires, à l'exception de la portion des soldes de placements représentant les redressements de l'avoir des sociétés d'État entreprises et autres entreprises publiques. Certains crédits permettent d'utiliser les remboursements pour des prêts et avances supplémentaires. On retrouve aux sections ministérielles du volume II, les précisions à l'égard de l'emploi des crédits non budgétaires pour les prêts, placements et avances.

Les placements des sociétés d'État entreprises et autres entreprises publiques sont comptabilisés selon la méthode modifiée à la valeur de consolidation et comptabilisés au coût ajusté du résultat net annuel des sociétés et réduits de tout dividende versé au gouvernement par celles-ci. Selon la méthode modifiée de comptabilisation à la valeur de consolidation, les politiques comptables des sociétés d'État entreprises et autres entreprises publiques ne sont pas harmonisées pour être conformes à celles du gouvernement. De plus, ce dernier présente toutes sommes à recevoir de ou payables à ces sociétés et lorsque le gouvernement a avancé des fonds à des sociétés pour maintenir leurs activités de prêts directs, les montants sont enregistrés comme des prêts et avances par le gouvernement.

Les autres prêts, placements et avances sont initialement comptabilisés au coût et font l'objet d'une évaluation annuelle afin de refléter les diminutions de la valeur comptable à la valeur estimative de réalisation. Les opérations conclues en devises sont converties et comptabilisées en dollars canadiens selon les taux de change en vigueur au moment des opérations. À la fin de l'exercice, les soldes de prêts, placements et avances qui proviennent d'opérations conclues en devises sont convertis aux taux de change en vigueur à cette date. Les gains et pertes nets liés à ces prêts consentis à un État souverain sont présentés avec les produits de placements de ces prêts sous les revenus d'autres programmes.

La provision constituée pour refléter les diminutions de la valeur comptable à la valeur estimative de réalisation nette des créances détenues par le gouvernement a été autorisée par le ministre des Finances et le président du Conseil du Trésor, en vertu du paragraphe 63(2) de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques.

Les revenus encaissés au cours de l'exercice sur les prêts, placements et avances sont crédités aux autres revenus. On trouvera des précisions à la section 3 de ce volume ainsi qu'à la section 10 du volume III.

Le tableau 9.1 présente les opérations et les soldes de fin d'exercice concernant les prêts, placements et avances par catégorie.

Certains tableaux de cette section démontrent la continuité des comptes, en présentant les soldes d'ouverture et de clôture, de même que les paiements et autres débits et les rentrées et autres crédits. Une description narrative est fournie pour les comptes présentés dans certains tableaux. Ces descriptions sont présentées dans le même ordre que celui de leurs tableaux respectifs.

Tableau récapitulatif

Le tableau présente, au dollar près, les opérations et soldes de fin d'exercice concernant les prêts, placements et avances par catégorie. Il contient cinq colonnes : une liste détaillée des composantes; 1er avril de l'exercice courant; paiements et autres débits; rentrées et autres crédits; 31 mars de l'exercice courant. Les six premières rangées présentent les prêts, placements et avances par catégorie suivis d'un total partiel. La rangée suivante présente la provision pour moins-value. La rangée finale présente le total.

Tableau 9.1
Prêts, placements et avances

  1er avril 2014
($)
Paiements et autres débits
($)
Rentrées et autres crédits
($)
31 mars 2015
($)
Sociétés d'État entreprises et autres entreprises publiques, tableau 9.2 94 814 258 480 86 300 716 191 91 740 157 757 89 374 816 914
Placements de portefeuille, tableau 9.11 88 226 601 11 526 915 21 549 165 78 204 351
Gouvernements étrangers, y compris les pays en développement, tableau 9.12 381 671 343 661 317 378 55 051 255 987 937 466
Organisations internationales, tableau 9.13 19 150 525 892 1 057 367 766 18 893 362 20 189 000 296
Administrations provinciales et territoriales, tableau 9.14 1 876 728 088 5 891 750 770 479 926 1 112 139 912
Autres prêts, placements et avances, tableau 9.15 26 494 760 892 6 387 844 895 4 636 795 085 28 245 810 702
Total partiel 142 806 171 296 94 424 664 895 97 242 926 550 139 987 909 641
Moins : provision pour moins‑value 25 171 632 695 1 372 429 529 237 370 976 26 306 691 248
Total 117 634 538 601 93 052 235 366 97 005 555 574 113 681 218 393

Navigation en bas de page du volume I du manuel du receveur général