Strategic outcome and program descriptions

Public Accounts of Canada 2015 Volume II - Top of the page Navigation

Department

Strategic Outcome 1 1

A competitive and market‑oriented agriculture, agri‑food and agri‑based products sector that proactively manages risk.

Program 1.1 — Business Risk Management

Agriculture and Agri‑Food Canada has a comprehensive suite of business risk management programs to better equip producers with the tools and capacity to manage business risks. This suite provides coverage for small income declines, margin‑based support for larger income losses, a disaster relief framework for rapid assistance to producers and production insurance to protect farmers against production losses due to uncontrollable natural hazards. In addition, assistance to producers through the provision of financial guarantees facilitates the marketing of producers' products when market conditions and prices may be more favourable.

Program 1.2 — Market Access, Negotiations, Sector Competitiveness, and Assurance Systems

Agriculture and Agri‑Food Canada (AAFC) supports and equips industry for commercial success in order to maximize the sector's long‑term profitability and competitiveness. In pursuing this objective and in close collaboration with the Canadian agriculture, agri‑food and agri‑based products sector, AAFC ensures access to markets, facilitates industry‑led activities aimed at developing international markets and assurance systems, and provides information to help position industry to capitalize on market opportunities both at home and abroad. Assurance systems include systems, standards and tools for food safety, biosecurity, traceability, surveillance, animal welfare, and other market attributes.

Program 1.3 — Farm Products Council of Canada

Established under the Farm Products Agencies Act (the Act), the Farm Products Council of Canada (FPCC) is a unique public interest oversight body that reports to Parliament through the Minister of Agriculture and Agri‑Food (the Minister). The Act provides for the creation of national marketing agencies, which are not subject to the Competition Act, as well as promotion research agencies. The FPCC supervises these agencies, and works with them to ensure that the supply management system for poultry and eggs and promotion‑research activities for beef cattle work in the balanced interest of all stakeholders, from producers to consumers, and can evolve to respond to current and future challenges. The FPCC also provides advice and recommendations to the Minister, collaborates with provincial supervisory boards and actively works with the department and Agriculture and Agri‑Food Portfolio organizations.

Strategic Outcome 22

An innovative and sustainable agriculture, agri‑food and agri‑based products sector.

Program 2.1 — Science, Innovation, Adoption and Sustainability

Agriculture and Agri‑Food Canada (AAFC) contributes to innovation and sustainability of the agriculture, agri‑food and agri‑based products sector through science and associated activities designed to improve profitability in new and existing products, services, processes and markets. AAFC provides research, development and knowledge transfer that enhances the sector's resiliency, fosters new areas of opportunity for the sector and supports sector competitiveness as well as coordinated and informed decision‑making. AAFC promotes integrated planning, engaging industry, government and academia, and collaborative action to accelerate the flow of science and technology along the innovation continuum in support of industry defined strategies for future success. Farmers, agri‑entrepreneurs and agri‑based enterprises are supported in their efforts to adopt new technologies and commercialize new products and services. Pathfinding and transformational research help to define future sustainable opportunities and prepare the sector for emerging opportunities and challenges.

Program 2.2 — Agri‑Industry Capacity

This program builds capacity of the sector and businesses to sustainably succeed in a market‑driven and competitive world. The program encourages the use of sound business management practices, while also enabling businesses in the sector to understand their financial situation, be profitable and invest where needed. It provides for enhanced participation by young or new entrants, First Nations clients, and clients in specific sub‑sectors in transition. The program also supports the sector and its businesses to improve access to key infrastructure.

Program 2.3 — Canadian Pari‑Mutuel Agency

Section 204 of the Criminal Code of Canada designates the Minister of Agriculture and Agri‑Food as the individual responsible for the policy and regulatory functions pertaining to pari‑mutuel wagering on horse races. The Canadian Pari‑Mutuel Agency (CPMA) is a special operating agency within Agriculture and Agri‑Food Canada that regulates and supervises pari‑mutuel betting on horse racing at racetracks across Canada, with the objective of ensuring that pari‑mutuel betting is conducted in a way that is fair to the betting public. Costs associated with the activities of the CPMA are recovered through a levy on every dollar bet in Canada on horse races. The levy is currently set at eight‑tenths of a cent of every dollar bet. CPMA's strategic plans are focused on regulating and supervising pari‑mutuel wagering on horse races in the most modern, effective and transparent manner.

Strategic Outcome 34

The following program supports all strategic outcomes within this organization.

Program 3.1 — Internal services

The Internal services program supports all strategic outcomes and is common across government. Internal services are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These groups are: Management and oversight services; Communications services; Legal services; Human resources management services; Financial management services; Information management services; Information technology services; Real property services; Material services; Acquisition services; and Travel and other administrative services. Internal services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not to those provided specifically to a program.

Canadian Dairy Commission

Strategic Outcome 11

To enhance the vitality of the Canadian dairy industry for the benefit of all stakeholders.

Program 1.1 — Administer milk supply management system

Set support prices for butter and skim milk powder. Determine and recommend National quota for industrial milk production. Facilitate within the dairy industry. Administer Domestic Seasonality (supply and demand) Program.

Canadian Grain Commission

Strategic Outcome 11

Canada's grain is safe, reliable and marketable and Canadian grain producers are properly compensated for grain deliveries to licensed grain companies.

Program 1.1 — Quality Research Program

The Canada Grain Act requires the CGC to undertake, sponsor and promote research related to grains. The CGC conducts research in support of Canada's grain quality assurance system to address emerging issues and permit the effective marketing of Canadian grain. The CGC's Grain Research Laboratory (GRL) researches factors affecting the quality and safety of grain and grain‑based products. Research in the GRL forms the basis of grain specifications. This program benefits not only the agricultural sector, but also Canadians as consumers of grain products. Close collaboration with Canadian and international scientific, academic, analytical, grain industry organizations and other Canadian government departments (e.g., Agriculture and Agri‑Food Canada, Canadian Food Inspection Agency, Health Canada) ensures that the GRL remains abreast of new research developments and is able to adapt research priorities to emerging challenges. The grain quality research program is funded by a combination of revolving fund revenue and appropriations.

Program 1.2 — Quantity Assurance Program

The CGC's quality assurance program is delivered pursuant to the Canada Grain Act and the Canada Grain Regulations. This program assures consistent and reliable grain quality that meets the needs of international and domestic markets. Grain quality refers to end‑use processing quality, grain safety and cleanliness, and, in some cases, the composition of varieties in shipments of grain. Provision of grain inspection, grain safety, and grading services, as well as strong scientific and technical support programs and services are integral components to the overall delivery of an effective quality assurance program. The program includes a complaints resolution process for resolving customer complaints and disputes with respect to grain quality assurance. An effective grain quality assurance program is a key factor in permitting Canadian exporters to market successfully in competitive international grain markets and is essential for producers to realize maximum value from their grain. The quality assurance program is funded by revolving fund revenue.

Program 1.3 — Quantity Assurance Program

The CGC's quantity assurance program is delivered pursuant to the Canada Grain Act and the Canada Grain Regulations. The services delivered under this program facilitate the official weighing of export shipments of grain discharged from terminal elevators and the issuance of accompanying quantity assurance documentation. This program ensures international grain buyers and end users that Canadian export grain shipments are accurately weighed and that the weighed product is delivered to conveyances as purported on CGC documentation. The program includes weighing systems certifications at terminal elevators, input into weighing equipment requirements and device inspection frequency at primary elevators to ensure accurate weighing of producer deliveries, and a quantity assurance dispute resolution process. To maintain relevancy and to address constantly changing industry demands, the quantity assurance program is supported through legislative requirements and technically based responsibilities. The quantity assurance program is funded by revolving fund revenue.

Program 1.4 — Producer Protection Program

Pursuant to the Canada Grain Act and Canada Grain Regulations, the CGC has implemented a number of programs and safeguards to ensure that grain producers are properly compensated for grain delivered to licensed grain companies. These include the licensing and security program, allocation of producer cars for producers and producer groups that wish to ship their own grain, and producer liaison measures including a grain grade reinspection system. In addition, the CGC collects and updates grain quality data and grain handling information to facilitate producer sales and marketing decisions. The producer protection program is funded by revolving fund revenue.

Strategic Outcome 2 2

The following program supports all strategic outcomes within this organization.

Program 2.1 — Internal services

The Internal services program supports all strategic outcomes and is common across government. Internal services are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These groups are: Management and oversight services; Communications services; Legal services; Human resources management services; Financial management services; Information management services; Information technology services; Real property services; Material services; Acquisition services; and Travel and other administrative services. Internal services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not to those provided specifically to a program.

Farm Credit Canada

Strategic Outcome 11

Farm Credit Canada supports the federal government's vision for continued growth and prosperity in the agriculture industry.

Public Accounts of Canada 2015 Volume II - Bottom of the page Navigation

Résultat stratégique et description des programmes

Navigation de haut de page du volume II du manuel du receveur général

Ministère

Résultat stratégique 11

Un secteur de l'agriculture, de l'agroalimentaire et des produits agro‑industriels compétitif et axé sur le marché qui gère les risques de manière proactive.

Programme 1.1 — Gestion des risques de l'entreprise

Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada a une série de programmes de gestion des risques de l'entreprise pour donner aux producteurs de meilleurs outils et le savoir‑faire nécessaire pour gérer les risques de l'entrepirse. Cette série de programmes procure aux producteurs une protection contre les légères baisses de revenu, une aide axée sur la marge de production quand leurs pertes de revenus sont plus importantes, un cadre d'indemnisation en cas de catastrophe pour les secourir rapidement et une assurance‑production pour les protéger contre les pertes de production causées par des catastrophes naturelles. De plus, le programme prévoit une aide sous forme de garanties financières qui facilitera la commercialisation de leurs produits une fois que la conjoncture du marché et les prix seront plus favorables.

Programme 1.2 — Accès aux marchés, négociations, compétitivité du secteur, et systèmes d'assurance

Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada (AAC) vient en aide à l'industrie et lui offre les outils nécessaires à son succès commercial dans le but de maximiser la rentabilité et la compétitivité à long terme du secteur. Afin d'atteindre cet objectif, et ce, en étroite collaboration avec le secteur canadien de l'agriculture, de l'agroalimentaire et des produits agro‑industriels, AAC garantit l'accès aux marchés, facilite les activités menées par l'industrie visant à développer les marchés internationaux et les systèmes d'assurance, et fournit de l'information afin d'aider l'industrie à se placer dans une bonne position pour tirer profit des débouchés commerciaux et maximiser son rendement, tant au Canada qu'à l'étranger. Les systèmes d'assurance incluent les normes, les systèmes et les outils pour la salubrité des aliments, la biosécurité, la traçabilité, la surveillance, le bien‑être animal, et les autres attributs du marché.

Programme 1.3 — Conseil des produits agricoles du Canada

Institué par l'entremise de la Loi sur les offices des produits agricoles (la Loi), le Conseil des produits agricoles du Canada (CPAC) est un organisme unique de surveillance de l'intérêt public qui fait rapport au Parlement par l'entremise du ministre de l'Agriculture et de l'Agroalimentaire (le Ministre). La Loi permet la création d'offices nationaux de commercialisation, qui ne sont pas assujettis à la Loi sur la concurrence, ainsi que doffices de promotion et de recherche. Le CPAC supervise ces offices afin de s'assurer que le système de gestion de l'offre pour la volaille et les œufs ainsi que les activités de promotion et de recherche pour le bovin de boucherie fonctionnent dans le meilleur intérêt de tous les intervenants; des producteurs aux consommateurs et sont en mesure dévoluer pour faire face aux défis actuels et futurs. Le CPAC prodigue également des conseils et recommandations au Ministre, collabore avec les organismes de surveillances provinciaux et travaille de façon active avec le ministère ainsi que les organismes qui relèvent du portefeuille de l'Agriculture et de l'Agroalimentaire.

Résultat stratégique 22

Un secteur innovateur et durable de l'agriculture, de l'agroalimentaire et des produits agro‑industriels.

Programme 2.1 — Sciences, innovation, adoption et durabilité

Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada (AAC) contribue à l'innovation et la durabilité du secteur de l'agriculture, de l'agroalimentaire et des produits agro‑industriels par le biais d'activités scientifiques et connexes ayant pour but d'accroître la rentabilité des produits, des services, des procédés et des marchés nouveaux et existants. AAC effectue de la recherche, du développement et du transfert de connaissances qui accroissent la résilience du secteur, favorisent la découverte de domaines prometteurs pour le secteur, contribuent à la position concurrentielle de ce dernier et facilitent la prise de décisions éclairées et coordonnées. AAC favorise la planification intégrée, la mobilisation de l'industrie, du gouvernement et des universités ainsi que la collaboration pour accélérer la transmission de l'information scientifique et technologique dans le continuum de l'innovation, et ce, à l'appui des stratégies établies par le secteur pour assurer sa réussite. Les agriculteurs, les agroentrepreneurs et les agroentreprises sont soutenus dans leurs efforts visant à adopter de nouvelles technologies et à commercialiser de nouveaux produits et services. Les recherches exploratoires et transformationnelles permettent de cerner les occasions durables à venir et de préparer le secteur en vue des nouvelles possibilités et des nouveaux défis.

Programme 2.2 — Capacité de l'industrie

Ce programme permet au secteur et aux entreprises d'accroître leur capacité de réussir à long terme dans un monde concurrentiel et axé sur le marché. Le programme encourage l'utilisation de pratiques de gestion d'entreprise éprouvées, tout en permettant aux entreprises du secteur de comprendre leur situation financière, de rester rentables et d'investir, au besoin. Il favorise une participation accrue des jeunes agriculteurs ou des agriculteurs débutants, des clients des Premières nations et des clients de certains sous‑secteurs en transition. Le programme appuie également le secteur et ses entreprises afin d'améliorer l'accès aux infrastructures clés.

Programme 2.3 — Agence canadienne du pari mutuel

En vertu de l'article 204 du Code criminel du Canada, le ministre de l'Agriculture et de l'Agroalimentaire est responsable des politiques et de la réglementation concernant les paris mutuels sur les courses de chevaux. L'Agence canadienne du pari mutuel (ACPM) est un organisme de service spécial d'Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada qui est chargé de réglementer et de superviser les activités de pari mutuel dans les hippodromes canadiens, et qui a pour objectif de s'assurer que le tout s'y déroule de manière équitable pour le public. Les coûts associés aux activités de l'ACPM sont recouvrés au moyen d'un prélèvement fixé actuellement à 0,8 p.100 sur chaque pari engagé au Canada. Les plans stratégiques de L'ACPM sont axés sur la réglementation et la surveillance de façon moderne, efficace et transparente des activités de pari mutuel sur les courses hippiques.

Résultat stratégique 31

Le programme suivant appuie tous les résultats stratégiques de cette organisation.

Programme 3.1 — Services internes

Le programme des services internes appuie tous les résultats stratégiques et est commun dans l'ensemble des ministères. Les services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d'une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion et de surveillance, services des communications, services juridiques, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l'information, services des technologies de l'information, services de gestion des biens, services de gestion du matériel, services de gestion des acquisitions et services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble d'une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

Commission canadienne du lait

Résultat stratégique 11

Accroître la vitalité de l'industrie laitière canadienne au profit de tous les partenaires de l'industrie.

Programme 1.1 — Administre le système de gestion des approvisionnements du lait

Établit les prix de soutien pour le beurre et la poudre de lait écrémé. Calcule et recommande le niveau cible national de production du lait de transformation. Agit comme facilitateur au sein de l'industrie laitière. Gère les Programmes intérieurs de saisonnalité (offre et demande).

Commission canadienne des grains

Résultat stratégique 11

Le grain du Canada est salubre, fiable et commercialisable, et les producteurs de grain canadiens sont rémunérés convenablement pour les livraisons de grain aux compagnies céréalières agréées.

Programme 1.1 — Programme de recherches sur la qualité des grains

En vertu de la Loi sur les grains du Canada, la CCG doit entreprendre, parrainer et promouvoir des travaux de recherche sur les grains. La CCG effectue de la recherche à l'appui du système d'assurance de la qualité des grains du Canada en vue de l'adapter aux nouveaux enjeux et de permettre la commercialisation efficace du grain canadien. Le Laboratoire de recherches sur les grains (LRG) de la CCG étudie les facteurs influant sur la qualité et la salubrité du grain et des produits céréaliers. La recherche menée au LRG sert de fondement à l'établissement des caractéristiques des grains. Ce programme bénéficie non seulement au secteur agricole, mais également aux Canadiens en tant que consommateurs de produits céréaliers. La collaboration étroite avec les organisations canadiennes et internationales scientifiques, universitaires, analytiques et industrielles (secteur céréalier) ainsi qu'avec d'autres ministères fédéraux (p. ex. Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments, Santé Canada) permet à la CCG de demeurer au fait des nouveautés en matière de recherche et d'adapter ses priorités de recherche aux nouveaux défis à relever. Le programme de recherches sur la qualité des grains est financé par un fonds renouvelable et des crédits budgétaires.

Programme 1.2 — Programme d'assurance-qualité

Le programme d'assurance de la qualité de la CCG est exécuté aux termes de la Loi sur les grains du Canada et du Règlement sur les grains du Canada. Ce programme assure la livraison de grain de qualité uniforme et fiable qui répond aux besoins des marchés canadiens et étrangers. La qualité du grain s'entend de la qualité de la transformation aux fins de l'utilisation finale, de la salubrité et de la propreté du grain, et, dans certains cas, de la composition des variétés de grain dans les expéditions. La prestation de services d'inspection, d'analyse de la salubrité et de classement des grains ainsi que de programmes et de services de soutien scientifique et technique solides fait partie intégrante de la prestation globale d'un programme d'assurance de la qualité efficace. Ce programme comprend un processus de résolution de plaintes visant à résoudre les plaintes des clients ainsi que les différends concernant l'assurance de la qualité des grains. Un programme efficace d'assurance de la qualité du grain est un facteur clé de la réussite des exportateurs canadiens sur les marchés céréaliers étrangers, là où la concurrence est forte, et est essentiel pour que les producteurs obtiennent le meilleur prix possible pour leur grain. Le programme d'assurance de la qualité est financé par un fonds renouvelable.

Programme 1.3 — Programme d'assurance‑quantité

Le programme d'assurance de la quantité de la CCG est exécuté aux termes de la Loi sur les grains du Canada et du Règlement sur les grains du Canada. Les services fournis dans le cadre de ce programme facilitent la pesée officielle du grain déchargé des silos terminaux à des fins d'exportation, ainsi que la délivrance des documents d'assurance de la quantité connexes. Ce programme garantit aux acheteurs de grain et aux utilisateurs finaux étrangers que le grain canadien exporté est dûment pesé et acheminé aux transporteurs, tel qu'il est indiqué dans les documents de la CCG. Le programme comprend la certification des systèmes de pesée aux silos terminaux, la formulation de recommandations concernant les exigences relatives au matériel de pesée et à la fréquence des inspections des dispositifs aux silos primaires en vue d'assurer la pesée exacte du grain livré par les producteurs, ainsi qu'un processus de règlement des différends liés à l'assurance de la quantité. Afin d'assurer la pertinence du système et de répondre aux demandes de l'industrie en constante évolution, le programme d'assurance de la quantité est appuyé par des exigences prévues par la loi et des responsabilités axées sur la technologie. Le programme d'assurance de la quantité est financé par un fonds renouvelable.

Programme 1.4 — Programme de protection des producteurs

Aux termes de la Loi sur les grains du Canada et du Règlement sur les grains du Canada, la CCG a mis en œuvre un certain nombre de programmes et de mesures de protection afin d'assurer aux producteurs une rémunération convenable pour le grain livré aux compagnies céréalières agréées. Ces programmes et mesures comprennent le programme d'agrément et de garantie, l'attribution de wagons de producteurs aux producteurs et aux groupes de producteurs qui désirent expédier eux‑mêmes leur grain, et des mesures de liaison avec les producteurs, notamment le système d'appel concernant le grade attribué au grain. De plus, la CCG recueille et met à jour des données sur la qualité du grain et des renseignements sur la manutention du grain pour faciliter les ventes des producteurs et les décisions en matière de marketing. Le programme de protection des producteurs est financé par un fonds renouvelable.

Résultat stratégique 22

Le programme suivante appuie tous les résultats stratégiques de cette organisation.

Programme 2.1 — Services internes

Le programme des services internes appuie tous les résultats stratégiques et est commun dans l'ensemble des ministères. Les services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d'une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion et de surveillance, services des communications, services juridiques, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l'information, services des technologies de l'information, services de gestion des biens, services de gestion du matériel, services de gestion des acquisitions et services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble d'une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

Financement agricole Canada

Résultat stratégique 11

Financement agricole Canada appuie la vision du gouvernement fédéral relative au maintien de la croissance et de la prospérité de l'industrie agricole.

Navigation en bas de page du volume II du manuel du receveur général