Strategic outcome and program descriptions

Public Accounts of Canada 2015 Volume II - Top of the page Navigation

Department

Strategic Outcome 11

A competitive Atlantic Canadian economy.

Program 1.1 — Enterprise Development

Despite recent economic progress and some promising opportunities on the horizon (e.g. energy, shipbuilding), some significant challenges remain for the region to maximize positive growth. One of the most telling indicators of this is that, in a number of sectors, productivity remains significantly lower than in leading countries and other regions of Canada. The Agency works in partnership with Atlantic Canadian businesses, stakeholders, industry and institutions to improve the growth and productivity of Atlantic Canada's economy, leading to increased competitiveness, higher earned incomes and job creation. The Agency works to improve the capacity of Atlantic Canada's rural and urban areas for economic growth through a variety of strategically focused mechanisms: assisting businesses, particularly small and medium‑sized ones, to start, expand or modernize and to establish or expand export activities; partnering with universities and other institutions to increase the region's research and development capacity, commercialization and productivity; and promoting and participating in the region's transition to a knowledge economy.

Program 1.2 — Community Development

The Atlantic economy is built on the region's many geographic, linguistic and cultural communities. From rural areas to larger urban centres, the opportunities and challenges vary significantly. Communities are the foundation of economic development and are critical for economic prosperity. The Agency recognizes the importance of communities and supports their efforts to develop the resources they need to contribute fully to their economic development. For those reasons, the Agency focuses community development efforts and strategies to create dynamic and sustainable communities with increased economic and business activities as well as quality public infrastructure. The Agency develops and delivers programming that meets the unique economic development needs of rural areas in Atlantic Canada and that contributes to a stronger region. The Agency collaborates with the private sector, other levels of government, other federal government departments, educational institutions, non‑profit organizations and communities to leverage support, coordinate economic development, identify and capitalize on emerging opportunities and react to economic challenges across the region. This requires a flexible approach based on the realities of a given community's capacities, strengths and challenges.

Program 1.3 — Policy, Advocacy and Coordination

The Agency's Policy, Advocacy and Coordination (PAC) program is central to identifying and effectively responding to opportunities and challenges facing the regional economy. PAC provides intelligence, analysis and well‑grounded advice on a broad range of issues and topics, and it informs and supports Agency and ministerial decision making. PAC helps carry the Agency's agenda forward and ensure that ACOA overall remains relevant and responsive to the opportunities and challenges in Atlantic Canada by offering strategic, researched policy positions that reflect the region's potential, by influencing national policies and programs that affect Atlantic Canada's development and interests, and in coordinating other policies and programs within the region to form integrated approaches to development.

Strategic Outcome 22

The following program supports all strategic outcomes within this organization.

Program 2.1 — Internal services

The Internal services program supports all strategic outcomes and is common across government. Internal services are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These groups are: Management and oversight services; Communications services; Legal services; Human resources management services; Financial management services; Information management services; Information technology services; Real property services; Materiel services; Acquisition services; and Travel and Other administrative services. Internal services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not to those provided specifically to a program.

Enterprise Cape Breton Corporation

Strategic Outcome 11

A competitive and sustainable Cape Breton economy.

Program 1.1 — Property Development

Through this program, the Enterprise Cape Breton Corporation (ECBC) has the ability to purchase, lease and sell land, and to hold mortgages. The development and management of property holdings are used by the Corporation as a development tool to complement funding programs. Surplus revenues from real property leases and land sales go directly into economic development projects within ECBC's mandate area. In addition, as part of the land transfer/disposal process, the Corporation makes lands available for lease or sale to businesses and organizations in an effort to foster economic development opportunities. Both activities serve to support the economic development mandate of the Corporation. In addition to land holdings, ECBC's real property assets include the Corporation's head office in Sydney, Nova Scotia, the Point Edward Resource Centre (agricultural property), the Port Hawkesbury business facility (office space) and the New Waterford business facility (office space). As a result of the transfer of the assets and liabilities of the Cape Breton Development Corporation (CBDC) to ECBC upon CBDC's dissolution, ECBC now owns and operates a number of water treatment and storage facilities. It also owns and operates the Dominion Coal Yard and leases space from a salvage operation in Sydney Mines, both required to support the former CBDC's contractual obligation to sell coal to current and former employees.

Program 1.2 — Commercial Development

Due to the size and makeup of the Cape Breton economy and its distance from major markets, access to capital remains one of the greatest challenges for businesses. The ability to access capital from traditional lenders, venture capitalists and other levels of government is limited. Recognizing the challenges faced by small and medium‑sized enterprises, the Enterprise Cape Breton Corporation, through this program, works with potential and existing entrepreneurs to assess and to provide, as appropriate, various forms of assistance, including but not limited to equity, secured and unsecured loans, as well as non‑repayable contributions. The Corporation provides both direct and indirect support to business. Direct support to business includes access to capital, export development, training and skills development, planning, business counselling and marketing. Indirect support to business includes support to non‑commercial or non‑profit organizations, including industry organizations that provide services in support of market and trade development, investment, entrepreneurship, skills development, planning, business information, business counselling and advice. The goal for commercial development is to foster a business climate that will encourage private‑sector investment, business growth and increased productivity.

Program 1.3 — Community Development

Structural adjustment has been taking place in the Cape Breton economy over the past decade due to the closure of the Island's major industries and the downsizing of the fishing industry. The economic climate on the Island has presented significant challenges for many communities in terms of attracting investment and realizing opportunities. Through this program, ECBC works to engage and empower communities to take control of their destiny by pursuing opportunities leading to sustainable economic development. Working in co‑operation with communities and community‑led organizations, activities pursued in support of this program range from developing and implementing overall strategies for economic development and skill development activities to supporting the business environment, and new and/or improved community infrastructure.

Program 1.4 — Policy and Advocacy

Fundamental to ECBC's mandate is the Corporation's policy and advocacy role, which assists in identifying the opportunities and challenges facing the Island, as well as informing and supporting decision making both within and outside the Corporation. ECBC's policy and advocacy function focuses on a range of activities, including research, analysis, planning and reporting, as well as working to advance the interests, priorities and concerns of Cape Breton Island in government decisions and actions. The policy and advocacy function exists to inform and support decision making by the Corporation, providing intelligence, analysis and well‑grounded advice on a number of issues and topics. The policy and advocacy function helps carry the Corporation's agenda forward, plays an integral role in developing focused and adaptable approaches to issues, and helps ensure that the Corporation overall remains relevant to the opportunities and challenges facing Cape Breton. In developing the advocacy agenda for Cape Breton, ECBC works to ensure that national and provincial officials are aware of the needs of the region and that Cape Breton interests, priorities and concerns are considered when policy is developed. Research and analysis are required to understand the economic challenges and opportunities facing Cape Breton and to guide the policy and advocacy making activities of the Corporation.

Program 1.5 — Environmental Stewardship

As part of the transfer of the CBDC assets and liabilities to ECBC, the Corporation assumed stewardship responsibility for all former land holdings of the CBDC. This included all environmental obligations related to these sites. ECBC is required to comply with environmental laws and regulations as they pertain to current activities as well as the activities of certain predecessor companies that were expropriated when the CBDC was formed in 1967. To properly meet these obligations, ECBC entered into a strategic partnership arrangement with Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC), similar to that previously in place between CBDC and PWGSC. As part of this relationship, projects were planned and managed by PWGSC with oversight, monitoring and funding provided by ECBC. PWGSC completed the assessment and implementation of remedial activities on the 53 identified contaminated mining‑related sites in 2012–2013. It is anticipated that all of the long‑term environmental obligations will be completed by 2055 except the mine‑water obligation, which may require management indefinitely. ECBC also works with numerous partners, such as the Centre for Sustainability in Energy and the Environment at Cape Breton University, the Sydney Tar Ponds Agency, the Province of Nova Scotia, Environment Canada, and the private sector to explore alternative sources of energy related to the former CBDC's land holdings that could potentially lead to commercial development opportunities. This includes research into the production of green fuel crops, geothermal energy from mine water, and the potential for clean coal energy opportunities of the residual coal within the Sydney coal field.

Program 1.6 — Human Resource Obligations

The programs included under Human Resource Obligations are nondiscretionary items that ECBC is required to deliver to former CBDC employees following the dissolution of the CBDC. They are ongoing liabilities, some of which will continue beyond 20 years. They are a result of post employment benefits and various human resource strategies (operation closure). They include early retirement incentive programs, liability for future employee benefits, workers' compensation obligations and a domestic coal subsidy program.

Program 1.7 — Regional Service Delivery

Through this program ECBC is responsible for the program delivery of the Atlantic Canada Opportunity Agency's (ACOA) programs on Cape Breton Island such as the Business Development and Community Futures Programs. Based on ECBC's unique delivery model for economic development, ECBC and ACOA entered into a memorandum of understanding (MOU) in 1995 under which ECBC delivers ACOA's programming on Cape Breton Island and in the Mulgrave area. The MOU allows ECBC to design its programming and economic development strategies to complement ACOA programming. The MOU is renegotiated every five years.

Strategic Outcome 22

The following program supports all strategic outcomes within this organization.

Program 2.1 — Internal services

The Internal services program supports all strategic outcomes and is common across government. Internal services are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These groups are: Management and oversight services; Communications services; Legal services; Human resources management services; Financial management services; Information management services; Information technology services; Real property services; Materiel services; Acquisition services; and Travel and Other administrative services. Internal services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not to those provided specifically to a program.

Public Accounts of Canada 2015 Volume II - Bottom of the page Navigation

Résultat stratégique et description des programmes

Navigation de haut de page du volume II du manuel du receveur général

Ministère

Résultat stratégique 11

Une économie concurrentielle au Canada atlantique.

Programme 1.1 — Développement des entreprises

Malgré l'amélioration récente de la situation économique et quelques occasions prometteuses à l'horizon (par exemple, dans les domaines de l'énergie et de la construction navale), il reste de grands défis à surmonter afin que la région puisse maximiser sa croissance. La productivité, qui dans un certain nombre de secteurs reste beaucoup plus faible au Canada atlantique que dans les principaux pays et dans d'autres régions du Canada, est l'un des indicateurs les plus révélateurs de l'existence de grands défis. L'Agence travaille en partenariat avec les entreprises, les intervenants, les industries et les institutions du Canada atlantique afin d'améliorer la croissance et la productivité de l'économie de la région et ainsi d'accroître la capacité concurrentielle, les revenus gagnés et la création d'emplois. L'Agence s'emploie à améliorer la capacité de croissance économique des régions rurales et urbaines du Canada atlantique au moyen de divers mécanismes stratégiques : en aidant les entreprises ‑ particulièrement les petites et moyennes entreprises ‑ quant à leur mise sur pied, à leur expansion ou à leur modernisation ainsi qu'au démarrage et à l'augmentation de leurs activités d'exportation; en établissant des partenariats avec les universités et d'autres institutions afin de renforcer la capacité de recherche‑développement de la région, d'accroître les activités de commercialisation et d'améliorer la productivité de la région; et en faisant la promotion de la transition vers l'économie du savoir, transition à laquelle l'Agence participe.

Programme 1.2 — Développement des collectivités

L'économie de la région de l'Atlantique est fondée sur la grande diversité géographique, linguistique et culturelle de ses collectivités. Entre les régions rurales et les centres urbains, les occasions et les défis varient considérablement. Les collectivités sont à la base du développement économique et sont essentielles à la prospérité. L'Agence reconnaît l'importance des collectivités et appuie leurs efforts visant à développer les ressources dont elles ont besoin afin de contribuer pleinement à leur développement économique. Ainsi, en ce qui concerne le développement des collectivités, l'Agence concentre ses efforts et ses stratégies sur la création de collectivités dynamiques et durables où il y a une augmentation des activités économiques et commerciales et une infrastructure publique de qualité. L'Agence élabore et exécute des programmes qui satisfont les besoins particuliers en matière de développement économique des régions rurales du Canada atlantique et qui consolident la situation de la région. L'Agence collabore avec le secteur privé, les autres ordres de gouvernement, les autres ministères fédéraux, les établissements d'enseignement, les organismes sans but lucratif et les collectivités afin de conjuguer l'aide, de coordonner les efforts de développement économique, de cerner et d'exploiter les occasions émergentes et de s'attaquer aux difficultés économiques partout dans la région. Elle doit donc adopter une approche souple adaptée aux capacités, aux forces et aux difficultés réelles d'une collectivité donnée.

Programme 1.3 — Politiques, défense des intérêts et coordination

Le programme Politiques, défense des intérêts et coordination (PDIC) de l'Agence est essentiel pour cerner les occasions et les défis propres à l'économie régionale et y réagir efficacement. Le programme PDIC offre des renseignements, des analyses et des conseils bien fondés sur un grand éventail de questions et de sujets et appuie la prise de décision ministérielle et à l'échelle de l'Agence. Il aide l'APECA à remplir son mandat et à faire en sorte qu'elle demeure pertinente et sensibilisée aux occasions et aux défis qui se présentent au Canada atlantique en offrant des positions stratégiques et fondées en matière de politiques qui tiennent compte des possibilités de la région, en influençant les politiques et les programmes nationaux qui ont un effet sur le développement et les intérêts du Canada atlantique, et en coordonnant la création d'autres politiques et programmes dans la région pour constituer des approches intégrées en matière de développement.

Résultat stratégique 2 2

Le programme suivant appuie tous les résultats stratégiques de cette organisation.

Programme 2.1 — Services internes

Le programme des services internes appuie tous les résultats stratégiques et est commun dans l'ensemble des ministères. Les services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d'une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion et de surveillance, services des communications, services juridiques, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l'information, services des technologies de l'information, services de gestion des biens, services de gestion du matériel, services de gestion des acquisitions et services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble d'une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

Société d'expansion du Cap‑Breton

Résultat stratégique 11

Une économie cap‑bretonaise durable et concurrentielle.

Programme 1.1 — Aménagement immobilier

Grâce à ce programme, la Société d'expansion du Cap‑Breton (SECB) a la capacité d'acheter, de louer et de vendre des terrains ainsi que de prendre des hypothèques. La Société se sert de l'aménagement et de la gestion des biens fonciers pour compléter ses programmes de financement. Les recettes excédentaires provenant de la location de biens immobiliers et de la vente de terrains sont investies directement dans des projets de développement économique dans la région servie par la SECB. En outre, dans le cadre du processus de transfert/d'aliénation de terrains, la Société vend ou loue des terrains aux entreprises et aux organismes en vue de favoriser les occasions de développement économique. Ces deux activités appuient le mandat de développement économique de la Société. En plus des terrains, les biens immobiliers de la SECB comprennent le bureau principal de la Société à Sydney (Nouvelle‑Écosse), le Centre de ressources de Point Edward (propriété agricole), les installations commerciales de Port Hawkesbury (locaux à bureaux) et de New Waterford (locaux à bureaux). En raison du transfert des éléments d'actif et de passif de la Société de développement du CapBreton (SDCB) à la SECB, la SECB détient et exploite maintenant un certain nombre d'installations de traitement des eaux et d'installations d'entreposage ainsi que le parc à charbon Dominion; elle loue de l'espace d'une entreprise de récupération au parc à charbon Sydney Mines. Ces fonctions lui servent à s'acquitter de l'obligation contractuelle de vendre du charbon aux employés et aux anciens employés.

Programme 1.2 — Développement commercial

En raison de la taille et de la composition de l'économie cap‑bretonaise, et de la distance qui la sépare des marchés importants, l'accès au capital reste l'un des défis les plus ardus pour les entreprises. La capacité d'accès au capital est limitée pour ce qui est des prêteurs traditionnels, des sociétés à capital‑risque et des autres ordres de gouvernement. Sensible aux problèmes des petites et moyennes entreprises (PME), la SECB travaille, par l'entremise de ce programme, avec des entrepreneurs potentiels et existants afin d'évaluer les dossiers et d'offrir des formes d'aide financière variées, y compris (sans toutefois s'y limiter) des actions ordinaires, des prêts garantis ou non, et des contributions non remboursables. La Société offre un soutien tant direct qu'indirect aux entreprises. Le soutien direct comprend l'accès au capital, le développement des exportations, la formation et le perfectionnement, la planification, les conseils‑experts et le marketing. Quant au soutien indirect, il s'agit de soutien aux organismes non commerciaux ou à but non lucratif, y compris ceux qui offrent des services en : développement des marchés et du commerce, investissement, entrepreneuriat, perfectionnement, planification, information sur les entreprises, conseils et avis aux entreprises. L'objet du développement commercial est de favoriser un climat d'affaires propice à l'investissement du secteur privé, à la croissance des entreprises et à une productivité accrue.

Programme 1.3 — Développement des collectivités

Au cours de la dernière décennie, l'économie cap‑bretonaise a connu des adaptations structurelles en raison de la fermeture des principales industries de l'Île et de la décroissance dans l'industrie de la pêche. Le climat économique de l'Île a présenté, pour de nombreuses communautés, des défis significatifs pour ce qui est d'attirer des investissements et de mettre à profit des possibilités. Grâce ce à programme, la SECB travaille à solliciter les communautés et à leur procurer les moyens de prendre le contrôle de leur avenir en s'engageant dans des occasions menant vers un développement économique durable. Menées en collaboration avec les communautés et les organismes communautaires, ces activités varient de l'élaboration et de la mise en œuvre de stratégies d'ensemble pour le développement économique, à un soutien à l'égard de l'environnement commercial et au perfectionnement des compétences, en passant par une infrastructure communautaire nouvelle et/ou améliorée.

Programme 1.4 — Politiques et défense des intérêts

Essentiel à son mandat, le rôle d'orientation et de défense des intérêts de la SECB aide à cerner les possibilités et les défis qui se présentent pour l'Île, ainsi qu'à documenter et à soutenir la prise de décisions tant à l'interne qu'à l'externe. Cette fonction d'orientation et de défense des intérêts mise sur une variété d'activités, notamment : la recherche, l'analyse, la planification et l'établissement de rapports, ainsi que le travail pour faire avancer auprès des gouvernements les intérêts, les priorités et les préoccupations touchant l'Île du Cap‑Breton, en matière de prise de décision et de mesures adoptées. Cette activité de programme permet donc d'informer et de soutenir la prise de décision par la SECB, au moyen de renseignements, d'analyses et d'avis sur diverses questions et divers enjeux. Elle contribue à promouvoir les projets à long terme de la SECB, joue un rôle crucial dans l'élaboration d'approches ciblées et adaptables, et veille à ce que la SECB garde le cap sur les possibilités et les défis pour le Cap‑Breton. En veillant au programme du Cap‑Breton dans ces domaines, la SECB s'assure que les priorités nationales et provinciales tiennent compte des besoins de la région et que les intérêts, priorités et préoccupations propres au Cap‑Breton sont pris en compte au moment de l'élaboration de politiques. La recherche et l'analyse s'imposent afin de comprendre les défis et le potentiel économique pour le Cap‑Breton, et de guider les activités de défense des intérêts et d'élaboration de politiques de la SECB.

Programme 1.5 — Gérance environnementale

Dans le cadre du transfert des éléments d'actif et de passif de la Société de développement du Cap‑Breton (SDCB) à la Société d'expansion du Cap‑Breton (SECB), la SECB a pris la responsabilité de gérer tous les biens fonciers de la SDCB. Cela comprend toutes les obligations liées à l'environnement à l'égard de ces sites. La SECB est tenue de respecter les lois et les règlements sur l'environnement qui s'appliquent aux activités courantes et à celles relatives à certains actifs expropriés au moment de la création de la SDCB, en 1967. Pour être en mesure de bien remplir de telles obligations, la SECB a conclu avec Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC) une entente stratégique semblable à celle qui existait entre la SDCB et TPSGC. Dans le cadre de cette entente, les projets sont conçus et gérés par TPSGC, tandis que la SECB s'occupe de la surveillance, du suivi et du financement. En 2012–2013, TPSGC a terminé l'évaluation et la mise en place d'activités de remédiement aux 53 sites miniers identifiés comme contaminés. Toutes les obligations à long terme liées à l'environnement devraient être remplies d'ici 2055, exception faite de la gestion des eaux d'exhaure qu'il faudra peut‑être assurer à perpétuité. Par ailleurs, la SECB collabore avec de nombreux partenaires, notamment le Centre pour la durabilité de l'énergie et de l'environnement à l'Université du Cap‑Breton, l'Agence des étangs de goudron de Sydney, le gouvernement de la Nouvelle‑Écosse, Environnement Canada et le secteur privé pour examiner les sources d'énergie de remplacement se rapportant aux biens fonciers de la SDCB qui pourraient mener à des occasions de développement commercial. Cela comprend la recherche relative à la production de combustible vert, à la production d'énergie géothermique au moyen de l'eau d'exhaure et au potentiel en matière de séquestration de carbone du charbon résiduel du bassin houiller de Sydney.

Programme 1.6 — Obligations liées aux ressources humaines

Les programmes visés par les obligations liées aux ressources humaines sont des programmes non discrétionnaires que la Société d'expansion du Cap‑Breton (SECB) doit offrir, par suite de la dissolution de la Société de développement du Cap‑Breton (SDCB), aux anciens employés de la SDCB. Il s'agit d'obligations continues; nombre d'entre elles se poursuivront pendant plus de 20 ans. Ces obligations découlent des avantages sociaux faisant suite à l'emploi et de diverses stratégies en matière de ressources humaines (fermeture des sites). Elles comprennent les programmes d'encouragement à la retraite anticipée, les avantages sociaux futurs, les obligations liées à l'indemnisation des accidentés du travail et le programme de subventionnement du charbon domestique.

Programme 1.7 — Prestation de services régionaux

Dans le cadre de ce programme, la Société d'expansion du Cap‑Breton (SECB) est responsable de la prestation de programmes de l'Agence de promotion économique du Canada atlantique (APECA) à l'Île du Cap‑Breton, par exemple le Programme de développement des entreprises et le Programme de développement des collectivités. En fonction de ce modèle de prestation particulier en matière de développement économique, la SECB et l'APECA ont conclu en 1995 un protocole d'entente selon lequel la SECB offre les programmes de l'APECA à l'Île du Cap‑Breton et dans la région de Mulgrave. Ce PE permet à la SECB de concevoir ses programmes et stratégies de développement économique de sorte à appuyer les programmes de l'APECA. Il est renégocié tous les cinq ans.

Résultat stratégique 22

Le programme suivant appuie tous les résultats stratégiques de cette organisation.

Programme 2.1 — Services internes

Le programme des services internes appuie tous les résultats stratégiques et est commun dans l'ensemble des ministères. Les services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d'une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion et de surveillance, services des communications, services juridiques, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l'information, services des technologies de l'information, services de gestion des biens, services de gestion du matériel, services de gestion des acquisitions et services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble d'une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

Navigation en bas de page du volume II du manuel du receveur général