Strategic outcome and program descriptions

Public Accounts of Canada 2015 Volume II - Top of the page Navigation

Department

Strategic Outcome 1

The Government's agenda and decision making are supported and implemented and the institutions of government are supported and maintained.

Program 1.1 — Advice and support to the Prime Minister and portfolio ministers

PCO provides professional, non-partisan advice and support to the Prime Minister and portfolio ministers on the full spectrum of issues and policies they address on a daily basis. PCO also provides advice and support on: the structure and organization of government; government-wide communications; the Governor-in-Council appointments system; the development and implementation of parliamentary and legislative programs; democratic reform; and legal issues. In addition, PCO provides administrative advice and support pertaining to the budgets of the Prime Minister's Office and those of the offices of portfolio ministers.

Program 1.2 — Advice and support to Cabinet and Cabinet committees

PCO supports the efficient and effective functioning of Cabinet and Cabinet committees on a day-to-day basis. As part of this work, PCO coordinates departmental policy, legislative and government administration proposals going to Cabinet and its committees; performs a challenge function during the policy development process; and prepares briefing materials and accompanying policy analysis to facilitate Cabinet's decision-making process. PCO also provides a secretariat function for Cabinet and its committees, which includes scheduling and support services for meetings, as well as preparation and distribution of Cabinet documents. In addition, PCO supports effective policy integration across the federal government so that proposals take into account the full range of departmental perspectives and issues related to implementation, such as communications, parliamentary affairs, intergovernmental relations and budget impacts.

Program 1.3 — Public service leadership and direction

PCO supports the development and maintenance of a high-quality Public Service that meets the highest standards of accountability, transparency and efficiency. As part of this work, PCO provides advice to the Clerk of the Privy Council and the Prime Minister on the renewal of public service and government operations in order to position the Public Service workforce and workplace for the future as more adaptable, innovative and streamlined. PCO also supports the human resources management of senior leaders across the government, including performance management and leadership development.

Strategic Outcome 2

The following program supports all strategic outcomes within this organization.

Program 2.1 — Internal services

The Internal services program supports all strategic outcomes and is common across government. Internal services are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These groups are: Management and oversight services; Communications services; Legal services; Human resources management services; Financial management services; Information management services; Information technology services; Real property services; Materiel services; Acquisition services; and Travel and Other administrative services. Internal services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not to those provided specifically to a program.

Canadian Intergovernmental Conference Secretariat

Strategic Outcome 1

Senior-level intergovernmental conference services are professionally and successfully delivered.

Program 1.1 — Conference Services

Provision of expert, impartial support services for the planning and conduct of First Ministers, Ministers and Deputy Ministers level of federal‑provincial‑territorial and provincial‑territorial conferences.

Strategic Outcome 2

The following program supports all strategic outcomes within this organization.

Program 2.1 — Internal services

The Internal services program supports all strategic outcomes and is common across government. Internal services are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These groups are: Management and oversight services; Communications services; Legal services; Human resources management services; Financial management services; Information management services; Information technology services; Real property services; Materiel services; Acquisition services; and Travel and Other administrative services. Internal services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not to those provided specifically to a program.

Canadian Transportation Accident Investigation and Safety Board

Strategic Outcome 1

Risks to the safety of the transportation system are reduced.

Program 1.1 — Air Investigations

The Air Investigations Program conducts independent investigations into selected air transportation occurrences in or over Canada, and in certain circumstances internationally, to identify causes and contributing factors. This program also publishes investigation reports, formulates recommendations to improve safety, communicates safety information, undertakes outreach activities to advocate for changes, and follows up on responses to recommendations. The Air Investigations Program also fulfills Canada's obligations related to transportation safety as required by the International Civil Aviation Organization. This program is governed by the Canadian Transportation Accident Investigation and Safety Board Act, the Transportation Safety Board Regulations, and the Annex 13 of the Convention on International Civil Aviation.

Program 1.2 — Rail Investigations

The Rail Investigations Program conducts independent investigations into selected rail transportation occurrences to identify causes and contributing factors. This program also publishes investigation reports, formulates recommendations to improve safety, communicates safety information, undertakes outreach activities to advocate for change, and follows up on responses to recommendations. The Rail Investigations Program also provides assistance, upon request, to the provinces and territories for the investigation of short‑line railway occurrences under provincial or territorial jurisdiction. This program is governed by the Canadian Transportation Accident Investigation and Safety Board Act and the Transportation Safety Board Regulations.

Program 1.3 — Marine Investigations

The Marine Investigations Program conducts independent investigations into selected marine transportation occurrences in Canada, and in certain circumstances internationally to identify causes and contributing factors. This program also publishes investigation reports, formulates recommendations to improve safety, communicates safety information, undertakes outreach activities to advocate for change, and follows up on responses to recommendations. The Marine Investigations Program also fulfils some of Canada's obligations related to transportation safety as required by the International Maritime Organization. This program is governed by the Canadian Transportation Accident Investigation and Safety Board Act, the Transportation Safety Board Regulations, and the Casualty Investigation Code of the International Maritime Organization.

Program 1.4 — Pipeline Investigations

The Pipeline Investigations Program conducts independent investigations into selected pipeline occurrences under federal jurisdiction within Canada to identify causes and contributing factors. This program also publishes investigation reports, formulates recommendations to improve safety, communicates safety information, undertakes outreach activities to advocate for change, and follows up on responses to recommendations. This program is governed by the Canadian Transportation Accident Investigation and Safety Board Act and the Transportation Safety Board Regulations.

Strategic Outcome 2

The following program supports all strategic outcomes within this organization.

Program 2.1 — Internal services

The Internal services program supports all strategic outcomes and is common across government. Internal services are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These groups are: Management and oversight services; Communications services; Legal services; Human resources management services; Financial management services; Information management services; Information technology services; Real property services; Materiel services; Acquisition services; and Travel and Other administrative services. Internal services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not to those provided specifically to a program.

Office of the Chief Electoral Officer

Strategic Outcome 1

An Accessible Electoral Framework that Canadians Trust and Use.

Program 1.1 — Electoral Operations

This program allows Elections Canada to deliver fair and efficient electoral events whenever they may be required so that Canadians are able to exercise their democratic right to vote during a federal general election, by‑election or referendum by providing an accessible and constantly improved electoral process responsive to the needs of electors.

Program 1.2 — Regulation of Electoral Activities

This program provides Canadians with an electoral process that is fair, transparent and in compliance with the Canada Elections Act. Within this program, Elections Canada is responsible for administering the political financing provisions of the Act. This includes monitoring compliance, disclosure and reporting of financial activities, and enforcing electoral legislation.

Program 1.3 — Electoral Engagement

This program promotes and sustains the Canadian electoral process. It provides Canadians with electoral education and information activities so that they can make informed decisions about their engagement in the electoral process. It also aims to improve the electoral framework by consulting and sharing electoral practices with other stakeholders.

Strategic Outcome 2

The following program supports all strategic outcomes within this organization.

Program 2.1 — Internal services

The Internal services program supports all strategic outcomes and is common across government. Internal services are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These groups are: Management and oversight services; Communications services; Legal services; Human resources management services; Financial management services; Information management services; Information technology services; Real property services; Materiel services; Acquisition services; and Travel and Other administrative services. Internal services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not to those provided specifically to a program.

Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages

Strategic Outcome 1

Rights guaranteed by the Official Languages Act are protected and linguistic duality is promoted as a fundamental value of Canadian society.

Program 1.1 — Protection of Language Rights

Through this program, the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages investigates complaints filed by citizens who believe their language rights have not been respected, evaluates compliance with the Official Languages Act by federal institutions and other organizations subject to the Act through performance measurements and audits, and intervenes proactively to prevent non‑compliance with the Act. As well, the Commissioner may intervene before the courts in cases that deal with non‑compliance to the Official Languages Act.

Program 1.2 — Promotion of Linguistic Duality

Through this program, the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages (OCOL) works with Parliamentarians, federal institutions and other organizations subject to the Official Languages Act, official language communities and the Canadian public in promoting linguistic duality. OCOL builds links between federal institutions, official language communities and the different levels of government to help them better understand the needs of official language communities, the importance of bilingualism and the value of respecting Canada's linguistic duality. To fulfil its role in that promotion, OCOL conducts research, studies and public awareness activities as well as intervenes with senior federal officials so that they instil a change in culture to fully integrate linguistic duality in their organizations.

Strategic Outcome 2

The following program supports all strategic outcomes within this organization.

Program 2.1 — Internal services

The Internal services program supports all strategic outcomes and is common across government. Internal services are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These groups are: Management and oversight services; Communications services; Legal services; Human resources management services; Financial management services; Information management services; Information technology services; Real property services; Materiel services; Acquisition services; and Travel and Other administrative services. Internal services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not to those provided specifically to a program.

Security Intelligence Review Committee

Strategic Outcome 1

Canadian Security Intelligence Service (CSIS) performs its duties and functions in accordance with the law, policy and Ministerial direction.

Program 1.1 — Reviews

Conduct reviews of CSIS activities to ensure effectiveness, appropriateness and compliance. Develop annual research plan identifying reviews to be conducted each year, examine CSIS operations, provide a retrospective examination and assessment of specific CSIS investigations and functions, examine information concerning CSIS's activities, assess CSIS compliance, and issue findings and recommendations. The objective is to provide Parliament, the Minister of Public Safety and Canadians with a comprehensive picture of CSIS's operational activities, and assurance that CSIS is acting within its mandate.

Program 1.2 — Complaints

Conduct investigations into complaints concerning CSIS made by either individuals or groups as per the CSIS Act. Under Section 41 of the CSIS Act, SIRC investigates "any act or thing done by the Service" under Section 42, SIRC investigates complaints about denials of security clearances to federal government employees and contractors. SIRC may also conduct an investigation in relation to referrals from the Canadian Human Rights Commission and Minister's reports in regards to the Citizenship Act. If jurisdiction is established, complaints are investigated through a quasi‑judicial hearing presided over by one or more Committee members. The time to investigate and resolve a complaint will vary in length depending on the complexity of the file, the quantity of documents to be examined, the number of hearing days required and the availability of the participants. On completion of a Section 41 investigation, SIRC provides a report to the Director of CSIS and to the Minister of Public Safety, as well as a declassified version of the report to the complainant.On completion of a Section 42 investigation, SIRC reports its findings and any recommendations to the Minister of Public Safety, the Director of CSIS and the Deputy Head concerned, and provides a declassified version of the report to the complainant.

Strategic Outcome 2

The following program supports all strategic outcomes within this organization.

Program 2.1 — Internal services

The Internal services program supports all strategic outcomes and is common across government. Internal services are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These groups are: Management and oversight services; Communications services; Legal services; Human resources management services; Financial management services; Information management services; Information technology services; Real property services; Materiel services; Acquisition services; and Travel and Other administrative services. Internal services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not to those provided specifically to a program.

Public Accounts of Canada 2015 Volume II - Bottom of the page Navigation

Résultat stratégique et description des Programmes

Navigation de haut de page du volume II du manuel du receveur général

Ministère

Résultat stratégique 1

Appuyer et mettre en œuvre le programme et les décisions du gouvernement, et soutenir les institutions et leur fonctionnement.

Programme 1.1 — Soutien et conseils au Premier ministre et aux ministres du portefeuille

Le BCP fournit des avis et un soutien professionnels et impartiaux au Premier ministre et aux ministres du portefeuille concernant toute la gamme des enjeux et des politiques dont ils s'occupent quotidiennement. Le BCP fournit également des avis et un soutien concernant : la structure et l'organisation du gouvernement; les communications à l'échelle du gouvernement; le système des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil; l'élaboration et la mise en œuvre de programmes parlementaires et législatifs; la réforme démocratique; et les affaires juridiques. De plus, le BCP fournit des avis et un soutien d'ordre administratif concernant le budget du Cabinet du Premier ministre et ceux des cabinets des ministres du portefeuille.

Programme 1.2 — Soutien et conseils au Cabinet et aux comités du Cabinet

Le BCP appuie au quotidien le fonctionnement efficient et efficace du Cabinet et de ses comités. Dans le cadre de ce travail, le BCP coordonne la présentation au Cabinet et à ses comités de propositions de politiques, de dispositions législatives et de mesures intéressant l'administration publique, soumet à un examen critique les politiques en cours d'élaboration, et produit des documents d'information et des analyses pour faciliter le processus décisionnel du Cabinet. Le BCP offre également des services de secrétariat au Cabinet et à ses comités. À ce titre, il établit le calendrier des réunions et fournit des services de soutien connexes, en plus de préparer et de distribuer les documents du Cabinet. Le BCP soutient en outre la bonne intégration des politiques à l'échelle de l'administration fédérale de sorte que les propositions tiennent compte de l'ensemble des perspectives ministérielles et des aspects relatifs à la mise en œuvre, par exemple les communications, les affaires parlementaires, les relations intergouvernementales et les répercussions budgétaires.

Programme 1.3 — Leadership et orientation au sein de la fonction publique

Le BCP appuie le développement et le maintien d'une fonction publique de haute qualité qui répond aux plus hautes normes de responsabilité, de transparence et d'efficacité. À cet égard, le BCP conseille le greffier du Conseil privé et le Premier ministre sur le renouvellement de la fonction publique et des activités gouvernementales, l'objectif étant de positionner l'effectif et le milieu de travail pour l'avenir en mettant l'accent sur la souplesse, l'innovation et la rationalisation. Le BCP appuie par ailleurs la gestion des ressources humaines aux échelons supérieurs de l'administration publique dans son ensemble, en particulier la gestion du rendement et le développement du leadership.

Résultat stratégique 2

Le programme suivant appuie tous les résultats stratégiques de cette organisation.

Programme 2.1 — Services internes

Le programme des services internes appuie tous les résultats stratégiques et est commun dans l'ensemble des ministères. Les services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d'une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion et de surveillance, services des communications, services juridiques, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l'information, services des technologies de l'information, services de gestion des biens, services de gestion du matériel, services de gestion des acquisitions et services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble d'une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

Secrétariat des conférences intergouvernementales canadiennes

Résultat stratégique 1

Les services aux conférences intergouvernementales de haut niveau sont exécutés avec professionnalisme et avec succès.

Programme 1.1 — Services aux conférences

Prestation de services de soutien impartiaux et spécialisés nécessaires à la planification et à l'organisation des conférences fédérales‑provinciales‑territoriales et provinciales‑territoriales de premiers ministres, de ministres et de sous‑ministres.

Résultat stratégique 2

Le programme suivant appuie tous les résultats stratégiques de cette organisation.

Programme 2.1 — Services internes

Le programme des services internes appuie tous les résultats stratégiques et est commun dans l'ensemble des ministères. Les services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d'une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion et de surveillance, services des communications, services juridiques, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l'information, services des technologies de l'information, services de gestion des biens, services de gestion du matériel, services de gestion des acquisitions et services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble d'une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

Bureau canadien d'enquête sur les accidents de transport et de la sécurité des transports

Résultat stratégique 1

Les risques associés à la sécurité du réseau des transports sont réduits.

Programme 1.1 — Enquêtes aéronautiques

Le Programme Enquêtes aéronautiques effectue des enquêtes indépendantes sur des événements de transport aéronautiques choisis qui se produisent au Canada et dans l'espace aérien canadien et dans certaines circonstances à l'étranger afin d'identifier les causes et les facteurs contributifs. En outre, ce programme publie des rapports d'enquêtes, formule des recommandations afin d'améliorer la sécurité, communique des renseignements de sécurité, entreprends des activités de sensibilisation afin de promouvoir des changements et fait le suivi des réponses aux recommandations. Le programme Enquêtes aéronautiques exécute aussi les obligations du Canada à l'égard à la sécurité des transports telles qu'exigées par l'Organisation de l'aviation civile internationale. Ce programme est régi par la Loi sur le Bureau canadien d'enquête sur les accidents de transport et de la sécurité des transports, le Règlement sur le Bureau de la sécurité des transports et l'annexe 13 de la Convention relative à l'aviation civile internationale.

Programme 1.2 — Enquêtes ferroviairies

Le Programme Enquêtes ferroviaires effectue des enquêtes indépendantes sur des événements de transport ferroviaires choisis afin d'identifier les causes et les facteurs contributifs. En outre, ce programme publie des rapports d'enquêtes, formule des recommandations afin d'améliorer la sécurité, communique des renseignements de sécurité, entreprends des activités de sensibilisation afin de promouvoir des changements et fait le suivi des réponses aux recommandations. Le Programme Enquêtes ferroviaires fournit également sur demande de l'aide aux provinces et aux territoires lors d'enquêtes sur des événements sur une ligne ferroviaire sur courtes distances de compétence provinciale ou territoriale. Ce programme est régi par la Loi sur le Bureau canadien d'enquête sur les accidents de transport et de la sécurité des transports et le Règlement sur le Bureau de la sécurité des transports.

Programme 1.3 — Enquêtes maritimes

Le Programme Enquêtes maritimes effectue des enquêtes indépendantes sur des événements de transport maritimes choisis qui se produisent au Canada et dans certaines circonstances à l'étranger afin d'identifier les causes et les facteurs contributifs. En outre, ce programme publie des rapports d'enquêtes, formule des recommandations afin d'améliorer la sécurité, communique des renseignements de sécurité, entreprends des activités de sensibilisation afin de promouvoir des changements et fait le suivi des réponses aux recommandations. Le Programme Enquêtes maritimes exécute aussi certaines des obligations du Canada à l'égard de la sécurité des transports exigées par l'Organisation maritime internationale. Ce programme est régi par la Loi sur le Bureau canadien d'enquête sur les accidents de transport et de la sécurité des transports, le Règlement sur le Bureau de la sécurité des transports et le Code sur la conduite des enquêtes sur les accidents de l'Organisation maritime internationale.

Programme 1.4 — Enquêtes de pipeline

Le Programme Enquêtes de pipeline effectue des enquêtes indépendantes sur des événements de transport de pipeline choisis de compétence fédérale afin d'identifier les causes et les facteurs contributifs. En outre, ce programme publie des rapports d'enquêtes, formule des recommandations afin d'améliorer la sécurité, communique des renseignements de sécurité, entreprends des activités de sensibilisation afin de promouvoir des changements et fait le suivi des réponses aux recommandations. Ce programme est régi par la Loi sur le Bureau canadien d'enquête sur les accidents de transport et de la sécurité des transports et le Règlement sur le Bureau de la sécurité des transports.

Résultat stratégique 2

Le programme suivant appuie tous les résultats stratégiques de cette organisation.

Programme 2.1 — Services internes

Le programme des services internes appuie tous les résultats stratégiques et est commun dans l'ensemble des ministères. Les services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d'une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion et de surveillance, services des communications, services juridiques, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l'information, services des technologies de l'information, services de gestion des biens, services de gestion du matériel, services de gestion des acquisitions et services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble d'une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

Bureau du directeur général des élections

Résultat stratégique 1

Un cadre électoral accessible que les Canadiens utilisent avec confiance.

Programme 1.1 — Opérations électorales

Ce programme permet à Élections Canada de conduire en tout temps des scrutins équitables et efficients. Il vise à ce que les Canadiens puissent exercer leur droit démocratique de voter à une élection générale ou partielle ou à un référendum fédéral en leur offrant un processus électoral accessible et en constante amélioration, adapté aux besoins des électeurs.

Programme 1.2 — Régulation des activités électorales

Ce programme offre aux Canadiens un processus électoral équitable, transparent et conforme à la Loi électorale du Canada. Dans le cadre de cet activité, il incombe à Élections Canada d'administrer les dispositions de la Loi en matière de financement politique : surveillance de la conformité, divulgation, reddition de comptes sur les activités financières et application de la législation électorale.

Programme 1.3 — Engagement électoral

Ce programme promeut et soutient le processus électoral du Canada. Il permet aux Canadiens de bénéficier de programmes d'éducation et d'information sur les élections afin qu'ils puissent prendre des décisions éclairées à propos de leur engagement dans le processus électoral. Il vise aussi à améliorer le cadre électoral par la consultation d'autres intervenants et par la mise en commun des pratiques électorales.

Résultat stratégique 2

Le programme suivant appuie tous les résultats stratégiques de cette organisation.

Programme 2.1 — Services internes

Le programme des services internes appuie tous les résultats stratégiques et est commun dans l'ensemble des ministères. Les services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d'une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion et de surveillance, services des communications, services juridiques, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l'information, services des technologies de l'information, services de gestion des biens, services de gestion du matériel, services de gestion des acquisitions et services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble d'une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

Commissariat aux langues officielles

Résultat stratégique 1

Les droits garantis par la Loi sur les langues officielles sont protégés et la dualité linguistique est promue comme une valeur fondamentale de la société canadienne.

Programme 1.1 — Protection des droits linguistiques

Dans le cadre de ce programme, le Commissariat aux langues officielles enquête sur les plaintes déposées par des citoyens qui croient que leurs droits linguistiques n'ont pas été respectés, évalue le respect de la Loi sur les langues officielles, par les institutions fédérales et les autres organismes assujettis à la Loi grâce à des mesures du rendement et à des vérifications, et intervient de manière proactive pour prévenir la non-conformité à la Loi. Le commissaire peut aussi intervenir devant les tribunaux en cas de non-conformité à la Loi sur les langues officielles.

Programme 1.2 — Promotion de la dualité linguistique

Dans le cadre de ce programme, le Commissariat aux langues officielles (le Commissariat) travaille avec les parlementaires, les institutions fédérales et les autres organismes assujettis à la Loi sur les langues officielles, les communautés de langue officielle et le public canadien à favoriser la dualité linguistique. Le Commissariat établit des liens entre les institutions fédérales, les communautés de langue officielle et les ordres de gouvernement pour les aider à mieux comprendre les besoins des communautés de langue officielle, l'importance du bilinguisme et la valeur du respect de la dualité linguistique du Canada. Afin de jouer son rôle d'agent de promotion, le Commissariat effectue des recherches et des études, entreprend des activités de sensibilisation du public et intervient auprès des hauts fonctionnaires fédéraux pour qu'ils introduisent un changement de culture afin de pleinement intégrer la dualité linguistique dans leurs organismes.

Résultat stratégique 2

Le programme suivant appuie tous les résultats stratégiques de cette organisation.

Programme 2.1 — Services internes

Le programme des services internes appuie tous les résultats stratégiques et est commun dans l'ensemble des ministères. Les services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d'une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion et de surveillance, services des communications, services juridiques, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l'information, services des technologies de l'information, services de gestion des biens, services de gestion du matériel, services de gestion des acquisitions et services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble d'une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

Comité de surveillance des activités de renseignement de sécurité

Résultat stratégique 1

Le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité (SCRS) remplit ses fonctions dans le respect de la loi, des politiques et des instructions ministérielles.

Programme 1.1 — Études

Mener des examens sur les activités du SCRS pour assurer l'efficacité, la pertinence et la conformité des activités. Élaborer un plan de recherche annuel ciblant les examens à mener chaque année, examiner les opérations du SCRS, fournir une évaluation et un examen rétrospectifs des enquêtes et des fonctions particulières du SCRS, examiner l'information sur les activités du SCRS, évaluer la conformité du SCRS et émettre des conclusions et des recommandations. L'objectif est de fournir au Parlement, au ministre de la Sécurité publique et aux Canadiens un portrait complet des activités opérationnelles du SCRS et de leur assurer que ce dernier respecte son mandat.

Programme 1.2 — Plaintes

Enquêter sur les plaintes concernant le SCRS déposées par des individus ou des groupes en vertu de la Loi sur le SCRS.D'après l'article 41 de cette loi, le CSARS examine les plaintes « contre des activités du Service » et d'après l'article 42, les plaintes liées aux refus d'une habilitation de sécurité à l'endroit des employés du gouvernement fédéral et des entrepreneurs. Le CSARS peut aussi enquêter sur des recommandations de la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne et sur des rapports du ministre présentés en vertu de la Loi sur la citoyenneté. Si la compétence est établie, les plaintes sont examinées dans le cadre d'une audience quasi judiciaire présidée par un ou plusieurs membres du Comité. Le temps nécessaire pour examiner et régler une plainte dépend de la complexité du dossier, de la quantité de documents à étudier, du nombre de jour d'audiences requis et de la disponibilité des participants. Lorsqu'il clôt une enquête menée en vertu de l'article 41, le CSARS soumet un rapport au directeur du SCRS et au ministre de la Sécurité publique, puis fournit une version déclassifiée du rapport au plaignant. Pour ce qui est des enquêtes menées en vertu de l'article 42, le CSARS transmet ses conclusions et recommandations au ministre de la Sécurité publique, au directeur du SCRS et à l'administrateur général concerné, puis fournit une version déclassifiée du rapport au plaignant.

Résultat stratégique 2

Le programme suivant appuie tous les résultats stratégiques de cette organisation.

Programme 2.1 — Services internes

Le programme des services internes appuie tous les résultats stratégiques et est commun dans l'ensemble des ministères. Les services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d'une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion et de surveillance, services des communications, services juridiques, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l'information, services des technologies de l'information, services de gestion des biens, services de gestion du matériel, services de gestion des acquisitions et services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble d'une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

Navigation en bas de page du volume II du manuel du receveur général