Strategic outcome and program descriptions

Public Accounts of Canada 2015 Volume II - Top of the page Navigation

The Senate

Strategic Outcome 1

To provide the best possible environment for Senators to effectively contribute to federal legislation and public policy issues in the best interest of all Canadians.

Program 1.1 — Senators and their Offices

Provides Senators with the statutory services set out in the Parliament of Canada Act and the Members of Parliament Retiring Allowances Act. Operating costs of Senators' offices are provided in accordance with established policies and guidelines. Costs included under these two categories are: Senators' sessional indemnities and allowances as well as contributions to the Senators' pension plan; retiring allowances; travel and communication expenses; Senators' research and office expenses, including staff costs and the cost of goods and services incurred for the operations of Senators' offices; and Caucus research funds.

Program 1.2 — Administrative Support

Provide the ongoing support services required for the effective, efficient and economical delivery of operating programs outlined under the other two programs of the Senate. Administrative support provides accommodation and other facilities and tools, information, goods and services, and expert advice on all aspects of operations. Costs included in this program are: financial services and materiel management; human resources; protective services; communications and information services; information technology management; accommodation planning, maintenance and upkeep of premises; postal, messenger and printing services; repairs, trades and transportation services; corporate improvement including internal audit and strategic management.

Program 1.3 — Chamber, Committees and Associations

Provide the support and services Senators require for their work in the Senate Chamber; standing, special and joint committees; and parliamentary associations. This includes procedural, legislative, and information products such as Speaker's rulings, legislative drafting, official publications and broadcasting; and administrative services such as budgets and logistics for meetings. Costs included under this program are: salaries for additional duties of the Officers of the Senate; staff costs of operating the offices of Officers of the Senate; salaries of the Clerk's and Legislative Sectors; journals, reporting of debates and publications; committees, parliamentary associations and exchanges; broadcasting; and Senate Pages.

House of Commons

Strategic Outcome 1

Effective administrative and professional support for Members, both individually and collectively, in their roles as legislators and representatives of 308 constituencies, in the Chamber, in committee and in caucus.

Program 1.1— Members and House Officers

Members assume the roles of legislators and elected representatives of their constituency. In their constituencies, Members participate in events and activities and hold discussions with constituents about their concerns. In the Chamber, Members participate in debates and study and vote on legislation. Members sit on standing committees and special or joint committees, since the House of Commons delegates in‑depth consideration of bills and the thorough scrutiny of the government's programs and policies to its committees. Members also participate in parliamentary associations and interparliamentary groups, and are members of delegations for parliamentary exchanges. Finally, in caucus, Members develop strategy, discuss policy and examine important issues with fellow party members, and direct the work of party research offices. Some Members also assume additional functions such as: the Speaker, Deputy Speaker, House Leaders and Chief Whips.

Program 1.2 — House Administration

House employees are responsible for providing services to Members elected during a Parliament. They also serve the House as an institution on a permanent basis by ensuring continuity from one Parliament to another, access to parliamentary records, and a stable infrastructure to support Members in the democratic process. Advice and support are provided in a wide variety of areas such as: procedural, legislative and legal services; information technology and management; building management; security; food services; finance; human resources; and workplace health and safety. The staff of the House of Commons strives to support the institution and the Members in their roles as legislators and representatives of 308 constituencies, in the Chamber, in committee and in caucus.

Library of Parliament

Strategic Outcome 1

An Informed and Accessible Parliament.

Program 1.1 — Information Support for Parliament

This program provides parliamentarians with information, documentation, research and analysis services to help them fulfil their roles as legislators and representatives and to support them in their efforts to make Parliament and information about Parliament accessible to the public.

Strategic Outcome 2

The following program supports all strategic outcomes within this organization.

Program 2.1 — Internal services

The Internal services program supports all strategic outcomes and is common across government. Internal services are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These groups are: Management and oversight services; Communications services; Legal services; Human resources management services; Financial management services; Information management services; Information technology services; Real property services; Materiel services; Acquisition services; and Travel and Other administrative services. Internal services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not to those provided specifically to a program.

Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner

Strategic Outcome 1

The public can feel confident that public office holders and MPs are meeting the requirements of the conflict of interest compliance measures.

Program 1.1 — Administration of the Conflict of Interest Act and the Conflict of Interest Code for Members of the House of Commons

The Commissioner provides confidential advice to Public Office Holders (POHs) and MPs about how to comply with the Conflict of Interest Act and the MP's Code respectively. She is also mandated to provide confidential advice to the Prime Minister about conflict of interest and ethics issues. The Commissioner may conduct an inquiry into whether a MP has contravened the Code or a present or former POH has breached the Act. This program benefits Canadians by minimizing the possibility of conflicts arising between the private interests and public duties of POHs and MPs and provides for the resolution of those conflicts in the public interest should they arise.

Strategic Outcome 2

The following program supports all strategic outcomes within this organization.

Program 2.1 — Internal services

The Internal services program supports all strategic outcomes and is common across government. Internal services are groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization. These groups are: Management and oversight services; Communications services; Legal services; Human resources management services; Financial management services; Information management services; Information technology services; Real property services; Materiel services; Acquisition services; and Travel and Other administrative services. Internal services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not to those provided specifically to a program.

Senate Ethics Officer

Strategic Outcome 1

Senators meet their obligations under the Conflict of Interest Code in a manner that contributes to the integrity of the Senate as an institution.

Program 1.1 — Administration

The mandate of the Senate Ethics Officer is to administer and interpret the Code for Senators that sets out standards of conduct for Members of the Senate. The primary functions of the Senate Ethics Officer are: A) to provide confidential opinions and advice on any matter respecting Senators' obligations under the Code; B) to review confidential annual disclosure statements (listing sources of income, assets, liabilities, government contracts, financial and other interests), advise Senators on possible conflicts and compliance measures, and prepare public disclosure summaries; C) to conduct inquiries and investigations, if necessary, regarding compliance with the Code.

Public Accounts of Canada 2015 Volume II - Bottom of the page Navigation

Résultat stratégique et description des programmes

Navigation de haut de page du volume II du manuel du receveur général

Sénat

Résultat stratégique 1

Faire en sorte que le contexte soit le plus propice possible à une contribution efficace des sénateurs à la législation fédérale et aux politiques publiques dans l'intérêt supérieur de tous les Canadiens.

Programme 1.1 — Sénateurs et bureaux des sénateurs

Assure la prestation aux sénateurs des services prévus par la loi, comme l'autorisent la Loi sur le Parlement du Canada et la Loi sur les allocations de retraite des membres du Parlement. Les dépenses de fonctionnement des bureaux des sénateurs sont payées conformément aux politiques et aux lignes directrices établies. Les dépenses comprises dans ces deux catégories sont les suivantes : indemnités de session et de fonction des sénateurs et cotisations aux régimes de retraite; allocations de retraite; frais de déplacement et de communication; dépenses de recherche et de bureau des sénateurs, y compris les dépenses de personnel et le coût du matériel et des services nécessaires au fonctionnement de leurs bureaux respectifs; fonds de recherche pour les caucus.

Programme 1.2 — Soutien administratif

Offre le soutien nécessaire à la prestation efficace, efficiente et économique des programmes décrits sous les deux autres programmes du Sénat. Le programme Soutien administratif fournit des locaux et de l'équipement, des outils, de l'information, des biens et services, et des conseils spécialisés sur tous les aspects des activités. Les dépenses liées à ce programme sont les suivantes : services financiers et gestion du matériel; ressources humaines; services de sécurité; services de communication et d'information; gestion de la technologie de l'information; aménagement et entretien des locaux; services de poste, de messagerie et d'imprimerie; réparations, métiers et transports; amélioration de la gouvernance au moyen notamment de vérifications internes et d'une gestion stratégique.

Programme 1.3 — Chambre, comités et associations

Assure la prestation du soutien et des services nécessaires aux sénateurs qui font partie des comités permanents, spéciaux ou mixtes, ainsi qu'aux associations parlementaires, c'est‑à‑dire les produits liés à la procédure, aux mesures législatives et à l'information, tels que les décisions du Président, la rédaction des mesures législatives, les publications officielles et la télédiffusion; les services administratifs tels que les budgets et la logistique des réunions. Les dépenses liées à ce programme sont les suivantes : rémunération additionnelle des hauts fonctionnaires du Sénat; dépenses du personnel et dépenses relatives au fonctionnement des bureaux des hauts fonctionnaires du Sénat; traitements et autres dépenses de fonctionnement relatives au greffier du Sénat et aux secteurs législatifs; journaux, comptes rendus des débats et les publications; comités, associations et échanges parlementaires; télédiffusion; programme des pages du Sénat.

Chambre des communes

Résultat stratégique 1

Soutien administratif et professionnel efficace aux députés, individuellement et collectivement, dans le cadre de leurs rôles de législateurs et de représentants de 308 circonscriptions, à la Chambre, en comité et en caucus.

Programme 1.1 — Députés et agents supérieurs de la Chambre

Les députés assument les rôles de législateurs et de représentants élus de leur circonscription. Dans leur circonscription, les députés participent à des événements et à des activités, et discutent avec les électeurs de ce qui les préoccupe. À la Chambre, les députés participent aux débats, et étudient et votent les projets de loi. Les députés siègent aux comités permanents et aux comités spéciaux ou mixtes, car la Chambre des communes confie à ses comités l'étude approfondie des projets de loi ainsi que l'examen minutieux des programmes et des politiques du gouvernement. Ils font également partie d'associations parlementaires et de groupes interparlementaires et se joignent à des délégations dans le cadre d'échanges parlementaires. Finalement, en caucus, les députés élaborent des stratégies, discutent des politiques et examinent d'importants dossiers en collaboration avec les autres députés de leur parti, et guident le travail du service de recherche du parti. Certains députés endossent également d'autres fonctions telles que Président de la Chambre, vice‑président de la Chambre, leaders à la Chambre et whips en chef.

Programme 1.2 — Administration de la Chambre

Les employés de la Chambre sont chargés de fournir des services aux députés élus pour une législature. De plus, ils sont en permanence au service de la Chambre en tant qu'institution, assurant la continuité d'une législature à l'autre, l'accès aux archives parlementaires et la stabilité de l'infrastructure à l'appui des députés dans le processus démocratique. Les employés de la Chambre offrent des conseils et du soutien dans une vaste gamme de domaines tels que : les services procéduraux, législatifs et juridiques; la gestion et les technologies de l'information; la gestion des immeubles; la sécurité; les services de restauration; les finances; les ressources humaines; et la santé et sécurité au travail. Le personnel de la Chambre des communes s'efforce de toujours bien soutenir l'institution et le travail des députés dans leur rôle de législateur et de représentant des 308 circonscriptions, à la Chambre, en comité et en caucus.

Bibliothèque du Parlement

Résultat stratégique 1

Un Parlement informé et accessible.

Programme 1.1 — Services d'information aux parlementaires

Ce programme offre aux parlementaires des services d'information, de documentation, de recherche et d'analyse pour les aider à remplir leurs rôles de législateur et de représentant et les soutenir dans leurs efforts visant à rendre le Parlement et l'information à son propos accessibles au public.

Résultat stratégique 2

Le programme suivant appuie tous les résultats stratégiques de cette organisation.

Programme 2.1 — Services internes

Le programme des services internes appuie tous les résultats stratégiques et est commun dans l'ensemble des ministères. Les services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d'une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion et de surveillance, services des communications, services juridiques, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l'information, services des technologies de l'information, services de gestion des biens, services de gestion du matériel, services de gestion des acquisitions et services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble d'une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

Commissariat aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'éthique

Résultat stratégique 1

Le public peut avoir confiance que les titulaires de charge publique ainsi que les députés rencontrent les exigences des mesures d'observation régissant leur conduite en ce qui concerne les conflits d'intérêts.

Programme 1.1 — Application de la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts et du Code régissant les conflits d'intérêts des députés

La commissaire donne des conseils confidentiels aux titulaires de charge publique et aux députés sur l'observation de la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts (la Loi) et du Code des députés, respectivement. Elle a également pour mission de fournir des avis confidentiels au Premier ministre sur les questions de conflits d'intérêts et d'éthique. La commissaire peut mener une enquête pour déterminer si un député a contrevenu ou non au Code ou peut procéder à un examen pour déterminer si un titulaire ou un ex-titulaire de charge publique a contrevenu à la Loi. Ce programme vise à réduire au minimum les possibilités de conflit entre les intérêts personnels des titulaires de charge publique ou les députés et leurs fonctions officielles, et de prévoir les moyens de régler de tels conflits, le cas échéant, dans l'intérêt public.

Résultat stratégique 2

Le programme suivante appuie tous les résultats stratégiques de cette organisation.

Programme 2.1 — Services internes

Le programme des services internes appuie tous les résultats stratégiques et est commun dans l'ensemble des ministères. Les services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d'une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion et de surveillance, services des communications, services juridiques, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l'information, services des technologies de l'information, services de gestion des biens, services de gestion du matériel, services de gestion des acquisitions et services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble d'une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

Conseiller sénatorial en éthique

Résultat stratégique 1

Les sénateurs respectent les obligations découlant du Code régissant les conflits d'intérêts de manière à aider à assurer l'intégrité du Sénat en tant qu'institution.

Programme 1.1 — Administration

Le mandat du conseiller sénatorial en éthique consiste à administrer et à interpréter le code qui établit des normes de conduite pour les sénateurs. Voici les principales fonctions du conseiller sénatorial en éthique : A) fournir des conseils et des avis confidentiels sur toute question relative aux obligations des sénateurs en vertu du code; B) examiner les déclarations confidentielles annuelles (liste des sources de revenus, éléments d'actif, éléments de passif, contrats avec le gouvernement, intérêts financiers et autres), aviser les sénateurs des conflits d'intérêts possibles et des mesures de conformité; C) préparer des résumés publics; enquêter, au besoin, sur la conformité au code.

Navigation en bas de page du volume II du manuel du receveur général